reviews for: listing #22954 - Destin, Florida Condo rental

Beach and Boating - Awesome view of Destin Harbor!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sandpiper Cove
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $120 - $210 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,450 /wk
    $1,500 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Spot

Review submitted: April 27, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Hey Jack, if you've got a problem with this place, you should just stay home and practice blowing your duck call. I thought it was perfect. Here's the scoop:

GREAT LOCATION - Eastern end of Destin Harbor with a great view
- Right next door to Louisiana Lagniappe, one of the best restaurants in Destin
- Short walk or car ride to the beach (gated with private parking)
- Short drive to other good spots in Destin

CONDO - Clean, quiet, relaxing 2 BR/2 Bath
- Nicely decorated and comfortable
- Great view from deck
- Right on the harbor
- Looks just the listing photos, if not better
- Flat screen TVs, washer/dryer, and plenty of other stuff to make living easy

RENTAL PROCESS - Easy, accommodating, no hassles
- Professional
- Very competitively priced

Of course I would go back to Destin, everybody loves it. But, would I select this property again? ABSOLUTELY! In fact, I'm already thinking about planning another trip. I hope you enjoy the place as much as we did. It was PERFECT! How many things can you say that about?

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My Favorite Sandpiper Cove Condo!

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We came as a family of 4. We have 4 yr. old twins and this condo was so kid friendly! They absolutely loved sitting on the deck in the morning and evening watching the fish jump,the herron's walk around and catching crabs with the crab trap. My husband and I loved sitting on the very private deck in the evenings and enjoyed the hammock as well. This condo was clean and well stocked. The master bed was SO comfortable. I loved the dressing area in the master bedroom which allowed me to spread all of my make-up, hair products, etc. without cluttering up the bathroom. My husband loved the computer desk in the master bedroom and free wi-fi! The pool is close but not so much that you hear all of the noise. Louisiana Lagniappe is right at your door. The list goes on. We can't wait to come back! Thank you Barry. I hate it took me this long to write a review. Looking forward to spending our family vacation here for years to come!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Senior Trip

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

This condo is excellant! It is everything the description says and more. There is plenty of room, the king size bed felt like my own, and the deck's view was calming and serene. I know everyone who was with me agrees. It is definately a home away from home. We all enjoyed the Cove's private beach as well as the inlet waters behind the condo. It's perfect for anyone who wants to be in Destin but not near the hustle and bustle, and it is still in close proximity to everything. Enjoy your stay! Because we did!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Condo

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

This condo was absolutely perfect for our family. The view is amazing. We found the accomodations to be more than satisfying. The condo was beautifully decorated, clean and fully equipped. I cannot say enough good things about this condo and our vacation experience. Amber and Barry made us feel like the condo was OUR home. We will definitely be back in 2012!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recent Visit

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

My husband and I decided a long weekend was due for us so we headed to the beach. We stayed in this condo and could not have been more pleased with the place. The condo was clean and tidy. Since there were only 2 of us, we had more than enough room throughout the condo. We loved sitting on the back patio looking out onto the water as the sun set. We loved sitting in the chairs and having the bistro table there to set our beverages on while we listened to music from the ipod docking station. We enjoyed having the luxury of the kitchen there even though we decided to eat out every meal and splurge. I cannot tell you how convenient the location is either.. across the street from Target, the Donut Hole, etc. The water this time of year is absolutley beautiful too.. SandPiper Cove keeps their property in tip top shape as well as their beach property. I cannot wait until next year when we are able to visit this condo with another couple. i will most definatley be staying in this exact same condo. Speaking of the keyless entry. We absolutley loved this feature. We did not have to keep up with a key or worry if we would lose it at the beach. The crew even replaced the keyless feature while we were there.. they were extremely kind to both myself and my husband. They left us their contact information in case we needed anything at all while we were there. Thank you for allowing us to come into your condo and make it our home for the long weekend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

We Rented a Lemon - Boaters Beware

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We arrived, entered the keyless entry code and nothing happened. We heard clicking, but no green light. After about the 5th time the lock released. Luckily, the owner left the key to the condo. We walked in to a pile of dirty linens, dirty dishes, and dirty bedrooms. We contacted the property manager who asked us to leave for a few hours while she contacted the cleaning crew. Keep in mind, the main selling point for the condo is the fact that we could bring our own boat, which we did, so leaving the condo to cruise around pulling a boat down the strip was not an option. We offered to clean it if they would waive the cleaning fee, but this was not an option.
Tired from driving, we chose not to leave, but to sit on the deck. When we walked onto the deck, there was no furniture.Sitting on our cooler only lasted a few minutes. We locked our luggage in the truck,launched the boat,and cruised around the harbor while waiting for the cleaning crew.
Hours later, we came back to a clean condo ready for a shower that ended with standing in 12" of water. Drainage was slow, which was disgusting. We finally got to sleep and were interrupted at 630 AM by noises on the deck. We confronted the men on the deck and learned that they were there to paint the deck and would be there all day. It’s early so we go back to sleep only to be awoken again by the men throwing the furniture onto the deck. There is a bright side; we now had deck furniture.

