reviews for: listing #22776 - Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii House rental

Hale o Lei...You Will Never Want to Leave!!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kealakekua
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $320 /nt
    $1,120 - $2,240 /wk

sort by:

Enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Stayed here March 21-25 with 3 adults and 3 teens (first night with another 2 adults who had to fly home early). We very much enjoyed our stay at Hale O Lei. The rental process was very easy, and Hart was quick to answer every question we had. The house was clean, comfortable and outfitted with everything possible we could think of needing. Everything was just as pictured. One thing I would like to point out, the "private" master suite is very private, as it is accessed only from the outside. There is no access from the bottom floor to the upper floor unless you go out the front door and up a set of stairs. This might be an issue with someone with younger children; however, with ours being teenagers, the privacy was nice. We falsely assumed with being on the water, it wouldn't be as hot but it was quite humid in the bay. The screened windows and ceiling fans really helped with keeping it cooler to sleep at night (and there was air conditioning in the King-1/2 bath room). Another thing to point out is there is no glass windows, only screens. At first that made us a little nervous regarding security and noise, but it wasn't an issue at all. (If you are a light sleeper, be aware you are not able to block out the noise that naturally occurs in the community.) The geckos around the home were a joy to watch and kept the bugs at bay. Some activities we did while staying here were kayaking trip to Captain Cook Monument with Adventures in Paradise (snorkeling was SPECTACULAR, but go for the early morning trip as the bay filled up with other tours once we were leaving), Pu'uhonau o Honaunau (Place of Refuge) and snorkeling at Two Step, visiting South Point and Green Sand Beach (if you aren't up for the 2 1/4 mile hike to the beach, locals will 4x4 you in for a fee - worth it!), Hapuna Beach and Mauna Kea Beach (at the hotel with only 40 parking spots, so get there before 8am if you want a spot which means you leave the house before 7am), shopping for chocolate covered everything at Donkey Balls factory, and ate some good meals at Annie's Island Fresh Burgers and Paparoni's Pizza take out. Mahalo to Hart and Marlene for opening their home for us to enjoy, and we will be recommending it to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Sounds like this group did many of the activities we recommend. There are a whole lot more for groups with other interests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

45th anniversary trip

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

We went here for 10 days to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and were happy with the choice. We were close to the ocean and enjoyed the sounds of the surf lulling us to sleep. It was a very relaxing stay and we would stay here again. From here we drove just about everywhere on the island and saw most of the tourist spots, and other places as well. We loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations on your 45th! Glad you enjoyed our home at the Bay. We look forward to having you back, soon. Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing for the money

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

Hello All, I visit the island regularly and I have to say this is one of my favorite places I have ever stayed. We loved it. A great place for a girls week or a family getaway. I will be back soon. Checking schedule now. Don't miss this wonderful house and great location.
blessings to all

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: She has already asked to return.....the mark of success in providing the perfect place for enjoying the Big Island! We try to make everyone's experience the best it can possibly be. Kealakekua Bay is amazing, making our job relatively easy by supporting our guests in whatever they want to do.....or not do! Aloha and Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Gathering

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Hale O Lei is a wonderful location and has all the features for a great vacation with easy access to historical sights, great snorkeling, kayaking with playful dolphins, and beautiful sunsets. Manini Beach is a few minute walk from the house and has wonderful snorkeling. The beach entrance is a bit chilly from a natural spring but it easy to get into it you are traveling with first time snorkelers. The beach was never crowded due to limited parking and the locals are very friendly. There is a very friendly donkey that enjoys snacking on the grass near the beach.

The house easily sleeps 10 adults and has enough room for everyone to find a spot to read a book or take a nap. My husband and I live in a very quiet neighborhood so we found the roosters, birds, early morning leaf blower, and traffic noise a bit annoying and had to sleep with earplugs. However, the other couples had no trouble with the sleeping.

