reviews for: listing #23288 - Sister Lakes, Michigan House rental

Mellow Yellow
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Magician Lake
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,650 - $2,950 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful, relaxing week!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The large kitchen was terrific for preparing meals and enjoying them with our large family! The sandy beach and sandy shallow lakefront was perfect for the kids as well as the large grassy yard for them to run and play games in! Enjoying a nice fire in the fire pit was always a nice way to end a busy day and relax. Also loved drinking coffee on the large deck in the morning and watching the sun rise. Enjoyed some good fishing as well. Nice and quite because of its location at the end of a dead end road.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Mellow Yellow. It is a beautiful lake house on a fantastic spring fed lake. The water is clear and was delightfully warm. There is a nice beach area for the kids and dock for our boat. The lake was not crowded at all. The home is on a private street that is partially wooded on the other side. We went for morning walks and enjoyed the views from the deck. There is a huge yard, so we set up a net and played volley ball. It was the perfect getaway. Also, the kitchen is beautiful! Nicer than the one I have at home!!! I really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beautiful property!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This house is very lovely, and nicer than depicted in the photos - which is usually not the case with a rental property! It was fully equipped, and I very much appreciated that items like dishwasher detergent,laundry detergent, etc. were provided. The owners and caretakers were very responsive to any questions we had. The only negative about the property is that there is not much of a beach, which made it difficult for our little children to play in the water. There is a retaining wall with steps down to a fairly rocky beach, and the waves really kick up when there is boat traffic - not easy for little kids to manuever. Probably better for older kids who can jump off the end of the pier to swim. But overall, we loved this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Lake house!!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Mellow Yellow is the perfect getaway. I came up with my husband and his family for a week. It was very relaxing and the lake is beautiful. There were 7 of us all together and we really enjoyed our stay. My mother in law is hard to please and she kept praising me for booking this home. The best part of the home is the kitchen and the huge deck. My husband is a chef and we spend alot of time preparing meals. This home is equipped with everything one would need. I would highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Lakehouse!!!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

We stayed for a week 3 years ago and a weekend last Fall and we just booked another week for this summer. The home is decorated very nicely and the kitchen is better than any kitchen I have ever had! It has beautiful hardwood floors throughout (including the bedrooms). We had a group of 8 which included 2 couples and 4 kids. It is set down a private road on the really nice part of the lake (no weeds, just clean water). It was perfect for our kids who are all younger in age. There is a very large yard where we played volley ball and hung out by the fire pit. Everything we needed was already there. We love to cook and found the kitchen to be a delight. The beds were comfortable and everything was really clean when we arrived. We have stayed on other lakes nearby before and found them it to be a disappointment. Either no yard space or the water had receded. Magician is the best lake out of all the sister lakes and is the largest.
We would highly recommend this place and can't wait to stay there again.
M. Carey

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful lake house!!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Mellow Yellow with friends for our much needed week long vacation last year. It was a wonderful time. The lake house is situated on a private road and is resting high on a bluff with wonderful views down to the lake. The lake is about 500 acres and the water is very clean. The water is about hip deep until you walk out a ways, so it feels very safe. They have a huge back yard with a firepit and this year when we stayed there just for the weekend we noticed so many more improvements, like a new sea wall and pier and they added a gigantic new deck and paved patio with new grill and seating area. We had a total of 7 people on our vacation and that seemed to be just right. Although the home could sleep up to 10. They also keep it very nice, everything was in working order and they have someone managing it who was very helpful and only lives a couple of doors down, but when we needed anything she was available. I also liked the fact that they have nice furniture, comfortable beds and nice linens. I've stayed at some places that were just plain old gross! This place is charming and has alot of character. They supplied everything, pots, pans, wine opener, coffee maker, towels, sheets, laundry detergent...it was all there. They also had a large binder with fun things to do in the area and directions. The downtown area of Dowagiac is only a 15 minute drive and we had a wonderful dinner at Wood Fire grill. There are also wineries within 20 or 30 minutes. We had such a great time...we really did not want to leave. As I mentioned, we came back recently just for a weekend getaway, and although it was short, we felt totally recharged. We visited some local antique shops which was really fun and went bike riding around the lake. The sunrise in the morning from the deck is priceless! We also noticed an area in the house with lots of games and toys for small kids, although we did not have kids on our trip, it looked like it would be really nice for small kids. I highly recommend this lake house for a family vacation...it is lovely!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 31 / 34

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review