reviews for: listing #22558 - Puerto Vallarta, Pacific Coast Villa rental

BEST Private Villa & Full Staff - "Villa Esplendora"
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $960 - $1,350 /nt
    $6,048 - $8,505 /wk

sort by:

Heaven!!!

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 11, 2014

We've just returned from a 5 night stay at Villa Explendora that we shared with 3 other couples. We all agree that this was the BEST vacation!!! We are all well-traveled and have stayed in fine properties through out the world…. but the staff made our time here PERFECT!!! Sergio addressed all of our needs without difficulty, including a trip to the emergency room for stitches and dentist for fixing a chipped tooth!!! Daniel was so wonderful accomodating quirky dietary constraints and pleasing even the most picky in our group!! The bus to town was across the street so everyone could come and go as they pleased…. but most of us never left the pool and spa!!!
I wish there was a sandy beach…. but also appreciated the privacy and lack of hawkers that the rocky shore provided.
We can not wait to come back next year!
PS we did a cooking class in PV and really enjoyed our time!!!
Mark and his group did a wonderful job on the reservation side - everything was effortless… Many thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation ever... at Villa Esplandora

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

We've just returned from an incredible 5 night stay at Esplendora. All 10 of us agreed that this was our best vacation ever, as we were able to achieve a deeper state of relaxation at your property than we ever have had with any previous vacation. As all 5 couples have young children, this was our first chance to get away for more than a few days we absolutely made the right choice! The villa is stunning, well designed, lavishly appointed, extremely comfortable and even more impressive than the photos.

As fantastic as the property is, the service is even better. Mark and Gary have clearly built an all-star team that love their jobs and demonstrate outstanding service all day. Every detail of our stay, from the pre-trip grocery shopping to meal planning to snorkeling and golf excursions (thanks for the club rentals) to ATM stops, were masterfully handled by Sergio. Sergio addressed all of our requests quickly and with a smile. Daniel is a gifted chef with an impressive range of culinary talent. We especially loved his paella, chicken mole, breakfast burritos and french toast. Carmen and her team did an impressive job of making us feel like we are home, helping us get settled and even helping us exchange rooms to allow for an equitable time share of the 3 master suites. We spent extensive time in the perfectly maintained pool and heated spa.

Mark, Gary and the team have established a wonderful travel experience and we will absolutely be returning in the near future. Thanks again for everything and keep up the fantastic work.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

The staff was wonderful, the house was beautiful, the food was delicious. I can't imagine vacationing any other way. The Villa Esplendora has ruined me for anything else. Well worth the money.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Villa and Staff

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2013

Visited with a group of work associates (8 total people) and had a wonderful stay. The villa itself is gorgeous and comfortable. Carmen and her staff keep everything spotless- including laundry services every day. Daniel is a genius with food. Each meal was better than the next and his afternoon salsa and guacamole is incredible- request extra spicy if you like heat. Sergio is the point person and he is always there when you need him, but never interfering with your stay. The only suggestion I would offer is a router booster- wifi only works in the dining/living room on the first floor. Overall, we had an incredible stay and would highly recommend Villa Esplendora to anyone looking for a PV getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanks for the Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

I just wanted to take a minute to let you know what a wonderful time we had at the Villa Esplendora.

Our group was made up of 3 couples. We planned this trip, with the sole purpose of relaxing (kid-free) for a few days, being spoiled, and enjoying our friends. We all have young children, and it had been several years since any of us went anywhere without them. We could not have picked a better spot, or a better villa. The villa was even better than advertised, but the staff is truly what made it special.

Due to an airline issue, we arrived a little late at the villia, but once we arrived at the Villa, our vacation could not have been more perfect. Sergio and team more than made up for the time we lost in Mexico City. We were all wishing we could stay just a few more days. We had a wonderful time enjoying our friends, relaxing in the pool, and indulging in far too many of Sergio's cocktails and Daniel's meals. We were all joking at the airport that our stomachs hurt, not from the drinks and food, but from laughing so much. Good friends and a great vacation. Your team is top notch!

