reviews for: listing #2317 - Maalaea, Hawaii Condo rental

Amazing Rates - Oceanfront Maui Island Hideaway
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Maalaea Banyans
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,015 - $1,155 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful retreat in paridise!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

I rented this condo for my God daughter as a suprise for her visit. I found this unit on VRBO and only had the photo's from the site to go by. It was everything I had hoped for and more. My God daughter was thrilled to say the least. The unit was very clean, and well appointed. The view from the lanai is wonderful, and was perfect for watching the Humpback Whales frolic in the bay. I would surely recommend this unit to all who are looking to relax in Maui. Also, the owner Wendell, is very professional in his booking, and easy to work with. Mahalo and Aloha.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Almost perfect

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights and were very happy! The perfect location for privacy and quiet, but also easy access to all of Maui. The view from the balcony is every bit as good as the pictures show! The unit itself and the grounds of the resort are beautiful and well equipped. We chose to sleep next to the balcony on the sofa sleeper to hear and feel the ocean breezes. The bedroom is toward the back of the unit with smaller windows facing the parking lot. The mattress on the sofa bed is due for an update, but the cushioned mattress pad helped.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful holiday break!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We just spent a wonderful 2 weeks over the holidays in this condo. It provided a comfortable, well-provisioned home location. The views were outstanding, and the location was superb - a quiet refuge whose central location made every destination on the island very accessible. We really enjoyed the cooling breezes through the unit and were able to watch turtles and whales, including new babies, from the lanai. We will definitely return if we get a chance, and will recommend this unit to our friends! Thanks to Wendall and Sally for sharing their gem with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Maui Island Hideaway

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

This "hideaway" lived up to all of my expectations. It was clean, comfy, had all of the amenities to make for a perfect escape from the Portland weather! It was just a 5 minute walk to the Maalea Harbor with many fun shops and delicious restaurants. It also had it's own little private beach just a few steps from the condo, and sat on a beautiful property. The owner was most helpful in answering all of my questions and the pictures show it exactly as it was. I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a perfect location to enjoy the island of Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui Hideaway

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

We enjoyed an awesome vacation while staying in your Maui Hideaway. It is a great location, very convenient for all the activities we had planned. The view from the lani is beautiful with a wonderful long beach for walking nearby. The condo was very comfortable with great ammenities and a beautiful kitchen. The helicopter ride with Blue Hawaiian was insane, incredible sights. We also enjoyed the sunet dinner cruise and the snorkling trip to Molokini. We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. Wendall was extremely nice, very helpful and provided us with excellent touring information.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, Sue & Ron

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our "Hideaway". We also appreciate that you noticed we try to keep our place in great condition with our upgrades as you mention about the kitchen. The location of our "Hideaway' is a plus as you are at one of the most centrally located seclusion place on the Island. Ma'alaea Harbor Shops has a few unique places to visit, shop and eat, as well as book harbor activities and the world class aquarium. We can't wait to see you again, and again Mahalo for the great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Aloha Hideaway!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We. Love. The Hideaway. If you want to experience Maui without the resorts and usual presence of tourists, you should stay here. The condo is a stone's throw from the ocean. We awoke every morning and fell asleep every night to the sound of waves. The Hideaway is exactly how the owners, Wendall and Sally, describe and show it. They've done a lovely job decorating the clean unit, and we made many meals in the well-equipped kitchen. There's an iPhone stereo hookup with nice speakers, and even though we didn't turn the TV on once, we noticed quite a movie collection in case the sound of the ocean gets old. (Trust us, it won't.) Wendall was incredibly helpful and accommodating, sending us guides and other materials to help us plan our adventures. He even called to check in to make sure everything was to our liking. Many locals reside in the complex, which comes in handy for insider tips. The pool and hot tub offer a break from the salt, and the grounds are beautifully maintained and frequented by birds. The only detail I should note is that the beach directly in front of the complex is very rocky and not sunbathing- or swimming-friendly. However, a quick 5-minute or less walk will get you to the sand. The local beach we walked to seemed to be the go-to location for locals, which is always a good sign. The Hideaway is also conveniently within walking distance to the Maalaea Harbor, from where Molokini charters depart daily. The General Store there serves up some tasty eats, including Fish Po' Boys, which are a must-try. Another perk of the Maalaea Bay location is that it's between Lahaina and Kihei. When we return to Maui, we will definitely stay here again.

