reviews for: listing #22583 - Waikiki, Hawaii Studio rental

Fantastic Diamond Head & Ocean view from Private Lanai!!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Waikiki Grand
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $70 - $135 /nt
    $490 - $910 /wk
    $1,960 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

The view may be the best in Waikiki

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We have stayed at many hotels in Waikiki, this is the first time we rented a condo and we will definitely do so again. We arrived late and Charles had contacted us, given instructions about keys etc and turned the bedside lamp on. There was a welcome note and cookies left for us. We were aware the Waikiki Grand was an older building but it seemed to be well cared for. Exterior painting was underway during our visit but was not bothersome in any way.

The unit was just big enough for two with an efficient kitchen. All the kitchen equipment you could need was supplied. We had a problem with the toaster and Charles replaced it very quickly. It was actually very nice to make breakfast and drink our Kona coffee each day without having to get dressed and go out. The experience of opening the (blackout) drapes to the spectacular views of beach, zoo and Diamond Head was indescribable. We often went to the beach for a few hours and then returned to make lunch, saving money to use for some really lovely dinners.

Quite a lot of equipment was provided including beach towels and boogie boards etc. however there were a few small practicalities that could be improved. We found the half size broom made it back breaking to keep the floors clear of sand as requested. Originally only three towels were provided for our ten day stay. Charles did bring a fourth when asked - he was very pleasant and accommodating. There were no tea towels or dish cloths. The bedding was somewhat uncomfortable for this 50+ couple - the pillows were hard and flat and the cover was meant for a smaller bed. The mattress was hard but I realize that is a matter of personal preference. For the very reasonable rental rate we didn't find these little things too bothersome. There was a good amount of storage space including a closet that would accommodate the empty suitcases. Many hangers were provided - a rarity!

The original art on the walls was an unexpected delight. We were able to watch the lunar eclipse sitting on the lanai.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

Just came back from the Apt. Back in cold Canada. The view from our 9th floor was I would say the best I have seen in my lifetime.
Sunset over the ocean every night while eating our supper on the large lanai. Full view of beach, palm trees, Diamond head, Kapiolani green park with awesome green trees.
it was clean, quiet and perfect for 2 persons.Tennis , walking distance, my second love after my husband ! Jogging track for my husband. Starbucks downstairs and tons of great restaurants and shops walking distance.
The apt. was clean and Charles! the helper on location, was great and treated us like family. Gave us cookies upon arrival.
For sure, saving money to be back there.
our contact Hiroko, was always very punctual to answer all our questions upon our booking the apt.
Happy Canadians, Louise & Ron.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a perfect location - Speechless over the view

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

Happy Holidays!
What a perfect location -loved being steps away from the beach, and the zoo, and the aquarium! I'm still speechless over the view. We had everything we needed - thank you for the beach gear.
Thank you to Charles for being so welcoming What a great way to spend the holidays.
Sarah and Matt

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I had a wonderful stay at this condo.

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at this condo.
The room itself was cozy and well- maintained. It almost contains anything. You would need to enjoy your sojourn. The location is optional as it is at the end of strip and being on the 9th floor ( and having a lanai )
affords you a beautiful view of the mountains, the Honolulu Zoo across the street, the beach that is in close proximity.
The guest service person, Charles, is very accommodating. Any questions and concerns I had were handle easily and promptly by him. This is your guy for anything you may need and, on top of that, somehow he can get you good discounts!
Let's face it, Waikiki isn't exactly inexpensive.
If I ever come down here again in the future, I know where I'd be staying!
Jay (San Diego)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great location not so great condo

