reviews for: listing #23046 - Cayuga Lake, New York House rental

Cayuga Lake - West Shore, Close to Ithaca
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ithaca
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,100 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

West Shore Lake House

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Great place to stay for Ithaca College Graduation. Close to town and campus. The view of the lake was excellent and we had lots of fun at the fire pit. House was clean upon arrival with all the necessary provisions. Even included charcoal for the BBQ grill.

Driveway and stairs are very steep but were not a problem for us.

Would definitely stay again when we are in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Phillip,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great lake house!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Rented house for Cornell graduation weekend 2012. Family loved the lake house location -- close to town and Cornell campus -- but also far enough from the bustle and chaos to enjoy the weekend together. My family thoroughly enjoyed being able to relax with a fire down by the lake some night and/or sit around the large dining room table with a great view of the lake on other nights. Amenities with the house were plentiful and even allowed us to have a nice, big grill out. Home-owner lives in adjacent house and was great at responding to questions and inquiries. House is great for families or small groups.


Pros:
House was clean and actually larger than expected upon arrival. Kitchen and dining area comfortably fit 10 or more. Kitchen was also fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans, and all necessary cooking utensils. House included all necessary linens -- bedding, bath towels, kitchen towels, and rags. Parking for at least 5 vehicles, though be warned that the driveway is steep and could be difficult for manual vehicles to maneuver. Great location -- just minutes from Cass Park & downtown Ithaca to the south and wineries & Taughannock Falls to the north. WiFi worked great! And while we didn't have time, dock had several canoes just waiting to be used -- ask owner for PPEs.


Possible Cons to Consider -- though realize they are minor:
Only 8 beds and a couch - if you have more than 9 people, you'd probably need to contact owner and make arrangements for more sleeping units. House is 3-stories tall, but you only have access to the top 2 floors -- a permanent resident lives in a separate apartment on the bottom floor. While this wasn't a problem for us, it was definitely a surprise when we accidentally played peeping-tom on the resident living below. Cable was out while we were there, but should be up and running again soon. Also please heed the owner's warning about stairs -- if you can't handle going up and down a few stairs to get to your car or the lake, you'll probably want to consider some place else.


All in all, I would happily recommend the lake house to families or small groups wanting a relaxing week/weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay for Cornell Graduation. Thanks for taking the time to leave a detailed review. Beds - We had just removed a futon, and it has been replaced. So, there is a place to sleep on the main floor. Sorry about the cable, its back on now.

Regarding the efficiency apt - one individual does live there. Its doubtful you'd see or hear him. He's very respectful of the weekly renters.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cornell alumnus had a lovely week

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We had a lovely time. 3 families all managed to squeeze in just fine! Canoeing was fun - and managed to hike in several of the parks. As former Cornellians we really appreciated getting to know the West Side of the lake!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible week

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Thanks for an incredible week - it started to feel like home - the kids and grownups. All had a wonderful time. Hope to come back again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely week

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

Thanks for a lovely week - great beach, perfect weather, wonderful house!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Another great week in paradise. Thank you! (return guest)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great week

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

We had a great week. Thanks so much for the hospitality. We look forward to seeing you again- maybe next summer. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

June 2010

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Boating, brisk swimming & bonfires - fabulous week. Thank you for the lovely lake side experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review