reviews for: listing #23444 - Captain Cook, Hawaii House rental

Relax & enjoy. Five star accommodations at affordable rates.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  McCoy Plantation
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $300 /nt
    $1,925 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

A Beautiful Retreat Where Mountain Meets Sea

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This beautiful pole house provides a relaxing perch to experience the magic of the mountainside as it meets the blue Pacific. The main (upper) level was a delight with its lovely wood and the full panel sliding doors that could be positioned wide open to enjoy the tropical air inside and out, or screened or closed in seemingly endless combinations. The huge, wrap-around lanai, perched high in the trees, is the perfect place to soak in the never-ending view south along the coast or those quick tropical sunsets. In our ten days at the house, we never tired of the way the light and cloud-shadows played on the mountain’s slope and on the glittering waters of the Pacific below. You can feel yourself relax as you take in the perfect way the mountain comes down so huge and yet so graceful to the sea. Great food is close at hand (don’t miss the Coffee Shack just down road or Annie’s for great burgers—follow up with tremendous Gio’s gelato right next to Annie’s). The whole island is within striking distance from here. We had beach days, volcano days, rain forest days, South Point days and poking around Captain Cook and Kona days. This is truly a fabulous house that made possible a trip that we will never forget. Everything was as advertised and better. We can highly recommend Pu’uhonua House to all.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PERFECT! Authentic but with every amenity!

Review submitted: January 26, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

We used to live in Hawaii and wanted to share the things that we love the most about it with our children and closest friends and this house afforded us the opportunity to show them all that's wonderful about Hawaii. It's a gorgeous house with plenty of room to spread out, very comfy beds, a fully equipped kitchen and gorgeous views anytime of day but especially at sunset! The caretaker Dan is a wealth of knowledge and was always helpful with getting us the appropriate equipment for every activity and telling us the special hidden places to snorkel, buy the best fish, get coffee, etc. Wouldn't change a thing except maybe how far away we live so that we won't get there on a more regular basis!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic home base for our Hawaiian vacation!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

This place was absolutely breathtaking. Every bit as nice as the pictures and better! We had a group of 8 and a baby stay. We stayed here for one week, and when we moved on to the Hilo side, we immediately missed this house! The view from the wrap around lanais are fantastic, and the garden is unbelievable! We were lucky to get a chance to chat with Grace the landscaper, she gave us a mini tour of the property and explained what many of the trees and plants were. Dan the care taker who lives next door was AWESOME! He was there when we needed him, otherwise he gave us our privacy. He took us out on kayaks to the Captain Cook Monument and we were lucky enough to run into a few pods of dolphins so were able to swim and snorkel with the dolphins before snorkelling at the Monument. He even lent us his underwater camera for our scuba diving trip. We liked it so much we have since bought one. Dan also took us to 2 Step for paddle boarding and snorkelling. He gave us macadamia nuts picked off the property and introduced us to the jaboticava tree with its lychee-like fruits! Dan was a wealth of knowledge and really made our stay extremely enjoyable.

On another note, we were pleasantly surprised to see that the kitchen was well stocked with sauces and spices and oil for cooking which was really convenient. The laundry room was also stocked with detergent. The location of the house was close to Pu'uhonua (Place of Refuge), the Captain Cook Monument, and several coffee plantations. It was about a 30 minute drive to Kona, which for us was not bad at all. On Sundays there is also a little market just down the street for fresh produce and crafts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pinch Me Perfect Place of Refuge!

