reviews for: listing #22815 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina Condo rental

Spring and Summer 2014 dates available. Great Reviews...
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Fiddler's Cove
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $825 /wk

sort by:

Memorable Stay

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

We decided to check out HHI over the Holidays in December. Being vacation week most hot spots were booked solid or seriously overpriced; HHI seemed like a good compromise. Steve and Emily's place consistently showed up high on VRBO so we requested quotes for a stay. Luckily place was available (reasonable rates) and we were able to connect with each other after a couple of phone tags.
Steve patiently explained everything about the place, things to do, undocumented places to visit and made sure all our questions were answered before we made the reservation. He followed up a detailed email and document explaining more about the area and the apartment and community after we had agreed to make a booking. Steve has a low-tech but effective system to make sure keys to the apartment are available well in advance of the trip.
The apartment is right by the beach in a community of about 200+ houses; but it doesn't feel crowded; Stately trees adorn the complex, lot of greenery (even in the dead of winter) and has a very relaxed atmosphere overall. Plenty of parking spots and walk to beach is about 5 minutes through the community from the apartment. Weather didnt cooperate so we couldnt spend time at the beach; but there were plenty of other options.
Apartment is well equipped (kitchen, bedroom, living room, laundry etc.) - didnt feel need for anything. There is no cleaning service or towel service during the stay, except by request. Towels are dropped off at the beginning; if you need fresh towels you have to call the owners who can call it in. We didnt bother as we didnt make use of the beach. Having W/D inside the apartment was a big help.
The apartment had plenty of board games for kids, a few DVDs, cable TV with movie channels, so if you want to, it is a great place to relax without even heading out.
HHI is good for serious golfers and mini golfers; since we had smaller kids we didnt use the island bikes rentals, but it is a great option to stay fit and see the islands at a leisurely pace.
Savannah & Charleston are both an hour away each and we'd highly recommend a visit to both.
All in all it was a great break; the apartment was everything we could have hoped for; and we'd definitely do this again and hopefully enjoy the beach too the next time!
Thankyou Steve & Emily

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Steve and Emily were great to work with. They provided detailed instructions and tips on things to do in the area. The condo was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. It was only a short walk to the beach. The kids really enjoyed the pools. I appreciated that there was plenty of lounge chairs at the pool too! Fiddler's Cove is large, however, it was very quiet. The condo is conveniently located. We enjoyed the mini golf and arcade that is within walking distance. We had a great family trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Clean Place to Stay - Long-time Customer

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We have been long-time repeat customers for the Mathias family at their condo in Hilton Head. The service could not be better. Such a nice, nice family to work with. The condo is always clean and well stocked. It feels like home each time we go back. We wouldn't want to stay any place else. We like the quietness and how close it is to the beach. If you can live without having a "beach view" this is a great place to stay. A short walk to the beach, many bike trails (which we love), close proximity to putt-putt golf, real golf, all the restaurants and everything else the island has to offer. Don't forget to visit the pizza shop dedicated to the Ohio State Buckeyes - GO BUCKS !! Food is great! As always, thanks Steve and family for always providing us with a GREAT place to stay and good, honest people to do business with. I hear they have added wireless access to the condo this year also - another plus!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent stay in HHI

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The property owners were fantastic to deal with and the communication regarding the property was excellent. The location was great. The beach is just a short walk away. The property also had two pools to utilize. I would highly recommend a stay here. My only regret is that we were only staying for a week. I hope my kids and I are able to vacation here next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Holiday Ever

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

We stayed at this condo for a week at the end of June.

The condo was sparkling clean and not only did we find everything we needed in the condo but the owners had gone above and beyond our expectations with tips on where to go and what to do. We tried all their tips and had the best time ever - we even had time to add in a few of our own special experiences.

The condo is a two minute walk to the beach and close to all Hilton Head has to offer.