I know that all of us have already spread the word about the villa, and are all hoping to return. I am attaching a picture we took when we left. Please send it to Sergio and team, and that we all hope to see them again....Gracias Amigos!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

I rent villas in Mexico about twice a year and love the luxury and privacy. This rental was perfect. What was very nice was that everything about the villa is high end from the tiles, pool, lighting, stove and even toilets and showers. This is usually not done in many of the other high end homes I have stayed in. Its not easy to get this in mexico many times. The AC units were powerful and kept this house perfect for my August trip. Another major plus, the staff here is full time, even when the house is not rented. Many other rentals bring in different cooks or cleaning staff at random when the house is being rented. The staff ranged from 4-7 years working only at this home. The food was good. Would have really preferred homemade tortillas but the fresh chips made daily made up for it. Many want a beach in front of the home or walkable, but I have found if its a great beach...it's usually crowded and you get tricket sales people. The rocks in front of the home keep it private and we still managed in the morning in summer, when the water is calm, to walk out on the rock and into the ocean for a swim to Los Arcos. (Better be in good shape or good swimmer) if you go out that far. We took my one years old and it was great to swim in the pool all day and night time as well. Water was PERFECT temp all the time. We were a party of four couples and all had time to relax and unwind. I have already booked for next year same timeframe. Great views and great sunsets. Very safe. If your gonna relax and live it up.....then do it at this home. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Group from Lubbock, TX

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

I would highly recommend Villa Esplendora! This was one of the best vacations I have ever had. The house was absolutely amazing. There are exceptional views from all areas of the house. The photos posted don't begin to show the beauty of the place. Sergio was very welcoming and willing to do anything for our group. Daniel is a fantastic chef - the food was delicious and the presentation was an added bonus. Carmen and the rest of the staff had the house and pool in immaculate condition. We even came home with a suitcase of clean clothes. We all felt very safe and pampered all at once. I can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING, WONDERFUL, BEST IN PUERTO VALLARTA

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

We traveled to Puerto Vallarta with our family that includes six children from the ages of 10 to 25. Before our oldest sons arrived, we were joined for a week by my sister, her husband and 2 sons. The Villa was spacious enough for all of us to relax and enjoy. I feel blessed that all of our children were able to join us for such a beautiful, relaxing vacation. I waited until some time had passed upon arriving home before writing my review. We were in such a state of euphoria from our trip that I wanted to return to our normal day to day living before reviewing. I can honestly say it has made no difference in my review. I always read reviews before booking/purchasing something online, sight unseen. In all honesty, a review will NEVER let you fully understand the beauty of this Villa and the pictures do not do it justice. As for the staff, there are no words that could be written to described how completely wonderful everyone is. Sergio and Daniel are a tag team like no other. Our every need was attended to before we were even able to ask. Carmen and Meche were unbelievable. Our running joke (especially with our children) was that if you didn't want it washed, ironed and returned, you better put it where it belongs because they are quick as lightening. Jose quietly goes about keeping the grounds and pool in pristine condition. I would have brought them all home with me if there was a way. All in all, we will never be able to vacation again without the highest expectations. I don't think I could return to Puerto Vallarta without staying at Villa Esplendora. On a final note, the owners of the Villa were amazing to work with. I don't believe the Villa staff could be so happy (referring to each other as their second family) if they did not work for some very special people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

ABSOLUTELY PERFECT

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

This was an A++ 10 day vacation for our family of 3 adult children and their wives. The beautiful villa exceeded our expectations and was even more beautiful than the photos on the website! The staff was excellent and anticipated our every need, and was almost invisible in carrying our their daily work. We spent 10 days moving from our sumptuous bedroom, to the patio and pool and then lazily made our way to the palapa dining area for delicious meals prepared by Chef Daniel. Inside the villa, the decor and comfort is superb, and outside, the patio area is comfortable with amazing views of the sea and Los Arcos. We've already booked for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding Staff, Outstanding Villa!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

