reviews for: listing #2327 - Little Gasparilla Island, Florida House rental

"Paradise Too" - Waterfront Cottage - Steps to Beach and Bay
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $200 /nt
    $800 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

The perfect place to stay on the island!

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 29, 2014

We have been coming to LGI for eight years, and "Paradise Too" has been our favorite place to stay by far! We loved being on the canal, and the walk to the beach is only a couple of minutes. You can unload right from the water taxi, which saves a number of trips in a golf cart or having to haul your things. The house has everything you need and more! After staying at so many houses on the island over the years, this house was the most equipped. My 14 year old son and his friend loved fishing from the dock and beach, and used the fish cleaning station. They caught many types of fish over the week from the canal, the bay, and the beach. Patti's neighbor Mike was super friendly and an avid fisherman like the boys. Patti is terrific to work with and always responded quickly to questions I had regarding the house. She is also the BEST owner I have worked with in all of my years on the island. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Too - Faboulous Family Adventure!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Patti’s place and the island were wonderful! This was a great vacation for our family. We brought our jet skis and this is the perfect location. The house is located in a protected canal and within just a few minutes we could be around the island to the beach side on the jet skis. If you have a boat, spending time on the sandbar between the islands is a must. Water was warm and wildlife abundant. The walk to the beach was not far, passing only 2 houses to get there. It was fun to walk the island but renting a golf cart for a couple of days would have been fun too and something to do next time. Because you can only access the island by boat, it feels very safe and keeps the crowd to a minimum. We quickly fell into beach mode, spending the morning hours at the beach, eating our main meal and napping mid-day, and out in the ocean every evening. The house functioned well, it was very clean and well kept, and the new flooring was nice. I especially enjoyed the large screened in patio area. We cooked meals such as hamburgers, steaks, seafood, spaghetti, and pork with fresh vegetables and potatoes and the kitchen did have everything we needed. Recommend packing light as there is a washer/dryer and keeping food simple. We would definitely do this again and would love to come back next summer. It was a fabulous family adventure!

Owners response: Great tips for future guests! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Island Life At Its Finest!

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

If you have a boat, this home is ideally situated on a canal for easy access to the gulf and it's tributaries. The private dock was nice and just steps away to the home. The home itsel is well-maintained, charming and full of character. The booking process was quick and hassle-free. My family loves this little island and this is the home we will be back to visit! Highly recommended. 5 stars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love our repeat guests - come visit again soon!
One of our families has just vacationed at the cottage for their 9th year - building wonderful family memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing getaway

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

The island was quiet and relaxing. Loved walking the beach searching for shark teeth, found a number of them. The home was very nice, had everything we needed. Patti was very nice to work with and a neighbor, Mike was a wonderful source of information and helpful in making you feel welcomed. Pirate water taxi worked out well, dropping us off at the front of the house on the dock. Great as a quiet retreat, or, if a person wanted to schedule other activities, there are things to do. Looking forward to visiting again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Too is a great relaxing getaway

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

My sister and I wanted a week in the sun to get away from it all and that we did at this very sweet and charming home right on the canal. The house has a great wrap around screened in porch where we spent many hours looking out on the water, the palm trees, the flowers and the birds, enjoying our meals and drinks and just relaxing and talking. The house itself is more spacious than it looks on the web site, and well stocked even with olive oil and balsamic vinegar! Most of the time we hung out in the morning and then it was just a three minute walk to the beach, which is wide and beautiful. One day we went to Placida and had a great lunch at the Fishery. Right around the corner is a great gallery called Margaret Albritton where we shopped for hours and bought the adorable nautical placemats that Patti, the owner, has in the house. We also loved the gallery across the street. I had to leave early and after I left my sister took a day to go kayaking. Next time I'd like to go to Cabbage Key, the island which is supposed to be the basis for the famous Jimmy Buffet song. But mostly we just loved being beach bums and hanging out at the house, which is very cozy and comfortable. It was the most restful and relaxing vacation I have ever had.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Too!