Mahalo again, Wendall and Sally, for such a lovely stay!

-Lauren & Hudson

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Lauren & Hudson

We really appreciate the glowing review you have given us. We also enjoy the quaint remote area of Ma’alaea. Our guests are not in the middle of high rise resorts and touristy areas. We like to drive the 15-30 minutes to busy and come back to piece and quiet. Another treat as you indicated is the soothing sound of the ocean to wake up to and soothe you to sleep in the evening. After some research we purposely bought here just because of the view and sound of the ocean and the central location. You are right in the middle of the Island. As far as the reefs out front, there is a trick to going out into the ocean there; there is a diagonal path with fewer reefs to enter the ocean. After about 20 yards it becomes sandy, but as you say, Ma’alaea/Sugar Beach at the end of our dead end street is great... Depending on the tide and the time of day you can see the path when ocean gods are with you and the water goes complete blue. I myself go out and snorkel and attempt to surf out front. I’m glad you enjoyed Ma’alaea Harbors stores and restaurants, which we frequent. Again, thank you for staying at our “Hideaway” and we are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay and can’t wait to see you again...

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely setting!

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

Thank you Wendell and Sally! Your condo was so lovely and very clean and well-stocked! We loved the setting with the ocean just off the lanai - hearing the surf and watching sea turtles out front was a delight! We had a wonderful trip to Maui with this excellent home base for adventuring around the island.
Jeff and Heidi

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, Heidi & Jeff

Mahalo, for the kind review. We also like this area for its remoteness and centralization to the rest of the Island. We try to keep our “Hideaway” in the best condition we can for our guests and ourselves. Sometimes it may be a bit difficult, but with more guests like you two, you make it easier. We also enjoy sitting on our Lanai watching the sea come alive. Your guests can be whales, turtles, seals, and even dolphins. We also try to keep it stocked with basics for our guests. We hope to see you again and thank you for choosing us.

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't beat the view

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to book a last minute trip to Maui and stay in this condo at Ma'alaea Banyans. We had previously stayed in a different unit whose view was obstructed by the wall from the bump-out of the right half of the building. No such problems with this unit - we had a great view of the bay and were able to whale watch right from the lanai. Being on the second floor, the tops of the coconut trees do not obstruct the view like they do for units on the higher floors so that was another benefit. The unit itself is very comfortable and with the cross-breezes, we had no need to use the AC. It was as described in this listing.
In Maui, it is very easy to spend a lot of money for food but several nearby restaurants are great value-oriented options without sacrificing on quality or amount of food. Tradewinds Deli in the bottom floor of the building closest to the harbor offers great daily specials, to die for chili dogs and tasty papayas. The General Store in Ma'alaea Harbor across the street from the Coast Guard station has great food - be sure to try their cranberry chicken salad sandwich, it is perfect for a picnic lunch to take up country when you visit the Alii Kula Lavender Farm. Drive into Kahului for lunch or dinner at Da Kitchen - excellent local food. If you are willing to try other ethnic food, try Bistro Manila on Wakea Blvd., it is very good.
This condo and location is a great alternative to the crowds in the other more touristy areas of the island. Give it a try!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha, NV_Travellers

Thank you for your appreciated review. We purchased our “Hideaway” because of the view and remote location as well as centrally located to all the touristy places on the Island. We like to drive and visit the touristy locations and come back to peace and quiet and the soothing sound of the ocean as an Island should be. We agree it’s nice to have a condo w/kitchen to cook for yourselves and save some funds. We are certainly glad you visited our local restaurants and shops. We hope to see you again on the Island.

