reviews for: listing #2259 - St Pete Beach, Florida House rental

Lovely Harbor Mist in Gulfport - Wifi + pets-open Summer
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $868 - $1,002 /wk
    $1,800 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Delightful get-away

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
My husband and I stayed here while visiting our son, who had recently moved to Gulfport. I have nothing but praise for this cute little cottage. It met our needs perfectly, was very clean, and the instructions/directions for everything were helpful. (The only negative is that I could not get the wireless internet to recognize the password. But I wasn't there to browse the internet anyway.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place to vacation!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Close to the beach, and shops. Lots of walking shops within walking distance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Will Stay Again!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Lovely home, just small bedrooms that could use smaller or creative designed furniture and the cleaning that the "tenants" are responsible for was very evident, especially in the dishes. But overall, was a very pleasant stay and would stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT STAY

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
VERY GREAT STAY

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

One of many to choose from

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The property was satisfactory but not good enough to rent again. It was dark inside and the tile flooring felt unsteady, as if the sub structure was crumbled. The yard was the best part for humans and canines.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Grea tChristmas GetAway

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Ideal size. Comfortable and convenient location

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Willies stay at Harbor Mist

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Harbor Mist was a very nice mid sized rental. Everything was in good working condition and well stocked with every that most people on vacation would need. The landscaping was very nice like a tropical oasis. The back yard has a large new gas grill and has lots of shade trees. House was located near many main roads and close to shopping and local attractions. We were very pleased with our stay and will rent Harbor Mist again if we stay in St. Petersburg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would definitely come back

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 13, 2013

Madison: I spent a long, interesting week with friends. This house was a great find and I am thankful to have come along with my friends. We went to clubs, the beach, the boardwalk. Spent a lot of time outside and loved the ceramic duck in the beautiful backyard. I would come back to this house and St Pete anytime.

Rory: Very comfortable and peaceful neighborhood. Had a great stay! I would definitely come back!

Micah: Had an amazing time there with all my friends. A beautiful house with beautiful landscaping. Definitely would come again. Thanks for being so great!

Danny: Enjoyed himself!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect stay!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

You guys are amazing. I finally got some rest. Perfect stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pleasure dealing with Beth

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Very comfortable, very quiet, very relaxing. Just what we wanted. If we are in this area again we will stay here! Pleasure dealing with Beth

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great beach rental and suited our needs perfectly!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much! The weather was warm with one day of heavy rain.

We spent a couple of days at St Pete Beach. We went to The Pier in St Petersburg and saw about 10 dolphins close to the pier. They had found a large school of fish.

Gulfport Art Walk was great. We had dinner at Peg's Cantina. They have great beer. The kids loved the playground (at the beach) next to the Casino.

We went to Lowry Park Zoo and saw the new leopard cubs. Dell Homes Park has a great splash pad & playground for kids.

The highlight of the trip was Fort DeSoto Park. We rented bikes and enjoyed the beach. We saw tons of birds.

We also enjoyed Boyd Hill Nature Park. We saw a gator, a momma racoon with her babies, turtles and tons of birds. They also do rehab for birds of prey and had a bald eagle and several hawks and owls.

The Harbor Mist is a great beach rental and suited our needs perfectly. If we come back to this area we would love to stay here again. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Long Weekend in Gulfport

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Harbor Mist. The place was perfect for 2 couples, everything was clean, and all of the logistics ran very smoothly. Gulfport is a great little town and you can walk from the house to go out to dinner or grab a drink. It's also a short drive from the St. Pete beaches, which are beautiful. House was fully equipped so we didn't have to worry about any linens or utensils. The backyard is great for grilling. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

ypsilanti,michigan

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

our stay here for the month of Jan/2012,was everything we wanted,quite,cosy,confortable,great back yard,location great,everything you need is furnished,just get food and move in.Beth is a pleasure to work with,if we are in the area again,this is where we will stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Weekend

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We enjoyed our stay ast Harbor Mist. It is well kept and comfortable. The kitchen is better equipped that most homes. We only stayed for three days so didn't have time to enjoy the additional comforts such as books, DVD and VCR tapes, and a two block walk to the Nature Preseve and Marina. Every one gave us complex directions to Gulfport town. Simple: Left out of driveway for the same two blocks, turn right and pass in front of Marina, about five minutes driving to the middle of town. Also we found the best restaurant. It is located in the town and called LaCote Basque Winehouse. Lovely decoration and friendly staff. .Prices were mostly $23.00 but they had a TWO for ONE-- maybe because of summer. We picked the coupon up the evening before. Because we were meeting a friend, we did a lot of research on dining locations. They were clearly impressed. Food was wonderful; price was fantastic.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great little place, dog friendly, 2 blocks from a nice park and the Gulfport Marina

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The house was in an older neighborhood in an older town. Inside was clean and well kept. The nice enclosed backyard was just big enough for our 35 lb border collie to romp around. There is also a deck and a gas grill (get there soon - we just filled the propane tank!). Two blocks away, next to the Gulfport Marina, is a great park to walk the dog - it even had a doggie water fountain!

The Gulfport beach and downtown area is about 1 mile away - an easy drive or bike. There are many restaurants. We tried a couple: Ecco Bistro & Tapas (Beach Street) just a couple doors up from the Casino and Roman Gardens Ristorante (corner of Beach and Shore). Both allowed dogs on their sidewalk cafe - Roman Gardens even had a dedicated area for dog dinners! - and both provided a water dish for our dog. Both were good, but we went back to Roman Gardens twice and had great meals both times.

