reviews for: listing #234008vb - Playa del Coco, Costa Rica rental

Award Winning Home gives guests an unforgetable experience.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 485 - $ 592 / night
    $ 3,150 - $ 3,900 / week
  • sleeps  9
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Amazing experience

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

As others have stated, the view is absolutely breathtaking and the sunsets spectacular. Magda, the housekeeper, is one of the most precious souls we have ever had the pleasure of meeting and a wonderful cook. Her chicken and rice and ceveche were especially good but everything she prepares is authentic and delicious. The home owner is incredible helpful and knowledgeable, and the house managers are wonderful resources as well. Costa Rica is beautiful and exotic and the people warm and friendly. Lovely, lovely, home and fabulous week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lori,

I am thrilled your vacation was a success. Thanks for the affirming words about Casa Holmes and the service we provide. It is reassuring to know our efforts really work for the people who choose to spend time at Casa Holmes. Come back and visit us again sometime.
Nita Holmes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavenly Vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 30, 2013

We just returned from our Costa Rican holiday & our 10 day stay at Casa Holmes. I can echo what previous reviewers have said about Casa Holmes. It is an absolutely beautiful home with every possible amenity to make your stay very special. You can try to visualize & gaze endlessly at the photos online but nothing & I mean nothing will compare to being there!

Lounging in the pool, sunbathing on the deck taking in the view is something I will never forget & those sunsets all I can say is WOW!

We had a few dinners out. One was at Soda Mediterranea just down the road & we all enjoyed the courtyard dining, the food was great & service was fantastic. Citron in the Pacifico Mall was very good. Ginger's in Playa Hermosa was a fantastic meal that should not be missed. Our family also had another dinner in Playa Hermosa at Mario's Cuisine & it was a true highlight of our trip. But it was so comfortable at the house we sometimes just didn't want to go out.

Ziplining at Congo Canopy Trail about 25 minutes away was great for an easy outing with monkey sightings galore & if you're up for adventure surfing in Tamarindo was fantastic.

I would like to thank Cheryl for checking up on us & making sure everything was ok. Kelsey, for arranging the surfing & directing us to the ziplining & Ana for getting our memorable vacation started. But the huge star in our families eyes was definitely Magda. We absolutely adore her & looked forward to seeing her smiling face when she would appear at the house. We were lucky enough to have her prepare several meals for us & they were delicious. We learned so much from her & hopefully soon will put some of her tortilla making lessons to good use here at home. We all miss her.

I would like to thank Nita for making this trip so memorable & being so hospitable in opening up your gorgeous home to visitors. It will be a trip we will never forget & hope to someday have the pleasure of visiting again.

PS. Yes, the driveway was very steep but it always made for great laughs & great exercise!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Wedding Getaway

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We married at Casa Holmes "The Glass House", with 20 close friends and relatives in attendance. It was PERFECTION. Between renting Casa Holmes and a local B&B just down the drive, we were able to accommodate all of our guests. Throughout the week we were all in Costa Rica, we used Casa Holmes as the home base and hangout for the group, and married there mid-week at sunset.

I don't think there are words to describe how perfect this was, and wish I could post photos to better demonstrate. Magda was an absolute joy! She really took care of us, and made sure we had everything we needed every day and especially the day of the wedding. She even made up our bed special for that night and decorated it with rose petals! Magda is a true gem, and has become like family to us. You can read from all the reviews how amazing her cooking is. I can add to that by recommending you request her empanadas - OMG.

Costa Rica has many beautiful locations, but there is only one Glass House. This house made our wedding what it was, magical and unforgettable, and truly made the whole vacation. The views, the details - we couldn't have asked for a more perfect setting in which to marry. Even the kitchen was perfect for the caterers to work in for our reception.

Thank you to the owners and staff for an unforgettable experience! We hope to return - Magda's already asked us when that will be!

PS. A golf cart WILL make it up the driveway if you don't want to rent a car.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most lovely house, view and beach in the area!