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

You will be very happy if you rent this condo. It is wonderful and has all the extras in it that you may need. The owner has taken very good care of it and it certainly shows! We were there during whale season and have never seen as many whales anywhere (including whale-watches on a boat) as we saw from this lanai.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Susan,

Thank you for your insightful review. You really do get a up Front/First hand view of the Whales from our Lanai during high season. We try to take pride in our "Hideaway" as best as we can, and try to keep it up for us and our guests. We are certainlly glad you enjoyed yourself. We also hope to see you again soon.\

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

Amazing place, we fell in love with it right away once we entered. Beautiful view and so relaxing. The condo is in a quiet area right on the water, centrally located from the 3 bigger towns which are all close for shopping and activities. Recommended you rent a car for Maui any ways. You can find coupon books and brochures for everything at the aquarium if you didnt do any research prior. Wendall was great in getting me info for Maui and everything else I needed, Highly recommended and we will be back.

Mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, Michael & Jessica

Mahalo, for the nice review. We purchased our "Hideaway" for the remote and central location, and especially the ocean view. After our own research we also realized that this location is about 15-20 minutes from just about everywhere and everything you would need. We enjoy the idea of being able to drive the distance to touristy and busy and return home to peace and quiet. If you want to travel the Island there is no better starting point than Ma’alaea. We can't wait to see you again.

Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2012

Another awesome stay at Wendell's and Sally's "Hideaway." Their attention to detail, such as calling the day of your arrival to make sure everything is 100% a-okay is much appreciated. The central location is perfect, especially for the golfer that wants to play different courses. If you get a chance, go see the Warren and Anabelle magic show in Lahaina--Warren is a comedian as well as a magician!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place in Great Central location

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We stayed here in late March 2012 and it was clean and kept up well as advertised. The owner, Wendell, was courteous and prompt in making arrangements and getting us our deposit back. i can't say enough about the location. It was 10 minutes to the airport, 15 minutes to Lahina or Kehei. The whales came into Maalaea Bay and we watched with the binoculars in the condo. The Aquarium is within walking distance as well. We found a great little family run market just past the plantation on Hwy 30 (called Waikapu on 30) where you can buy local plate lunches.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, David for you taking the time to write your thoughts on Maui Island Hideaway. We ourselves really think the central location is a plus. We enjoy having the option to drive to busy and come back to what we feel is what Maui is supposed to be about An Island. The Maalaea Harbor Shops at the entrance to our small village is refreshing to go eat, shop, enjoy a snorkel boat, see the world class Aquarium or simply just walk around as you indicated . We hope to see you and your wife again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place in Great Central location

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We stayed here in late March 2012 and it was clean and kept up well as advertised. The owner, Wendell, was courteous and prompt in making arrangements and getting us our deposit back. i can't say enough about the location. It was 10 minutes to the airport, 15 minutes to Lahina or Kehei. The whales came into Maalaea Bay and we watched with the binoculars in the condo. The Aquarium is within walking distance as well. We found a great little family run market just past the plantation on Hwy 30 (called Waikapu on 30) where you can buy local plate lunches.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet Location/Great View!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

The condo is cosy and comfy, with all of the comforts of home. The washing machine/dryer a big bonus. Pool/spa quite dated, maintained to an acceptable but not high standard. The building is quiet, location very central, as long as you have a car. Great view off of the lanai, long beach right outside the front of the building. Supermarket is a 10-15 minute drive away. Shops and restaurants close. Snorkeling requires driving a ways. No concierge help on site, need to do your own homework, use info in condo, or ask locals, as we did. Owners very helpful and nice, spoke many times by phone.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great getaway!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wendall and Sally's Hideaway. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer! The accommodations and view were outstanding, the location perfect - enjoyed our short walks to the marina (Beach Bums restaurant remembered us at our third dinner!) and short drive to our favorite town of Kihei - and Wendall was very considerate of our needs, with his emails before and after our stay and phone calls during, making sure everything was satisfactory. When we weren't out sightseeing, eating and shopping, we enjoyed some relaxing times sitting on the lanai and watching the whales, sitting by the pool or on the beach and snorkeling, all just a quick walk downstairs. We would definitely stay here when we're fortunate enough to return to Maui. Thank you for sharing your hideaway with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our experience at the Hideaway

