reviews for: listing #22565 - San Francisco, California Villa rental

Spacious San Francisco Bay Area Villa Sleeps 17-23
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $1,200 /nt
    $4,550 - $4,900 /wk
    $16,950 - $18,000 /mth

sort by:

Castro Valley Villa I

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

The West Coast Villa was exceptional. Don and Krista were very helpful in giving advice and directions on where to go and how to go. The BART is near the Villa and we utilized it almost everyday as it was easy access and saved our group from having to take a car into the city. Don and Krista were always eager to answer any questions that we had and did everything humanly possible to make our stay a pleasant one. I would highly recommend thier Villa to anyone wanting to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the city and would like quiet evening times together. Great for families or large groups. Our entire experience gets an A+ in my book. Thank you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was a delight to have you and your group at West Coast Villa. Thanks for staying with us. We hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SF 2014

Review submitted: August 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 27, 2014

We had a family vacation of 15 stay comfortably at the Villa during the summer of 2014. The home was beautiful and in excellent condition. It was in a quiet neighborhood, yet close to highways, a Safeway and other fast food restaurants. Very easy to get to Napa, Carmel or San Francisco. The owners were very helpful when we requested information or baby accessories. I would highly recommend this Villa to any group gathering and would love to return. Mike

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gorgeous home in a great location!

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We stayed at this amazing home for 8 days in August and we couldn't have been more pleased. The house was in a great location-minutes from the Oakland Airport-and close to the highway entrance as well as 2 different lines from Bart. But at the same time, the neighborhood was quiet and our street had little traffic, not including the deer we saw running down the road as we left one morning! The home was spacious with more than enough room for the 4 families (12 people) we had staying there. The layout was fabulous with an enormous gathering area, while the bedrooms and bathrooms were secluded and private. The kitchen had 2 of each appliance which made it easy for us to prepare meals large enough for our group. The kids loved going to the beautiful backyard and picking fruit to snack on. The owners were friendly and helpful, always available but never intrusive. We have done these annual family trips all over the world for the last several years, and this was our favorite home by far. We truly loved it here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50 year nursing class reunion

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Our group of nursing school classmates gets together yearly, but we wanted our 50 year reunion to be VERY special. WestCoast Villa met our expectations. The house is exactly as pictured. It was spotlessley clean. 15 of us called it home for 4 days in September. Five others visited for daytime activities. It is located in an upscale neighborhood with plenty of parking. We spent much of our time gathered around the two tables in the kitchen area, feeling very much at home. The kitchen is the nicest I have seen in any vacation rental..making meal preparation a breeze. Two cook tops and two dishwashers! We even hand picked fruit from the trees in the yard. Beds were very comfortable with plenty of extra bedding if it got chilly. The owners are gracious and very accessable. They met us on arrival and gave us a full tour..even set up an extra twin mattress in the study. The master bathroom is jaw dropping beautiful.The hot tub appeared brand new. Safeway was within walking distance. Access to the freeway was easy. It was a short drive to the Bay Bridge and over to San Francisco for Beach Blanket Babylon. On another day we took the ferry from Jack London Square ( a half hour away) right to the stadium for a Giants game. There is also a large shopping outlet just a few minutes away. This home is so large, lovely and welcoming that we were happy to return home every time we ventured out. I have rented several vacation homes in at least 3 states and this one is the winner!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Accurately describes home

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Home was clean and in great condition. We were not disappointed. Our family enjoyed the
spacious home with plenty of places for everyone. The location was great for our daily side trips
and trips to the City-easy to access the freeways! The owners were there to greet us and answer
any questions which was most helpful! We would certainly rent again and recommend this home to our friends!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