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

Review: This was our 2nd stay here -- we are returning guests. This time we were accompanied by our dear friends. We slept like logs on their comfy beds (complete with Island themes & snuggly Hawaiian quilts.) We enjoyed many fine meals, watching the sun set, sipping our wine, as we grilled our steaks and fish. Yum! Breakfasts were divine -- so many choices of where to sit -- front, back, in? Off we'd go on our adventures -- snorkeling (close by), volcanos, shopping, kayaking. Wrap up your day by sitting on the wrap-around lanais, watch the sun set, and breathe! Honestly, it was hard to leave each morning. An additional plus: Dan the caretaker. He was there if we needed him -- otherwise he gave us our space & privacy. Dan is a good guy, has great suggestions and was even willing to take us out kayaking -- we ran out of time -- next time! The owners are easy to work with -- good, honest, nice folks. Lots of nice places close by that you can go to for breakfast (the Coffee Shack!), Lunches (Annies for burgers) & Dinners (Jackie Reys). But you'll find you will also want to dine back at the house so you can unwind in pure island luxury. Decisions, decisions. A final word: when you stay here, you'll return with a lifetime of wonderful memories!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pinch Me Perfect Place of Refuge for your Big Island Adventures!

Review submitted: November 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here -- we are returning guests. This time we were accompanied by our dear friends. We slept like logs on their comfy beds (complete with Island themes & snuggly Hawaiian quilts.) We enjoyed many fine meals, watching the sun set, sipping our wine, as we grilled our steaks and fish. Yum! Breakfasts were divine -- so many choices of where to sit -- front, back, in? Off we'd go on our adventures -- snorkeling (close by), volcanos, shopping, kayaking. Wrap up your day by sitting on the wrap-around lanais, watch the sun set, and breathe! Honestly, it was hard to leave each morning. An additional plus: Dan the caretaker. He was there if we needed him -- otherwise he gave us our space & privacy. Dan is a good guy, has great suggestions and was even willing to take us out kayaking -- we ran out of time -- next time!

The owners are easy to work with -- good, honest, nice folks.

Lots of nice places close by that you can go to for breakfast (the Coffee Shack!), Lunches (Annies for burgers) & Dinners (Jackie Reys). But you'll find you will also want to dine back at the house so you can unwind in pure island luxury. Decisions, decisions.

A final word: when you stay here, you'll return with a lifetime of wonderful memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Tree House!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! The pictures and the description are dead on. A member of our family stated that it was like being in a tree house. The views were incredible and the home was very comfortable. What really made our trip was the caretaker Dan. He lives in a ohana house on the property and was always there when we needed him. He was able to hook us up with kayaks and surf boards and even took us out to the Captain Cook monument. If you are considering a trip to the Big Island, this is the perfect place to stay. Addl note: The owners are very responsive when you contact them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

More than advertised!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We just returned from our Hawaii vacation during which my husband and I, as we'll as my brother an sister- in -law celebrated each oF our 25 th wedding anniversaries. The house was truly a refuge from all stress and worry, but was also accessible to as many activities as you wanted to fit into your vacation. It easily provided both shared and private space for two couples. We spotted many beautiful birds from the decks surrounding the house, served lovely meals cooked in the well stocked kitchen ( great sharp knives, pots, pans, grill). The caretaker, Dan is a wealth of info regarding the island so you feel you have your ownpersonal concierge. I highly recommend this fantastic home as a true "home base" for a Hawaii vacation. From it we explored most of the island and only ran out of time. Mahalo to Bruce and Nikki for offering such a wonderful home. Aloha!
- Cathy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Breathtaking Home

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This is by far the most amazing place we have ever stayed when traveling. When we decided to take a trip to Hawaii, we must have looked at over 300 properties on numerous websites until we ran across this one. The pictures sold us immediately but like another guest mentioned, the pictures are great, but it is even better than we expected. Waking up with the birds and seeing the views is indescribable. The housekeeper had the house in immaculate condition and the kitchen is more than adequately stocked. Make sure you take an inventory of what you have on hand before going to the market. There were six of us staying at the house (four adults over 50 with two adult kids over 25) and we all had the time of our lives. We could not have asked for a better place to stay.
Initially when we heard the property manager was on site, we weren't sure what that meant and how close he was. He lives next door and he (Dan) is amazing. He knows everything about the island and is more than happy to share suggestions on where to go, what to do, places to eat, etc. He made himself available when he heard us out on the Lanai in the mornings and shared all kinds of information and even fresh fruit from the property. We are already thinking of when we can return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wow Factor