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this condo in February 2012. We were very pleased with the accomodations in that they were away from the busy area which you could see across the bay but close enough so that if you had to go into town, you were only 10 minutes away. We ate at Buzz's which was excellent and at Beach Bum's (which I would not recommend except for the the Tuesday special - lobster and prime rib).
The condo faced the ocean and was only a 3-4 minute walk away from a small park at the end of the street which was the beginning of Sugar Beach (a very long stretch of beach) which was not busy. We had a great view of the whale activity and spent countless hours on the balcony watching the whales.
The only thing I would recommend is that the the A/C unit be replaced before the hot season arrives since the bedroom is at the end of the hallway and does not receive the same cooling that the family room receives.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jim From Elk Grove, CA

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2011

You can't go wrong staying at Wendall's and Sally's "Hideaway." It is better than advertised and well deserving of all of the excellent reviews. I most enjoyed the convenient location. I played 6 different golf courses--the furthest one away was only a 25-30 minute drive. So close to the ocean, you can hear the waves from the bedroom. I definitely look forward to returning to the Hideaway on my next trip to Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha to you Jim for the glowing review of our "Hideaway". As I have stated before, the central location is huge. You are at the center of the Island. Close to touristy places and Golf Courses, but remote enough to remind you that you are on an Island. I use the sound of the Ocean to sooth me to sleep at night also, whether its from the bedroom or the recliner. We can't wait to see you again for another stay at our "Hideaway".

Aloha, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beachfront on Maui

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this condo for 5 nights during the end of October and the 1st week of November. The condo was found to be very clean/well maintained. Prior to our arrival the owner was very helpful and sent us a lot of information about things to do on Maui during our stay. He also called shortly after our arrival to make sure that everything was to our liking. The view from the condo is excellent and it proved to be a great central location to base our sighting from. The beach directly in front of the condo isn't the best for swimming but, very nice beaches are nearby. The rooms were a little smaller than we expected but, it was fine for our needs. The people in the other condos were friendly and there was never a problem finding a parking spot. There was a slight delay in getting our security deposit check back in the mail, but everything turned out alright. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this condo in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Gary for you taking the time to comment on our "Hideaway". We try to make sure our "Hideaway" is clean and well maintained for our guests. We purchased just for the View and the Central location. We don't mind the size as when we come for our extended stay we come from a large home and this works out perfect for us. The beach out front depends on the tide and it also is a bit small but just a few minutes away is Sugar/Maalaea Beach, However I sit out at this beach for hours and watch the ocean come alive. The Surfers go out from this little beach. I am glad the enviroment was very friendly for you as we find this a plus . If there is anything I can do for you or answer any questions let me know and we would thrilled to host you and your wife again.

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

CaliGirl from El Cajon, CA

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We had a wonderful vacation at Wendalls Maui Island Hideaway. Anything you could possibly want was available in and around the condo. In the closet we had boogie boards, beach chairs and beach towels that we used every day. The snorkeling was great, and many close locations to swim with the turtles and many colorful fish. We loved eating at the local places, Cheesburger in Paradise, The Hula Grill, and Longi's in Lahaina. Also, Buzz's Warf and The Waterfront, which were walking distance. We sat on our lanai often to just soaked in the view. The beautiful trees and flowers, little turtle heads peaking up out of the ocean, and some fun birds that had a daily ritual. The last morning we watched a seal flipping fish out of the water to catch and eat. The view from the lanai was even better then advertised in the pictures, and the condo was comfortable, very clean, and beautifully decorated. The black granite counter was awesome! I will recommend this condo to everyone I know, and we look forward to our next stay. Wendall, the owner, was very prompt in answering all questions, and thorough in explaining all the details.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the insightful review. We enjoy the remote area also. It is nice to be away from the typical tourist and crowds, but still able to go to the same places quickly. One can then come back to piece and quiet and the great views of the ocean just footsteps from our Lanai. We feel the remote locationis a plus. Centally located for Island Adventures. We also try to keep our "Hideaway" equiped with all items a guest may need to enjoy themselves. When you sit on the Lanai you really get the idea of what Hawaii should be like, watching all the creatures come alive in the ocean. Again thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Welcome Escape from Never Ending Alberta Winter