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

My sister and I took a week to get away from it all and that we did at this very charming house with a great wrap around screened porch looking out over the canal, palm trees and beautiful flowers. The owner Patti was totally available to answer any question, the kitchen had everything we needed, including olive oil and balsamic vinegar! We just became total beach bums and loved every minute, just relaxing on the beach which was a three minute walk from the house. One day we went into Placida and had a great time at the Fishery restaurant. Then we spent hours at the nearby Margaret Albritton gallery, where we bought some of the adorable nautical placemats that Patti has in the house. We also loved the gallery across the street. But mostly we just hung out at the beach and the house, which was very cozy and comfortable, nicely decorated and appointed and more spacious than it looked on the web site. The neighbors were very friendly and the weather was perfect. I had to leave early and after I left my sister took a day to go kayaking. Next time I would like to go to Cabbage Key, the island which was the basis for the Jimmy Buffet song, and perhaps do some fishing. It was the most restful and relaxing vacation I have ever had. In addition, I have multiple chemical sensitivity and had no problems, the house is clean and odor free.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Very helpful review for guests to get a feel for the "Island atmosphere" and area attractions!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Little Gasparilla Island

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

Had a nice relaxing time! The island is very nice. People that we saw were very friendly. The house was clean and roomy. We brought everything we needed for food and cooked a lot. Loved the convenience of the little grill on the porch! We even grilled breakfast vegetables and bread! Very glad I rented a boat for every day we were there, we would have not liked waiting for a water taxi every time we wanted to go somewhere. Having the boat right outside the door of the house was extremely convenient and well worth it. This house is on a canal, which is great since we had some days that were quite windy, so it made getting the boat tied up easier. We both wish we would have taken our own pillows, sleeping on a much smaller bed than what we are use to without our pillows made for some restless nights.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad you enjoyed the cottage and Island! Being on the canal is very convenient with your own boat or water taxi. For those without a boat the taxi service is great - just need to call ahead and set up a time - door to door service!
Queen bed has suited most of our guests and pillows are replaced many times during the year - though everyone has their own preference and nothing is as comfortable as your own!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your home with us! We had a great week of fishing and beach! The house is very clean and full of great kitchen amenities for cooking. It sits directly on the canal and a short walk from the beach. Perfect combination. We will definitely be back to rent this home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Paradise" too!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

What a wonderful island! We plan on going back… We want to do some Tarpon Fishing :) The setting was so peaceful, Christmas day, Wednesday and Thursday were so quiet, was like we lived on a deserted island…Friday started picking up for the Island's New Year's Eve party… Your home was comfortable and we really enjoyed our time together. We played yahtzee, dominoes, banana grams, scrabble enjoying some happy time together! We found shells, saw turtles, walked the paths and beach, read and napped…caught a snook on Christmas day from the beach! Thank you for sharing you home with us!

Working with Patti from start to finish, was so easy and a real pleasure! Great communications! The home was clean and comfortable. Kitchen was well stocked. Lots of beach toys. Loved the outdoor shower and detached laundry area. I really enjoyed the screened porches. Great for quiet time, reading, playing games, and good conversation.

The home is right on a canal...easy to get to! The walk to the beach...maybe 150 yards. And I loved that side of the island! Every early morning we walked the island along the paths and back the beach...the weather was cool, and breezy. There is a little church on the island, I wish it was opened so I could have gone inside. There is a little honor system library. The beach is filled with shells and the water warm. A collective group of warm, kind people. Very special place!

Willie and Elizabeth with Scenic Tours and Water Taxi were very accommodating. ... just remember you are on Island Time! Eldred's Marina offers fishing tips, tackle and bait. And the fisherman boiled stone crabs on the dock as we waited. A real local feel!

The Publix at Cape Haze is wonderful…we arrived late on Christmas Eve and they were closed the next day for Christmas. They offered a service and had our groceries waiting. Very friendly and efficient!

Thank you for sharing your home...looking forward to returning!

