reviews for: listing #2311 - Bucerias, Pacific Coast Condo rental

Beachfront Condo with Infinity Pool - Colibri Condominiums
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $185 /nt
    $725 - $1,225 /wk
    $1,450 - $3,950 /mth

sort by:

Our Favorite Place in Mexico

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

We love Mexico and travel there as often as we can. We won't have to look for where we want to go anymore because Colibri was wonderful. The view was amazing. The proximity of the infinity pool to the ocean made playing and floating in the pool while watching the ocean ideal. The owner, Brian, and the property manager, Sally, are both very accommodating and easy to work with. Bucerias feels safer than other places we have vacationed. Being able to walk to great nearby restaurants, church, and the town square simplified everything--no rental car necessary. This is a smaller place so the atmosphere on the complex was low-key and made for a relaxing, enjoyable time. We have booked for a month in 2015.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury living in a beautiful area.

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Colibri Condos, a block of 20 modern units beachfront in Bucerias. The owner, Brian was extremely responsive with any concerns we had and provided everything we needed in his one bedroom ground floor apartment. Easy access to the lovely pool, a comfortable king size bed, adequate AC in bedroom and living area, beautiful, well kept grounds and responsive management. We appreciated a plentiful fresh water supply and lots of ice in the freezer upon our arrival. Many restaurants were only a few minutes walk to town or a short stroll along the beach. Los Pericos was our favourite for breakfast where I found the best French toast in town and excellent service. Sandrinas across the bridge was a delight set in a courtyard with one of the best dinners we had while in Bucerias. The chicken with brie was both creative and delicious. I also found a unique Italian restaurant /bakery/cafe Panino's in a strip mall across the highway 5 mins walk north of the condos where the best cappaccino in town is to be found. We also travelled further afield by local bus to Punta De Mita only 10 minutes away and a surf beach, Salyuleta only 20 minutes, an interesting spot for beach and cafe lovers. Overall a comfortable stay in a great location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Already Booked for Next Year!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Thank you Brian for sharing your home with us. It was everything that we could have hoped for, right up to the amazing
blender for those afternoon drinks. Your web site is exactly what is there when you arrive. Loved being on the ground floor, which gave us easy access to the pool and beach.

The Colibri "family" were so friendly and welcoming. We were invited numerous times to share in their daily activities,
whether it be pot luck suppers or margarita's by the pool.

Thank you to Sally the property manager for all the information on things to do and getting around in the area.

Bucerias is a SAFE quiet place to holiday. We loved being a 5 min walk to fresh produce, fish or cold beverages
at numerous watering stops on any street. There were no shortages of restaurants or taco stands to eat at in Bucerias.

This was the 1st time for us to venture away from the numerous all inclusive holidays that we had taken in the area.
Our experience at the Colibri has changed the way we will travel in the future. To sum our experience up:
We have booked 2 weeks again for next year and hope to return as often as we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

My family enjoyed the Colibri Condo! Everything about the place is great. We stayed during the Easter Holiday, and though it was really busy on the beach, we enjoyed being able to watch all the activity. The pictures are very accurate and the pool is wonderful. The property manager was very helpful and made us feel right at home. The condo is close to town and there are plenty of places to eat or corner markets to buy food. We took the public transportation a couple times, which was very simple. Don't hesitate to book this place. The owners are wonderful!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place on the Beach

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We had a wonderful time on the beach at Bucerias! First, Brian was first class dealing with. He was extremely helpful and filled us in on all of the happenings in town. The condo was furnished as expected and it was nice being on the ground floor making it easy to go to the pool with our kids. There were even beach and pool toys available for our kids. The beach was right there and we could easily walk any time. We were close to all of the restaurants, and such but not so close that we heard lots of noise. We definitely will be back to Bucerias and hopefully to Colibri as well.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 23, 2011

Our sixth trip to Bucerias and one of our best. Thanks for sharing your condo with us Brian. It was all you and the website said it was, and then some. New end of town for us and enjoyed exploring every alley. It was great to be welcomed into the "Colibri community", kids, dogs and all. Friday night potluck around the pool,we enjoyed each and every person we met. Your most helpful property manager could not do enough for us, right down to a ride to the airport and a bug hug when leaving.
The condo itself lacked for nothing and the extras, like a cell phone, we very much appreciated. We look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place to Get Away From it All

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

We stayed at Colibri in February 2011. The property manager and residents (and three resident-owned dogs) were all very kind and friendly, the photos we had seen of the property were accurate, and the views of and access to the beach were wonderful. We had been to PV several times before this trip and wanted a change from the bustle of a resort. Colibri was great for that - no rude people "reserving" lounge chairs, no big conferences having parties by the pool, etc. We also liked the town of Bucerias. We walked in every day to buy produce, etc., and had several meals in town. Our favorites were from the fabulous bakery right next door, Panino, and from the smaller torta/taco places. It was great to have laundry facilities, and the condo had a nice blender, so we could have sunset margaritas in a lovely location every night. I would issue only one caveat, and it may not apply to everyone: the master bedroom is close to the building's elevator, which is a bit challenging for a light sleeper. We never heard any noise from anyone inside the other condos, though - even when we had the sliding doors open. Overall, I could certainly recommend this place to a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place and great location!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

First, Brian was great to deal with. He answered all my questions prior to us
leaving as well as giving me several tips on various things to do and see in
the area.