5 couples consisting of siblings and in-laws descended on Villa Esplendora for our brother's 50th birthday in early Nov. To put it simply, the Villa was more than we had hoped for while the staff really elevated the entire experience. With Serhio running the house and hospitality and Daniel cooking up beautiful breakfasts and delicious dinners we were hard pressed to wander further than the pool for fear of bursting our idyllic oceanfront bubble with a miss poured pina colada a beach bar or some unloved guac at a restaurant in town. We did migrate into town for some fun on Sunday, the staff's day off, for some food and drink. Otherwise, we played music, drank, ate, swam and laughed for 5 days and 4 nights in the pool, on the lounge chairs and at the table all within beautiful of Los Arcos and 50 ft of Serhio superior service. Have fun!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Holiday Ever

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We were a party of six that stayed at this fantastic Villa
We were looked after so well by the staff who were so accomadating for our ever whims and needs.
Our chef was fanatastic and cooked up the best Dinners every night and the breakfast that was served each day was the perfect way to start each day.
The Villa was kept spotless as well and was so clean and fresh.
We can only extremly highly recomend this Villa to anyone that wants a unforgetable holiday
It truely was a dream vacation,we WILL be back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Andrew, Thank you for choosing us for your holiday. We can't wait to have you back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Vacation I've Ever Had!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I can't begin to express how wonderful our vacation was staying at "Villa Esplendora"! The staff was so attentive to our every need. It felt as if we were staying at a luxury resort with all the amenities! During our 5 night stay we only left the villa once! There was no need to leave. The staff brought everything to us.They made all our meals and served us all day long. If you're looking for the absolute best, "Villa Esplendora" should be your next vacation. You won't regret it!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey Jace,
We're glad you chose Villa Esplendora as the backdrop to your birthday. Happy 40th!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond Exceptional

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

This vacation exceeded my expectations on many levels. Your Puerto Vallarta villa was even nicer than I anticipated based upon the beautiful pictures.

Having rented villas in various destinations previously, I know that the staff can make all the difference. Segio, Concha and Carman as well as the other villa staff were beyond exceptional! They provided excellent service, excellent food with the perfect touch cordiality. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything About the Villa was Unbelievable!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

This was one of the best vacations to Puerto Vallarta I have ever had. The pictures on the website are beautiful but the villa is even more spectacular in person.

Everything about the villa was UNBELIEVABLE!! Sergio, Toni, Carmen, Conchita and the rest of the staff went above and beyond. The food was some of the best I have ever had and the service was better than any five star hotel I have ever stayed!! This vacation has set the bar! Thanks for making our Puerto Vallarta vacation spectacular! No way to beat it! We had the best time ever!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It Really Was Like Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

I just wanted to let you know that our week at your Puerto Vallarta villa, "Villa Esplendora," was the best week of our lives. Everyone in our group loved everything about it. Most of the dinners we ordered were high end and were prepared like we had our own Master Chef. The flavor and texture were outstanding, and the presentation was awesome as well.

The villa staff was second to none. They did everything imaginable to make our stay a delight. Sergio was like family. You should be very blessed to have such a great leader as your houseman. The staff seemed to enjoy working together, and did it so well that we felt at home among them. We should be so lucky. I thought I had some idea of what paradise was, but that week gave a whole new meaning to it. The villa couldn't be better. Everything flows together perfectly. It has the feeling of home with the lasting beauty of a palace. The granite and marble throughout and stainless rails look like they could last forever, and the beautiful artwork in the villa was perfectly placed throughout.

It really was like heaven on earth and I want to thank you for allowing us to live a dream. You should be very proud of your Puerto Vallarta villa and staff; a perfect combination!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Wonders of "Villa Esplendora"

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

Gary, in today's world it has become acceptable to maintain the status quo; yet, some how and some way, year after year, your Puerto Vallarta villa staff and the property itself surpass all expectations - and this year was no exception.

It is difficult to imagine - much less believe - that one could or would be able to eclipse paradise. But Sergio and the villa staff, with the wonderful addition of Beto, were once again able to achieve this goal. An April vacation in Puerto Vallarta has become an inherent part of our family's life and we look forward to a (re)visit in 2012. Thank you for allowing us to share the wonders of "Villa Esplendora."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking Forward to Returning Next Year

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We wanted to thank you again for the wonderful service we received during our recent stay at your gorgeous villa, "Villa Esplendora," in Puerto Vallarta. The actual villa exceeded our expectations and was incredible.

