reviews for: listing #23082 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

4000SF Lake Home/6BR/4BA/HotTub/MassageChair/Kid Friendly
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $395 /nt
    $1,999 - $2,499 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, serene location for family gathering

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

The house was perfect for our small family reunion. Its central location was ideal for daily hikes in nearby National and State Forest areas. We found so many great new hikes, we'll need to come back to find the ones we missed. The house had every amenity you could imagine and the downstairs playroom for small children kept the kids fully entertained while the adults relaxed gazing at wildlife on the serene backyard lake and stream. I highly recommend this central yet very peaceful large home with beautiful, unique décor.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the house! It really made the vacation to have the family there together instead of in separate hotel rooms. We all had a great time on the deck and the backyard too. My baby loved the hammock and the swing and we had a fun watching her older cousin play on the swing set! The adults enjoyed the massage chair and the hot tub. Everything was neat and clean and very well maintained. We appreciated all the little touches like spices in the kitchen cabinets. The house had enough room so that everyone had their space, yet we could all be there together. We had a great time exploring the asheville area from downtown to the arboretum. I would highly recommend staying here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a blast!!!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

Our family of 17 stayed the week of Thanksgiving 2012...it was wonderful! Everyone loved it...the playroom, the hot tub, the fish in the pond, the play structure...
the house is extremely comfortable and wants for nothing.
Lots to do in Hendersonville and Asheville was so much fun. Went to Chimney Rock and Jump off Rock...wonderful views....

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best ever! Like staying in the home of a friend!

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 5, 2012

When we arrived late from our travels we were just blown away by how lovely the house was! Stephanie had the lights on for us so we wouldn't arrive in the dark. And that was just the beginning of the thoughtfulness that went in to this beautiful home. If we needed something in the kitchen - we just looked and it was there. Everything was labeled - we never felt lost. The decorating was beautiful, the sheets were high quality, and this is just the inside of the house!! The setting was so lovely and serene. We settled in to the hot tub after the kids were asleep.. and I swear we could just feel the stress fade away.
The playground was a huge hit with the kids. They spent hours playing out there.
I would rate it excellent...we couldn't have been more pleased!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Ever Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

White Stone Lake Manor was the best vacation ever. Our family spent a week in this lovely home. For the past 6-7 yrs. , we have rented homes in the Asheville & Black Mt. area, but none have provided more comfort and rest than this one. This 2-acre property proved serenity, at best. Ranging in age from 4-80 years, we found that each of us had our own corners of the home.

The king-size beds on the first floor were so distanced from each other that we always had complete privacy and quietness. The lower level was spacious and a perfect hangout for the older children with additional sleeping areas and a wonderful media room. They had many, many movies to pick from and load on the huge TV, complete with surround sound.

The large pond on the property, stocked with a variety of fish for the kids to feed provided endless hours of fun. The playground on the property was a source of fun for the smaller children with its slide and swings, etc. Grandma and grandpa enjoyed the carefree days lying in the hammock under the beautiful trees. It brought back memories of bygone days. The kids loved the fire pit for roasting their marshmallows and eating their smores.

Stephanie and Robert provided every conceivable amenity in this beautiful home-art work adorned every wall. I felt, at times, I was walking through an exquisite art gallery-so tastefully done. This was more than a home away from home. It excelled in every area when looking for a comfortable vacation rental. The home is just a breath away from Ingles, a fine grocery store and many other stores and restaurants. No more looking for me!!! This will be our choice each and every year at vacation time.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Perfect Vacation Experience"

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I researched quite a bit to find something that our varied group would all like. The pictures and description on the website were detailed and beautifully done, but couldn't begin to fully prepare us for the fabulous experience. I think it is the quality of every detail of the house that is remarkable, particularly in terms of luxurious comfort. But even more amazing is that whatever pops into your mind to look for (and our group included my 85 year old mother, my husband and friends in their 60's and their children in their 30's down to grandchildren 3 and 6) you will find somewhere in the house. An amazing amount of thought went into providing a perfect atmosphere for a relaxed, wonderful vacation experience.

I came home and immediately went on line to look at other rental properties that Stephanie manages because we want to go back and can't imagine renting from anyone else.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beyond Outstanding Amenities!"