Hale O Lei had everything that we needed for a wonderful holiday including most common kitchen appliances, washer and dryer, toys to play in the ocean. If we ever have another large gathering we would definitely stay at Hale O Lei.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fantastic experience all around

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We stayed at Hale O Lei with two other couples for 5 nights and had an amazing time. This wonderful island house is just across the street from beautiful Kealakekua bay. Everything was clean and well maintained, and the kitchen was well equipped. The house even had beach gear and snorkel equipment. You can walk a few minutes down the road to Manini beach park for snorkeling and relaxing. A short 10 minute drive gets you to Place of Refuge where you can learn about native Hawaiian culture, and snorkel at the nearby "two step" which rivals the snorkeling at Captain Cook monument. The house is in a quite neighborhood - at night you will fall asleep to just the sound of the ocean. Since the house is away from town, make sure to stock up on groceries so you can relax and not make the 15 minute drive in to town too often. There is a great lunch place, "Kalama's", about a 5 minute drive up the road which has what I'm pretty sure is some of the best shave ice in Hawaii, make sure to try the laulau or mahimahi burgers, you'll be in for a treat. It's also worth visiting the coffee and macadamia nut cooperative next door to Kalama's.

Kealakekua bay itself contains some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii. The best of the best is located a mile across the bay near the captain cook monument, currently accessible by kayak, with the kayak launch across the street and one house over. But note that a (free) permit is required from Hawaii State Parks to land a kayak near the monument. If you decide to rent kayaks, I highly recommend doing so through one of the legitimate local businesses (we rented from Aloha Kayaks) as opposed to the folks (illegally) renting at the launch itself. You will get much better equipment and professional advice and guidance about how to safely enjoy your day and protect the beautiful environment you are there to experience. Unfortunately we learned that kayaks may soon be completely banned from the bay because people aren't following the rules.

Hart and Marlene were great, and everything went smoothly with the rental. Highly recommended if you are looking for a quite and relaxing island experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to help make guest's have the best vacation ever! We love it even more when they come back a 2nd or 3rd or.....time to try to explore/enjoy even more!! Hart and Marlene

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Very soothing!

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

Hale o Lei was an excellent place to call home during our first visit to the Big Island. Kaleakekua Bay and Manini Beach are mere steps away. The fresh air and hushed sounds of the bay lull you to sleep at night and are great to wake up to along with the birds in the morning. Other points of interest are easy to get to and going to the grocery store up the street is a convenient alternative to driving to Kailua (though that is not far either). If you are looking for a peaceful, soothing place to be Hale O Lei is it!

Hart and Marlene were very helpful and provided info that was very useful about the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The experience you are seeking is what we want you to have! Kimo mentioned the store up the street. It is called Choice Mart and it carries the many, unusual, locally grown produce that you can't get elsewhere.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Memorable family vacation.

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Where to start - we had such a wonderful time at Hale o Lei. We were 3 generations at this Kealakekua Bay house. There were10 big people and 4 little people and although that is a lot for the house it worked quite well with the extra futons dropped off by Hart and Marlene. Everything we needed was there except for groceries. The kitchen was very well equipped - even a rice cooker and electric wok. There were beach towels, fins, snorkels and masks, water shoes, noodles, boogie boards and sand toys. Also, a couple of children’s games and books. Not to mention a coconut tree, banana tree and some very industrious spiders in the yard, which was an ideal place to settle after some ocean and beach time. Our hosts left so many papayas from their tree at home we couldn’t finish them and then dropped off some pink grapefruit a day or two later. Kayaks can be put in 30 steps from the house and a beach and play lawn is down the road. Snorkeling at Captain Cook’s Memorial is across the bay by kayak and worked very well for the 3, 4 and 5 year olds. With 4 small children we happily spent most of our time right in the area. Just one day trip to Volcano National Park.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: These guests were a delight to meet! While 14 people is more than we normally allow, we felt that we would do everything we could to facilitate a family get-together. This family made it work and we hope to invite them back, soon. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

snorkeling paradise

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

Stayed at Hale O Lei 3 weeks ago, the pictures don't do it justice. The ocean is right there, across the street. Turn left out the gate walk 75 yards take the walk to Mahini beach, the snorkeling is some of the best in Hawaii. You're 100 ft from the kayak launch, well worthwhile to rent one. The house is very spacious, clean and well kept, I'll never stay in a hotel in Hawaii again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This guest has already contacted us for a return visit later this year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Without a doubt this was the best way for our family to all get together to honor my son's work in getting his engineering degree! There was 10 of us and we were still able to feed everyone at this great house when we wanted too. Everything we needed was there from bedding and towels, dishes and cookware, to snorkling equipment! Hart and Marlene were allways available for info and ideas. They do so much to make this feel like your house. Everything was in good working order and that upstairs bedroom is awesome!! We highly recommend this location as well for being central to almost everything you want to see. People that come to stay must realize that this is not a luxury resort, it is your home away from home!! We will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We try to create a home that people love to return to, and it seems to work as we have delightful people return time after time. Mahalo nui loa!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hale o Lei is wonderful