Owners response: So happy you enjoyed your Christmas Holiday on the Island. Thank you for your tip about the Publix - this will definitely help other guests!
Hope to have you visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Most Restful Vacation Ever

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Sisters & spouses met to get away from Seattle and Montana winter. The Cottage and Island were exactly as described...no they were even better. It was a delightful week and the most relaxing vacation ever. We watched amazing sunrises and sunsets, walked beautiful white beaches, collected an amazing aray of shells, swam in the Gulf (warm to "Northwesterners" accustomed to the chilly Pacific waters), photoed an array of birds and flowers, sat on the beach, ate on the porch overlooking the beautiful canal, and enjoyed every minute of our stay. They day we went to wander on the mainland we went to the Nokimos orange grove and ate at the Fishery Restaurant was fun but we all found we missed "our island." The owner was friendly and quick to answer all our questions. The cottage is comfortable and welcoming and has everything we needed for our stay. It was everything we hoped it would be and more and we are already beginning to plan for our next trip to "Paradise Too."

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Many Happy Returns

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

I can't say enough about this place. Little Gasparilla Island is the best place to go if you want to get away from EVERYTHING. Plan on a vacation that includes sleeping in, lingering over morning coffee on the porch of Paradise Too or the beautiful morning beach for a perfect start to your day. Paradise Too is perfectly located on the north end of the island only a short walk down Friendly Ficus Way. I have walked that path over 100 times as my group of 3 have spent 7-8 years there to escape the long Montana winters. I have grown to love this house that I call home for 1 short week every late winter. The shells, helping create some of the best shell art EVER, birds, dolphins, martinis on the beach at sunset, gorgeous blue green water, peace.....these things and more keep me coming back for many happy returns to Paradise Too. Thanks Patti for sharing this little slice of heaven. Red Lodge, Montana

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome location, sixth stay this March.

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

Great for Fishing, shelling and birding. Weekends are OK, but quiet weekdays are why we go to Little Gasparilla. It is amazing how vacant the beaches can be. Weeks with larger negative low tides are better for fishing and shelling. During these low tides, tidal pools often form on the beach. Many of the shells in the tidal pools will house bi-valves, snails and crabs. When we find too many shells, we make beach art. Dry sand can be good for shark’s teeth and sand bars are better for sand dollars. If you get hit by a storm, rest up. Shelling is about to get really good. Gulf wave activity is typically small and thus good for children.
The soft sunset lighting is great for family pictures, including close-ups. So turn your back on the sunset every now and then and take those shots facing the dunes. You will be glad you did.
We usually go in March or April and fish the pass, beach, Gasparilla Sound and Bull Bay. The beach often yields Whiting and catfish with the occasional snook, redfish or Spanish Mackerel. The pass may yield Jacks, Blues, Snook, Spanish, or Flounder. I’m at my best in the boat, where I target Spotted Sea Trout, snook and Redfish. Cobia and Triple Tail are some of the few species I have not caught inshore. Every year I seem to add a few species to the list, so my hopes are high. Snook and Tarpon can be tough to find in March, they get into full swing in May. Sheepshead tend to be thicker in March. If you do not have a boat, the gentlemen at the start of the canal is a guide and seems to do very well. His card is at the house, but you probably have to book early.
Your boat will sit in the canal about 30 feet from the porch. I bring a 100’ extension cord to charge batteries as needed. Being on a canal, children should know how to swim and be watched closely. It’s not that uncommon to see a Manatee in the canal during the course of a week. If you see circular boils on the surface, start looking for a Manatee. Sometimes they are on a mission and don’t surface much. Spring is also a good time to photo Osprey chicks in their nests. Sea Hares which look like large snails with wings and no shell are also interesting.
The house is a little over a mile from Eldred’s Marina and you can run on a plane the majority of the way. The house has always been clean and quaint. Islanders drink bottled water. The water is ok to shower in, but I wouldn’t drink it. Publix is about two miles from Eldreds

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful info- it will be sure to help future guests!
Note: I always keep bottled water on hand but do use the tap water in ice tea, coffee, etc. and also use it for all cooking - it is definitely a personal preference.
Have a wonderful 6th stay with lots of good fishing and shelling!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

It worked for us!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

The house was great, not too fancy, not too shabby. It was well equipped and clean. It got a little noisy on the weekend but otherwise it was quiet and private although the other properties were close by. We would go again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! We try to maintain a clean, comfortable home with an "Island Flavor".
Can sometimes be busier on weekends during peak season in March - but usually very quiet and relaxing!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review