Don't miss Ted Peters Smoked Fish restaurant (Gulfport Ave east to S. Pasadena south) - great smoked fish, the best German potato salad I ever had and kickin' coleslaw.

Best individual-sized Key Lime Pie? Try Mid-Peninsula Seafood (400 49th Street South). Awesome! Also good fresh fish to cook on the grill, or have them cook it and take it home.

During the day, we'd drive to the beautiful North Beach at Fort DeSoto County Park. My wife would sun on the beach while I ran,biked or inline skated. There are enough out-and-back paved bike trails and/or bike lanes in the park and access road to make a 20 mile bike loop.

I also biked about 3 miles up 54th street to the Pinellas Trail - a 34 mile paved bike path that runs from St Petersburg to Clearwater. I headed west and north for a hour and a half out-and-back ride. Bridges went over major roads, with stop signs every mile or two for minor roads. Smooth pavement.

Both Gulfport and Fort DeSoto have dog parks.

Overall, the house was a great base camp and very pleasant for hanging out. I would recommend it, and if we were to vacation in Gulfport again, we would stay there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Well equipped, clean, peaceful getaway.

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

Our family enjoyed staying here. We had breakfast every morning in the beautiful back yard. Very clean, well appointed, home-away-from-home at a reasonable price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

Excellent vacation property. Clean and comfortable. Stayed there Nov 2009. Only problem: the bed creeked

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

Harbor Mist was the perfect getaway for the 3 of us this summer. The house was very cheerful, clean, well-equipted and maintained and the privacy-fenced backyard with its dolphin fountain and tropical landscaping was especially pleasant. This is the second time we have stayed at one of Beth's vacation rentals and we're very impressed with her attention to detail in creating a cozy beach retreat for her guests. We really appreciated her e-mail a couple of weeks before our visit detailing activities we might be interested in over the 4th of July weekend. Gulfport is a really friendly town full of wonderful restaurants with pet-friendly patios and their 1st Friday Artwalks are a fun way to spend the evening. We look forward to returning to Harbor Mist and Gulfport for many summer to come! Thanks Beth!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We have stayed at Harbor Mist on two occasions, for about a month each time, and have found it to be excellent vacation accommodation. It is well fitted out with everything you could need, and comes too with a very private and attractive yard and decking out back. It's just a short walk to a little harbour area and a point looking out across Boca Ciega Bay where we enjoyed viewing some great sunsets! Recommended!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 7, 2009

Harbor Mist was a comfortable house. It was very clean and has a well stocked kitchen for cooking. It has a nice fenced in backyard with a pond. There was sufficient bedding and towels. The beds were comfortable. The Guest Book that has been compiled is very helpful with lots of info. There is info about the appliances as well as maps of the area and things to do. The house had many movies to watch along with reading material.
The house is located 2 blocks from the bays' Yacht Club. Across from the docks is a Nature Preserve for walking and walking the dogs. Gulfport is very dog friendly. Our dogs enjoyed the backyard and walks to the park.

As golfers, Mangrove Bay is a nice golf course in St. Petersburg.- There is a par 3 course just a few miles away. Gulfport is a small quaint town. The libray is nice for using the computer. There is an art fair the first Friday and last Sat of every month. This is on Beach Blvd the main street. There is a Farmer's market every Tuesday with music and arts and crafts. Many good restaurants on Beach Blvd.

Gilfport has a small municipal beach and St. Pete Beach and Pass-A-Grille beach are close too. The convenience to I-275 made it nice for us to get to Sarasota, Venice and other points of interest.

Entered by Beth on behalf of the guests due to technical difficulties!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We stayed for a week over the Christmas Holidays 2008-2009. 2 adults and 2 children, age 5 and 8. The location was great for us and the house was very clean, with nice landscaping. We took a fabulous 1 day dolphin cruise from the harbor which was 2 blocks away, ask for Captin Rick I think. We walked to downtown Gulfport for dinner. We did drive to Gulfport beach even though it was very close too, because with kids, too much to carry. It was not far to St. Pete's Beach either. The neighborhood is very sweet. It was nice to have a full size bar-b-que pit too, we grilled while the boys searched for tad poles in the pond/fountain in the fenced in backyard. There was also a movie library to choose from. We will come again soon! Thank you Beth and Sally for your friendly hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

we had such a wonderful stay at harbor mist. we really enjoyed all of the personal touches, especially the guide book with all of the local information and the extremely well-equipped kitchen! we hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

My husband and I took our 18 month old son to Gulfport for a few days this summer and we were lucky to find this place. It's not on the beach, but it so close that it's better because of the much lower price. We were on Sunset Beach & Madeira Beach within 5 minutes of driving and anything you need is very nearby. The cottage was very clean (what I look for) and organized. It was the perfect size for our family of 3 or comfortably 4 people. The fenced-in backyard was great to let our son run around outside without escaping. =) We give it a thumbs up for your vacation needs!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 12, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Thanks Beth and Sally for your hospitality and use of your Harbor Mist rental home. My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much in Florida during the month of February. Being in Gulfport gave us a good opportunity to check out the St. Petersburg/Tampa and surrounding areas to determine if we would return to any of these locations. Harbor Mist was centrally located for us and we found the accommodations to be quite comfortable. Your home is just lovely and on a quiet, peaceful street. Thank you...

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review