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Concerning angelcoach's review: I found the local (maybe illegal) kayak rental folks to be friendly and helpful. They charged $40 for a day, were right next door, and supplied snorkel gear as well. The legal places involve a drive up to the highway, loading the kayaks on your car, driving back down, back up at the end of the day, and are more expensive. Concerning screens and no glass windows: people go to Hawaii to enjoy the ocean breeze at night.
I never saw the first mosquito. And this place is so out of the way there is no traffic at all at night. I can't believe anybody would have trouble sleeping there other than a time zone change. I slept great, especially after enjoying the nice jaquzzi.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This reviewer is participating in the Ironman again this year and read the one negative review we received in all of our years of vacation renting with amazement....she felt she needed to give her perspective on Hale o Lei.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Jungle Bird songs!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

We’ve really enjoyed our stay here- love the upstairs bedroom with the ocean view and “jungle” bird songts. This is a comfortable home with all the amenities one could ask for.

My husband highly recommends the Manta Ray dive. “Other Worldly!” Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Blast!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

First visit to the Big Island. Has been a blast so far! Moving to the Hilo side to continue our adventures. Jacob loves the geckos and all the play toys you had for him. Thanks to Hart & Marlene for the hospitality and great tips on beaches for Jacob, plus “shade”. Mahalo!

Owner Response- These guests stayed an additional 5 days with us on the east side of the Big Island at our oceanfront Hale Ehu Kai (www.vacationrentals.com #30479). We love to host people on both sides of the Big Island so they can explore with less driving and have more diverse experiences.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Thank you so much for the use of the beach house. So comfortable, great location. Great way to celebrate birthdays.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love It!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

Had a few tsunami related bummers…No Jacuzzi, swampy mosquito pond and funky tsunami odor…But it is hard to be bummed for long when you are staying in paradise.

Thank you for such a thoughtful rental…there was nothing that we needed that you have not provided.

Owner response- These guests came 3 days after Kealakekua Bay was hit by the tsunami resulting from the Japanese earthquake. We had the spa taken out, shop move, large trees take out supporting posts of carport, much sand and rocks in house and yard, pond/fountain destroyed, rock walls and gate taken out, much of the vegetation killed, as 2-3 feet of water repeatedly assaulted our home. Fortunately, we did not get totally destroyed as 7 houses in the Bay did. Through working long days and nights we were able to get Hale o Lei habitable, but not perfect. Fortunately, these guests were understanding and enjoyed themselves. Soon thereafter, we replaced the spa, found the last of the fish under the house, and completed structural problems. This gave us the opportunity to plant new vegetation as the salt continued to kill plants for several months.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We had a wonderful time. Thanks to my daughter Sylvia S for bringing us here. We love your house and the comfort of it. We would come again and stay there if we could. Mahalos…..I really had a great time. I loved the geckos! (added Anlesa C)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful and beautiful vacation!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

A wonderful and beautiful vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Aloha. Mahalo. Aloha! We loved everything about this place! We will be sure to spread the “word” about this place. Mahalo!
Owner Response- Great thoughts! These guests also stayed with us at our new vacation home, Mele Kai, on the other side of the Big Island at Kapoho (www.vacationrentals.com #56931). We love to host people on both sides of the Big Island so they can explore with less driving and more diverse experiences. Kapoho has the best snorkeling on the east side of the Island

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing time

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2011

a group of 5 woman enjoyed the inside and outside of this beautiful house. and mmh very ono the mangos fresh from the tree. Lot of space and everything looked nice and clean, thanks for the welcomflowers on the table. Just a short walk to the beeches for a great swimm in the ocean or just rent a kayak around the cormer.... You need a car to get there and then a lots of fun all arround. We will be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This time of year you can use our mango pole and pick your breakfast of Hayden mangos....5 minutes tree to stomach! MMMMM