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The house was beautiful! there were so many comfy areas to hang out that even with 16 people it never felt crowded. the kids loved the dorm style bunk room. there was plenty of seating in two living rooms. the beds were exceptionally comfortable. from bbq to bread mixer to electric frying pan and pancake grill to hot tub to foosball table to great deck and lawn, we used and enjoyed it all. it is hard to imagine anyone being disappointed with this home. stephanie and robert couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, relaxing mountain vacation

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

We spent a wonderful week with our extended family enjoying all the house had to offer. We ranged in age from 2 - 65, and there was something for everyone. The kids loved playing in the backyard, spotting the koi fish in the pond, and having s'mores around the fire. The huge back deck with plenty of seating was very relaxing, especially in the evenings.The home had way more than enough space for our group of 9, so we were really able to spread out & have our privacy when needed. The kids rooms downstairs were absolutely magical for the kids. I really loved & appreciated the extremely well-stocked kitchen. It had everything you'd ever need - much better stocked than even my own kitchen & I'm a gourmet cook! Upon our return home, we discovered my youngest daughter had left behind her beloved stuffed kitten. When I contacted the owner, she found the cat & even mailed it to me! I can't say enough about the terrific property - it really far exceeded what we expected!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A fabulous place for a family reunion!

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

My family of thirteen adults (mother, husband, son, daughter, brothers and sisters, nieces and nephews) stayed at the White Stone Lake Manor home for an extended weekend for a family wedding and reunion and we loved the home. It felt like a home, so comfortably furnished and complete with everything needed (or wanted) for a luxurious experience. The very well equipped kitchen was large enough for several cooks and helpers at the same time and the living room accommodated us all for several evenings of music , singing and games. The bedrooms were very comfortable and spacious . The home was large enough to give us both privacy and togetherness and we all would love to stay there again. It's true, you will feel pampered!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazingly beautiful & comfortable lake home!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

Our stay at this home was more than wonderful! We were a party of 15 adults, 3 children under 3 yrs old and we found literally everything we needed from sippy cups to a keyboard for our Sunday morning worship...not to mention the hot tub, foosball, massage chair and movies for the big "kids". We cooked all our meals there and the kitchen is truly fully equipped for large crowds. Very comfortable and lovely home that you will not want to leave.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

This is a great choice for multiple families. They really thought of all the little details that truly made it feel like home. There were 8 active children & normally we feel on top of one another. This was not the case here at all! The kids were thrilled with the bunk room & playroom as well as the big TVs & play area outside. It was beautifully decorated, very clean & well stocked. It was very convenient to grocery stores, restaurants, a quaint downtown area, hiking, fishing, shopping, etc.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

"Promise fulfilled and More!" Seldom do the pictures of a house truly represent what one finds on arrival. In this case the pictures understate reality. The house absolutely lived up to expectations, and more. The layout of the house made it possible for people to have space of their own and to join with others when they wanted to. The grounds - including a pond, an excellent climbing structure, picnic tables in various places, and a large space for running were all inviting and much used. The house itself was outfitted with absolutely everything you could need, with high quality kitchen equipment, very comfortable beds, complete equipment for an infant, and toys and games galore for all ages. Plus it is located not far from the center of asheville, and close to Pisgah National Forest and other wonderful nature adventures. You won't run out of things to do.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

We wanted to spend our week vacation with my family, and this was the most perfect house to do it in. It easily accommodated 6 adults, and three kids (9 mos, 1 year, and almost 3). Everyone had something to do, and enough space to be alone if wanted. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything, including the sippy cups for the kids (that was a pleasant surprise), the house even has a grill, and the grocery store is less than 5 minutes away.

The house didn't disappoint us on any level, it has everything that was promised and more. Next time we'll know to bring less clothes (the washing machines are fast and efficient), less toys, books, dishes and blankets for the kids (they are fully stocked). This way we won't have to buy an extra bag for all the stuff we bought in town, which has an amazing toy store, and lots of fun shops for adults as well.
While I am not good with words, and can't adequately describe just how wonderful our vacation was, I can't imagine ANYONE being dissatisfied with White Stone Lake Manor

Houston, TX

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

The attention to detail was truly impressive - everything to make us feel at home! The yard is exquisite! Our littles ones never wanted to leave the property to do any sight seeing, hiking, etc. They all cried when our week was up. There were 12 in our group and we had plenty of room in the house. The appliances were state-of-the-art and the furniture comfortable with enough seating for all. I cannot think of a single concern we experienced - it was heaven!