The condo is right on the edge of several restaurants, bars and as the
description says you are just a few stairs from the beach. The view is
awesome from the pool and I would walk off the ground floor deck of Brian's
unit and drink my coffee by the pool every morning. It was rough, LOL.

Bucerias is quiet and is old Mexico and I like that. We met lots of friendly
people. I recommend using the bus to get around as it is easy and cheap. I would also
suggest a trip to Sayulita and a visit to PV to shop and see the sites.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Place for a Holiday

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

This was our third time in Bucerias and our second time at the Colibri. Since we keep coming back I guess you can say we like it. The condo is very comfortable , it is decorated with such style , and it has everything we need.
Having the washer and dryer is a bonus as we also like to travel light. Sally and her staff are so friendly and helpful . The condo is clean and bright and we love the location , on the beach and close to town that you do not need a car. We take the bus if we want to go further , and its fine . We have met so many nice people at the Colibri, the owners and guest.
Thank you for sharing this space with us. Our expectations have been met.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Condo Getaway for 2

Review submitted: March 21, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We have stayed in the Bucerias area 5 times. Our experiences have ranged from 'never staying here again' to 'let's rent this again for next year before its too late'. This was our first rental at Colibri and we have reserved a week for 2011.

The condo complex has 20 units with many of the owners there while we were. They really care about the maintenance of the property and almost act like hosts and hostesses to other guests. We were invited to go sailing as well as out to eat. Many are retired but were very welcoming of the families with young children, seeming to enjoy the pool (which was clean and overlooked the ocen) splashing and rounds of water tag.

The condo itself is tastefully decorated without being cluttered. Perfect size for 2. The couch converts to a bed so 1 child could easily be accommodated. We thought it would be 'tight' with another couple though. The kitchen had everything we needed to make meals, including many of the staples like spices, oil, coffee/filters, etc. There is a mega gocery store a short bus ride away as well as wonderful local fish and produce.

Everything was clean and ready for us when we arrived, even though it was a little before the usual check-in time. There is a nice big walk in shower and lots of fluffy towels. The bed/pillows were extremely comfortable. We like to travel light (usually a packpack each) so we really appreciated the washer and dryer. The internet service was realiable and I actually conducted a little business while there over the internet with success.

Sally, the manager, was friendly, helpful and highly available. Ask her for Lou Lou's number if you want one of the best massages ever! - And she comes to your room.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great stay in Bucerias!

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Having stayed in Bucerias once before in a house with 10 friends, I was longing to come back. Bucerias is a great small town that has all the beauty and wonder of Puerta Vallarta's beaches and attractions, without falling into the category of 'tourist trap' (though I'm sure some 'old timers' would disagree). There are very few hotels in Bucerias, instead there are a lot of home and condo rentals that cater to visitors.

This particular property in Bucerias is amazing. Right on the beach (we went swimming, and walking ever day), but the infinity pool is also the perfect place to lounge and take in the amazing views and sunsets. The condo itself was perfect for a couple, however there was enough room for a third, or for small children. It had all the amenities you could ever need to make your stay comfortable, as well as safe. I knew that Bucerias was a safe place to travel, but we felt extra secure within the walls and gates, and made use of the locking drawers for valuables. Another benefit of this location: peace and quiet. We slept like babies, and were never bothered by the joys of mexican travel: roosters.

Note: another unexpected benefit of this building is that the 'regulars' were so friendly!!! We got help and advice as well as great conversation, and were even invited to attend the property party. It was amazingly welcoming!

Of course you'll have a great time at this condo, but just outside there are some amazing things to see, do and of course eat. A wonderful panini/coffee shop just opened across the street and we loved their Coffee-bean-esque blended drinks and sandwhiches. We also loved dancing a few blocks away at the Twisted Rose, where the owner made us feel like old friends. Restaurants serving traditional Mexican fare were great, but we also loved to branch out and try the mediterranean, italian, and french options provided. All were great, and everything was in walking distance of this great spot.

Enjoy your stay...we did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review