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beware!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We rented this home because we were told the kayaking was great. In the printed literature sent to us by the owner, it said the kayak rental was 100' from the property. When we arrived, the business cards for the kayak rental were available in a stack in the living room so we relied on that and gave one of the guys at the rental $200 as a deposit. He disappeared with our money, and the police told us they were not surprised. They had arrested each of them many times on a variety of drug charges & illegal activities. The police informed us that the rental site itself is illegal. We, obviously, did not feel safe in this home being so close to this kind of situation. We also encountered the police our 1st night there because the kitchen window is very close to the house behind this property, and there was some kind of problem there. The red light on top of the police car kept turning and shining in our window for hours. This property is incredibly noisy. The street in front has ceaseless traffic, day & night. There are no windows, just screens, so relief is impossible. So is sleep. The only nice bedroom with a view of the water is in a dwelling detached from the main house and up a flight a stairs. Quite inconvenient. I also got tons of mosquito bites, something that had never been a problem in my past 4 wonderful trips to Hawaii. This may have been due to small pond at the bottom of the stairs leading up to the bedroom. The water was stagnant because it wasn't running all the time. We left after 3 nights and would have left after 2 if we could have gotten a flight out. The plan was for 8 nights, and the owner did refund the balance. They later sent me a check for the $200 from the person who stole it which, of course, bounced.

Owners response: We are sorry to hear about this complaint, over 6 months after this guest’s visit, but we did everything within our power to ensure her enjoyment. Hale o Lei is presented to all incoming guests in a clean and welcoming condition, with a list of instructions for ease of use. During check-in, and throughout a guest’s stay, we do everything we can to acquaint them with the island and answer any questions. For this guest, we took this a step further and were available for numerous questions and requests for additional amenities, before and during her visit. Of course, this property, like all listed on VRBO, is not a full-service hotel with concierge, but instead is a rental of a private home, having many other benefits. After it was clear that this guest no longer wanted to stay at Hale o Lei, we gracefully provided a full refund for the remaining days. Again, trying our best to make sure every guest is happy.

As in many popular vacation destinations, it is common to encounter local people that run independent businesses catering to the needs of visitors to the area. We recommend - and did recommend to this guest - two highly regarded and reputable kayak rental companies (this information is also included in the rental information sheet on-site). This guest was aware prior to her visit that the kayak vendors at the kayak launching pier run illegal operations and that we do not recommend them. When this guest arrived, she enlisted the service of a kayak vendor at the pier who was recommended by an acquaintance of hers, and paid him $200, in advance, for a kayak & equipment for 8 days. She was dissatisfied with the lack of services (he did not carry the kayak to and from the water daily and did not reimburse her for unused time). She had the kayak for her use during her visit and left it, unused, for us to deal with, so, we’re not sure what she means by “stolen”. We take no responsibility for actions of third parties that have no relation to our rental. Nonetheless, in a further attempt to be helpful, we took it upon ourselves to locate the third party and forward the check he wrote to the guest.

Many of the concerns made by this guest were never voiced to us in person, so we will not attempt to answer each one. We hope this guest’s comments do not keep you from staying with us, and encourage you to trust in the reviews of our numerous satisfied guests which provide more accurate, balanced depictions of our vacation home. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Great place for kids

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We really enjoyed our week stay at Hale o Lei. The photos and description are accurate, but don't capture the details, like the large mango tree (with fruit) in the front yard, the numerous geckos, and the full extent of the well-provisioned house. Everything we needed (and more) was available. When one of our kids got a scrape, there were even band-aids available for use.

The location is very convenient for activities around Kealakekua bay and we made the trip accross the lava field to the City of Refuge and two-step beach several times. I enjoyed getting up with the locals in the morning, making a pot of coffee and walking to the end of the street to see if the spinner dolphin were in the bay (2 our of our 6 days). We learned that the dolphin are unpredictable so if you they happen to be in the bay on a day you were planning to do something else, change your plans and go kayak and swim with the dolphin.

Sunsets were awesome and it was so nice to be able to walk accross the street for an unobstructed view, and then return and eat dinner out on the lanai. When clear, the night sky is amazing and watching the stars from the hot tub is a real treat.

There is beach equipment galore at the house, ice chests and even a large ice pack in the freezer. Our kids had a great time playing in the yard and we pretty much lived in the outside living areas. The lack of glass windows takes a little getting used too and we had a bit of a noisy neighbor in the back a couple of nights. We slept in the front rooms and the noise either at night or in the morning wasn't an issue for us.

Hart was very responsive and called the first morning to make sure we had everything we needed. We had such a good time we wanted to prolong our stay a bit and make one last swim in the bay (a family snorkel from the boat launch accross to Mainini Beach). I emailed Hart to see if a late check-out was possible. He called within 5 minutes to let us know that a late checkout wouldn't be a problem.