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautifully crafted home for 2 weeks and were not disappointed. The house was everything that the pictures had captured; no unexpected surprises. In the morning I would walk up the stairs to the main living area and would say "wow" due to the view. I appreciated how well cared for this home was and the cleanliness of same. The attention to detail and quality are notable. The home offers everything you might need while on vacation. The caretaker on the property was a wealth of information and even though living in close proximity to the home, your privacy was not altered. For those preferring much cooler nights (due to higher altitude) you will be comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

February 2013-8 nights

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 20, 2013

This house was perfect for our needs. We were a group of friends-couples and singles. We had adequate room to afford privacy as well as the common living space. It is designed with the common living space on the upper level to take advantage of the view and breeze. It is beautiful, has a magnificant view and an on-site (next door) caretaker who is always available to give advice and assistance. None of us had ever been to the Big Island before, so we had "an agenda" of things to see. We traversed the island from one end to the other. We snorkled; swam with manta rays; drove up the lovely Kohala Coast; visited a coffee farm; visited historical sites; Waimea and Hamakua Coast; Hilo, drove back on the saddle road; Volcanoes National Park and a lava boat ride to see lave flowing into the ocean. (rough ride-be prepared to be pounded). It was a daily challenge to leave this house to tour the island. We would have loved to just relax, listen to the birds, smell the flowers and gaze at the scenery. Next time we will spend more time just "hanging out". We would definately return and would recommend this house to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We have stayed at countless vacation rentals over the years and this is one of the best! The house doesn't have a bad view from anywhere and you truly feel like you are in a beautiful treehouse overlooking the blue ocean! One week is not long enough! Don't bring too much. You would be fine to bring 3 days worth af clothing and a swim suit. Flip flops and one pair of sneakers for a volcano trip are plenty. Very laid back town. Shop at Safeway if possible- choice mart is close but pricey. Rent a convertable.
Dan the caretaker was a great host! Thanks for the memories of a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kathy

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

My family just spent a week in this beautiful house. It was such a wonderful place to have a family vacation. This house is so amazing. The views are spectacular. The photos of this house are so true but once you see the house and where it's located it's even more impressive. The area is quiet and peaceful. Everything we needed was right there at the house. The house was very well maintained. We just brought our clothes and moved in.

Dan, the caretaker, is such a wonderful guide. Having him right next door was just awesome. What ever we wanted to do he had great suggestions. Have to say he never lead us wrong one time. He gave us suggestions for the best places to snorkel (best times also), best places to eat (be sure to try the local places),best places to buy groceries and best beaches. If you have a question about the area he had an answer. It was like having our own private guide. Be sure to try the Coffee Shack for breakfast or lunch and Big Jake's for BBQ pork.

We loved our vacation home and plan to come back soon for another family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful home with magic views

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our annual trip to Hawaii. The house was great for 4 women - lots of room for everyone and fantastic verandahs to enjoy a glass of wine and watch the sun set. Dan who lives next door was on hand each day to provide us with tips on where to go and make the most of our stay. We loved the house so much that we stocked up the kitchen and ate at home each night. Captain Cook was a lovely place - very peaceful and quiet. The house is surrounded by beautiful gardens and you feel yourself relaxing as soon as you enter the grounds. The listing photos are wonderful but the house appearance and views are much better. It is truly a place of refuge and restoration. Wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

Wow... was the first thing that crossed my mind when I saw the house. I rented the house for a group trip. This house is really incredible. It is built on a beautiful spot and surrounded with trees, plants and flowers and… it has an amazing view!
Dan, the caretaker, made us feel very welcome and everything we could think of was there. A fully stocked kitchen, (beach)towels, good beds, chairs to relax (and enjoy the view) etc. etc. and… a perfect ‘atmosphere’ thanks to the stunning architecture of this wooden home. Beaches, stores and restaurants are close by. The house was very clean, well kept and due to it’s elevation it was cool & breezy at night, just perfect for sleeping.
This is the perfect spot to just ‘be’ and let the magic happen! Highly recommended and I can’t wait to be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Treehouse in Paradise

