reviews for: listing #23264 - Gun Lake, Michigan House rental

Country setting, 300' of Frontage, Sleeps 16
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $2,700 /wk

sort by:

good, but should be aware....

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

We stayed here 3 summers for our family reunion involving 3 families. It was great, and there is a lot to do. However, you have to bring your own linens, and have the house cleaned up by 10 AM Saturday morning. That is hard to do with 16 people who have barely breakfasted and packed up. The owners expected the home to be very clean but left a substandard vacuum cleaner and dishwasher. The owner showed up at very unexpected times and we felt watched. One morning he was on the deck at 6 AM and scared my 5 year-old niece. In the 3 years we stayed there we had to re-glue the spindles on the kitchen chairs each summer because they would fall off when you moved them. We were afraid we would be charged with damage and had to repair things that fell apart with gentle use.

Owners response: We thank you for your comments because a little communication can solve so much. About what sounds to me like your most serious concern, scaring your niece, as you know, at the time of check-in we talk to everyone about hot-tub maintenance. It is always covered that my husband will stop by early every morning before work (hopefully before anyone is up) to help maintain the hot-tub for you. This is a service to you, and for you, so that when you go to use it you don’t find that it’s all cloudy. If you didn’t want him to come by then all you would have had to do is communicate that.
Also, we never charge for “little things that fall apart with gentle use”. We expect accidental breakage and household repairs.
The dishwasher is a General Electric that we purchased brand-new about 4 years ago. It is so quiet when it starts, that you may keep pushing buttons thinking its not working and actually putting it into a delayed wash cycle.
About your comment on the vacuum- we agreed- we have already purchased a new one! However, the old one did a fine enough job for what we expected from you. All we have ever asked for as far as cleaning is concerned, is that you wipe up spills like milk or coffee, etc., do dishes, and vacuum. Sometimes it’s obvious that the people didn’t have time to vacuum and we’re okay with that. We know how it is, trying to get everybody packed and out by 10:00 from when we go other places. Charges are incurred by the more extraordinary damages, and out of the 7 years we’ve been doing this we’ve only had to charge people a handful of times.
We do offer a linen service for those of you who don’t want to do all the laundry yourselves. Can’t blame you for not liking that! That’s a lot of sheets and towels for 16 people.
We just want you to have a wonderful vacation week and were truly sorry it was anything less than perfect for you. Just talk to us and we’ll help you in any way we can. Thanks again for your comments that can help us know your needs better!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

2nd visit to your lovely lakehouse and we love it!

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We visited the lakehouse last year for the first time and stayed a week - then it was the BEST vacation EVER. This year we're equally blessed by the time we spent there. It's so quiet and peaceful and relaxing - what a rest for the weary! Not to mention we had so much fun in the hot tub and fishing in the lake (we caught a BUNCH!). We also enjoyed walks on the trails, paddle-boating, playing pool and just kinda hangin' out with no agenda. There were 8 of us there and never once tripped over eachother - and that's not easy for our family to do just anywhere!

What a beautiful home and lovely grounds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WOW!!! Best vacation we EVER had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

Absolutely, incredibly, without a doubt the NICEST, CLEANEST, PRETTIEST, SERENEST, MOST RELAXING vacation getaway we have EVER had in 32 years of marriage!

Hiking, boating, fishing were all incredible on this property... and the best part of it all - IT WAS SO QUIET AND PEACEFUL! Like here we are, on this private all-sport lake in the middle of wooded and rolling hillside country (NOT EVEN 10 MINUTES away from another lake that is overrun) and for a WHOLE WEEK I only saw 2 or 3 other boats... we couldn't believe it! Even on the weekend it was peaceful enough to fish anywhere on the lake without a disturbance.

And the fishing was FANTASTIC!!! We cooked our Small Mouth Bass over our fire and ate until we thought we'd explode... mmmmm best tasting fish, must be due to it being a spring-fed lake.

The house and property... all I can say is the only reason we left is because our week was up - WE'D ALL STAY THERE FOREVER!!!!!! What a beautiful home, furnished elegantly, tastefully, yet simple enough that anyone would feel comfortable there. The kitchen was so awesome my wife nearly cried to leave it, the game room(s) were so much fun my kids can't wait to come back, the rooms were large and very comfortable (nicer than home) and again... the fishing was great - I nearly cried having to leave!

Thank you Bob, Mary, Cassie & James for making our family vacation a memory we will cherish FOREVER! We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Best kept secret!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

This lake house was perfect! Plenty of room, impeccably kept, plenty to do (rain or shine). The hosts were so accommodating and we plan to make this our annual Labor Day weekend getaway for as long as the owners are sharing.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review