The Greenwood Family - UT

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

The attention to detail was truly impressive - everything to make us feel at home! The yard is exquisite! Our littles ones never wanted to leave the property to do any sight seeing, hiking, etc. They all cried when our week was up. There were 12 in our group and we had plenty of room in the house. The appliances were state-of-the-art and the furniture comfortable with enough seating for all. I cannot think of a single concern we experienced - it was heaven!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

FROM OUR GUEST BOOK:
Our stay was wonderful! The accommodations were perfect for our group of nine. We each had space and plenty of room to play in the back yard, the hot tub, and enjoy the pond. The geese made their nest and laid eggs which made it a great time to observe them. The house provided a peaceful retreat for our family vacation.
Cathy B

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

Our stay was wonderful. The accommodations were perfect for our group of nine. We each had space and plenty of room to play in the back yard, the hot tub, and enjoy the pond. The geese made their nest and laid eggs which made it a great time to observe them. The house provided a peaceful retreat for our family vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: December 8, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the house during the Thanksgiving week. The house was well suited for the 11 of us. The children enjoyed the playrroom which was amply stocked with plenty of toys and entertaining games. The adults were able to cook and have time to relax.
It was a great week and the house was up to the advertisement.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at White Stone Lake Manor. Very comfortable and everything we needed was right there.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

Hi, Stephanie. We very much enjoyed our stay and our whole family was very excited to be in a house which was so carefully outfitted for a family with many kids of different ages and desires. (Including at least one "kid" son-in-law who made good and frequent use of the hot tub). Actually, since the weekend weather wasn't so good, it was especially important that there was so much for the kids to do at the house, and that it was clearly set up for them. And for those of us who cooked, the kitchen was so well set up, and we loved the huge refrigerator! And it was great that there were so many towels, etc. So often in a rental you are frustrated by the lack of amenities. That's not at all true in your place.

My brother and his wife who live nearby in Mills River came for dinner on Saturday night and they were astonished at how nice the place was. I am sure they will be recommending it to folks they know who have large families coming to visit.

Again, thanks for your hospitality and for the follow up. We'd be happy to put any of this you think would be useful on the on-line guest book. Just let me know.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: September 26, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

What an extraordinary home this is! Everything was exactly as described by Stephanie & Robert; the only surprises were pleasant ones. We especially loved the well equipped kitchens, the ultra comfortable beds, the tasteful decorating, and all the other things already mentioned in prior comments by others. The very nicest part was the way were treated by Stephanie & Robert; they made us feel like valued friends. We won't hesitate to return again and again. Our stay in mid September was a Blessing to us and our family. Thank you so very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

We had a wonderful time, and the house worked out beautifully for our group, which included six children, all ages three and under. We were a little worried about the pond with the kids, but it turned out to be a non-issue.

We were really impressed with how well-stocked the house was with things such as lawn chairs, small kitchen appliances, dinnerware...the list goes on. It's easy to see that a lot of thought is given to these details. Everything was clearly labeled and easy to find.

We appreciated how clean the house was when we arrived. The layout was also great and allowed for each of our four families to have it's own space.

And the bedding and mattresses were to die for!

We were only a couple of short miles from a first class grocery store as well, which was really helpful.

Hendersonville is a great little town with a very walkable downtown. And Asheville was an easy trip too.

Our group highly recommends this house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

We had a wonderful week at the White Stone lake Manor. Anything you could possibly need or want was provided. We were so close to everything in Asheville and Hendersonville, and the Blue Ridge parkway was beautiful. We had a wonderful time, the week of Aug 22. I cannot imagine what the fall must be like here in the mountains!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

Dear future guests-

This house is wonderful! The owners have paid attention to every last detail, and you will truly feel pampered. Some of the things that my family and I particularly enjoyed include:
--The beds/linens (unbelievably comfortable)
--The hot tub
--The play area for the kids downstairs (they entertained themselves for hours)
--The downstairs media room (perfect for adult hang-out at night)

There are awesome nearby hikes, and downtown Hendersonville and Asheville are both fantastic for strolling, people-watching, shopping, and good eats.