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Never been to Kona before and have never spent a Christmas holiday in a tropical location. But our experience at the home here made it well worth the wait. The house is simple yet sophisticated, private yet centrally located enough that you could get to great beaches, charming restaurants and whatever stores you needed to stockpile your fridge and load up for the surf. The house has beautiful, sweeping views of the bay with huge windows, sliding glass doors and a sweet porch to catch the sunset. You feel a million miles away, which is why we chose Pu'uhonua in the first place. We brought our three kids and all of them loved it. That's no easy task. Kona just has something for everyone and this place made a great home base.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Escape from Reality!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

What a wonderful vacation my family had in this house. The house is incredibly beautiful, and it felt like we were staying in another world, away from the hustle and bustle of life. The interior of the house is so peaceful and relaxing with the open floor plan and beautifully crafted and detailed wood frame, all the beds and bedding were of great quality and the 360 views were to die for. The exterior of the property is stunning too, with fresh fruit and lots of areas to relax and enjoy the scenery. The house is stocked so nicely, with a great new kitchen. The house is perfectly situated near a fun local town, with yummy restaurants, stores and tons of coastal destinations close by to explore. Just a perfect holiday with my family. Can't wait to return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kona Dream Vacation :-)

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This home and property were absolutely amazing!!! We have stayed in many other vacation rentals over the years and you never know quite what to expect until the day of check in. This home was by far one of the most beautiful homes that we have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Five stars across the board. From the fresh fruit, flowers and coffee to the high quality beds and bedding. We lacked for nothing. All new appliances, fully stocked kitchen, beautiful ocean views, stunning architecture and craftsmanship. The property was an oasis of beauty and tranquility. From the cool breezes to the songs of the many birds that called this paradise home we could not have asked for more. The town of Captain Cook was such a treat. From the incredible local restaurants, shops and one of the best grocery stores on the island to the many beautiful coastal destinations and school of dolphins that call Kealakekua Bay their home. We will be back for more.
A great big Mahalo to Bruce and Family for their level of service...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise on Earth Does Exist

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

My family and I have never rented a vacation home before. The idea of it just did not seem right. You are on vacation. You should have maids and bellman and elevators and constant tipping; right? Boy was I wrong. Pu'uhonua was magical experience. It is secluded from everyone yet very close to shopping and all the main activities on the island. It is up on a hill overlooking a magnificent bay and yet inside of 15 minutes you could be on one of two totally private beaches luxuriating in pristine water and life revitalizing sun.

All the comforts of the island where within easy driving distance but we found ourselves mostly just wanting to stay at "home". I say "home because that is what it felt like. From its polished wood-pole style construction which looks like something straight out of Swiss Family Robinson, to its massive wrap around lanais, modern conveniences, full kitchens, baths and bedrooms, this was like finding a five star private hotel with an occupancy limit of just one happy family.

Thanks to the help of the on-site caretaker, we lacked for nothing nor did we ever feel intruded on. We simply sat back and let the magic of Hawaii happen to us from sunrise to sunset each day.

We highly recommend this vacation treasure to anyone wanting to have a unique island experience.

You will never forget Pu'uhonua House. It is what it means, "A Place of Refuge."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Laurine from Oregon

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

This was a great house to spend out week in Hawaii. Listing and photos were accurate and we were not disappointed. Property was clean and well maintained.

Dan, the caretaker, was great and gave us many helpful tips while we were there, particularly on where to snorkel with our kids who were just learning the ropes. The kitchen was well stocked with seasonings and condiments as well as lots of cooking gear which made in house meal prep a snap.

Great location for stellar snorkeling options.