We were sad to leave and have very fond memories of our week at Halle o Lei.

Owners response: We just planted more passion fruit, papayas, and pineapples for guests when in season. Also talked to the neighbor so she is more aware of noise. Fortunately, there are vacant lots on both sides of Hale o Lei. Hope Jim and his family come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Bet at Kealakekua Bay!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

I have been visiting Kealakekua Bay for eight years and facilitate customized private trips for individuals and families exclusively in this area.
I have stayed in this home several times, and referred many other visitors to stay here as well. Most people on this site want to have a 'home' not a hotel experience... and that is what you will get. And, this is the REAL Hawaii. Raw island wilderness abounds. Hawaiians that trace their families back to the days of the Ali'i (royal families) live in this neighborhood. Best snorkeling in the islands just down the road and on the other side of the bay in front of the house. The house itself has everything you'll need and is clean and comfy. Hart and Marlene are wonderful and gracious hosts who will answer any of your questions.
This home is located right in the heart of the local village and right across the street from where kayaks enter and exit the pristine bay to paddle amongst dolphins and whales and access some of the most proliferate and healthy reefs in the islands.
For me, it is Paradise. And if you are looking to be close to the water and in a sweet home renting at a great price, this is your best bet at Kealakekua Bay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha! We love to get such glowing recommendations from someone so familiar with our well equipped home! We do our best to help you have the dream Big Island experience you seek, whether it's relaxing at home or on the beach, snorkeling, exploring, boogie boarding, getting married, celebrating with friends, hiking, or anything else. As Heather states, this is a home, not a hotel, and you are free to create your own reality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Had a great time and home was very comfortable. Rented Kayaks from locals and had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Hale O Lei, how I love thee

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Let me count the ways! First off location. It sits between Captain Cook monument, which you can see if you cross the road and Two Step/Place of Refuge, which are about 4 miles apart. If you're there to kayak and/or snorkel, this is it. The kayak launch is literally across the street and a few houses over. You can rent Kayaks right there! A practice that is somewhat discouraged by local law enforcement, because you rent from locals that aren't paying taxes and don't have a storefront for their operation. But it's a legit operation in that they are there every day, live down the street, are friendly, and after getting to know them personally, got a better deal on a kayak (that they also let me keep overnight for free to use the next morning) and they took all the extra food/beer in the house that they either ate or gave to needy locals when we left. Locals, as a community, aren't friendly everywhere but they were here. There is a definite community feel to the place, as you meet people every morning down the street in the daily pilgrimage to see if the Spinner dolphins spent the night in the bay. They often do, and people love to go out and swim with them, I saw as many as 15 people out there swimming amongst them. Something else the state obviously discourages. Also, I kayaked from Capt. Cook Mon. to Two Step, which was beautiful along the rugged coastline. Nearly had the ocean to myself, well, me and the flying fish.

The house. Awesome outdoor lanais with multiple ceiling fans, couches, an eating table. A dual concrete barbecue pit. That's right, side by side barbecue grills. As someone that loves to cook and cooks often, I love this house. Ample pots and pans, a real sashimi knife!, rice cooker, and the only house I've ever rented in Hawaii (7 or 8?) with a gas range, 4 burner of course....Can't comment on the outdoor Jacuzzi, didn't use it, the ocean and good snorkeling were across the street. There were no glass windows in the place, all screens all the time. That's an indication of how nice and warm the weather is.

All in all, I'd definitely recommend it and will probably return again for the snorkeling, kayaking, and the gas range. The sunsets weren't too shabby either. Not to mention tons of snorkeling gear, baby toys, boogie boards, a toddler bed, a pack n play, yada yada yada.......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Break 2010 Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

We had an awesome time in Hawaii! The house really was well suited for us. There were 2 families/9 people that stayed in the house. The house wasn't newly remodeled like we intrepretted the pictures to be, but was very clean and had all of the amenitites necessary for a comfortable stay. Our kids loved the basketball court!!! Hart & Marlene called 2x to make sure we had everything that we needed and attended promptly to our needs, whichis extremely important to us when renting a home.