I highly recommend this house!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

In July of 2009 my best friend and I brought our girls (ages 5-13) to North Carolina and stayed at the White Stone Lake Manor. The house was so large it was nice to be able to spread out and get some "alone" space when needed. There was so much to do on property that coming home or staying the day at home was a treat. The hot tub is awesome in the evening and we enjoyed running around the back yard catching fire flies. Stephanie keeps the house well stocked and has signs telling you everything you need to know. I highly recommend staying at this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

What a wonderful house! We had 18 people from 5
different states and we all had a great time. It was
such an asset to have 2 kitchens so we could cook
and feed the clan. What a pleasure it was to have
such a comfortable place to return to after
horseback riding, hiking, antiquing, shopping and
more. Many of us went to the Biltmore and it
certainly was an added bonus to be able to get the
tickets through you and have them waiting at the
house for us when we arrived. The other nice thing
about the house is that it was located near both
Hendersonville and Asheville, allowing us to enjoy
both; which we did. If you have a big group with
varied interests and ages, this is definitely the place
to stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

The reason for staying at your lovely home was our mother's 80th birthday/family reunion. As the party organizer I was especially anxious that everything be just right. White Stone Manor exceeded all of our expectations! I would recommend it as a place to stay for large groups who want to stay together but who need to have room for alone time as well. Thank you Robert and Stephanie for helping to make this event one that our families from CA, FL and LA will never forget!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 28, 2009

we all had a wonderful time and ya'll covered every age group. we all kept saying " do you believe this!" it was great, thank you. the beds are sooooo comfortable!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 13, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

What a wonderful vacation home! We had a terrific time. Nothing here is lacking. Everything you'd need in the kitchen and for children is right at hand. Can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 10, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

What a wonderful place! We had a wonderful time while staying here, not only was the house full of amenities that made all of us so comfortable, the whole place, the house, yard, wildlife, and lake, brings such a feeling of peace and serenity! I would stay here again anytime! As a matter of fact, I won't be renting from anyone else!! An A++++ rating all the way!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

This is a yearly outing for the family and friends of the family. We had all ages from little children (the play room was a big hit)to us older people. The home was very comfortable and spacious. Perfect location for shoping and the mountains for hiking. We will be back. Thanks you again for a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

I was a guest at your home the week of November 3 with Sue and Bob Goldsmith. We had all ages in our group from 3 months to 88 and we had a very comfortable visit. Your place had all the comforts of home and we were near all of the things we wanted to see. It was a very peaceful and relaxing week for us all. Thank you so much

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

One could not ask for better hosts than you were to us at our recent stay at White Stone Lake Manor. Your home has everything anyone could need to make for an enjoyable stay. So peaceful and quiet and yet close to all the places of interest in the Asheville area. We had an exceptional time at your home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 28, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had a wondeful time, The home was very close to all of the sights we wanted to see in the area. Your home was very clean & spacious. We ate out every evening meal & didn't use those facilites but just fro breakfast. thank you so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 21, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Five of my sisters and our spouses were guests in White Stone Lake Manor for one week for a family reunion. It was delightful, with every need anticipated and provided for with quality items and equipment. We loved the great linens, the many TVS, including the large screen in the lower level. We especially liked the fact that everyone could find a little quiet place for rest, when they needed. Everyone enjoyed the lake, the fish, the heron, and the other wildlife) We loved the area, explored and visited, and just didn't get around to enjoy the hot tub (maybe next time). The kitchen was wonderful for six cooks, and it was important for all of us to eat together at one table (we had to crowd in a little). Thanks for making it available. We will come again, next time with our own grown children. Regards, Lucy Collins

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had a great weekend! Our group consisted of three couples from Kentucky and one couple from Raleigh, North Carolina. (Three brothers, one sister and their spouses.) We were together to celebrate the retirement of one of our group....quite a milestone! As soon as we walked into your home, I knew we had made the right choice! Everything was just perfect. We spent our evenings on the deck, and our mornings around the dining room table. It was important to us to be able to just visit and enjoy being together, and there was plenty of space for us to do that! The house was so well equipped, and we thank you for that. We didn't have to go to the grocery for a thing!! We spent the day at the Biltmore House and visited the Grove Park Inn in Asheville. We explored Hendersonville and ate at a little Mexican Restaurant, Papa Beers, that was excellent! We had high hopes of fine dining while we were there, but once we all collapsed on the deck at the end of our day, no one wanted to leave! Thanks again for everything, we hope to return some day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

