reviews for: listing #22869 - Franklin, North Carolina Cabin rental

Glory Days Riverfront 1800s log cabin near Gem mines
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $85 - $110 /nt
    $400 - $575 /wk

sort by:

Perfect cozy getaway from everyday life!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

This wonderful cozy cabin is like stepping into history. Quite honestly one of the most unique and relaxing places that I have rented-out for a vacation.
The cabin was absolutely what I needed to break away from the city life for a couple of days: quite, charming, relaxing, and reminiscent of a time when enjoying the outdoors and company of another was appreciated more.

The cabins owner, Belinda, was readily available from start to finish and made reserving this gem a breeze. The only downfall to my visit was that I didn't have enough time off to stay longer.

I look forward to visiting it again, hopefully soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the awesome review. We are so glad that you had a great time. We would love to have you come back again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Indeed the Glory Days

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

What an amazing place Glory Days is. It was the perfect get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The log cabin is quaint and perfectly decorated to theme. The gas logs kept the inside plenty warm. One of the most relaxing things you can do is to sit by the river's edge and listen to the streaming water while keeping warm next to a fire. We had immediate conveniences just a couple of miles down the road. I felt far enough from town to appreciate the peace but close enough to feel safe. The mystical thing about Glory Days is the fact that it's been erected since the 1800's. Just thinking about the history of the place and who may have used it throughout the years was fascinating to me. We loved our time in Franklin and will surely return to Glory Days. Thank you Belinda and Family Alex, Maite, Alejandro and Javier Argote

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Indeed the Glory Days!

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

What an amazing place Glory Days is. It was the perfect get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The log cabin is quaint and perfectly decorated to theme. The gas logs kept the inside plenty warm. One of the most relaxing things you can do is to sit by the river's edge and listen to the streaming water while keeping warm next to a fire. We had immediate conveniences just a couple of miles down the road. I felt far enough from town to appreciate the peace but close enough to feel safe. The mystical thing about Glory Days is the fact that it's been erected since the 1800's. Just thinking about the history of the place and who may have used it throughout the years was fascinating to me. We loved our time in Franklin and will surely return to Glory Days.

Thank you Belinda and Family

Alex, Maite, Alejandro and Javier Argote

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

cabin # 22869 in Franklin NC

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

This charming A-frame cabin sits right on the river in Franklin, NC The spot is a hidden treasure, where there is either plenty to do in this little piece of paradise - or nothing at all, which makes it perfect.

The owners are friendly & available for the least little thing to make your stay even more pleasant. The cabin is charmingly furnishe, with fans & AC for warmer months & a beautiful fireplace which provides plenty of heat as well as ambiance.

The cabin can sleep 6 if the group includes children in a family setting, but our preference is a romantic get-away perfect for 2.

Satellite tv, & wi-fi are availbale, but you won't care because this is THE place to get away from all the electronics & other noise in our lives & the only constant is the sound of the rushing river outside the cabin.

The only issue with this reviewing system is that there are not enough stars one can award this lovely cabin - it is a "10 out of 10"!
After an absence of many years visiting this area of NC (where the business of raising children & working got in the way), we'll be visiting again next year & hope to do so annually.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

peaceful treasure

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

this is our second year staying in this cabin. that alone speaks volumes. we love the seclusion and being on the river yet close enough to town and the gem mines. the owners make sure we have everything we need and make it hard to leave. the youngest of our group was 5 and the oldest 88. something for everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

best place ever

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

everything was great very nice clean cabins great beds with everything you need to enjoy your stay the owners were great would do anything they could to make your stay better but (HOW CAN YOU MAKE THE BEST BETTER)had a wonderful time and we will be going back to see them

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

oak grove cabins

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

cabin was very nice and clean, nice beds everything was great very nice people that would do anything they could to make your stay better , (but how could you make the best better) very nice time will be going back again john+tina

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very good place to stay in Franklin

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

I stayed at Oak Grove Cabins an extended time. I really enjoys stayign here. I would stay here again. The places are very clean, they have everything you need, great TVs, Internet, Etc. The location is very quiet but it is also very close to town. The owners are very nice and helpful. Hope to stay again Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sweet Peace

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

My wife and I loved this place. Everyone told us about great eating spots in the mountains but the best place we found was at the picnic table in the back yard by the river. We had dinner there and breakfast on the back the back porch swing watching the water.
We really loved this cabin too.It is such a neat place to stay. We really wished we could have stayed longer and will be back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This cabin is a wonderful scenic wonderland in the Fall. Come and take advantage of our Leaflookers special. We would be glad to accommadate you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

mountain vacation

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

The Oak grove cabins were homey and i slept like a baby, very clean, and the owners made sure we had everything we needed. You wont find any nicer people in the mountains. The rates were very reasonable. It was a little ways out of town but that's what we like to be away from it all. Very easy to find and convenient to all kinds of activities. We enjoyed whitewater rafting, fishing, swimming, hiking, horsebackriding, and the list goes on and on.
I have already recommended this place to all my friends and family--and would
recommend it to anyone who needs a perfect place to stay for a great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Humble Home Away From Home

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: December 9, 2009

Humble Home Away From Home

As I step through this modest cabin door
And saunter all across its wooden floor,
Remembering the times I've come before,

I look again at quaint, familiar walls
And every picture from the past enthralls
Me as each image here my mind recalls...

I view the kitchen table and the chairs...
I grap the rustic rail and head upstairs
And flurr the pillows...tuck an end that flares...

Back down the steps, I check the fridge for grub...
Tonight, I'll get down in the clawfoot tub,
Soap up myself and scrub and rinse and scrub...

But for right now, the porch swing's where I feel
The peace this dwelling has; that's why I steal
Away a while: the solace here is real;

And as I softly swing and soak it it,
The river flowing by, I start to grin
And tell myself, "You've come back again".

- Dennis. R. N. Copyright 2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

Just letting you know we all had a wonderful time and plan on visiting again in the future. Dusten really enjoyed the loft thanks for suggesting it. Me and the husband enjoyed sitting on the porch and watching and listening to the river flow by us. Oh yeah and dusten really enjoyed making smores for the first time over the campfire. Thanks again, you have a beautiful place.

Theresa. R and Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 28, 2009

My Wife, Grandson and I want to thank you for the rental of the cabin. From reading the visitors comments in the album everyone has the same opinion of the place, WONDERFUL!
We are in the process of talking with family to schedule a family week in the future. From a military family, my father-in-law WW-II, my father Korea, myself Desert Storm, and our son Iraqi Freedom, Thank You!!and God Bless.
George. C
TSgt USAF/ANG Ret.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review