reviews for: listing #23033 - Seneca Lake, New York Cottage rental

Contemporary Cottage on Seneca Lake
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Charming and Quaint- a Gem in between the grapes!

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

WOW Absolute Perfection charming quaint relaxing and SO unique experience Desc of listing was 100 spot on. Property was clean great customer svce from beg to end. We met Karen the property mgr who was lovely She owns an antique store and we bought some momentos.
This cottage is an absolute gem. The water is literally 3 feet from the edge of the dock and the sounds of the waves trickling in is therapeutic. It makes you feel like being at the ocean and we couldn't get enough of it. The sunset was magical We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and wanted something special and unique and we found it and Fell in love all over again We had special dinner plans at Dano's as we read it is the best restaurant and when it came time to go we didn't want to leave the dock So we ordered a pizza drank too much wine danced to our favourite tunes out on the dock to the sound of the waves- Heaven - Wineries to do Silver Thread - gorgeous little dock overlooking the vines and a MUST DO on the west side: FOXRUN winery- order the cheese and wine sample tray sit on the deck 4 diff cheeses with to die for fresh baked baguette and 4 diff wines order the quiche too Watkins Glen trail was amazing and we did the 1 hour lake cruise on the old boat. 2nd nite ditched dinner plans again and sat on the deck listening to the rain. Each morning made a little breakfast and then headed out exploring Belhurst castle is a must see but pricey they have a great view but wouldn't trade our little cottage we were happy to go "home" to it
I have to say this: We are very blessed and live on the water in a log home in the Niagara area. We have visited many great lakes and love cruising because we love the water and found Lake Seneca is a wonderfully unique experience because it doesn't freeze in winter and therefore these cottages can be SO CLOSE to the shore It is unheard of where we live and other lakes we have been to as there are flooding issues.The views of the lake from the hills is wonderful Our land is very flat on either side of our lakes Each Glacier created a one of a kind body of water and area for us all to treasure and being in a hotel just wouldnt have been the same
Enjoy this unique little gem of a romantic place but dont tell too many pple cuz we want to book it again :)
ps ignore the nasty review from the crotchety sisters who sadly didn't appreciate where they were and missed out on this unique life experience. (they needed some wine with their whine I think :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We just spent a very relaxing week at this location! We arrived to find a very clean and comfortable, cozy cottage, exceeding my expectations. It was awesome -- spent much of our time outside on the dock or on the covered porch that was right on the water (just steps from our bedroom). Watching beautiful sunsets or listening to the waves each evening as we slept were the highlights -- the boat hoist was perfect for putting in our boat for the week; fishing was okay at this time of the year. We got to meet the owner while we were visiting, and everyone was nice and accommodating, including neighbors who warned us to wear water shoes in the water (which we appreciated!). Definitely would stay here again! A great place to check out for food is The Crows Nest in Waterloo -- lakeside dining with fingerlakes wine and beer!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation!

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

Had a wonderful, relaxing, enjoyable time here! Perfect for my wife and I. Comfortable and clean. Amidst a number of wineries and waterfalls, a wonderful getaway!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Our weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

We had a fun and relaxing weekend, enjoyed the lake right out the back door, great dock to relax on and just enjoy the noise of the water, close by to wineries, it was just a wonderful weekend. will definately be back!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Location!

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This was our first visit to the area and we can't wait to return! The cottage is right on the lake with waves splashing at the back door, sunset was beautiful. We got to visit a nearby winery and the Seneca Lake State Park. Much closer than we thought and may be our replacement to the New Jersey coast. Owner was pleasant and friendly. We definitely will be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Weekend Ever!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

I have rented on both Keuka and the West side of Seneca Lake, this is now my favorite of all rentals. The cottage is very well-appointed, well maintained and beyond comfortable. Right from the start the owner and property manager were a pleasure to deal with and the whole rental experience was completely painless. I can't begin to explain how relaxing it was to sit on the dock and listen to the water as we enjoyed watching the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Lying in bed, 20 feet from the water, listening to the sound of the waves lapping just outside the sliding glass doors of our bedroom was simply SPECTACULAR! The cottage is perfectly situated in the heart of wine country and we found that we were just a short drive from many central NY attractions and famed wineries. We will never forget this vacation and I can not wait to return next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the very kind review. As you can see, a previous reviewer was not so friendly, but I have learned over the years that you cannot please everyone. It is nice to know the hard work and dedication I put into my properties are appreciated by most of those who are renting. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your accomodations. Come back and see us.

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Breathtaking Views

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

We enjoyed a delightful and comfortable week on the lake in this charming, fully-equipped and WELL-located cottage. The owner was very pleasant, helpful, and great to do business. All the amenities are there and you are literally just steps away from the lake. We loved the deck and dock, perfect for sunsets and remarkable views of Seneca Lake. We have recommended this cottage to all of our closest friends and have already booked again for next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

This house was a perfect getaway. It is rather small;however it is the PERFECT size for a couple or even 3, possibly four people. The house is well-kept and the view is perfect! I stayed in the fall and the house was cozy and comfortable. I plan on renting it again possibly next summer and next fall.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Absolutely Not!

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My sister & I stayed for 2 nights mid September. Despite many communications with the owner, I never did figure out that we were completely on our own. The door was unlocked. We didn't figure out where the door key was till day 2. There were instructions posted on the refrigerator to put the rental payment in the mail box at the house across the street. The worst part was the condition of the cottage. It was extremely musty smelling. The dehumidifier had stopped running because it was full. Linens were included, however, they needed to be washed & dried before we could use any of it. it is a good thing that I brought laundry soap. And the written instructions on the refrigerator stated that all linens needed to be washed & dried upon departure. Seriously? I would have brought my own. We had to get up 2 hours early to wash bedding before getting to the airport. I am so glad that we did not check in at night, as we spent 2 hours airing the place and washing bedding. The chairs on the deck in the beautiful photo? Nope-broken. I finally found 2 rusty folding chairs. There were a couple light bulbs out, including the outside stairs & doorway. We used the light from our phones to navigate the unfamiliar entryway. I was lead to believe from communication with the owner that departure cleaning was included. The instructions on the refrigerator indicated that we were to leave the cottage as we found it (I did want my deposit returned), so we spent extra time cleaning the floors, bath & kitchen, etc...This was not a carefree vacation rental and I do NOT recommend it.

Helpful votes: 6 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review