White Stone Manor was wonderful. We had 7 adults and 3 children -- myself and my husband, my son and his wife and 1 year old daughter and well-behaved Sheba-Inu, Sasha, my daughter, her husband, mother-in-law, and 2 girls (3 and 7 months). There was enough space that everyone could retreat to their own quiet or be out with the crowd. The little girls fell in love with the playroom and it was so nice not to have to cart a lot of toys and books along for them. The 3 year old couldn't get enough of "the tower" as she called it -- a glorious playset -- her tire swing was the best and she loves to climb. Of course we also fed the fish cheerios each night and counted frogs. Our last night was the Opening Ceremonies of the Beijing Olympics and they were spectacular on the big screen! This was especially fun as my son-in-law and his mom are from NE China.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Our extended family (13 in all) had a wonderful stay at this home. We were especially taken with the lake filled with fish (the kids loved to watch them and the adults loved watching the kingfisher and heron eat), the message chair, and the spices and basic cooking ingredients that were already present. This allowed us to cook our usual dishes without buying extra basics. The location was central to many hikes and waterfalls of varying degrees of difficulty. The electronics (playstation, DVD and VHS players) were a favorite of the kids. The front yard was large enough to put up a badmitten net and play. We recommend this home highly!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We loved it! Had all our needs covered.
My Mom and Dad had a wonderful 50th anniversary!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This property was absolutely perfect for our family reunion. 4 families with kids plus 2 adults w/o kids gave us 10 adults and 9 kids total which the house handled perfectly. There were plenty of TVs to go around and the PS2, Foosball, and other kids amenities kept everybody busy. The huge backyard was a nice bonus which gave us lots of outdoor options as well including frisbee, football, baseball, and lacrosse. We even had an Olympics-style competition with the other two large families who stayed nearby and a huge bbq with everybody, 40 people in all. The house easily accommodated everyone. We did a reunion two years ago in Lake Tahoe, NV and rented a similar-sized house there but this one just felt bigger. We highly recommend this property and would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the White Stone Lake Manor. The owners really did think of everything. We really didn't need to bring anything but our clothes. There were 4 adults and 2 children and we have tons of room. I am telling all my friends to stay here on their next vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

ya ya's weekend review

Review submitted: May 13, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This property is very nice, well maintained and truly provides all the comforts of home. We had a group of 7 people we all came from different directions and everyone found the house with no difficulty. The owners gave very specific and easy to follow direction both to the house and to any amenities within. We spent most of our time at Biltmore house and village and the farmers market the distance from this property and access routes were great. I did not feel that the owners misrepresented anything in their property descriptions and they were very attentive. We had a great time and will definitely rent online again.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 7, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We had three families with a six kids at the Manor for a week and had a fabulous time. The owners have everything extremely well organized with all the amenities you can imagine and everything is well documented with various books and notes. The house is very comfortable and all sheets, towels, kitchen items are first class. It got to the point that the kids never wanted to leave the house to explore the area! It is a great house and we had a relaxing week. I would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in the Asheville area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 18, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Your home was so wonderful.We didn't want to leave and we will return.Thank you and your husband so very mush.Your lamp shades I love and let's not forget the chair.

Owners response: We're delighted you enjoyed our home and it's elegant decor and the famous, awesome massage chair....everyone's favorite!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2007   Date of arrival: August 19, 2007

This was a unique vacation. Our family, brothers, sisters, in-laws, grandparents & grand children (19 in all) had an amazing week close to nature and adventure. Your home gave us the opportunity to be together. Cousins from Caracas and Miami spent time together enjoying each corner of the house!

Thank you so much for all the great information you provided us, it really gave us a chance to explore North Carolina...what a fabulous state!

I will recommend the house to all our friends and family in Florida. Good luck and much more success.
===================
[Note from child in the Tangir family left in our guest book:]
Dear Stephanie and Robert
I love this house it was so cool!! I wish I could stay more time here. We all ways went in the Jacuzie me and my sister. All ways woke up in the morning, got bread and fead the fishys. THANKS!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2007   Date of arrival: July 16, 2007

Stephanie and Robert:What a wonderful retreat you have created here. What a beautiful home—inside and out! We saw herons—big and small, muskrats, blue birds, muskovey duck, white squirrel, and even some birds we didn’t know. The pond & wildlife have been a joy every morning for me. We had a wonderful time and hope to come back and visit in the future. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2007   Date of arrival: July 3, 2007

Thanks for preparing such a beautifully equipped home in a beautiful nature setting…just for our HOEY FAMILY gathering! We came, 12 of us, from Michigan, Arizona,& Florida to meet here. We had 3 generations—and we were so glad to be together and reminisce our childhood memories. We ate most of our meals here (all but one) and Ben & Gerry did all the cooking and shopping. Linda & Sally were knitting whenever sitting. It was wonderful being together. We spend more time talking in the living room than any other activity while we were here—we laughed & talked & had a great time. We ate at the table and on the deck. Took scads of photos! We all would love to come again! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2007   Date of arrival: June 30, 2007