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 22, 2013

We booked this condo as we loved the fact that it was so close to the beach and the views from the lanai looked great.Upon arrival we found that there was building work taking place on the front of the building that we hadnt been informed about,and that you were asked not to use the lanai or leave anything outside.
Hiroko had asked that we keep the condo clean as you would your own property,however we spent most days sweeping up dust and rubble from the work done outside.We emailed Hiroko and was was told that they might move us to a room at the back of the building with no view.But we refused as we didn't travel all the way from the UK to look onto the back.No refund was asked for or offered as we didnt want it to spoil our holiday.
Other than that the condo needed more kitchen utensils and crockery that matched!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I got the notice from my Condo Association that construction on the exterior of the building would be finished by April 12 before my customers would arrived but there was a delay. I tried to get another room but a room with a good view was not available. I asked the customers if there were any problems to please contact my condo management. They didn't contact him or me. I didn't know till this review that they had to sweep at all. I did do my best but I could not control this matter. The construction is now over and this will not be an issue again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect location, close beach,spectacular view

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

Our stay here was a great experience. The location is perfect, so close beach and the view is spectacular. No City Scape, only nature. Hotel is safe, clean and secure. The unite was clean and had everything needed to enjoy Oahu.
Thanks to Hiroko for making the arrangements so easy.

Ken

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location!!!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

we had a very nice stay in this Waikiki studio ,
Studio was very basic, and quite small, but would defenitly recommend
This stuido as it was in the best location! Fantastic view and a 1 min walk to the beach!!
Owner was easy to contact and everything was smooth and simple;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Stay! a Great Location! A Great Owner!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

We Will go Back, Zoo is just across the street. Southern end of Waikiki close to everything. Views really good.We liked the room and for the price its really hard to beat.Owner is very responsive to emails and we had no problems checking in or out.Early morning absolutely magical from Lanai as you wait for sun to come up over Diamond Head.
You do not have to leave your room to enjoy sunset either. Open air bar on second floor and pool in back.
We wish we could have stayed forever.
I would recommend this place for anyone that is looking for the right combination of location views and most importantly Low cost.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Location

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

I like the location at the end of the strip on Waikiki. The view of Diamond Head and the ocean, instead of other hotels, is a big plus. It can make for some long walks, but nothing to crazy, and there is always the cab option. The only cons were that the air conditioner was leaking pretty bad, so if we didn't change out the bowl that caught it regularly a big puddle would form on the balcony. Also meant we couldn't leave it on while we were out, so it would be very hot when we got back in. The place is very small, but you're in Waikiki, get out and about! Two people max, and the fan in the bathroom doesn't work, so beware on those mornings after drinking too much ;) The owner was easy to get a hold of, and returned my security deposit promptly after our stay. I would say it is a good value for the money.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for the review. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. In regards to the air conditioner though, it only leaks on the hottest days. You happened to stay on very humid days. There had not been an issue for months. I am sorry for the inconvenience but almost no other tenants will have this issue.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming and quaint

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

This place, is perfect for those that spend no time in the condo other then eat breakfast and sleep. The view is spectacular. Fantastic location. Parking is a bit steep but it is Waikiki after all.

We did enjoy our stay in Paradise.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We had a brilliant stay here. The room is fresh, light, clean and perfect for a relaxed vacation. we didn't find it too small and the location suited us well, being high season, Waikiki was super busy so it was nice being at the quieter end of the tourist area. Everything you needed was in walking distance - most importantly the beach!

The view from the balcony was beautiful and it was nice sitting out each evening with a drink and not having to look into someone elses hotel room. We hired a car for a couple of days and had no problem finding free parking around the zoo and loved being able to prepare our breakfast and lunches each day before a big day out.

I highly recommend making a booking at Hau Tree Lanai just down the road at the New Otana Hotel, such a beautiful restaurant to watch the sunset.

Overall, we were extremely happy to be staying here and without a doubt will be back.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Lanai

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Although this place is small...it was not challenging to live in for 8 days. We loved the view of the ocean/Diamond Head/and the zoo. No need to put on the air conditioning because of the fantastic breeze. The location is amazing because it is close to the beach, and at the far end of the busy Waikiki strip. We started every morning with coffee on the lanai, and ended the evening with a cocktail. If you need a large space with a couch or lounge chairs, this is not the place for you. I would recommend more comfortable chairs on the lanai because that's where you spend most of your time. If you want a great lanai, location, views and a wonderful Hawaiin breeze, I would highly recommend it.
Thanks Hiroko

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Amazing place to stay!!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

