reviews for: listing #23227 - Windham, New York House rental

Private Rental Estate+HORSES/Winter Deck/Swim/Skiing/Pets OK
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $115 - $475 /nt
    $900 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

This house was very nice, spacious with plenty of bedrooms and baths for all. Our group really enjoyed the outdoor gazebo and the waterfall pool. Robert the owner is one of nicest and considerate person. The location was perfect with beautiful horses and lovely dog. We would definitely recommend this house to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely perfect late spring weekend

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Guest: Spiffytoy (New York, NY)
Date of Stay: 05/18/12 Review Submitted: 05/21/12

What a treat! Our group of 13 friends was quite cozy in Robert's gorgeous home. The estate was so perfect for our 2 night/3 day relaxed weekend, and the late checkout time on Sunday afternoon gave us just enough time for a morning swim and relaxed late lunch. We only left the property once for groceries as there was so much to keep us entertained and enjoy! Nugget, Daisy (two horses) and the two ponies were such a pleasure to have on the property - gorgeous animals! We spent the majority of our days relaxing on the back patio, playing frisbee on the expansive back lawn, or swimming in the (stunning!) natural pool with waterfall. At night the fire pit was perfect for hanging out and roasting marshmallows. Robert was a perfect host making sure we were wanting for nothing on the trip. We just got home, and we're already talking about a potential winter ski trip to the same house. Thank you Robert for your beautiful property and hospitality! It was truly a magical weekend that won't be soon forgotten!

Recommended for:Pet owners, romantic getaway, girls getaway, age 55+, families with young children, sightseeing, families with teenagers.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Country Comforts. A Special Place.

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

This place is a Dream!!!!!!!!
Guest: Sofia(Bronx, NY)
Date of Stay: 06/18/10 Review Submitted: 06/24/10

When I saw the pictures of this place i fell in love right away but I have to admit once we got there I was mesmerized. My one year old couldnt stop runing (the backyard is beautiful). the horses (or big dogs like Robert calls them) are very friendly. The stream (natural pull) is right in the backyard down a little hill clean and very private, we took amazing pictures here by the water fall... The deck is very nicely put together, we spend most of our time here playing board games... All the rooms are very clean and lovely accommodations. Robert is a great person very understanding. I recomend this place to anyone with a big family (or many friends) that wants to spend some quality time in a very tranquil time in the country.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, pet owners, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Look before you Leap

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our party, including 6 adults and 6 kids (aged 2 - 8yrs)recently stayed at this property for a weekend. It's fair to call the experience a mixed bag and following are the positives and negatives of the property.

Positives:
The owner went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. He helped us get wood for the camp fire and material to light it up. He also ensured that all the kids get to enjoy the horses and pony rides. He shares the house (although with a separate entrance) and made sure that the kitchen and house was cleaned when we were out. He gave us full access to each and every emenity of the house which was very helpful.