Stephanie & Robert

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us. We all enjoyed the massage chair & hot tub! Everything we needed was right here. This house alone was a great vacation. There was so much to do here and the kids were always entertained. We even received a visit from a baby chipmunk on the back porch one day. Very cute!
Thanks again

Tony & Sylvia & 5 kids (age 11 to 20)

Stephanie & Robert
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your home. We had a wonderful time. The hot tub was our favorite, also the foosball table was awesome! We loved the king size bed, Egyptian cotton sheets and Jacuzzi tub & we had everything we could possible imagine at our fingertips! You home inspired us for our new apartment. I loved waking up and having little friends in the back yard. Thanks again!
Michelle (the oldest)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2007   Date of arrival: June 22, 2007

We spent a wonderful 60th anniversary with all of our family and friends. Had plenty of room and everyone had a truly great time—especially our granddaughter Mimi who ended up (thanks to Robert) with her precious bunny [a stuffed bunny from the huge collection of stuffed animals at the home]. Irv and I hope to come back next year. You did a superb job on the Manor. We lacked for nothing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2007   Date of arrival: May 13, 2007

We came to Asheville for a family wedding and were beyond pleased with our stay at this wonderful property. With our most valued friends and family traveling from all over the country, it was such a joy to accommodate them with such beauty, comfort, style & class…from the scenery to the exquisite linens. We can’t express enough how amazing an impression this experience has made. Thank you so much for making such a special time even more so.Thanks again, the Auwater FamilyP.S. Be on the look-out for a BEAUTIFUL albino squirrel we saw towards the back side of the pond. Pure white. Hope it brings the future residents as much joy as it brought us! Best Wishes!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2007   Date of arrival: May 10, 2007

Stephanie & Robert

We are glad we chose your house to have our wedding. It was everything we imaged it would be. We love all the space you have for people to gather. Thanks you for all the support before the wedding. We hope to spend our anniversary in a place like this!

Denish & Sophiya

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2007   Date of arrival: April 6, 2007

Stephanie & Robert

Thank you so much for all of your flexibility. We truly enjoyed our stay in your home. I could simply move my clothes in and live happily ever after. Everything is absolutely beautiful and luxurious. You really have thought of everything. Job well done!!

The girls love the playset outside. We spent most of our time out there.

We had a wonderful time in downtown Hendersonville, pleased by how close we were. Love the shops!! Everything was amazing. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 19, 2007   Date of arrival: February 19, 2007

We are so grateful in all you have done for us. Your home has been better than expected and we expected a lot! Everyone has had an awesome time. We all enjoyed the lake and the wonderful play set. We appreciate you going out of your way for us. The kids have enjoyed the amazing play ground and fort so much and the lake as well. Thanks again for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2007   Date of arrival: January 5, 2007

We had a wonderful time! Your home exceeded our expectations! The muskrats in the pond were a lot of fun to watch. We will definitely spread the word about your home. Also, we will be calling again for a reservation. Thank you for providing all the comforts of home—and then some!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 26, 2006   Date of arrival: December 26, 2006

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home! We all felt relaxed on our vacation. It was great to come home to White Stone Lake Manor after visiting the Biltmore Estate, shopping in Asheville and snow tubing. There is an amazing number of things to do in this area!

Our daughters (Jessica-age 8 and Kelci-age 4) loved the playroom and the pond best. It was nice for our family to spend time together in your beautiful home with plenty of room for all of us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 13, 2006   Date of arrival: October 13, 2006

Mucho Kudos to you both for making this house so fabulous! True southern hospitality oozes from every corner. Thank you for thinking of everything! This house is a vacation all by itself. See you next year. Charles, Margaret, Savannah (3 ½ years) & Alex (19 mos.)P.S. The washer & dryer kick butt! Charles is buying me a set when we get home! P.S.S. Charles loves the grill—guess I’ll be buying one of those for him....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2006   Date of arrival: July 8, 2006

We had a fantastic family vacation! There was plenty of room to accommodate a family from four states. We really enjoyed the room to cook as a family. Thanks for providing all the “extras” we needed. It made us feel right at home. The location was great. We highly recommend Chimney Rock and the Biltmore. To all who come after us...relax, enjoy and have fun with your vacation.P.S. We LOVED the massage chair!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2006   Date of arrival: June 30, 2006

