reviews for: listing #23456 - Bernard, Maine House rental

Bass Harbor Oceanfront Retreat, fireplace fence, high speed,
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bernard
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

perfect honeymoon!

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 14, 2009

the location was perfect: private but not far from the park or bar harbor. we couldnt have been happier with the house. we spent every evening cooking fresh seafood before relaxing on the deck to watch the harbor. a little big for just the two of us, but we will definitely return soon with relatives and/or friends. wont hesitate to rent this cottage again and are making plans for our return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you each year!
Hope you had the oppurtunity to meet the local lobsterman, with the fresh catch.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Best Spot in Maine, Acadia

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

Great home...great yard and more...The place was more than what the owner even describes. we go to acadia and bar harbor every year, we just found our new destination..no other home has been as clean or the owners have not supplied as much as this owner does.. You can tell they take pride in the home and make it very comfortable for the customers...we will be back, thank goodness we found you..if anyone wants to give up weeks in july of 2014, book us in those as well. Lots of antiques, books and great decor..the beds were fabulous...see you next year..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us.. Thank you also for writing the review, - we realize it does take time out of your schedule as well... This year we have added a tandem kayak ..so cannot wait to see this September- but also will send you any cancellations immediately for July..
See you soon
Leslie & Tom

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best of Acadia and Bar Harbor

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Everything you could hope for, and more. Fantastic place. We have stayed in this area alot and this is the best home on the island. So if coming to Bar harbor or acadia and you have a pup - this is the only place I would stay. Or even without a dog, this place is great, close, to everything. Out of the tourists.
Kitchen had everything we needed, plus more and so did the baths. Books everywhere for those rainy days - not many thank goodness. The art easel was nice to practice again. The canoe was fun to go out in and around the harbor...Best place perhaps in Maine on the coast. We will be back

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This property does not dissappoint, We arrived to what was better than described and so very inviting with all the comforts of home. Located conveinently to traveling around the great state of Maine and especially the towns of Bar Harbor and the surrounding areas. Bring your friends, both the two legged and four-legged ones and Enjoy, we did and will hopefully be back. Ohio and Texas Fans of Bass Harbor Retreat

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with us, we would love to have you back. We love Acadia and the harbor. This is a magical place and we do try to update and go beyond each year. Thank you for taking such good care of our home as well, we do truly appreciate it, and let us know when you want to return.
The Owner,
Leslie & Tom

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This felt just like home! Beautiful yard with many flowers and blueberries! The dog loved the fenced area. And it was well cared for. Gardners came every other day to water and trim. The house was just as the pictures depicted. Very comfortable beds and linens! The kitchen was well appointed and the washer and dryer came in handy with two little boys. We ate in a couple of nights and the rest of the time we at lobster, yummm. Thurston's Lobster Pound was within walking distance. We loved Acadia National Park and the restaurant at Jordan Pond for lunches. It was so divine smelling the tides, listening to the lobstermen as they chugged out at 4 am and back in the afternoon with fresh lobster. It was peaceful. It was rejuvinating. It was perfect! Hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us, We would love to have you back! That home is special, my husband and I had our first date across Bass Harbor there, over 15 years ago now. We did not even realize it until we bought the place, stood on the deck and said isn't that our restaurant?
So we are especially glad to hear you had such memorable moments as we did and still do.. Acadia and the town of Bernard is very beautiful, as well as Bar Harbor..
Thanks again!
Leslie & Tom

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

climbed Beech Mt.

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Thank you for the view from the deck and the peacful sounds around the home. Our two Brittany Spaniels loved running from the front to the back. We have hiked everyday. There are so many places to go & so many different hikes from easy to difficult, obviously the dogs have slept well at night! We also climbed the Beech Mt. -beautiful sights from the top.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Dear Leslie & Tom
You have created wonderful vacation home for all your guests--especially the furry ones! The flowers adn gardens add so much beauty, then fenced in yard everyone loved for playing.
you thought of everything,in the cottage..Perfect...
I had my best vacation here, this home is so convenient..Most of all we loved staying right here, watching the comings and goings of all the boats and the beauty. we appreciate all the effort you put forth to provide your guests such an unforgettable experience...

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect!

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

You have created a wonderful vacation home for all your guests-especially the furry ones! Our little 10 lb. Riley loved the fenced yard for playing. The flowers & gardens add so much to the beauty. You thought of everything in the cottage-perfect!My husband and son and I had our best vacation ever here. Favorites were the kayaking and biking the carriage roads.It was so convenient to order takeout from Thurston's and sit on the deck here and enjoy the meal!My best memory will be having lunch on a spectacular day under a tree with by family at Jordan Pond. We appreciate all the effort you put forth to provide your guests such an unforgettable experience.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than Bar Harbor

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

Thank you so much for providing the perfect cottage for a Maine getaway.The amazing shops and shopping in Bar Harbor is wonderful, but do not want all that touristy stuff every day, however! What a beautiful part of the island, and America this home is located in, the best part on the island we understand now why everyone else says so...This home however beats all of them and we were dazzled by the gardens the views and all the home has to offer ...even our dog Maggie doesn't want to leave the great yard, Larger than ours back home....thanks again, see you again!

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

the "home away from home"

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

Had a perfect week, had lots of fun & really enjoyed the home and nice touches.....I'll come back just for the book collection...
You did a nice job with the blue bedroom....
tried my hand at painting the scenery from your windows....
why do we have to leave?....

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Painting Views from Every Window

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

The crew wants to thank you for opening the warm inviting doors of your home to the beautiful still life painting views of Bass Harbor from all your windows. As time marches on we will reflect back on the fun family memories we all shared in beautiful Bass Harbor and your home.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Comet True-Priceless

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

Thanks for sharing your home and making a dream come true. Acadia was more spectacular than imagined. We loved the "quiet side". We had a great time, great weather, and memories to last a lifetime.....

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 11, 2009

Best house on the island! Truly a great oceanfront home, thank you for opening your home to us. This is the cleanest and most comfortable home we have stayed in here at Acadia. We are coming back. Thanks again- you thought of everything, down to the spices and extra bathroom goodies!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 21, 2005   Date of arrival: October 21, 2005

After coming here for years, this is the best spot on the island. Well worth the view, the lobstermen, just paint or read, go to Acadia..This is perfect, what a great village, not touristy like the others on the island have become..Yet you can still get to the center of Bar Harbor in 20 minutes..Perfect! Thanks for the stay, we will be back.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review