reviews for: listing #230779ha - Carlsbad, California rental

Gorgeous Modern Beach House on the Sand/North San Diego Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

One week in Paradise - Right On the Beach!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

Thank-you for a wonderful place to relax on the beach before our niece's graduation. We really enjoyed our stay; the cool morning beach walks, the bike rides, breakfast or coffee at the Buccaneer Café - only a few blocks away, as we watched the surfers. We became expert surfing critics, especially after watching the surfing dvds you had on hand. They were very entertaining and kept us in the beach mode. The condo was perfect, the sound of the waves, the comfortable beds, chairs and couches, a wonderful view (even the cook could enjoy the view while preparing a meal!) - surfers, several dolphins, a couple of whales, a sail boat, beautiful sunsets, a few children playing in the sand, -Also a garage to park the car, and a place for another car when Leonard's 2 brothers arrived on Fri for the graduation. We've never stayed this close to the beach, and loved it!
We'll be back!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great family beach house

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Fantastic time for a family of 7! Beach water was warm, surf was great, and having the beach house, shower and fire pit only steps away from the ocean made it an easy, enjoyable trip. Lots of sight seeing nearby, disneyland, Lego land, and the La Jolla see caves are not to be missed!
Owners were very accessible and helpful with questions. The hardest part of the trip was leaving the house, you did not want to leave once you were there! You will not regret booking here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place, we return every year!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

We did not get to go this year because we had other obligations. I miss so much our week at the beach house. For the last 3 years we have been going there. The views are spectacular. It is right on the beach and it has it's own private beach area. Sitting in the living room you feel like you are on a ship. The house is so comfortable. It's a beach house and you don't have to worry about bringing a little sand in, putting your feet up on the sofa, or breaking a dish. The house is so comfortable. It's a family vacation with our two little doggies! The owner is fantastic. Anything you need he will take care of you. The last time we arrived we had a bottle of lovely red wine waiting for us. Along with awesome views and house, you are so close to restaurants and Oceanside town center. You can very easily get into San Diego on the train. As I am writing this review I am going to book for next year!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely & peaceful home to stay in on our family vacation! We will definitely call you again the next time we want to come to California & tell all of our friends to stay there too!! Blessings

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach House on Great Beach!

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

This was a great house at a reasonable price right on the beach. The beach was very good for surfing and gentle enough at the shore for kids. Good sand. We watched surfers, kids, kites, boats, and pelicans. We chose this because my mother is very ill, and she wanted to take one last trip and watch the ocean. She couldn't get out of the house, but we set up a hospital bed in the living room where she could see everything and listen to the ocean. The whole front of the living room/dining room/kitchen area is pretty much all window, and she was very happy. The two side walls are mirrored, so it looks like you can see much further on the sides than you actually can. The balcony is a bit small, but nice with a rail to sit drinks/snacks on. The seating area on the beach, with fire pit, is very cool, also. It is easy to walk down the stairs to the beach and the parking was good. The owner was extremely accommodating and worked with us on our special needs. The house is well stocked. All-in-all, it was a very good choice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place to De-stress and spend with family

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

This home is perfect to de-stress and relax with family and friends. My family and some of our friends family stayed over a long weekend at the Brooks Beach house and it was an excellent experience. We enjoyed the huge cushion swivel chairs to sit down in the evening and sip a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the ocean. I was surprised how comfortable the beds were as well. The master bedroom had the most comfortable sheets I have slept on. I was curious enough to check for a tag to find out the brand to buy for my own home. The owners were excellent in every way possible in making our stay as enjoyable as I could have imagined. I will definitely stay here again in the future. The location is perfect to walk among all the shops in downtown Oceanside as well as exceptionally close to amazing restaurants. Both our families had an amazing time and most of it was spent within the comforts of the home and beach. We spent a few mornings cheering on surfers from the swivel chairs sipping coffee as they tried to catch some huge surf. Thanks again for a great getaway.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Beach House and wonderful owner's to deal with