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

We left Edmonton's -10 C weather to arrive 6 hours later in the beautiful warm breezes of Maui. A quick trip to the grocery store and a short drive and we had arrived at this comfortable condo in Maalaea. It was easy to find and get settled, everything was just as the listing had indicated. Wendall had been very helpful with all our questions and the only surprise was that we could see whales from our lanai almost every day. We found the location perfect. Short walk to a beautiful quiet beach or a few blocks the other direction to a great little marina, farmer's market, restaurants. We spent our 2 weeks taking advantage of adventures taking us to all corners of the island and a sailboat across the Bay to go snorkeling at Molokini. We took advantage of the fresh vegetables, fruit and fish markets to prepare some great meals. After 6 months of winter BBQ cooking tastes GREAT!! The Condo offered everything we needed and more -coolers, beach chairs, boogie boards, kitchen supplies, internet access, binoculars, wonderful view of the Bay, the sound of the waves to sing you to sleep. This was a very stress free holiday, great location, smiling faces, we would recommend it to everyone. Sadly we had to return home and winter is still here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lois, Brian

Thanks for you insightful review of our "Hideaway".We try to equip our "Hideaway' with amentities that guests would like to use. I'm glad you found this beneficial to your stay. We too have, on several occasions, used the binoculars to view the whales from the lanai. We feel the location of our condo is is a plus. It is very centrally located for many Island adventures. Our guests are able to drive to adventures and busy tourist things and return to what we feel the Island is all about; Spectacular views and the sound of the ocean rocking you to sleep.

Mahalo, Wendall & Sally

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

March 2011

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

A very comfortable home away from home..well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and very nice furnishings.
Best of all is the view... right on the ocean and we saw lots of whales in the bay. The condo is in a a good central location on the island easy access to all of the sights......great pool and lawn, barbecue area. We would certainly stay there again. Wendall answered all of our questions before hand and followed up with us after check in. A whale watch cruise was great hightlight of the trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Karen & Ivan

Mahalo for taking the time to comment about our "Maui Island Hideaway". We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate it's central location & proximity to the ocean. We spend several weeks each year in our condo & enjoy the fantastic views & sounds of the waves. Each year we try to improve the condo and this year we will be having new carpet installed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lixin Zhao from Arizona July 19 ~ 28, 2010

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

We had a wondeful time in Maui. This condo is a perfect place to live. It is located at the center of Maui. It is a perfect start point to everywhere. The front balcony is just front the ocean. We had our every meal on the balcony. No AC is needed because the wind can go through the whole room from the north to the south, and you can always control the wind by adjust the window. The room is clean and quiet, within walking distance to the beach and ocean center. The BBQ and pools are nice and clean. Remember this is a home, you can always find something you need. My surprise is the three paly boards, which are perfect for us three people. I will live here again next time in Maui.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Tharge's (Yelm, Washington)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Stayed here 2/09/2010. It was a great choice for us. It was everything Wendal said it would be and more. Very clean, well equipped and a great location. Great ocean front location, watched the whales,turtles everyday from or balcony.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Wheeler's (Fanny Bay, B.C.)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

