reviews for: listing #22882 - Oxnard, California House rental

Beautiful 4 bedroom Hollywood Beach Retreat- Unbeatable View
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hollywood Beach
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $325 - $500 /nt
    $2,150 - $2,800 /wk
    $3,750 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Girls weekend!

Review submitted: July 1, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

Myself and 11 other women stayed at Suzanne's beautiful home for a weekend. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We were taking a relaxing weekend before our best friend/daughter/granddaughter's big day and it was the best way for all of us to connect. We spent time at the beach, Whale's Tail, The Lookout (for hilarious karaoke night) and just spent time with each other in this gorgeous beach house. Thank you Suzanne for your hospitality and making this the easiest weekend to plan and one we will all remember!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am always happy when guests enjoy their stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for groups

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Suzanne was great to work with, everything is exactly as she described about the property. It is just steps from the beach and the layout is perfect for large families or groups. The house is well maintained and has everything you need in the kitchen, etc. We would come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I hope you do come back! Great visitors are wonderful to host.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic beach house!!!!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

This beach house is spectacular. Everything was exactly as advertised. Beautiful, well maintained home with the
beach on one side and the harbor and marina on the other side. Very quite neighborhood as well. We walked to bike rentals,
jet ski rentals, kayak rentals, restaurants and shops. There was even a farmers market across the street on Sunday.
The house is large, bright and open. Several balconies made watching sunsets a nightly event. The beach has the feel
of a private beach. No crowds at all. Suzanne is the owner and she will meet you on your first day to give you a brief
tour of the house. She is a very nice lady and for me, dealing with the owner and not some random management company
is a good thing. She was very friendly and helpful and quickly left us to enjoy her home.
We have rented a mountain home for the last 25 years and our family voted unanimously to return to this
beach house next year. 10 out of 10!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Beautiful house

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

The house was great and close to the sand. Make sure that you clean every CRUMB or the owner will take your security deposit.

Owners response: It is somewhat true, and I don't think unusual, that I as an owner expect guests to mostly leave the house in the condition they found it. I don't expect guests to clean floors, kitchen or bathrooms, etc., but I do expect the house to be left mostly in the way they would want guests to treat their home. I am very open about the rules for guests who wish to stay at my property. I try very hard to keep the property in excellent condition and I do a great deal of the cleaning and most of the upkeep myself. I am a very hands on owner and don't use a management company. I always let people know my expectations and have them sign a document before renting and again at check in. I try to make sure that people understand and are comfortable with rules before they decide to rent the property. The vast majority of people have no problems leaving the house in good condition and it is rare for me to take security. I don't expect the house to be left spotless as I do understand it is a vacation. But I do want guests to treat my property with respect. I do ask that people not let children eat messy foods on the sofa. I have had guests let children eat strawberries on the sofa, which left red stains and also some who allowed marshmallows to eaten, which ended up ground into the sofa. I don't think any guest wants to come to a house and find a sofa in that condition. Because of a very few guests who did that I have had expenses related to professionally cleaning the sofa. I usually try to vacuum the sofa, scrub off stains, and even wash pillow cushion covers myself, but if stains remain the sofa needs to be professionally cleaned. So I now ask either don't let children eat messy foods on the sofa, put a sheet over it, or clean it up- or there will be extra cleaning costs subtracted from the security. That expectation is on several documents, including my check in document and was signed at check in. Despite that I found an ice cream wrapper shoved between the cushions and stains from the ice cream as well as a large amount of other food bits under the cushions. If it had been just a couple of crumbs it would not have been issue. They also brought a dog without letting me know they wanted to bring one. There is an extra form for someone who wants to bring a pet and an extra deposit. I think nearly all owners would not want a guest to bring a pet without letting the owner know and getting permission, and many would withhold the security just because of that.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

The Perfect Fit

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

This rental is one of the best kept secrets in this area. The property is very well maintained and clean. We found the accommodations as described on the web page and accommodated our family of 12 adults with adequate bathroom facilities. Having a laundry as part of the rental was very convenient and with a little bit of looking we found just about everything we needed to make our stay comfortable from bedding to kitchen needs.


The owner was there to greet us on arrival and was very helpful and easy to work with through our planning and actual experience. Being inside the Channel Island Marina was convenient and shopping was close by along with some very good restaurants.