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We are very happy to leave a positive review after our 10 night stay at the Brooks Beach House. Upon arrival the house was clean and ready for our arrival. We were very please with the house itself. The house, although older, has been well taken care of and was perfect for our family of 5. It had everything that we could possibly need including a highchair for our 7 month old baby girl. My husband loved the view and sitting on the deck having a drink, watching the suffers and occasional dolphins go by. My 6 and 4 year old boys loved playing in the sand and the waves. We really enjoyed being directly on the beach and the sound of the waves was extremely soothing. We did three day trips into San Diego as it was nice and close, approximately 30 minutes. We enjoyed LEGOLAND which was only minutes away. I would without hesitation recommend this vacation home to family and friends. I hope your holiday is as pleasant as ours was.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT BEACH and WAVES!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

We had a wonderful week at Brookes Beach house. I have 3 kids ages 17, 14, 11 and they were constantly in the Ocean Surfing and Boogy Boarding. The waves were perfect as we are all beginner to intermediate surfers. We did wear shorty wet suits we brought and those were needed. The house is clean but looks used, kitchen was well stocked. We bought firewood and roasted marshmallows on the beach 2 nights - theirs a nice fire pit and chairs. The unit is an upstairs unit so has a better ocean view but you have to go out the front door and around the back and down several flights of stairs to reach the beach. We really appreciated having the surf boards and boogie boards and we put them to good use. I would recommend this location if you want a really nice beach and waves and are ok with 3.5 star accommodations. Owner indicated he is remodeling the master bedroom which will make this even more appealing. I gave 5 stars because the beach was so fun.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Our favorite week of the whole year!

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

We loved our stay! The view is amazing (from the beach, the patio and the livingroom). A highlight was being able to see the dolphins out with the surfers from the beach house. The easy access to the beach was wonderful. The beach was really nice too. Not too crowded and really nice sand. There was a street outlet very close as well that had a outside shower which was really nice. The house was great as well. There weren't any problems with anything and it was clean and in good shape. Having access to a washer and dryer was a life saver with our 5 kids. There was very little we needed to buy beyond food because everything was provided there at the house. We would highly recommend this beach house. We hope to go again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Beach Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

This beachfront house was awesome, a great value and more importantly exactly as advertised. The owner was exceptionally accommodating and did everything possible to ensure that we had a most memorable stay.

My wife and I have visited numerous beach locations and stayed in a wide range of accommodations on both coasts. Years ago we lived about a mile from this location and were excited to see this offering appear while searching for a beachfront location in this area. The views and location were perfect from all vantage points and watching the sun set just off the Oceanside Pier from our balcony was spectacular. The panoramic views from the living room and kitchen areas were excellent whether we were watching dolphins and surfers in the morning or just relaxing and listening to the soothing but powerful Pacific waves rolling toward what seemed like our private beach in the late afternoon and evenings.

There are a variety of attractions and great restaurants near by and Carlsbad is just a few short minutes away. Continuing a short drive down the coast from there you can experience the array of thriving beachfront communities and shopping. If more exotic shopping is on your list you are only 40 minutes from Fashion Island in the Newport Beach area (Nieman Marcus, Bloomingdale's, Nordstrom's, etc.) and a slight detour on Hwy 1 takes you to Laguna Beach - also approximately 40 minutes or so from your house.

Not trying to write a book here - maybe too late. Bottomline, in our opinion, is that it is nearly impossible to find this combination of accommodations, value, location, and an owner who really does want you to enjoy your stay in any beachfront location in California. Been there. Done that. Search is over.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adequate lodging but needs TLC