We loved staying in your condo. It was so well equipped, we felt like we were vacationing from home. We had everything we needed, including beach towels, beach chairs, snorkel and mask, coolers, and even a beach bag! The location was perfect, right in the middle of the island so everywhere was easy to get to, but also secluded so you really got peace and quiet at the end of the day. The beach out front has sugary soft sand and hardly a soul on it and you can walk for miles all the way to Kihei if you wanted to. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the unit was so homey we quickly settled in. Even though the parking lot was full, it was also very quiet and the lanai looking over the beach was an awesome place to hang out. We loved our stay, and took in all of the sights, including dozens of wonderful beaches, a sunset on top of Haleakala, the road to Hana, the Kahelili Highway (outstanding views and no scarier than Hana!)the Feast at Lele, Warren and Annabel's for a magic show (lots of fun) a snorkeling trip on the Four Winds (awesome boat, even in a gale!) It was a great trip and we would highly recommend your condo to anyone looking for a great place to stay. Mahalo for sharing.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Hensley's (Boerne, Tx.)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

What a marvelous, lovely place. Great amenities, well equipped, beautiful sunrises, friendly people, beautifully maintained. Made it easy to have a wonderful time. Recommending to all my friends and showing lots of pix as proof. CAN'T WAIT to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

David & Joy (Long Beach, CA)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Wonderful place to stay: central location, clean, modern, great amenities, comfortable bed, and beautiful view from the balcony. This "hideaway" is a super value. . . will be staying here when we return to Maui!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Lynch's (Anchorage, Alaska)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

We stayed in Unit 218 last October and enjoyed everday. We hae coffee and breakfast each morning on the lanai watching the sunrise. Also enjoyed all the boats leaving the harbor. The condo is cvompletely furnished with more items than you will ever use. The area is quiet and the grounds are manicured weekly. We love walking on the sand in front of the condo, collecting shells and just wading in the water. One afternoon when tide was coming in we were sitting on the lani and saw a monk seal which is listed on the endangered list. Very rare to see per the managers of the building. Great for us.... Theunit is close to the grocery stores, restuarants and areas to explore. Wendell calls hours after your arrival to make sure everything is clean and ready for your use. He also checks in with your a oouple of times during your stary again to make sure you are completely happy. We loved the unit and will be going back in October of this year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Maria (Utah)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

We have stayed in the unit twice and both times the owner has been professional and attentive. He called not even an hour after each arrival to make sure everything was as we desired. He was especially concerned with the cleanliness of the unit for us. The unit has great beach chairs, bamboo mats, and plenty of beach towels. The hot tub is very wam and wonderful - although the heat of the water is better than the strength of the jets. The pool area and lawn are immaculate and all neighbors seem to keep to the quiet hours enforced. The sunrise over Haleakala on the lani is worth admission right there. We have been to Maui 4 times and in our opinion there is no better place to stay than in Maalaea. It is quiet, equidistant to all the areas we love, there is no construction to contend with and you could spend a whole day at the beach and going out to eat and never get in your car if you wish. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Hoffman's (Grandview, Mo)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Wendall and Sally's Unit 218 is truly "paradise" on Maui. Not only, is the location spectacular, but the condo has all of today's most saught after amenities. For those that demand the finest, and a terrific mattress...this is the condo that you must have. Your visit will not be hampered by traffic, only a sleepy little harbor village, and the most beautiful beach on Maui...Sugar Beach at your doorsteps. Sally and Wendall are the perfect host and hostess...They continually made certain everything was perfect. We hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Gebhardts (Nashville, TN)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2008

We have stayed in other units at Maalaea Banyons several times over the years, but Unit 218 is the absolute best! Great location, well equipped, superb view - like staying at the home of good friends. Our April 2008 week was not long enough - we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Eksons (Langley, BC Canada)

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Feb. 2008 was our 2nd stay at Ma'alaea Banyans unit 218. It is the best equipt condo we have ever stayed in and the ocean front location is perfect. We are so impressed that we have booked Feb. 2009 (this will be our 3rd year)and not our last.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Stayed here 2/09/2010. It was a great choice for us. It was everything Wendal said it would be and more. Very clean, well equipped and a great location. Great ocean front location, watched the whales,turtles everyday from or balcony.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 6, 2009   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

