reviews for: listing #22831 - St George Island, Florida House rental

100 Steps To The Gulf---Advantage Point
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  St George Island
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Love Advantage Point

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

My husband and I just returned home from Advantage Point and we are already booking for next year. The views are amazing from most windows in the home. This is an older home, but it is well maintained (the deck could use a little more attention, make sure you wear shoes to avoid splinters and a few nails that have backed out slightly). There are plenty of plates, glasses, pots and pans and bake ware and a few storage containers. There was also a blender and a toaster. Loved sitting on the deck every morning drinking my coffee, listening to the waves crashing in. We enjoyed watching the dolphins playing just offshore and walking on the beach at night watching the little crabs run around. Getting to the beach was fast thanks to the easement, however it was a little overgrown and we had to be cautious of thorns. I would not advise using the easement with small children. Molcie, we cannot thank you enough for sharing your beautiful home with us. It was just what we needed to get away and relax.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Florida Girl

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The house was just the right size for 6 and 2 dogs, but the kitchen is in need of cookware. We had to go buy things to cook with. House is for sale maybe it will improve the kitchen. A little farther from the beach than what we thought. Over all we had a good week at Advantage Point

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Dish count was made . Now dishware serves 8 people.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Christmas week fun

Review submitted: January 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

My husband and I and our dog had the best Christmas in a really long time! We enjoyed Advantage Point and were very satisfied with the cleanliness of the house and proximity to the beach. We'll definitely visit again!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The kitchen has been re-stocked to serve a family of 12. The plumber did fix the problem. The roof was damaged during a great storm. The damage was taken care of and we now have a new roof.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

you get what you pay for

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

The good - the house was clean and over-all ok for the money.

The bad - the house is old, and the kitchen is poorly furnished. Barely enough plates and silver to feed a family of 5. Don't even think about cooking anything. In just two days we have had the plumber out twice. It is a significant walk to the beach. Paint is peeling off the walls in the master bedroom from water damage. You have to stand on the couch in the den to turn on and off the den light. There are all kinds of issues with light switches that control nothing. Finally, you only get one towel and wash cloth per person. That's ok if you like washing. The machine is old, noisy, and small. I would likely stay here again, but my expectations would be much lower. I would also pack pots and pans, silverware, and towels.

Owners response: All rental homes that use the linen service receive the same amount of towels for the week. The plumber did fix the problem. We had great a storm that caused some damage. To fix this problem we put on a new roof. We have a county easement connected to our lot. You can get to the water by going between the houses. You do not have to walk down for blocks until you find the another easement.

Helpful votes: 25 / 28

 

A wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

My wife, our pups, and I loved Advantage Point. It was the perfect size and price for a 1-week get-away to St. George Island. Close to the beach, Close to the bike/walking path. And just far enough away from the heart of St. George to keep things quiet and peaceful. The fully equipped kitchen made it a breeze for my wife to whip up wonderful gourmet meals with all the local seafood. This was our first time to St. George and the rental agents at Fickling were the best. They were more than helpful answering all our questions, and taking all the worry out of renting a home we hadn't seen in person. Lots of great restaurants in Apalachicola...we highly recommend the Owl Cafe for fine dining and the Hole in the Wall for the freshest oysters and tastiest chowders we had the whole week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

I, We, love this place! Came here to celebrate my youngest daughter’s 30th birthday - by rest and relaxation. Perfect!
Hope to bring the rest of the family sometime.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

What a lovely home here on St. George Island. We had a week of sunshine, salt water, and fun with friends. We love this Island and plan to come back next year. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Molcie - St. George Island is amazing! We came down here as a whole family; brought the kids and grandkids along. This is a wonderful place for families! House was nice, people were friendly, and the beach was great! Thank you for helping make our week fun! The first night, we saw shooting stars! Crabs at night made for some moonlight craziness, too! Hope to come back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

This place was fabulous!!! We both needed a break from our everyday lives and we definitely found it here. The house, the beach, and just spending the quality time alone was more than perfect. There really is no place better in the U.S. to visit and be a part of. It really was incredible and we hated to leave, but the memories will last forever!!! We hope to revisit again next year and hopefully many years to come..... It was the Best and something we will never forget.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2008

Molcie - Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful beach house with us. We had a very relaxing 4 days laying on the beach and exploring the island and Apalachicola. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

Dear Molcie, What a wonderful time we have had at your beautiful beach home. Kerri and Kyle invited us to come with them. I loved the bright open windows and the great view. The beach was so nice. Thank you so much. What a wonderful treat for us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

Molcie - This week was a great way to relax before heading back to school. I loved the beach, the dolphins and the slow island life. Boy, I think I could really get used to this. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

Our 1st time here. We had a great time. Highly recommend Ken as a great fishing guide if you decide to go fishing on the tours. We have all enjoyed the peacefulness. We’ll be back next year!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2008

We had a great stay! Everything was perfect from the beach, to the water, to the temperature. The house is very comfortable with lots of light and great views of the water. Of course, it is steps away from the beach. We had many sightings of dolphins. We especially saw many of them when we went boating in the bay. The sunsets are spectacular! Go to Apalachicola - A cute little town! The Gibson Inn has a unique dining experience - highly recommend it! BJ’s Pizza on the Island is great pizza! (This is coming from a picky New Yorker!) Overall, our stay here was peaceful and relaxing - just what we needed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2007

Thank you for opening your beautiful home to our family. We have enjoyed the wonderful beach, weather, and sun. Such a tranquil place is becoming harder and harder to find. The entire area here is worth the 15 hour drive - so unspoiled and natural. Wakula Springs State Park is a nice day trip - our kids loved the boat tour! (Age 6 and 17 months). We have family in Tallahassee and had a great time with them here as well! We’ll definitely want to come back! God Bless! (Families are from Virgina)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2007

This is the second time we’ve been to St. George and it hasn’t changed (a very good thing). It’s very quiet and relaxing and never too busy. The house is wonderful! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2007

Molcie, Thank you so much for opening your home to us! It was great to be able to relax after a long year of teaching. It was wonderful for the grandparents and family to be able to spend a week with our 9 month old baby. The house was perfect, and the beach was fabulous. It is great to finally be able to find a vacation spot that is not overrun with college students! We will definitely make St. George our vacation place of choice. Have a great summer! I will think of you at the beginning of next school year! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2007

We had a great time! Such a cute house and perfect for a family vacation. The dolphins were a delight to watch everyday! Our kids ( 2 and 6 months) got to experience a great beach vacation. We can’t wait to come back. We saw our first sea turtle nest just three blocks from the house - very exciting! Vacation is now over so we head back to Oklahoma - hope the next visitors have as much fun as we did - tip for the next people - check out the National Park ASAP - you can fish and find sand dollars - it is the most beautiful part of the island. Thanks and Have Fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2007

This has been a beautiful place to be!! The house is perfect - The beaches are grand! We can’t wait to come back! Very enjoyable. I’ve never been this close to dolphin. Keep the house going! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2007

Our visit was wonderful.The House is cozy and the deck was awesome for catching rays! The beach as always was beautiful!
Thank you for letting us share your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2007

Our visit was wonderful.The House is cozy and the deck was awesome for catching rays! The beach as always was beautiful!
Thank you for letting us share your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review