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

The owner is more impressed with this place than he should be. He stated several times that it is a "1.5 million dollar house." Zillow puts the value closer to 500k and based on our assessment, we agree. We were expecting an upgraded home with amenities commonly found in 1 mil+ homes. The only thing modern about this home is the high speed Wi-Fi. In that, we were not disappointed. Our family of 2 + 3 kids had trouble getting comfortable in the home. The living room area has seating for exactly five. The noise of the waves and trains mentioned in other reviews didn’t bother us but the unit gets uncomfortably hot from the afternoon sun. The noise and heat could be significantly reduced my replacing all the windows. The current ones are old, single pane windows that do not open and close properly. One is even labeled, “DO NOT OPEN” We would have liked to have opened that one because the breeze was blowing parallel to the beach so it did not blow into the condo through the balcony door. When they replace the windows, double pane, low E glass would really help the noise and heat. Until then, working sun shades would be a welcome addition. When I spoke to the owner he acknowledged that he knew that the home was in need of some upgrading. He mentioned that they were thinking of replacing the old style TVs with flat screens. That would be a welcome upgrade because the DVD player and the wii game console share the same input which requires the renter to unplug and plug in the devices to use them. I would recommend new paint and carpet. Both are old and show considerable signs of wear and tear. The garage is exactly as big as the photo which is to say small. If you pull in while staying to the right, you can get out the driver door but you can't open both sides of the car inside the garage unless you have a small car. Our Nissan Altima was too big. You can park outside the garage, in the driveway however so there is off street parking for 2 cars which is nice. Bottom line: This is an acceptable place on the beach. It is not luxurious, or fancy or as comfortable as we expected. The best thing about this rental is, the view and the fact that it is ON the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Our home is a FAMILY HOME, we've had so many happy guests and a handful that return every year. This review is our first negative review. The renter never contacted me once during his stay, he just left the review after. I believe when we say you are staying in a million dollar home he thought they’d be staying in a home that a million dollars buys in their small hometown in the outskirts of Washington, which no doubt would be 4 times the house I'm sure. His expectations were unrealistic. The value of the property our home sits on alone is close to 500k and should not sell for less than 1 million (as told by multiple realtors). Our home is very nice, with everything a couple or family could want and use during a week vacation. More amenities than I've heard of at any other vacation home, and best yet, we expect you to use and enjoy it! This renter wanted to rest in the lap of luxury and didn't even care about the beach, the real value for staying there. He expected leather sofas and fine china. We've gone into our home after renters and it looks like people have had the time of their lives; sand, toys, linens, dirty dishes, etc. all in the house. We don't mind, we want our guests to have a great time. Other times we’ve gone in and it was left spotless, and we were grateful. If our home was what this renter expected none of our happy guests could relax, they wouldn't have been able to bring their family mascots (doggie, kitty), let alone their kids! So, I spoke with him and he removed his negative review, then a few weeks later, to my surprise, he re-posted it again without saying anything. I was so disappointed. I know his wife was disappointed for having the same unrealistic expectations. He said, she is the one who pushed him to write the review, and that she had stayed in the home, and didn't go out and enjoy the beach at all. If anything is to your dislike during your stay let me know and I will send our handy man over to fix it asap. We also have a policy that if there's any equipment you’d like for the home or beach, to let me know. I’ll either put it in there for you, or if you want to purchase and leave it for the house, I’ll reimburse you. By adopting this policy we have amassed the most complete kitchen, games, surfing, snorkeling, and fishing gear, and countless other items that make our home extra fun! We’ve put in flat screen TV's, and recently a vita mix, and will be remodeling the kitchen and putting new furniture this February.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Our Awesome Oceanside Vacation

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

I wanted to let you know we had a wonderful stay at your beach house. Thank you so much. We cannot wait to come back. We had everything we needed to feel right at home. The kids had a great time enjoying the beach relaxing, boogie boarding, making sand castles and making friends. We went for walks on the beach everyday.
We couldn't believe how close Lego Land was. We took a few trips out to Disneyland in Anaheim, Lego Land in Carlsbad and Site Seeing in San Diego. All of which were easy to get to. We also appreciated how close the grocery store, McDonalds, Starbucks and other conveniences were to the house. That made it so easy to just run out and be back in no time.
Thanks again. We've told all of our friends they should book their reservations soon because this is a great place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Holiday