From South America

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

We visited the West Coast in February with my family and two more families. 20 in total. 6 adults and 14 children between 20 and 4 years old. Was a fantastic experience. We felt at home. The house is very comfortable with everything you need. We stayed there for 10 days and from there we visited all the attractions of the Bay Area and other places like Stanford, etc. The location is very good and strategic.
The neighborhood is very quiet, with many services in the area, including supermarkets, pharmacies, etc., and we definitely recommend West Coast Villa.
We really appreciate the hospitality of the owners, Don and his wife! We really hope to return again in the future..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Trip 2012

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

This property was above and beyond everthing I could have ever expected in a vacation house. Our family of seven stayed here and all had separate bedrooms and bathrooms. The living areas were large enough for meals together, planning our days in San Francisco, and doing our big puzzle on a table. The information given to us before and during the trip by our guest made our stay in Castro Valley so much easier. The house was maintained very well and the kitchen stocked for every cooking need you have. Easy to get there from airport, and close to BART system. Our guest was on hand to help us with questions on house, directions, and good local places to eat. I would highly recommend this house for large families. I was very glad the pictures matched the house. We would stay again if in the area.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guam Family Reunion At West Coast Villa

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Christmas / New Years Family Reunion
From East Coast, West Coast, Guam
Don & Krista, Your house worked wonders for our reunion - the main house (Villa I) as a center of activity and the smaller house (Villa II) as a safe haven for after dinner silence. Your landscaping was the first thing I noticed and made all the difference in the world. The roses, the hibiscus, and the healthy fruit-bearing trees made the entire week feel abundant....I especially enjoyed your attention to detail (ex. the shampoo matching the bathrooms, the faux flowers and large painting). This is one family that will never stay in a hotel again after such a wonderful experience. I hope that the laughs and memories that my family leaves in this place fill you with a sense of secondary warmth. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

RMU Women's Lacrosse Team Winners

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

Don & Krista thanks so much for opening your house to our team and showing us your hospitality. The house was gorgeous and was more than we could have ever expected. We made a lot of lasting memories this trip and couldn't have done that without your house. Thanks again.
RMU Women's Lacrosse Team
Owners Comment: Congratulations on your win! We enjoyed hosting all 30 coaches and team members.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Wedding Day

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2009

Don & Krista, "Thank you" cannot even begin to express how truly grateful we are to have had the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful villa! Our friends and family truly enjoyed our time here. Andy and I are forever grateful for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Lawn Bowlers Stay for U.S. Open

Review submitted: September 22, 2008   Date of arrival: September 11, 2008

A group of 15 lawn bowlers found the property exactly as described: gorgeous, clean, and accommodating. Seven days of commuting to Oakland, Walnut Creek, and/or Golden Gate Park for lawn bowling competition, the property was ideally located just off I-580. The owners were most hospitable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Class!

Review submitted: September 20, 2008   Date of arrival: September 11, 2008

All descriptions were accurate. Amenities excellent. Everything was xtremely clean and/or brand new appearing and operating. Owner was very responsive. Highly recommended. Genuinely a first class operation for people who appreciate outstanding accomodations. Their "97 page contract" was a bit frightening early on, but I suppose it goes with the territory these days.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: It was such a delight to have your group with us and learn about your sport. We laughed at your tongue-in-cheek joke about a "97 page contract". It is always our pleasure to give beyond what is expected and be responsive to the needs of all our guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

West Coast Villa Were the living is easy!

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

Lovely open concept Villa with loads of space for people to relax cook, eat and enjoy themselves. Easy access to BART, Napa Valley, #1 Coastal Highway. Helpful hosts make vacation planning easy.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Reunion Villa

Review submitted: September 14, 2008   Date of arrival: September 5, 2008

West Coast Villa 1 more than met the expectations of all 9 of us! We were all celebrating our 60th birthdays and loved the spacious elegance of this home. We drove to the BART for day trips into San Francisco and connected to the #1 highway via the #92 bridge to drive down to Big Sur along the coast. Each day, we came home to lounge in the hot tub, munch on Thai food, pizza, or stay at home barbeque and shared our meals around the huge family table. The beds were extra comfortable and the villa was quiet...except for us! A wonderful place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