Other items of concern were insufficient lighting in the bathroom due to missing bulbs. Our card was overcharged for the rental fee which was returned by check. Our deposit was also returned by check–after 10 days of departing. They could have at least put it back on our card.

ATTN BOATERS:
Contact SC prior to arriving. The regs provided by the owner are not current. The description that states ‘Complimentary boat docking is available for our guests with electrical and fresh water wash-down’ is not true. You may be able to snag a boat slip from SC for a fee, but it may not be close. If you bring your own boat–MAKE ARRANGEMENTS WITH SC PRIOR TO MAKING A DEPOSIT. You must pay to park your trailer off site. Be sure to bring your own mooring equipment.

We will never stay at this place again, nor will we refer anyone other than a maintenance person residing in Destin to contact the owner for possible work. I would recommend that the property manager adjust the verbiage on the website or I predict more reviews such as this.

Owners response: I am not even sure where to begin as this is the first I have heard about any of this but I am shocked. This venue allows statements to be made in a public forum in which we (the owners) have no control over the statements validity or honesty.

I am sorry that this guest was unhappy and she is obviously attempting to hurt our future rentals. But these accusations are not portrayed honestly. I personally talked to Tami on how to operate a 4 digit keyless entry. It is a simple operation and for some reason she could not figure it out. As for the boating rules,they were given all the boating rules and regulations for SPC in great detail by me and given their options. They were offered to park their boat behind our unit complementary or pay SPC for canal docking. They chose to park behind our unit but then later changed their minds and attempted to park in the canal without paying or going through SPC. This got them into trouble. Again, they were given written copies as well as a detailed explnation by me. We have electrical and fresh water wash down on the lower patio. I do not know how to respond to a blatant untrue statement. The one statement that is true is that the unit was not clean when they arrived. But our regular check in time is 4pm. They asked for an early check at noon which we gladly offered but told them that the cleaning company had between 11am-4pm to clean. We should have stuck to our policy. Painting is handled by SPC and not us and we were unaware of the painting schedule. I spoke with SPC painting manager and he said that the painters were on the patio for approx 2 hours. They removed our furniture that morning and then replaced it the next morning. The painting group does not get started until 8am per SPC management.

The real matter at hand is the time line on which her deposit was returned. There was soled carpet after they left and it took an extra 3 days to get the carpet cleaned which held up their deposit. This upset them. Since they were from Memphis as we are we decided as a happy not to charge them for the carpet cleaning.

We are proud that over the years our home has provided hundreds of families memorable and enjoyable vacations. I am sorry that the delay frustrated Tami to the point to write these malicious comments. My wife and I take our reputation and the comments made about our home very seriously. We hope that future guest will see the true intentions of her comments and accept it for what it is.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful condo

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We absolutely loved this condo. The decks had awesome views. The tennis courts, pool and restaurant are located just steps from the front door. We fished in the harbor from the back deck and enjoyed using the paddle boat as well. We would definitely stay in this condo again. Many thanks to the owner for making the reservation process very easy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Condo misrepresented

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

This condo could be very comfortable, if it were taken care of. We contacted the owner with regards to the bbq grill being unusable, he told us he was bringing a new one down the following week.....still no bbq. The back steps are rotten, with yellow tape to keep you off them...owner says there is a work order in for these, apparently that work order is over a year old, as we were told the steps were like this last year too. The electrical in the unit is a big joke, some of it works, some of it doesn't. The vacuum cleaner was so full of dirt it wouldn't pick up anything...all that it would have needed would be a new filter, but the unit is so stopped up now it is probably shot. Too bad owners don't take pride in their units....the pics are pretty much accurate...except for the back steps. I would not recommend this unit to anyone, we were very disappointed , but had already paid for the month by check, so we stuck it out,but wouldn't ever consider staying here again.

Owners response: We make every effort to provide our guest with an unforgettable vacation and an awesome place to stay! As you can see by our pictures we have spared no expense in doing so. Yes, when she called about the grill we immediately offered to replace it. We inspected the grill which is less than a year old and it was fine. Their comment on the steps is partially correct as Sandpiper Cove was conducting off season repairs. There is absolutely nothing wrong with our electrical. All of the lights are on dimmers and I am sorry if she could not operate the sliding dimmers. We have enjoyed many repeat guest and one particular return winter guest for 2 months for the last 3 years. I am sorry that she felt compelled to try to hurt our rentals by such painful coments. I can only hope that our future potential guest will read our positive reviews and see this review for what it is.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome Vacation Destination

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We stayed in the condo in 6/10. This was an awesome space for a family of four. The complex was very nice and had everything you would need near by including the private beach. Condo is right next to the pool and restaurant which made it very convienent with kids. Enjoyed eating breakfast on the patio or with the french doors open. We will be coming back for years to come.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2008   Date of arrival: March 11, 2008

Had a truly enjoyable stay, owners have made the unit very comfortable and are great to deal with! Looking forward to next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 5, 2007   Date of arrival: September 5, 2007

We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay on our vacation!! It felt like home! We plan on staying there for many years to come!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2007   Date of arrival: September 2, 2007

I didnt notice a weekly rate for the month of Jan. dont they have weekly rentals in Jan?

Owners response: We have a weekly rate but normally January is rented monthly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review