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful beach house. The floor plan in the house is open and lovely for a family gathering (4 adults and one infant in our party). The living/dining area boasts spectacular views of the ocean, diving dolphins, passing sailboats and lovely sandy beach. The kitchen was very well appointed and the condiments were very much appreciated. Bedrooms were very comfortable and a large walk-in closet in the master bedroom proved to be a great separate sleeping space for our grandson in the pac-n-play provided. The beach is beautiful and right down the steps and at the front of the house. We enjoyed the private beach area, the fire pit and the long walks on the beach. We felt very comfortable and safe in the neighborhood and on the beach. The area is quiet, so we travelled to nearby Carlsbad for restaurants and shopping. Thanks for such a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wished we could stay longer!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

My Husband & I always travel with a truck, motorcycle and dog. So we have a list of things we look for in a vacation house. This beach house came in with high marks for sure. Thanks, again to Jeff and his Father. They were helpful with addressing our concerns. The house had everything you could think of needing for cooking or hanging out on the beach.Being right on the beach was a tremendous plus for dolphin and surfer watching as well as beautiful sunsets thru the huge picture window. Arrival day was cloudy so the window was all hazed up.. luckily a squeege on an extended pole was in the garage to keep the window clean for those awesome sunsets.. Location was great, we walked or rode the bike everywhere. Fine dining by the Pier, casual on the Pier and in town a few blocks walk, convenience store was close and major Grocery & department stores were 5 minute drive off the highway. The beach gets quiet after 10:00PM... I think we heard(noticed) the train once, that was hardly a negative for us. The only thing we couldn't change was 'no dogs on the public beach'. We had hoped to let our dog hang with us on the private beach (our dog "doesn't play well with others") ..but the families staying below us had ALOT of people visiting and the private beach was pretty much filled everyday with all their stuff & kids , so thankfully we were able to enjoy the neighbors' beach for a little while each day. All in all- we loved it and look forward to staying longer next time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommended for a vacation with friends!

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

My husband and I are locals and stayed here with 4 of our friends. We had a great time! It was relaxing and very comfortable. The view was beautiful both inside on the couch and outside down by the fire pit. We had excellent dining choices at restaurants in Oceanside and nearby Carlsbad. The kitchen was also very easy to cook in while still enjoying the ocean view. Downtown was accessible by the Coaster which is only a 15 minute walk away. We would highly recommend this beach house to a group of friends for a vacation rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous......peaceful!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

LOVED IT!!! It was our first time at this property, I chose it based on the excellent reviews, so now I'm sharing our experience!

The house is gorgeous, clean, fresh and it has absolutly everything a family needs to make dinner, entertain the kids and even keep the dog happy!

Our girls 7 and 8 years old had the best vacation ever. Our dog enjoyed running on the sand and getting wet (before 8am and after 8pm). The community is very friendly, we made friends right away.

The owner was alwasy a text message away, promptly replying any inquiries we had about the house or area.

We will be returning to this paradise soon!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach front gem in Oceanside

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

We can't wait to make a return trip to the beach house! This was our first family vacation with our 14 month old twins, and it was made effortless by the owner. We arrived on Saturday to a gorgeous view of the ocean, complete with porpoises, and were quickly transitioned into chill mode. The home was clean, fairly baby proofed, and spacious. We walked everywhere for nearly the whole week, and had our daughter and son learn all about playing in the sand, looking at birds, and getting their feet wet in the ocean. We found plenty to do to entertain ourselves, and although the home is equipped with a Wii and other techy toys, the best viewing was that of the waves. Oceanside has a weekly evening market which was a treat, and Carlsbad was a quick 10 minute drive or 45 minute walk from the house. This was our first time renting a beach house and it was well worth the experience. I would recommend this property to friends, but I want to have first dibs on this week!
Thanks again Jeff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Reasonably priced, a dream come true on the beach, we had an amazing time, it's beautiful. the owner is awesome and nice. do it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great value!