My husband and I came here for our 'second honeymoon' and wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. It was great having our own private patio and the view of the ocean and Diamond Head were breathtaking. There were no buildings in front of us so we just ahd the view of all that gorgeous Hawaiin nature. The room was clean and tidy. There was air conditioning if it got too hot. The kitchen was great....we made breakfast and coffee for ourselves every morning. The location is excellent. It is 1 minute from the beach,main drag and buses. It is in the heart of Waikiki.The front staff was also very helpful and Hiroko was great. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about this apartment. It is a fine choice and we would definitely stay here again!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Great View!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

The View was wonderful! The room was very clean and we loved having a small kitchen. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A hidden value

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

This room was as advertised. The security and location were good. Some of the traffic in and out of the hotel and bars in the building were a little on the shady side, but that is to be expected. Having the little store and laundry facility in the building was great. I would have liked to see them replace the screen in the window so that I could have opened it for some fresh air, rather than running the AC unit the whole time. The rental agency staff was professional and courteous. Overall this unit is a great value and I would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

My new favoreite place in waikiki

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

I stayed at Hiroko's rental for a week and I had a fabulous time. The view is breathtaking and the private balcony is wonderful. I really like that it is not facing any other building, just the mountain and ocean. My friend, who is not from Hawaii fell completely in love. I only have good thigs to say. The room is clean and pretty, the location is great because all the buses come almost within a block, the beach is right there, Waikiki shopping is right there.
Thank youu Hiroko and I will be coming back and recommending this place to everybody.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Unsatisfied Guest

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

The place was small but had a nice view. Close to tourist attractions but was not worth it for what we went through. Was suppose to stay for four nights but instead check out on the second night due to bugs. The first day we came in saw a roach on the bed and on the floor. Over night we woke up in the middle of the night and found one on the ceiling, one on the wall and one on the microwave. So we used our oFF spray and killed them. Then went back to sleep, woke up and saw a baby roach on the mirrior while we were brushing our teeth. Left for the day came back and more bugs. We contact the owners and got a late response. We let the owner know of the bug issue and how unhappy we were that we were going to check out two days early and would want a discount for the stay. Hiroko only offered us $50. We thought it was totally unfair. We will never come back here again and will not recommend this place to anyone.

Owners response: Dear Future Tenants,
Please disregard this review as it is mostly false. There was not a large bug problem as I inspected the room before and after and found no sign. My previous and more recent guests have had no issue at all.

In regards to the unfair discount. We talked it over and $50 was agreed upon during her stay. Only after she left did she demand more money. I believe this is why she wrote this review.

Please diregard this review and see that my other guests have been much more satisfied. I am a good renter and I would love to share my home with you.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Close to everything!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

What an amazing location! Close to everything, a half block to the beach and shopping within steps. We really enjoyed this little unit and took full advantage of the kitchenette. We sometimes wish the fridge was bigger, but as we were only there a week, it probably saved us wasting food... Unit was very clean and tidy, the building is very secure. The front desk staff were AMAZING and gave us lots of directions to the different attractions. We rented a car and had no trouble finding free parking along the park. All in all - this place exceeded our expectations.
PS - We went to the Aloha Stadium swap meet (Saturday or Wednesday) and got most of our souvenirs there for much less expensive prices than in Waikiki :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

One of Hawaii's Best views

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Waikiki Grand Condo Owner Hiroko
The Condo was great--a little on the small side but the amenities made up for that. Hiroko made me feel so welcome, starting with the Lei greeting, down to everything she supplied the condo with. It was an extremely comfortable location for me. I have traveled to Waikiki many times and stayed in about fiffty or so hotels, this one is at the top of the list. Beautifully appointed, great location, wonderful lanai, and the most gorgeous view of Diamond Head and ocean!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

The location is perfect for Waikiki with fantastic view of beach & Diamondhead while at the same time easy to get outside of Waikiki with easy access to freeways & local buses.

The unit has clean but simple furnishings (nothing really fancy).