The only draw back, was the early morning noise. Because the house is on a corner near the Kayak launching pier and does not have glass windows (only screens in the windows), there is quite a bit of road noise that begins pretty early in the morning, soon after the road noise arrives, the sprinkler system turns on and is pretty loud (hitting the house and bushes)and it turns back on in the evening as well most days. I think it came on 5 of the 8 days we were there. One more thing, you can set your watch by the neighbor using a leaf blower to blow the leaves off his driveway every morning at 8am. The flip side of this is, when the sprinklers are not on, you can hear the ocean!! We eventually got used to the noises :) I think if there had been glass panes/glass windows, we wouldn't have noticed any noises. Strangely, the house felt very private (due to the surrounding foilage/trees) even with all of the noises.

We felt like it was a great house for the price and to us, it was important to have attentive "home owners" nearby in case we needed anything. There are not a lot of beaches nearby and snorkeling off the pier is not recommended, it is a very busy place and not easy to get in and out of the water. I would recommend this house to families who do not mind driving to beaches, we packed a cooler daily and set out for a new beach. We spent the majority of our time at various beaches/shopping around Keauhou Bay which is about 30-45 minutes north.

Thank you Hart & Marlene, for providing a wonderful house for our family to enjoy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Sprinkler timer changed as soon as we knew about issue. Just wish they had told us while they were at Hale o Lei so we could have fixed it then.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The best!

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

I'm on the island training for the Hawaii Ironman and it's so nice to be out here away from all of the congestion in town. Hale o Lei is very comfortable and has everything I need....even things like laundry detergent, shish kebab skewers, spices, plastic wrap and all of the little things that you need. There are masks, snorkels, fins, a grill,- it's just like being at home. There's a lovely view of Kealekekua Bay and you can hear the waves at night. Next year I'm bringing a whole training group of athletes with me.

The owners even left two delicious papayas on the table for me when I arrived. I feel right at home and don't feel like I have to walk around on eggshells worrying about don't touch this don't touch that.

Next year I'm bringing a whole training group of athletes with me.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

This house, its location, the master suite - all conspired to be a magical spot and a perfect place for our snorkeling, paddling, hiking, and wandering. Our vacation was truly wonderful and, Hart, thanks for the snorkel cruise tickets - the trip was a highlight of our visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

Our annual stay at Hale O Lei has become a family tradition. (We're trying to make it semi-annual!) We can't remember how many times we have moved into our favorite home. The upstairs balcony, the outside living room, the inside living room - oh heck, the whole place is this family's "happy place." The only reason I don't cry TOO much when we leave, is that we are usually on our way to Hale Ehu Kai on the other side, AND I know we will be back. Hart & Marlene, Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 15, 2009

Hale O Lei is a family tradition - how many times have we been now, Hart & Marlene? The only thing that makes it possible to leave is knowing we will come back. The house is the home we want, in the setting we love and that upstairs balcony with the ocean view, the outside living room - these are our special "happy places." Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 21, 2007   Date of arrival: October 21, 2007

What a wonderful vacation home at a great location! The house was very clean, airy and comfortable. We loved the open windows and the nice garden with the bananas. Thanks for all and we hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2006   Date of arrival: April 27, 2006

Aloha! You have done a wonderful job making Hale o Lei a home away from home. The neighbors are amazing, especially when they are spinning & doing backflips with you in the water! Mahalo Marlene & Hart. I'm glad I found you & Hale o Lei.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2006   Date of arrival: April 27, 2006

Hart and Marlene- What a wonderful house. We'll be recommending this to our friends & family. Mahalo! Peggy

Out of Flagstaff, AZ & Santa Rosa CA. We took plenty of advantage of the Hale o Lei-supplied snorkel geat at Napo'opo'o, Manini, Pu'uhonua, and Keei. Dining nightly on the lanai, breakfasting on malasadas while lounging about the kitchen area. It felt like home, but better because we weren't leaving each morning for work and the beaches with their fishes extraordinaire were so close. Mahalo, Hart & Marlene-- Heather

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2006   Date of arrival: April 24, 2006

We has such a wonderful vacation. Thanks again for the ball you brought over for my grandson to play with. This was the perfect place to bring a multi-age group. We plan on bringing a bigger group next time, hopefully next year. The house was very versatile with seating areas in several areas. You have everyting from fabulous kitchen stuff, to terrific bath towels, and wonderful beach equipment. My grandson loved the big boogie board with the view port. We didn't have to rent anything. Woke up at 6am our last day to make another snorkel trip out at "Two Step" before we head to the airport. Hale o Lei was a lovely place to call home for a few (too few!) days.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2006   Date of arrival: April 24, 2006

We could not have enjoyed ourselves more! House is great! We were able to walk and anjoy many of the sites of Hawaii. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review