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Can not say enough wonderful things about our stay at Casa Holmes. Highly recommend. The "Glass House" was superb and the views were stunning. Magda the housekeeper made several meals for us that were delicious. The owner is extremely helpful and responsive. My only tip would be to make sure that if you have a rental car it is an automatic. We started with a 5-speed and had a lot of difficulty getting up the very steep driveway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan, I am so glad it worked out well for your group. Thanks for the recommendation about the car. I will remember to tell people this if they are renting a vehicle. It is my delight when I get reports that all our efforts show up in a way that our guests can truly enjoy their stay at Casa Holmes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

A group of us just returned from a week at Casa Holmes, and it was absolutely fabulous. Neta, Cheryl, Kelsey, and Madga were so helpful and informative and really went out of their way to make our stay fabulous. Kelsey, the concierge, was wonderful in helping us coordinate airport transfers, day trips, and dinners out, and her recommendations were always wonderful. Magda, the house keeper, was incredibly nice and helpful in addition to be an excellent (and resourceful) cook.

The house itself is beautiful. The pictures do not do it, or the views, justice. Every bedroom is laid out to face the ocean, and almost all have some kind of deck. Almost all the walls are sliding glass that allow for a great breeze. Even the bathrooms are really well detailed. There is tons of communal seating both inside and outside. And the kitchen is stocked with almost everything you could need. We also felt completely secure between the gate to get up the drive way, the high tech alarm system, and the many safes.

The house is really only a five minute walk up a hill from the beach and a twenty-ish minute walk to the main strip in town. We did not feel like we needed a car at all and did fine with walking and taking the occasional taxi when we wanted to go farther. The hill is genuinely steep though, and is rather exhausting to climb up in the afternoon sun, so I could see some people needing a car more.

All in all, Casa Holmes exceeded our expectations and made for a completely fantastic vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

Our family had the best ever vacation. The pictures on the web do not give this home justice. The locals call it "the glass house". Every room has a breath taking ocean view.
I miss drinking coffee on the patio at sunrise. We also had to be at the house every afternoon to watch the sunsets. My wife perferred to drink her coffee in bed looking out at the bay. My favorite thing was watching the sunset from the pool.
Coco is less than a mile walk from the house along the beach. There you will the best shopping, food and drinks in the area. Coconuts is a must do for food, drinks and talking to many locals from America & Canada. The grocery stores are as nice as any in US.
The staff at Casa Holmes will spoil you. Cheryl arranged our airport transfers and tours. We did three tours that she suggested and the family had a blast. She met us at the house and gave us all kinds of information on the house and area. She set us up with the most amazing guides.
Magda is much more than a housekeeper. We had her prepare 3 of the best meals that we have ever eaten. Magda has a servants heart and the whole family just loved her. We had a tough time telling her goodbye.
We did fine without renting cars. Not all the local taxis will take you up the driveway to the house which makes for a tough climb for some. There are phone numbers for taxis at the house that we come and pick you up. The tour transportation picked us at the house with no problems. The views are worth the climb.
Thank you Holmes family for opening your home to my family. There were many great memories made there that week. We have already begun planning our next trip.
God Bless
The Anderson family

Owners response: We are delighted your family had such a good time. I am proud of the team we have built around Casa Holmes. We hope your vacation serves you all well as you step into your daily lives.

Nita Holmes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Does not get any better than this!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

First, I would like to let you know that I can not thank you and your team enough for all that you all have done to make this trip possible for our group during our week long vacation- it ended all too soon! On behalf of the group, I am sending you the most gratitude and appreciation for not only renting your beautiful home, but having Cheryl and Magda assist with making our accomodations all the more better. We all thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of our trip and can not wait to get back! Second, I would like to commend you and the builder on the wonderous job done on creating an amazing home with so many architectual touches that created an impeccable ambiance and magnificent views- that may I mention, are to die for! Upon entering Casa Holmes each person immediately took in a gasp of air as we took it all in, and not one person spoiled it for the next because it was just that marvelous. Waking up to the beautiful views and watching the sun set was definitely an highlight of this trip for me. We loved the open air feel to the environment, the away from the town location- but close enough to reach, the comfortability of each room and the infinity pool called our names. Third, there is no way I can ever express how grateful we were to have had Magda. In addition to the housekeeping, she cooked breakfast in the mornings, made light lunches and cooked an awesome Consada dinner that was simply amazing. As Cheryl suggested, the Guacamole.... MUCHO GUSTO! She was very delightful and we enjoyed her presence each day. Outside of your beautiful home, we also had one of the best times of our life in Coco and were able to do some tours (loved the ATV and River Rafting), see the town, go to the clubs (Lizard Lounge and Zi Lounge), and come back to Cosa Holmes for endless relaxing. Leslie was fun and very humorous and I would highly recommend him for airport transportation and local tours. He stopped us at a local restaraunt a short distance from Liberia Airport and relaxed with us as we enjoyed our first bite of Costan Rican dishes. We are very thankful for him as well for providing transportation from the airport and to two of the tours as he was very knowledgeable and very flexible with our needs. I have already highly recommended Casa Holmes to friends, and soon to family, I hope they are able to experience Costa Rica as we did- en el Casa Holmes!