Beds were comfy, linens were plentiful. Good collection of watershoes, masks/snorkel/fins, and beach chairs that were there for renters' use. We also rented great snorkel sets through Dan that were better and less expensive than what you could get at the beach and obviously very handy.

Beautiful fruit trees and flowers in the yard made us feel like were in our own little oasis.

Our only negative was that despite great screens on the doors and windows, there were some mosquitoes in the house that were particularly fond of two of our children. Not sure if they were extra tasty, but they had a good collection of bites by the end of the trip. The rest of us only had a few. It is in a more moist area (not the more arid area in Kohala), so it is to be expected.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing accommodation

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

We would like to thank you for a wonderful stay at the Pu'uhonua house. The beauty of the Kona coast seen from the panoramic view of the house was amazing. We will definitely plan to come next year for an entire week. A big shout out to Dan. Thanks for making us feel at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Picturesque Setting

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we didn't know what to expect. We relied heavily on these reviews to book a vacation house. We were not disappointed! We stayed 2 weeks and had everything we needed to make our vacation spectacular -- beach towels, snorkel gear, comfortable beds, great kitchen, wonderful breezes, beautiful views, and we could go on and on. The other reviewers are right in that the property is much more beautiful in person than the photos. The renting process was smooth and professional. The caretakers were great, provided us with fresh fruit, and even checked on us during a short neighborhood power outage. The location was perfect for our group and made day trips convenient to visit Hilo, the Volcano National Park, and Hawi. Secluded and away from all the noise but only 30 min from airport & COSTCO. Walmart, Safeway, and Target are close as well. The largest bedroom is on the ground floor, across from the main entrance which makes it private and secluded from the others. This was fine for our group but may be a consideration for some; as you have to go outside and upstairs for the bathroom. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Thank you for making our stay so fantastic.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

The photos do not do this house justice--it is so beautiful--both the house itself and the setting. We loved sitting on the lanai--enjoying the view and listening to the birds. The house and the property are beautifully maintained---and the fresh fruit was awesome--nothing like bananas picked from the trees right on the property. As mentioned by others, the house feels very secluded and private, yet we were very close to the grocery store, restaurants etc. Snorkelled nearly every day at Two Step (Honaunua). Were nicely situated for day trips to Volcano National Park, Waimea, Hilo. Kudoes to Bruce and Nikki as well as Richard and Anna for providing such a wonderful vacation spot. We are hoping to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Hawaiian Hideaway

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

This vacation home exceeded our expectations. The pictures are spot on. What they do not show is the lovely yard with fruit trees and flowers. Just exceptional! The property is landscaped in such a way that you feel secluded. It was so quiet and peaceful, yet we were minutes away from Kona, restaurants, stores and many beaches and attractions. Pu`uhonua House was truly a place of refuge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

7 Days in Paradise!!!!

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

My Family and I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and Pu'uhonua House is by far the most beautiful Hawaiian style home we have ever stayed in. Not only is the house awesome the property is equally as breath-taking. We were spoiled with fresh fruit and flowers from the property. We applaud the attention to detail, the level of cleanliness and the thought that went into making this the 5 star experience that it is. We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise is not lost. It's right here !

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

Jodi and i just returned home from our stay at this beautiful vacation property..it was not just a comfortable and beautiful house..but its surroundings, ambiance and location make it one of the best i have ever seen! I would be understating my point by saying it was an incredible stay of comfort , tranquility and relaxation..it was just simply a beautiful well equipped house..we lacked nothing except food to make our stay complete..they even had fresh coffee beans to grind in the grinder there and the caretakers were genuinely helpful and gracious as well..(they even left some fresh picked fruit for us on the porch)..i highly recommend this to anyone looking to find the absolute best place to stay while visiting the islands..the house is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures..if you dont stay at this house on your next vacation your missing out..we will most certainly stay on our next trip!!..Kevin and Jodi...Onalaska,Wa.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Big Island Bunch

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

"My Family and I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and Pu'uhonua House is by far the most beautiful Hawaiian style home we have ever stayed in. Not only is the house awesome the property is equally as breath-taking. We were spoiled with fresh fruit and flowers from the property. We applaud the attention to detail, the level of cleanliness and the thought that went into making this the 5 star experience that it is. We will be back!!!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Experience

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

We loved being in this beautiful, well-appointed, well-equipped home. The walls disappear leaving us feeling like we were in a true tree-house. I loved such easy access from kitchen to eating on the surrounding decks enjoying the tropical breezes.