The beach is perfect for bike rides and long walks. Sunbathing was an absolute must and our holiday consisted of going to the beach, choosing which swimming pool to swim in and eating seafood to my hearts content. One of the best Holidays we have had in the USA. I will be visiting this condo again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet family getaway

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Loved the place! These days you never know what you may find on the internet when looking for a vacation rental, but this one was perfect!
The owners were very nice and easy to work with, even checking on us after arrival to make sure all was well. The condo was clean and had everything we needed for a week away from home. They even had beach toys, chairs and my favorite part, a basket of books to read.
The grounds were beautiful and loved having a security gate with 24/7 security. The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes away, but an easy walk. Both pools were nice and never crowded.
We will be returning to this place again!
Our guys went on a civil war tour that was very informative while the ladies went on a dolphin boat tour. Would recommend them both, and if you are lucky enough to be down there while the farmer's market is going on, I highly recommend checking it out.
Again, well done Mathias family! Looking forward to working with you again in the future

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Very clean and comfortable housing. Liked the fact there is a security guard on duty at all times. The ocean was just a short walk away. The only problem we had was a neighbor below us that turned there t.v. up all the way at 2:00 A.M. Other than that we had a enjoyable stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Very Happy from Ohio

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

We couldn't have been happier with our stay. Steve was great to work with prior to heading to Hilton Head. The information packet he mailed to us giving directions to the condo and "rules of stay" was very helpful and well written. The directions were great! It was an excellent value and he even worked with us on the price during off season. We have stayed there twice and I'm sure we will go back again some day. The condo was very clean both times, well stocked and the location for beach access was very good. You can't see the ocean from the condo, but the value made it well worth the very short walk to get there. I just can't say enough about how nice Steve is to work with and very accommodating. I would recommend this place to anyone that I know. We even considered sending our daughter and her husband there for a honeymoon gift - but they wanted to go west! The condo has a book with coupons and information on island restaurants, recreation, golf, beaches, etc. Guests even leave their comments about various places - if the food is good, great value, etc. It is very helpful! They even have a few items on the deck that you can use for the beach! Very generous family. I am sure that if we ever have the chance to meet them, we will be blessed. I hope the Mathias family does well. Steve has always been so honest to deal with. We would have returned again this spring, but we just wanted to check out a different vacation spot. There are a lot of restaurants very close - anything you could possibly want. Beach is very close, putt-putt golf, regular golf, lots of shopping and the biking trails are great. We did a lot of biking. Hilton Head is so beautiful. We love how they have kept the big trees and all the business areas maintain such beautiful landscaping. It is a beautiful vacation spot and the Mathias' condo is wonderful, wonderful place to stay. Don't hesitate to try it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great and peaceful place to spend time at the beach

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

My family has stayed in this condo 3 times and we always had a great time. The location is great, real close to the beach, bike rentals and everything Hilton Head has to offer. The condo is clean and well kept both externally and internally. If you are considereing a vacation in Hilton Head, I higly recommend this unit

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

October Bliss

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 25 year wedding anniversary at Fiddlers Cove. Was given good directions, and we enjoyed our stay. It's not fancy, but it's a nice place to stay. Nice pool area. The club house was being remodeled while we were there. Looking forward to seeing the remodel this year. The only issue that we had was the cleaning people didn't do a great job before we arrived. Nothing major, and I shared this with the owner. I'm sure that he addressed the issue with the company.
The owner was very helpful with all of our questions. They sent us info about nearby restaurants and activities. He was very quick with his responses to any questions that we had.
We definitley recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Hilton Head is the best family vacation spot we have found. This condo was very nice, clean, convenient to the pool, nice walk to the beach and close to all the other things the island has to offer. Steve was wonderful to work with- he even helped us get our friends condos in the same building. I would definately recommend this condo to anyone. There were no surprises, the pictures are good, the entire experience was terrific....our family's favorite vacation to date!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay! We absolutely loved it and would like to return again. Steve was wonderful to work with for making our reservations. Everything he said he would do, he did, and promptly. The condo is clean and very well kept. It is in such a great location - gated community for privacy and such a short walk to the beach. We loved walking around the grounds in the evening and even saw an alligator in the pond! We love Hilton Head and the Mathias family made our stay comfortable, easy and restful. Thank you so much. We will miss not being able to come back this year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