The downside the unit is small and no parking included. However, fairly cheap parking $60/week with in/out priveledges at the Waikiki Banyan 2 short blocks away. Unless you're going outside of Honolulu, a car is not really needed anyhow.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best Honeymoon EVER!!!

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

this was a last second thrown together honeymoon/vacation/destination wedding and let me tell you this condo was the BEST decision we could have made! Not only did we end up paying THOUSANDS LESS than everyone else on the trip we had the BEST time ever! Beach view, Diamond Head view, only blocks away from the main strip and across the street from the beach (much quieter and cleaner than the main beach by all the hotels). The condo owners were both extremely hospitiable and accessable and not a single thing went wrong on this entire trip! Quiet, clean, easy access...we will definately be staying here (if its available!!!!) every time we come to Hawaii!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

August 2010 Vacation

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

The view is wonderful! We woke every morning to the sound of the surf and ended our days with cocktails on the lanai watching the ocean and the palms swaying in the breeze.

The location is perfect. Across the street from the zoo (watched the flamingos) about two minutes to the beach, five minutes to the Aquarium, with the beautiful Kaopaloni park just across the street.

The condo is perfect for two. It's not a large condo, but clean and nice. You can get items of necessity (bathroom tissue) at the ABC store just two doors down and we went to the Food Pantry (just 7 blocks away on Kuhio)to do our grocery shopping. Starbucks is only three doors down and opens at 5:00 a.m.

This was our 7th visit so we did the things that we most enjoy. We visited the zoo, the Aquarium, walked the beach, walked Waikiki's main street and did a few activitiies. We did the Polynisian Adventures Circle the Island tour and visited the Kualoa ranch. Both all day activities. We also did the the Atlantis submarine ride (my favorite). Had a wonderful dinner at the Top of Waikiki revolving restaurant.

All in all a wonderful ten days. I would recommend this condo for those that would rather spend their money on activities than big hotel bills.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

This condo was perfect for my week vacation to Hawaii. It was in the perfect location and had access to everything Waikiki has to offer. It was a little smaller than I expected, but the price and the close proximity to the beach made up for it. The hotel staff was very friendly and the burger joint on the first floor was excellent. I recommend this rental for vacationers that are traveling light and don't have children (due to the overall size of the condo).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Nice small studio

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

A nice, small, clean studio, close to the beach, park and zoo. The elevator was always prompt and we never had a long wait. Hotel staff were helpful and kind. Not a suitable studio if you wish to spend a lot of time in your room as it is small and doesn't have a separate seating area. It is a nice walk up to Diamond Head. The beach is just a minute or two walk from the lobby. Very easy walk or bus ride to everywhere we wanted to go. Clean and well taken care of. The one thing we didn't like is that we had to run out and shop for toilet paper the day after we arrived as only one small role is all that was left for our use. It added a small urgency to the start of our vacation.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

This studio had plenty of light streaming in when I first arrived which was beautiful to see. Then walking out to the patio I was able to see all of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. The view is spectacular. The room is great for two and had everything I needed in order to enjoy my stay. Thank you

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Vacation 2010

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

I stayed at this condo on my honeymoon in June/July of 2010. It was like home away from home, except for being in paradise! We did not rent a car, but we didn't need to... everything was very close. The view from the lanai was breathtaking (you can see both the ocean and Diamond Head). The condo was very clean and the laundry room was very convenient. I would recommend this condo to anyone, it was perfect for the two of us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

The place was everything I thought it wold be and the view was unbelievable. Less than a block to the beach. Right in the middle of all the fun waikiki attraction. I went swimming every day. I would recommend this place to everybody.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Oahu Visit 2009

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

I stayed at this condo in August/September 2009 for about two weeks. It was great! The condo is very clean and comfortable. The view from the lanai is AMAZING - Diamond Head and ocean views. You can see the ocean lying in bed! Condo is perfect for two people and very convenient - located near Kapiolani Park and the beaches. A great place to stay as a base for seeing the rest of Oahu or staying locally near Waikiki. Parking is available metered or free on street near the park. Laundry room in building as well and several shops located nearby. I highly recommend staying at this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review