The owners and local overseers are professional, friendly, and helpful. I recommend experiencing their home unequivocally.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

7 Days In Paradise!!!

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

"My Family and I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and Pu'uhonua House is by far the most beautiful Hawaiian style home we have ever stayed in. Not only is the house awesome the property is equally as breath-taking. We were spoiled with fresh fruit and flowers from the property. We applaud the attention to detail, the level of cleanliness and the thought that went into making this the 5 star experience that it is. We will be back!!!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

7 Days in Paradise

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

My Family and I have stayed in many vacation rentals over the years, and Pu'uhonua House is by far the most beautiful Hawaiian style home we have ever stayed in. Not only is the house awesome the property is equally as breath-taking. We were spoiled with fresh fruit and flowers from the property. We applaud the attention to detail, the level of cleanliness and the thought that went into making this the 5 star experience that it is. We will be back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PARADISE IS NOT LOST...ITS RIGHT HERE !

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Jodi and i just returned home from our stay at this beautiful vacation property..it was not just a comfortable and beautiful house..but its surroundings, ambiance and location make it one of the best i have ever seen! I would be understating my point by saying it was an incredible stay of comfort , tranquility and relaxation..it was just simply a beautiful well equipped house..we lacked nothing except food to make our stay complete..they even had fresh coffee beans to grind in the grinder there and the caretakers were genuinely helpful and gracious as well..(they even left some fresh picked fruit for us on the porch)..i highly recommend this to anyone looking to find the absolute best place to stay while visiting the islands..the house is just as beautiful in person as it is in the pictures..if you dont stay at this house on your next vacation your missing out..we will most certainly stay on our next trip!!..Kevin and Jodi...Onalaska,Wa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

This was an incredible experience to stay in this wonderful house. It is truly a work of art in a setting like no other. I was amazed at how well i slept there it is so peaceful, and it is located close to so many parts of the island if your going to the beaches or the volcano or waipio valley its all within a short drive..This is definately the place to stay on the big island..and we will go back and stay here on our next vacation for sure..what a great time, the caretakers were very helpful and pleasant..it made all for the best vacation we have ever had..thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The House of Paradise

Review submitted: November 28, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

We’re now back a few days, but I have already looked over our photos from the Pu’uhonua house many times. If I say that we loved staying there, the words simply do not capture our pleasure. I can’t remember when I slept so well as in the Pu’uhonua House—for one solid week. Trips from there in all directions—to the beaches, mountains, as well as the exciting Volcano National Park were an easy daytime excursion. Beside having all amenities, food, restaurants, shopping centers truly nearby, everything about the house, the setting, the lush and beautiful vegetation, the architecture and the wood frame, the attractive furnishing, the light, constant fresh air, the birds, lizards, pheasants and so much more created a sense of paradise. I’d love nothing more than to make this experience into an annual trip, except I would change the name to House of Paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: November 28, 2009   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

We’re now back a few days, but I already looked over our photos from the Pu’uhonua house many times, as well as gone back to this website to remain in the house a little longer. If I say that we loved staying there, the words simply do not capture our pleasure. I can’t remember when I slept so well as in the Pu’uhonua House—for one solid week. Everything about it, the setting, the lush and beautiful vegetation, the architecture and the wood frame, the attractive furnishing, the light, constant fresh air, the birds, lizards, pheasants and so much more created a sense of paradise. Indeed, I’d love nothing more than to make this experience into an annual trip, except I would change the name to House of Paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review