Negatives: Although the house says that it sleeps 14, we think it can at best accomodate 6 - 8 ppl. There is not a lot of extra space outside of bedrooms and living rooms. Not suitable for very young children as it is a flight of stairs to get to the bedrooms. Also the property is right on a major road with vehicles passing by at 55 mph. The property is old and poses issues related to an old house such as small windows and poor heating / cooling. Finally, November is not the best time to go here. Too cold for summer activities and ski season yet to kick off.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Owners response: Look before you leap is misleading. I send a 100 picture slide show to every potential guest so not to expect any surprises. Cleanliness is Godliness and clearly was not an issue. House w/5 bedrooms advertised to sleep 10-14. How much more do 6 adults+6 kids 2-8 need.
*
Also 5 baths, 5 showers, 4 lge dble beds, 1 Qn bed, 1 Qn couch bed, 2 twin futons, 2 kitchens, 1 w/small lounge, lge LR, formal DR(Seats 12), enclosed Winter deck w/fplce, frig, TV, groups of 10 adults plus 4-6 kids have never had a problem. See pics. The house is 3300 sq ft and advertised having 4 bedrooms upstairs.
*
Parents with very little kids knowing their safety concerns might consider that by asking. Children are as precious as life itself so no one can blame anyone for that. The road proximity I understand but young children should always have supervision regardless.
*
I make sure guests are comfortable in all ways as was confirmed. There are 7 heat & cooling zones that are guest controlled to ensure their maximum comfort. House is well insulated. 2 oil burners for each side of house. 4 upstair bedrooms have electric base board heat with each room having it's own controls. 7 A/C's which were already removed for the Winter, so how does one complain about a cooling problem.
*
Approx 30 windows most 42-48"high x 32-36"wide. Some with high dble doors or sliding horizontal. Maybe 6 are small. A 3 panel wide bay window in DR is 10ft wide.
*
For those less concerned about waking or coming home to a clean house & kitchen, I tidy up unintrusively while all are asleep or out so guests can enjoy everything fresh and clean each day. Others often clean as they go so no need to help in that manner. There are no cleaning fees required.
*
The end of November can be a less desirable climate for a country getaway in general. I do have wonderful horses(5)that mesmerize kids & adults all year and a spectacular scenic property. Being surrounded by God's country & his noble creatures offers new & uniquely memorable experiences on top of all else.
I try my best to fulfill any special requests or needs as was acknowledged. No gratuities are ever requested.
*
All the best to my 2010 Thanksgiving guests who gave me no reason to suspect any problems. Sorry for any disappointments. All 3 families seemed to have had a happy and wonderful time. Perhaps allow more than 2 weeks to find a last minute holiday rental that better suits your taste and spacial expectations.

Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Country Comforts.

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

This place is a Dream!!!!!!!!
Guest: Sofia(Bronx, NY)
Date of Stay: 06/18/10 Review Submitted: 06/24/10

When I saw the pictures of this place i fell in love right away but I have to admit once we got there I was mesmerized. My one year old couldnt stop runing (the backyard is beautiful). the horses (or big dogs like Robert calls them) are very friendly. The stream (natural pull) is right in the backyard down a little hill clean and very private, we took amazing pictures here by the water fall... The deck is very nicely put together, we spend most of our time here playing board games... All the rooms are very clean and lovely accommodations. Robert is a great person very understanding. I recomend this place to anyone with a big family (or many friends) that wants to spend some quality time in a very tranquil time in the country.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, pet owners, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.


Helpful votes: 0 / 0

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cross the Ocean

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

Woo, it is a dream place
Guest: Ikram(Pakistan)
Date of Stay: 07/02/10 Review Submitted: 07/17/10

Our family reunion at Carriage House was very special and memorable! Our stay of 10 days at palatial building having five bedrooms and five baths were so comfortable and luxurious that we could not except more. The owner went beyond his call of duty in extending us extraordinary personal services. He takes personal interest in well being of his guests. Our children loved atmosphere, so near to nature and inspiring. The presence of cats, dogs, pony, horses made the stay a unique experience of life. We not only enjoyed thoroughly but spiritually it was a very fruitful interaction.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children


Helpful votes: 0 / 0

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer Beginnings.

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

It was everything and more than we expected!
Guest: Donna(Montreal, Quebec)
Date of Stay: 09/17/10 Review Submitted: 09/20/10

I just spent an amazing weekend at this very charming country home. We were a group of 11 friends, we had tons of room and felt as though this place was our own. Robert goes above and beyond to ensure all his guests are comfortable and have everything they would need to make their stay perfect. The house and grounds are so well kept, as are the horses and ponies! It was so nice to be greeted by them everytime we went outside. The patio is so cozy that we ended up having all our meals outside, even though the dining area looked so inviting as well! We also had so much fun sitting around the huge fire pit at night. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Thanks again for everything Robert!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.


Helpful votes: 0 / 0

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summertime

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2007

A great B&B experience! Beautiful home, beautiful natural setting. We had an exlusive rental for a party of 10 and Robert made us feel right at home. The breakfast was absolutely amazing with everything you could ever imagine, and lots of it! Bathrooms are cramped, but cozy. Only slight negative was a few dustbunnies and cobwebs in the corners - but overall I would highly recommend this property and I will stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Post Thanksgiving

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This place is a true gem! Beatiful seeting. I have stayed at many B&B's none with a peaceful stream, boardwalk, swimming, horses, etc. So much nicer than most lodging in the area. Owner Bob is a real genuine, all around nice guy - goes totlly out of his way to make you feel welcome! It was the perfect getaway. "I'LL BE BACK!!!"...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Happy New Year.