Sergio the major domo was soliciteous beyond belief, the private chef Daniel was talented. The rest of the villa staff was extremely charming and absolutely invisible in the performance of their tasks. The views of the mountains and the ocean (especially of Los Arcos) were stupendous and to top it off the whales played right off shore! We had such a wonderful vacation in Puerto Vallarta that we are looking forward to returning next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Never Wanted to Leave the Villa

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

After returning home to cold wet weather, I wanted to take a minute to thank you, Sergio, and the entire staff at your Puerto Vallarta villa, "Villa Esplendora," for the great care they took of myself and my friends during our vacation. From the minute we pulled up in the van until our departure, there were only positive experiences and memories created with the help of Sergio, Concha, and the rest of the villa staff. I was amazed at how friendly, eager and enthusiastic they were each day.

I never wanted to leave the villa even though I had never experienced the town of Puerto Vallarta. Our meals were amazing and I loved that they found a bakery twice to celebrate the birthdays and even came out and helped sing happy birthday to my friends. Once again, I want to thank you for the wonderful experience. We look forward to coming again and we will definitely tell others about your Puerto Vallarta villa and the life long memories that your staff helped create.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeding Everyones Needs

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Gary, we all had a great time at your villa in Puerto Vallarta. It was kinda scary how we felt walking back in the door. It just felt too much like home. The weather was perfect, we got to take advantage of the villa's lanai doors this trip. Sergio and Concha did a wonderful job - as always - exceeding everyones needs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superb

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

Just wanted to drop you a quick note regarding our April 5th -12th vacation at your Puerto Vallarta villa. As the owner of an electrical construction company here in Washington, I know the value of employing good people. You have done an excellent job of choosing Sergio, Concha, and the rest of your villa staff. Sergio was always attentive to my empty margarita glass and Concha's meals will be sorely missed.

The bad news is I'll will probably forced to go to rehab due to Sergio's superb drink making skills and because of Concha's mastery in the kitchen, I'm now searching e-bay for a treadmill. Aside from the alcohol problem and weight gain we had a great time!

The experience at your Puerto Vallarta villa was such a positive experience my wife and I are considering purchasing a condo in the area. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Home in Puerto Vallarta

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Gary,

I wanted to let you know that you have a beautiful home in Puerto Vallarta. We were there last week for a wonderful vacation. One of the very special things about our vacation was Sergio, the cooks, and the maids. The service and food at your private villa was outstanding!!!!!

We went out for dinner the 2nd night we were there and decided that we'd eat all of our meals at the villa since the food was far better than what we got at a restaurant. Sergio has a very professional but casual way about him that made us all feel very comfortable. He also seems to really enjoy working at your villa and takes great pride in keeping the place in perfect order.

You may get other emails from my friends. You should know this was not solicited. We asked Sergio for your email address because we wanted to make sure you knew you have a great villa staff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Special and Set Apart

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

Gary,

First of all we would like to thank you for a lovely time to reconnect with our family. Our children were all able to enjoy time together with us and your Puerto Vallarta villa offered multiple areas for gathering and just hanging out. We as adults found it to be tremendously relaxing. The villa was designed to encourage talk, yet allowed us to still run our business as needed. We truly enjoyed the time together and were able to take the much needed break that we had.
You have a great asset here in the villa and one that would be special and set apart from many of the others that we have stayed at, however it is the villa staff you have put together, that truly made this Puerto Vallarta vacation the best to date... Sergio and Daniel are to be protected. There is a sense of pride that they show in all that is created. Carmen was wonderful with our parents and children, and on the upper floor where we were, we had smiles everyday of the artwork our team member left us with all our towels. The villa yard and infinity pool were always spotless.

I have several companies in Canada and it is our team that keeps our business alive. We expect them to own the process, and this is what we saw everyday with your villa staff. They worked in unison and it was very personal.

We would like to discuss what we could do for the full month of August if you would be willing to consider this. If we can come to an agreement, we would rent villa for the entire month. Please let me know what you could do for us and we would enjoy doing this again.

All the best and thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review