We loved staying in your condo. It was so well equipped, we felt like we were vacationing from home. We had everything we needed, including beach towels, beach chairs, snorkel and mask, coolers, and even a beach bag! The location was perfect, right in the middle of the island so everywhere was easy to get to, but also secluded so you really got peace and quiet at the end of the day. The beach out front has sugary soft sand and hardly a soul on it and you can walk for miles all the way to Kihei if you wanted to. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the unit was so homey we quickly settled in. Even though the parking lot was full, it was also very quiet and the lanai looking over the beach was an awesome place to hang out. We loved our stay, and took in all of the sights, including dozens of wonderful beaches, a sunset on top of Haleakala, the road to Hana, the Kahelili Highway (outstanding views and no scarier than Hana!)the Feast at Lele, Warren and Annabel's for a magic show (lots of fun) a snorkeling trip on the Four Winds
(awesome boat, even in a gale!) It was a great trip and we would highly recommend your condo to anyone looking for a great place to stay. Mahalo for sharing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 13, 2009   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

What a marvelous, lovely place. Great amenities, well equipped, beautiful sunrises, friendly people, beautifully maintained. Made it easy to have a wonderful time. Recommending to all my friends and showing lots of pix as proof. CAN'T WAIT to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Wonderful place to stay: central location, clean, modern, great amenities, comfortable bed, and beautiful view from the balcony. This "hideaway" is a super value. . . will be staying here when we return to Maui!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2009   Date of arrival: February 23, 2009

We stayed in Unit 218 last October and enjoyed everday. We hae coffee and breakfast each morning on the lanai watching the sunrise. Also enjoyed all the boats leaving the harbor.

The condo is cvompletely furnished with more items than you will ever use. The area is quiet and the grounds are manicured weekly.

We love walking on the sand in front of the condo, collecting shells and just wading in the water.

One afternoon when tide was coming in we were sitting on the lani and saw a monk seal which is listed on the endangered list. Very rare to see per the managers of the building. Great for us....

Theunit is close to the grocery stores, restuarants and areas to explore.

Wendell calls hours after your arrival to make sure everything is clean and ready for your use. He also checks in with your a oouple of times during your stary again to make sure you are completely happy.

We loved the unit and will be going back in October of this year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

We have stayed in the unit twice and both times the owner has been professional and attentive. He called not even an hour after each arrival to make sure everything was as we desired. He was especially concerned with the cleanliness of the unit for us.

The unit has great beach chairs, bamboo mats, and plenty of beach towels. The hot tub is very wam and wonderful - although the heat of the water is better than the strength of the jets. The pool area and lawn are immaculate and all neighbors seem to keep to the quiet hours enforced.

The sunrise over Haleakala on the lani is worth admission right there. We have been to Maui 4 times and in our opinion there is no better place to stay than in Maalaea. It is quiet, equidistant to all the areas we love, there is no construction to contend with and you could spend a whole day at the beach and going out to eat and never get in your car if you wish.

We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

Wendall and Sally's Unit 218 is truly "paradise" on Maui. Not only, is the location spectacular, but the condo has all of today's most saught after amenities. For those that demand the finest, and a terrific mattress...this is the condo that you must have. Your visit will not be hampered by traffic, only a sleepy little harbor village, and the most beautiful beach on Maui...Sugar Beach at your doorsteps. Sally and Wendall are the perfect host and hostess...They continually made certain everything was perfect. We hope to be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We have stayed in other units at Maalaea Banyons several times over the years, but Unit 218 is the absolute best! Great location, well equipped, superb view - like staying at the home of good friends. Our April 2008 week was not long enough - we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2008   Date of arrival: March 3, 2008

Feb. 2008 was our 2nd stay at Ma'alaea Banyans unit 218. It is the best equipt condo we have ever stayed in and the ocean front location is perfect. We are so impressed that we have booked Feb. 2009 (this will be our 3rd year)and not our last.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review