We stayed in March of 2008. What a nice clean place, has everything you would need. Close walk to the beach, nice pools. We rented bikes for the week, what a great way to see Hilton Head! The owners were great to work with; even when I left my address book behind, they sent it to me promptly upon my return home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 21, 2009

I stayed in this condo in 2007 and 2008 and loved it each time. The location is good, the community is well maintained, short walk to the beach and all. I would certainly recommend this condo if you are considering it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

April 2008, Our stay was great, weather was good. The condo is located in a great part of the island, short walk from the beach, and a very quite neighborhood. The condo and the pools are well maintained. Will be back in 2009.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 19, 2007

We rented this condo for 2 months this winter. The condo was in great condition and the owners are very accomodating and easy to work with. Great location, too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2007   Date of arrival: June 16, 2007

We had a great time while staying at Fiddler's Cove. The condo was very clean and the hosts provided a lot of information on where to go and what to see on the island. The location was wonderful because it was just a short distance from the beach. Our children also loved the playground equipment in the comlex. We had a positive experience and can't wait to return to Hilton Head.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2007   Date of arrival: June 12, 2007

My family has stayed in this condo multiple times and found it to be comfortable and convenient to the beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2007   Date of arrival: June 12, 2007

June 12, 2007Just a note to say how nice, well-prepared and clean the condo was. Also, Very well organized information for our use was provided in the unit. We didn’t have any problems finding places to eat, etc. My friends and I were in the area for a Golf outing. What an area for golf! Plenty of courses to choose from and just about any price range you want. Had a great time! Thanks again,Don BaggottEdgewater, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 11, 2007   Date of arrival: June 11, 2007

The condo was immaculate and we really enjoyed the wooded location. If I can only learn my way around Hilton Head at night with all those beautiful trees lining the highways! We very much look forward to returning and appreciate the hospitality! Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2006   Date of arrival: August 10, 2006

We had a great time staying at Fiddler's Cove. The condo was very comfortable and a great value. The pool was fun, and the beach was a nice quiet spot. We would stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2006   Date of arrival: August 8, 2006

This condo is a wonderful place to stay. We've stayed there twice and plan on going back every chance we get. Steve and Emily are perfect hosts, and the condo is always clean and well prepared for guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2006   Date of arrival: August 8, 2006

I've stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times. My family enjoyed it as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2005   Date of arrival: December 29, 2005

We had a great time the last week of June 2005. Hilton Head is one of the best areas and we have been to beaches all along the Atlantic and Gulf. The condo was great. It held 6 of us with no problem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 18, 2005   Date of arrival: November 18, 2005

We really had a great time on our vacation in Hilton Head. I have been traveling to Hilton Head for the last seven or eight years and this was by far the nicest condo I have stayed in, much better than a hotel. The rooms are all wonderfully kept, and it was in a great location, just a few yards from the pool and a short walk to the beach. I really reccomend the place for anyone looking for a very relaxing week or two of vacation! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2005   Date of arrival: July 5, 2005

We enjoyed staying at your condo so much that next year we are going to stay an extra week. It's a great mix of the beach and then retreat back into the shady condo area. The pool was great too. Everything is kept up nicely and it really lets you get a feel for HIlton Head living. We enjoyed being able to play games or go out on the balcony after our kids went to bed. So much better than a hotel. Thanks again I'm ready to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

What a comfortable spot from which to explore the Island. After a morning or full day of beaching, biking, or "touring," it was always a pleasure to be able to "come home" to the condo and truly relax. Morning coffee on the balcony, sheltered by the huge oaks dripping with Spanish moss, was calm and quiet. A great vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2004   Date of arrival: August 12, 2004

We had a wonderful vacation in your condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review