Everything was absolutely wonderful! What a beautiful place you have fixed for families to enjoy their vacations. The decorations are fabulous! We really enjoyed all the accommodations. It was wonderful to have a vacation here. You have thought of everything to make this a very “special” place to come. This will always be one of our very favorite places to vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 23, 2006   Date of arrival: June 23, 2006

The 14 of us enjoyed our stay in your lovely home! The care you took in selecting all the furnishings, linens, blankets, kitchen ware and décor made this vacation one where we didn’t “want” for anything much more. We felt pampered with all the “niceties” you include.The wildlife out back were fun to watch—even a mama duck and her brand new baby ducklings visited after the Friday afternoon rain shower. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the deck—-nice and refreshing spot to start the day. And the grill made “quick work” of two means we prepared this week. Thank you for your hospitality!P.S. We must find out where you bought those wonderful “fuzzy” blankies in all the pretty colors! Our kids fell in love with them!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2006   Date of arrival: June 4, 2006

Dear Stephanie & RobertWow! What a wonderful vacation home! You made it so nice & comfortable for all of us. We loved walking around the pond & watching the wild life. It was so serene. We enjoyed grilling two meals and really appreciated the well appointed kitchen.Many laughs were had in the hot tub! It was very relaxing! Thanks you!P.S. We’re 6 grade school/high school friends who are having our second reunion after 45 years. We are so happy we chose your wonderful home! P.P.S. We planted our basil plant out front by your hostas.Diane – Chicago; Sharon – Denver; Susan – Chicago; Marilynn – Dallas; Karen – Denver; Jill – Phoenix

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2006   Date of arrival: May 21, 2006

We had such a wonderful time in your well furnished, well supplied home. We enjoyed watching all the wild life, especially the muskrats building their nests. This was a family vacation with one daughter who lives in London, England and one who lives in Massachusetts, and as we live in Florida, this was a great reunion.

We especially enjoyed our trips to Asheville and the Biltmore House. In fact, we purchased a CD as a thank you to you both and for enjoyment for your future guests. It is the Dinner with Friends Album from the Biltmore House.

Thank you for a wonderful time. We wish you both the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 25, 2006   Date of arrival: April 25, 2006

We are 4 generations who vacationed at your fabulous home! There was ample room for all four couples and our kids (ages 1 to 12 years) who were never bored the entire week! They loved the playroom, the hot tub, the pond, the softy blankets, the toys/games and the foosball table. The grown up kids (the men!) loved the BIG screen TV and the video games! Everything we needed, you had thoughtfully provided. The home went way beyond our expectations of quality and amenities. Thank you being such kind and generous hosts. Here’s what I loved:The massage chairThe extremely comfortable beds (you definitely splurged on quality!) The sound proofing between the floors!Quality cookwareThe high chair, playpen & stroller for the babyThe high tech front loading washer & dryer (wow – double the capacity of mine at home….I’m getting one for myself!)We will definitely be back for our next family reunion. The location is ideal to get to all the sights and activities of the area. Thanks for the directions and local information. Janice Fox & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 4, 2006   Date of arrival: March 4, 2006

We are in love with your wonderful home! The White Stone Lake Manor is far beyond our expectations! We knew it would be quite nice, but had no idea how spectacular it really is! We are so impressed with all the attention to detail and the incredible thought that has gone into making this the best vacation home our family has ever visited! It is elegant, comfortable, lush & soft bedding, beautiful artwork and lamps, elegant bath rooms, kitchens have absolutely everything we need. I want to hire you as my interior decorator!I adore that you thought of all age groups! The young ones were thrilled with the playhouse and all the toys. Our teens got right into playing Foosball and video games. The rest of us were mesmerized by the big screen HDTV (wow!), the really amazing hot tub, not to mention the massage chair! I appreciate all the various conversation areas throughout the home where we could have private relaxed time to get caught up on the year’s events. Like I said, you thought of all our needs and then some! You created a great outdoor area with all the decks, picnic tables and walk area around the pond. The kids spent hours outside enjoying the fresh air and sunshine.I just can’t truly express how grateful our family is to have found such an amazing home to spend our family reunion! We’ve been to many places over the years and this surpasses any home or 5 star hotel we’ve ever visited! We’ll definitely be back! Thank you so much for all you've done!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review