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We loved our stay at this location. It was clean, comfortable, and had an amazing view. Located right on the beach, with no road to cross, was fantastic for us, especially with toddlers. After much research, this place seemed much lower priced than other properties with similar amenities. We loved having 2 bathrooms, a washer and dryer, boogie boards, comfy beds, a great kitchen, and only a few blocks to Buccanear Park Cafe and their amazing breakfast burrito and also not far to the pier and Ruby's Diner.Also, very short drive to Starbuck's and grocery store. The train noise that another reviewer complained about did not ever bother us in anyway and was hardly ever audible over the noise of the crashing waves, which we miss very much after our 10 day stay. We would definately stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Beachfront Getaway

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Our family has spent an entire week the last two summers at this amazing oceanfront house. The easy access to the beach and the amazing views make this a perfect place to stay. We have small children and staying at a place where you don't have to worry about their safety is extremely important. This house is very kid friendly with enough water and sand toys to keep them entertained for hours. The views are breathtaking and with the entire front of the house being a window, they can be seen from almost everywhere in the house. The owners were extremely professional and were always available if we needed anything and made sure the house came equipped with just about anything you can think of. We highly reccommend this place and plan on making it an annual vacation destination.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great beach house!

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We spent a week in this wonderful beach house. Right on the ocean and walking distance to the pier, restaurants and train to San Diego. Great location as it is close to LA and San Diego. House was as described with wonderful windows across the back of the house where we sat in the mornings and watched the dolphins and surfers play. This was very reasonably priced for being right on the ocean. Owner was always quick to answer any questions regarding the property as well. We had a great time! Will rent this place again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Ocean Family Vacation

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

This beach house is in an excellent location, right on the beach. The accommodations were great with nice beds, fully stocked kitchen, and nice family room with TV-Cable / DVD / WII. My kids had a great time going from the beach house to the beach and loved using the boogie boards & surf boards that came with the rental. We really enjoyed having nightly outdoor fires where we roasted hotdogs and marshmallows. It was a great place to relax and close enough for us to visit Old Town-San Diego, Birch-Scipps Aquarium, Lajolla and Belmont Park. This location even nicely accommodated our toddler. I can't wait until we can come back for another vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Took our breath away

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

My kids, family and realitives were taken away with this location. We aready started planning our next vistit before we left. Not only did the 1 and 3 year old love the big cozy arm chairs, digging in the sand, and the short walk to the train tracks, i loved the fact that everyone was accommodated. We checked in, bought a weekends worth of food at the local supermarket and hunkered in for the weekend. It was so close to Sea World and Lego Land. We had so much fun!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous but bring earplugs!

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

Thank you for allowing pets! Fantastic location, with a private beach which is especially nice during high tide. Nice quiet street. Very easy beach access and nice mattresses on the beds. Second bedroom has a great setup for kids with a queen bed as well as bunk beds. Some dual paned windows might be a nice improvement on this condo -- the train noise was totally unbearable during the night, as they blasted their horn every night, and several times a night. The ocean doesn't come close to muffling the train, which is just a block away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the first and only time train noise has ever been mentioned. I believe that either these renters were extremely light sleepers, or there must have been something happening on the train tacks that night and they had to use their horn for safety reasons. This is extremely out of the ordinary, and has never been mentioned again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oceanside Beach House

Review submitted: April 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We had a fantastic time at the beach house. The location of this rental is second to none. There is plenty to do for everyone in the family and with the freeway so close, road trips were easy too. Being right on the ocean with a private beach is just about as good as it gets, especially when you can include your pets!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach House in Oceanside

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

Our vacation at this beach house was just perfect! The house was clean and very convenient to the beach(right on the beach)! The pictures are just exactly as you see it. It had the feel and look of a beach house - very enjoyable. Close to stores and shops. Would definitely recommend this property! Beach area was clean and not real busy!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review