reviews for: listing #23152 - San Miguel de Allende, Central Mexico House rental

Casa Amarilla: In the heart of San Miguel
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $120 - $140 /nt
    $800 - $950 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,850 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful - Better than Anticipated

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

The home is superb - large - full of Mexican charm - extremely clean -extremely well maintained - fireplaces in 3 rooms.

The home is located in a private gated enclave in a very elegant area of San Miguel. The main square, el jardin, is within 10 minutes walking distance with interesting restaurants and shops on the way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not to be missed

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

This is a spectacular property in the middle of a spectacular place. Our stay--in early Sept.--was wonderful: walking the mile or so over to the Weber tennis courts every morning in perfect weather (past La Rama and Hecho en Mexico, two excellent places to catch lunch) was awesome. Rosewood Hotel, a very upscale hotel is right next door, and has an excellent (if somewhat pricey) rooftop bar with good tapas, margaritas and a great view. The house itself is beautiful, and beautifully appointed: great art, including a cool Fernando Botero chair! Both owner and property management company were great, too. Our power went off on a Sunday afternoon, and they were very quick to respond, notify the electric co., and followed up with us the next day to make sure everything was OK. As other commenters have noted, Maria the housekeeper is a wonderful, warm presence. Be sure to contact Polo if you need a driver to any outlying area--otherwise, cabs everywhere in the city are 30 pesos ($2.40). Cannot recommend this place more highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect 4 Month Sojourn

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We spent four months beginning in the Spring at Casa Amarilla. From the moment we entered the house we knew we were in a lovely place. The layout of the house is very easy with the 2 courtyards, kitchen, living, dining downstairs with a half bath. The upstairs has two bedrooms, baths en suite (one with a bathtub!!) & a sleeper sofa located with the TV/DVD and the top floor has the most delightful patio with a gorgeous panoramic view including the Paroquia. The park is next door; each morning we awakened to lilting birdsong. Taxi's are easy to grab. The location is so close to the organic market held on Saturday, there are also restaurants within easy walking distance and the main square is a pleasant walk. The house itself is handsomely furnished, the towels and linens are great. The kitchen is EASY to cook in and outfitted so well. We had Maria who came to us 3 days a week who can only be described as a jewel. I am spoiled for life by her gracious capability. Having WiFi and Vonage made communication with our family in the U.S. so reliable and easy. I recommend Casa Amarilla highly. The owners are considerate, checking in with us to make sure our stay was perfect even though there is a professional and good management company for any emergency or questions. Having the owners in touch just made their concern for our welfare and comfort all the more defined. Also the house is set back from the main street in a small gated enclave which makes the house feel even more private. Casa Amarilla is lovely!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

I.S. Edmonton, Canada

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

A wonderful and comfortable house, very clean, full of natural light and beautiful layout. It has all the amenities available in North America. Great location, close to
center of town, exotic public park and the Weber tennis courts.
No hills to climb, safe quiet neighborhood, wonderful neighbors within a gated cul de sac.
Wonderful town to explore, gentle local people who accept you comfortably at all times.
Great food and cultural events are bountiful, great place to leave all your materialistic world
behind and find your true self in the arts and cultural scene. A home away from HOME!
Can't wait to return next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Experience in San Miguel

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

I spent New Year´s week in Casa Amarilla. Everything was great! The house is lovely! Very clean and comfortable, just a 10 minute flat walk from the Jardin. The house is in a Private street next to Juarez Park, location is great! Maria, the housekeeper, comes 3 times a week and is very nice and efficient, she keeps the house looking great. As you come in you have a spacious living room, dining room, a bathroom, kitchen, laundry room, and 2 patios, in the second floor you have 2 queen bed bedrooms and a TV room with a sofa bed. In the next level, there is a great view terraze with a barbecue and a dining table. The house is much nicer than what it looks like in the pictures. We were very pleased with the house, and are looking forward in renting it again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Intro to SMA

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa Amarilla for a month in Sept. 2011 and loved everything about it. The house is beautiful and very comfortable, and the owner and local management are very helpful and responsive. Being so close to the Parque Juarez was a delight, we spent a lot of time there. And Rosewood, the fancy new hotel around the corner, is great for a cocktail on the roof and using their many pools during the week (for a fee). The walk to the El Jardin is a few blocks along picturesque streets. We cannot recommend the house highly enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

As mentioned, the photos do not do it justice - this is a beautiful place in a good location - close to everything but away from the hustle and bustle. Very clean with helpful owners and property managers.
Highly recommended. Good restaurants within walking distance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

This house is a lovely place to stay in San Miguel. It had everything we needed and was so comfortable. With its large bathrooms, roof garden and patio, there is more space than I imagined. Felt new and nicely appointed. In a gated courtyard of private residences, and on a quiet street off Parque Benito Juarez, it is well situated - a short walk to the Jardin. Very professional agent, maid service and free wifi was a big plus. It was perfect for us. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great house, great location

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

The house was even prettier and grander than the photos on the website can show... we were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable and well designed it is, and grateful for all of the thoughtful touches available... i.e. a speaker to plug in our ipod, wireless internet, etc. We spent most of our time (meals, card games, hanging out, etc) in the courtyard next to the kitchen, but spent some evenings on the rooftop patio as well. What a view! We did have two cars, and it was nice to be able to park the other just across the road, still protected in the privada. The house is only a ten minute walk to the center of town through pretty, cobblestone streets. The rental agent was very friendly, professional and accomodating, as was the lady who comes several times a week to clean. They both greatly contributed to the quality of our stay, and were happy to offer their knowledge of the city, restaurants, groceries, etc. THe whole week we were discovering nice features of the home, and constantly remarking how blessed we were to find such a beautiful home so last-minute. We would strongly recommend this house for anyone looking for a vacation in a gorgeous, historical Mexican town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great house, great location

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

The house was even prettier and grander than the photos on the website can show... we were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable and well designed it is, and grateful for all of the thoughtful touches available... i.e. a speaker to plug in our ipod, wireless internet, etc. We spent most of our time (meals, card games, hanging out, etc) in the courtyard next to the kitchen, but spent some evenings on the rooftop patio as well. What a view! We did have two cars, and it was nice to be able to park the other just across the road, still protected in the privada. The house is only a ten minute walk to the center of town through pretty, cobblestone streets.

The rental agent was very friendly, professional and accomodating, as was the lady who comes several times a week to clean. They both greatly contributed to the quality of our stay, and were happy to offer their knowledge of the city, restaurants, groceries, etc. THe whole week we were discovering nice features of the home, and constantly remarking how blessed we were to find such a beautiful home so last-minute.

We would strongly recommend this house for any who are considering a vacation in a gorgeous, historical Mexican town. Thanks!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice place

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

A charming house on within 1 minute of the Parque and 10 minutes of Jardin by foot, with all modern amenities, a nice rooftop patio, and very nice cleaning service. We were very happy with casa Amarilla and would stay again. Beautifully decorated. Enjoyed by our children as well. Recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review