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2008

Truly an amazing place. A great value. We found all quite charming with beautiful, but modest country decors. Very clean and homey. Extremely comfortable. Robert does all he can to make you comfortable in all ways. He tries very hard to assure your satisfaction. The breakfasts were fabulous with all one could eat and prepared and served superbly with elegance and good taste. The scenic property especially by the stream overwhelms your senses. A spiritual experience for my family and friends. On top of all was the experience of witnessing Robert's beautiful horses with personalities that just amaze you. That's his passion and it shows. Even my dog had a good time. Look forward to another visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter peace.

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2008

it was pleasent weekend in this charming, welcoming house. Great hospitality, and care by owner. Splendid horses and beautifull property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Autumn Pleasures.

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

We had a wonderful time plenty of room for a big family there was 11 of us with 3 dogs, We had a great time roasting marshmallow by the fire the kids loved the creek as did the dogs and had alot of fun. Rob was a gentelman and made us feel at home. We would stay here again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Satisfaction

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

As a party of 10 enjoyed a private winter rental. My family, 3 kids, 2 dogs, & friends had a marvelous experince all around. Even in winter, the property still offered great fun. A special treat. Must see to appreciate. House very charming not missing a single comfort, especially with 5 bathrooms. We love horses,and initially attracted by that. As excited as we were, pleasantly proved to exceed our expectations. They were something!Already reserved time for this summer. Expect to frequent as often as possible. Highly recommend for any purpose. Look forward to see it when it's warmer for the horses & much more. Private stream with swim hole looks awesome. Overall quite impressed. We usually take a rental at least once a year, but always a different places. Never again. Carriage House is the place for us. Found a home away from home. Owner goes out of his way to please. Even with the rate. Thanks Robert!You're one of a kind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Carruage House Satisfaction

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

This place is a Dream!!!!!!!!
Guest: Sofia(Bronx, NY)
Date of Stay: 06/18/10 Review Submitted: 06/24/10

When I saw the pictures of this place i fell in love right away but I have to admit once we got there I was mesmerized. My one year old couldnt stop runing (the backyard is beautiful). the horses (or big dogs like Robert calls them) are very friendly. The stream (natural pull) is right in the backyard down a little hill clean and very private, we took amazing pictures here by the water fall... The deck is very nicely put together, we spend most of our time here playing board games... All the rooms are very clean and lovely accommodations. Robert is a great person very understanding. I recomend this place to anyone with a big family (or many friends) that wants to spend some quality time in a very tranquil time in the country.

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, pet owners, girls getaway, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Carriage House

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

Woo, it is a dream place
Guest: Ikram(Pakistan)
Date of Stay: 07/02/10 Review Submitted: 07/17/10

Our family reunion at Carriage House was very special and memorable! Our stay of 10 days at palatial building having five bedrooms and five baths were so comfortable and luxurious that we could not except more. The owner went beyond his call of duty in extending us extraordinary personal services. He takes personal interest in well being of his guests. Our children loved atmosphere, so near to nature and inspiring. The presence of cats, dogs, pony, horses made the stay a unique experience of life. We not only enjoyed thoroughly but spiritually it was a very fruitful interaction.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Carriage House Guest Satisfactionj

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

It was everything and more than we expected!
Guest: Donna(Montreal, Quebec)
Date of Stay: 09/17/10 Review Submitted: 09/20/10

I just spent an amazing weekend at this very charming country home. We were a group of 11 friends, we had tons of room and felt as though this place was our own. Robert goes above and beyond to ensure all his guests are comfortable and have everything they would need to make their stay perfect. The house and grounds are so well kept, as are the horses and ponies! It was so nice to be greeted by them everytime we went outside. The patio is so cozy that we ended up having all our meals outside, even though the dining area looked so inviting as well! We also had so much fun sitting around the huge fire pit at night. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Thanks again for everything Robert!

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, pet owners, girls getaway, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children, romantic getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review