A good time was had by all. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A wonderful week in a wonderful house

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

This was our third year staying at Hollywood Beach but our first time at Suzanne's home and I have to say I was impressed. This is really a beautiful house with a wonderful floor plan. The photos are very accurate. All the homes we have stayed at in the past say they're well stocked but very few are. I now have a bag with extra dishes, cups and forks that always goes with us but wasn't needed this trip. The kitchen actually is well stocked with dishes, flatware and cookware. I needed nothing! The house has plenty of room, it's comfortable and clean with extra towels, sheets and blankets. It was nice meeting Suzanne at the beginning of our week and seeing her again upon our departure. We had a week of perfect weather and a wonderful view of the ocean. Everyone had a great time. I would definately recomend this property to friends and relatives and if we go back for a forth year you can find us here. Thank you Suzanne, it was a wonderful week.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! I try my best to make sure this will feel like your home away from home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home away from home

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

This home is an excellent way to enjoy beach living without the crowds. We have stayed at this home the past two years for 6 or 7 weeks at a time. We loved it so much when we first stayed there for a scheduled month that we lengthened our stay both years.
We live about 16 miles from the ocean and we decided to see about staying at the beach instead of going on a cruise. I spent 2 months looking at other places, and using the internet to do a lot of research for a beach house. Suzanne’s home had everything we were looking for and lots of room in the kitchen and dining area to entertain. The use of the garage was a deal maker.
Suzanne met with us the first time we stayed there and showed us how to use everything. The home was so clean and everything you might need was available in the kitchen. Suzanne is such a friendly person and very easy to deal with.
Most of our family and friends live out of the area and this home was a perfect place to have them all visit. We enjoyed a family reunion and did not have to worry about where people were going to sleep and or whether a bathroom was available. Our out of town guests are asking when we are going to stay at this beautiful home again
We even saw dolphins from the living room window. The home has very easy access to the beach with spectacular sunset views from top deck.
Just a block away is a Sunday farmer’s market, an excellent restaurant for happy hour starting at 2pm during the week with a sushi and oyster bar, and boat/fishing trips. We could see the Christmas Boat Parade from the patio off the kitchen and kitchen window. Also saw the Tall Ships leave from their dock on the harbor side and then again when they opened their sails on the ocean side.
This location has so much to offer, from all the great eating places and close shopping.
Suzanne replied very promptly to my inquires and trivial questions so that when we got there everything was taken care of and we enjoyed a very relaxing time.
We plan to return later this year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rental is everything it states and more!!!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We always rent homes rather than hotels when on vacation and use the HomeAway site for bookings.

We were met at the property by Suzanne (the owner) who took us on a tour. This was a very nice surprise as this has been the first time we were met by the owner when renting a home.

The home is very spacious and extremely well kept. It is in a prime location with ocean views and is surrounded by some very posh properties! Everything in the home was in very good working order.
This home is situated in a quiet neighborhood with stores and services only a short drive away.

There were 11 people in our group (including 4 children) and this home was large enough to easily accomodate everyone comfortably with room to spare. There were puzzles and games for our use. The laundry facilities were one of the amenities that we took advantage of and really appreciated.

Unfortunately, the weather did not co-operate so were were only on the beach for a very limited time. The beach area was very clean and would have been very enjoyable in an approriate climate.

I would definitely recommend this property to my family and friends. We have all intentions of renting this home again in the future.

Brenda D.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful space for family of 8

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

We had a great time staying at this rental with 8 total family members to attend my brother's wedding. lots of space for everyone, they loved the beach nearby, and walking distance to some places to eat. Kitchen was fully stocked with the necessary equipment and dishes for cooking meals. Overall the rental was immaculate and very comfortable. We all had a great stay. Wish we had more time to take some boat cruises! I would highly recommend this rental.
susanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We had such a great time staying at this beach house. Everything we needed was in the house. There were beach chairs and sand toys that we could take to the beach. The beach was a very short walk away and so quiet and relaxing. The owner met up with us and showed us the house. The house is big and spacious and very comfortable. We hated to leave. Some of our group went to the Farmers Market on Sunday and enjoyed looking around and spending time there. Others from our group took a drive into LA to go to the Museum of Tolerance and Venice Beach, which is a little over an hour away. The area this beach house is located at, is a very quiet and nice area. We felt comfortable and safe staying at this house. I would recommend this Beach house for anyone wanting to avoid the big crowds of the more popular beaches. This is a great place to relax and spend quality time with family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review! I do want all my guests to enjoy their stay and try very hard to make sure my guests are happy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best House we have rented for our family

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

Our family is spread out between San Francisco and Orange County. Every summer we try to rent a beach property in the middle to spend time together. This was the best place by far ! - Family members between six weeks and " retired" spent a fabulous week at this wonderful home. Everyone loved the fact that we could easily assess the beach( which was great for sand castles and little hands to play in ) with a very short walk - and the harbor provided a special place to walk and watch the boats for all of the age groups. Everything is close by- restaurants and grocery stores.
This is the first place that the family has voted to return to..... we look forward to another visit. I would give this house and the owner 5 stars out of 5.