Again, I'd like to say thank you Nita, Cheryl, and Madga.

Kind Regards,

Geneia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesometastic stay, views, and staff!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

First, I would like to let you know that I can not thank you and your team enough for all that you all have done to make this trip possible for our group during our week long vacation- it ended all too soon! On behalf of the group, I am sending you the most gratitude and appreciation for not only renting your beautiful home, but having Cheryl and Magda assist with making our accomodations all the more better. We all thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of our trip and can not wait to get back! Second, I would like to commend you and the builder on the wonderous job done on creating an amazing home with so many architectual touches that created an impeccable ambiance and magnificent views- that may I mention, are to die for! Upon entering Casa Holmes each person immediately took in a gasp of air as we took it all in, and not one person spoiled it for the next because it was just that marvelous. Waking up to the beautiful views and watching the sun set was definitely an highlight of this trip for me. We loved the open air feel to the environment, the away from the town location- but close enough to reach, the comfortability of each room and the infinity pool called our names. Third, there is no way I can ever express how grateful we were to have had Magda. In addition to the housekeeping, she cooked breakfast in the mornings, made light lunches and cooked an awesome Consada dinner that was simply amazing. As Cheryl suggested, the Guacamole.... MUCHO GUSTO! She was very delightful and we enjoyed her presence each day. Outside of your beautiful home, we also had one of the best times of our life in Coco and were able to do some tours (loved the ATV and River Rafting), see the town, go to the clubs (Lizard Lounge and Zi Lounge), and come back to Cosa Holmes for endless relaxing. Leslie was fun and very humorous and I would highly recommend him for airport transportation and local tours. He stopped us at a local restaraunt a short distance from Liberia Airport and relaxed with us as we enjoyed our first bite of Costan Rican dishes. We are very thankful for him as well for providing transportation from the airport and to two of the tours as he was very knowledgeable and very flexible with our needs. I have already highly recommended Casa Holmes to friends, and soon to family, I hope they are able to experience Costa Rica as we did- en el Casa Holmes!

Again, I'd like to say thank you Nita, Cheryl, and Madga.

Kind Regards,

Geneia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honeymoon

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon this past Septmeber '11. We had a wonderful time and were well accomodated by the owners. There are plenty of activities and if you are not an adventure seeker hanging around the house is as pleasurable as it gets! We are looking forward to returning and are more than willing to recommend this home to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An amazing home in an idyllic setting

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

My family of 5 stayed here in June of 2011 and found it to be absolutely amazing. As fabulous as the pictures are they actually do not capture the magnificence of this home or its setting. The house is an architectural masterpiece and comes equipped with anything you need to enjoy a wonderful time.

I would highly recommend having a car while you are here to ease your travels, but taxi's are also readily available. If you intend to spend time at the beach then a car will also be handy to get you up the hill and of course give you access to beaches outside of Coco. On the other hand, you may find out - as we did - that once you are at the house you really have little desire to go anywhere and instead will simply spend time relaxing on the deck and in the pool and only want to leave the house to stock up on food and drink.

Another important aspect of this property is that you have access to wonderful assistance while you are there. The house came complete with a house keeper who also prepared wonderful meals for us. In addition, the local property manager - Cheryl - was a tremendous help to us in recommending and arranging activities and giving us guidance on restaurants in the area. We also spoke to the owners of the property who seemed delightful and wanting to ensure that we had a wonderful time in their home.

Highly Recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review