My family was very pleased with the home! All twelve of us had very comfortable beds and nice large rooms! Everything we needed was provided, except for food, and there was a large freezer to hold seven days worth of food and a nice refrigerator! This is our second vacation in a rental home and I have to say, we have not been disappointed in either one. The Villa was by far the nicer of the two though.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Small group meeting

Review submitted: March 31, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We are a small not-for-profit group in Nothern California. When we plan a working retreat for a group of 14 people, this villa fits us perfectly. The villa located at a quiet residential area. There are enough bedrooms to accomodate all of us. We use the large living room to be the informal meeting room. The kitchen is spacious and well-equipped. Instead of using the formal dining room, we use the large space adjoining the kitchen for dining. There are nice "nook and crane" for personal relaxation and chit-chat. The large patio and deck outside is nice too.

Overall, all members of our group agree that it's a pleasant experience, fostering a group bonding and thus yields a productive meeting result. If we have to do it again, we would definitely choose this villa over a hotel.

Owners response: Our guests point out another great benefit of West Coast Villa. We often host corporate, political, and religious and non-profit groups. There are large, but comfy open spaces as well as plenty of quiet retreat areas. It makes a great place for family reunions, too.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Our Family Renuion

Review submitted: March 15, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We held our anual family renuion here. As most of our family had to travel a distance, this residence was a perfect solution to where they would all stay. It was spacious enough that everyone had their own privacy, yet we were able to be together whenever we wished. The home and kitchen were spotless and beautiful. Everything that was needed was available for our use and the owners were available if we needed them. I am still hearing comments about the wonderful accomadations and the marvelous time that we all had together. Thank you for making our time there so wonderful. Betty S
PS We used both Villas

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We sure enjoyed meeting your extended family and hope to see you all again. Thanks for staying with us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

A great retreat for a family get-together

Review submitted: October 16, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

The Castro Valley villa sounded on the website to be an ideal location for our family members to stay while attending a cousin's wedding. The list of amenities was extensive and the photos showed a beautiful property.

Everything was as described on this website and even more!

The 5,000 square feet of space was more than enough for us to accomodate everyone and also entertain friends and family members who stopped by.

The huge kitchen and pantry were very well-stocked and made it easy for us to prepare many of our meals at home, even using apples and lemons from the backyard trees! We were invited to make use of all the food that was stocked in the pantry, which was easily supplemented by a trip to the supermarket that is only a two-minute drive away.

The owners were accessible but unintrusive and made us feel truly welcome. Next time we have a family event in the Bay Area, we will most certainly stay at the villa.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Our whole family enjoyed not just your house but the thoughtful hospitality from the little table and chairs you set up for our youngest to the paper you had delivered daily for those of us who could read. The house allowed us all to spread out comfortably and seek our own peace or come back together to cook a meal or relax on the porch. We appreciated your prompt attention when we called with questions regarding the hot tub or TV as well as all of the great local tips to getting around. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: August 22, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Our whole family enjoyed not just your house but the thoughtful hospitality from the little table and chairs you set up for our youngest to the paper you had delivered daily for those of us who could read. The house allowed us all to spread out comfortably and seek our own peace or come back together to cook a meal or relax on the porch. We appreciated your prompt attention when we called with questions regarding the hot tub or tv as well as all of the great local tips to getting around. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 18, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We had the privilege of staying in the West Coast Villa II during the Thanksgiving week. We were very impressed with the wonderful accommodation provided and the hospitality that we received from Don and Krista. They made us feel very welcome and were readily available to help us find everything we needed in the Bay Area .

The Villa is beautifully furnished with everything we needed to make us feel right at home. There is a washer, dryer, dishwasher and all the amenities that one would have at home plus the beds were so comfortable. Having three bathrooms was a bonus.

We're so thankful that the Villa was available to us upon our visit to the Bay area and we will certainly stay there again. Truly a lovely vacation home and we would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review