Beachloving family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the vote of confidence. My guests experience is always my foremost priority.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

4 day get away

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

My family and I had the best time at your house. The views were wonderful and the air was clean and cool. It was great to get away from the desert heat. Like the other reviews I read it was hard to leave. We felt so at home. The beach is right there and a wonderful place to fly kites as my grandkids found out. Oxnard is a really neat place to visit with lots to do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Unforgettable Family Memories

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Thanks for letting us rent your beach house! We enjoyed it so much! We made so many unforgettable family memories! The location was amazing - we love walking around the marina!It was so hard to leave this wonderful place, thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Stay

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in your home!Our children loved "their" rooms, and loved spending so much time on the beach. "Diego", our dog, had the time of his life chasing the birds and splashing in the surf. We hate to leave these cool mornings and go back to the heat in Santa Clarita, but we hope to come back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Thanksgiving Week

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful home. We enjoyed the views, the beach (some even went swimming), games good food and being together. Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest stayed 2 months

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the house. It's such a fantastic location, wonderful views of the ocean and harbor, and the house itself is amazing. Exactly what we were looking for!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

My family had a wonderful time at Suzanne's house! It was very spacious and well stocked to make for a very enjoyable atmosphere. It was also very clean!! The beach was amazing -- it was like our own private beach! If our travels ever bring us back to Oxnard -- we will stay at 116 Las Palmas again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Wonderful Week of Memories

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

The beach house was a perfect place for our family's celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary and a wedding celebration in Ventura. The house was large and spacious, furnished for a large family to be comfortable but yet a feeling of elegance as the views of the harbor and ocean were just a look out the windows that encircled the living area on the second floor. The feeling of bringing the outside in was a welcome relief for these Arizona residents as we relished the cool breezes of the harbor and ocean.

The house was completely furnished as your home would be - nothing lacking. The kitchen was complete with every appliance needed or wanted - ample cook ware, cooking utensils, every day and formal dinnerware, glassware and silverware. Oh yes, even a washer and dryer - just like home!

The location was perfect - we were able to find our way around easily but, of course, there were those times of misdirection. It didn't take long for the grandkids to find a close by Starbucks and Spudnut Donut shop.

We all enjoyed the walks around the harbor and surfing in the ocean. We had 3 or 4 afternoons of sunshine in our week there.

I especially want to thank the owner's acceptance of pets. Our old gal of 14 years, diabetic and blind, can't be away from us without becoming stressed. So we take her everywhere we go - and if pets aren't allowed, we don't go. You pet lovers understand. Our Mama Dog loved the house as well.

We had a great week together - the house was a very big plus. We could be together as a group - find a place to be alone or as usually happens - adults and kids find their owns space. The beach house will always be a very special part of our memories of a perfect week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Family Reunion

Review submitted: September 7, 2008   Date of arrival: August 25, 2008

Everything was there for our comfort, lots of beds,well furnished kitchen, the beach a block away with some waves for the surfers in our family and a more protected area by the jetty for the younger ones. The house was very clean and well maintained. We ate one night across the street at the Whale's Tale where they have an extensive menu of delicious food as well as a big salad bar.You can see the ocean and sunset from the large family/dining room as well as from the balcony. Our family enjoyed the Jacuzzi(sp?) tub. Some of us enjoyed the Seabee Museum and the Maritime Museum while others went shopping at the Ventura Harbor. Ventura also has many antique stores and San Buenaventura Mission. Oxnard has an old adobe house which is interesting. Yes, we had a good time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 16, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We spent 3 nights here in early January, on a rainy weekend right between two sunny ones. If we had to be stuck inside from the rain, this was a great place to do it. Very comfortable and clean, easy to work in kitchen with lots of dishes. Everything worked just fine and we were so close to the beach for easy walks. A great room for kids and plenty of TV's for different preferences when people needed time to themselves. The property owner is very responsive to questions and needs. Allowed us to check out late as no one was checking in that day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review