reviews for: listing #2356 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Natural Lava Heated Pool - Punana Kiowai
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kapoho Vacationland
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $190 /nt
    $875 - $1,000 /wk

sort by:

Great place to relax

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Pond House and we will be back. We love everything about this place - the warm pool in the backyard, the outdoor shower, the comfy layout and furnishings, the covered lanai. It is a just a short walk to the Kapoho Tidepools. Loved the quiet, the sounds of birds, the privacy. The fans worked well, we were very comfortable. The water toys and beach shoes were great to have. Absolutely love this house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Once again - a lovely visit!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

Over a week we made excellent use of the porch, the lanai and the BBQ - as well as the pond. Each day we ventured forth - Volcano National Park, Hilo, Mauna Kea and, of course (a little closer to home), the tidal pools.
Thanks to all who keep the Pond House a comfortable, enjoyable "home away from home."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place...

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

...all we expected and more! Enjoyed the house pond, as well as he fantastic tide pools. Cannot imagine a better home to use as a "base camp" for exploring and enjoying the South and East side of the beautiful "Big Island." Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful home, pond and amenities...

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

...we added a few for other visitors, enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for an experience of a lifetime...

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

We enjoyed snorkeling with the fish, tramping through the rainforest, exploring the town, going to Uncle Robert's (ed. comment: Wednesday & Saturday nights in Kalapana at the end of the road), stopping at Sireous Coffee. Also had a special treat with a concert in Hilo at the Palace Hotel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an amazing house!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We love the pond & the friendly geckos. Thank you for the amenities - we found absolutely everything w needed for a fun day at the tide pools (ed. comment: pond shoes in all sizes, snorkels & masks, boogie boards, beach mats, beach towels, beach chairs).
It's our first trip to Hawaii & we've fallen in love with the Puna area. We'll be back. : )

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First trip to Hawaii

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

And loved the East side of the Island. Lots to do and see. Highlights included Akaka Falls, Botanical Garden, Kilauea Iki hike up at the Volcano.
The house is very charming and comfortable...your house is wonderful, feels very homey...we certainly enjoyed our stay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

What a great place, we will be returning. All the reviews are pretty accurate, here is my few additions.

The Maintenance Man was great. He got us some fresh coconuts from the trees and showed my little guy how to open them and eat them, really fun

We bought a boogie board with a window in it so our 3 year old could use it to snorkel, the pond made it really nice to practice before heading to the ocean. It's still there, so I hope it will be of use to another family with kids.

Lots of food there (condiments and other non-parishables) Recommend you check in to see what is in the fridge or cupboards before heading to the store. The grocery store is a pretty short drive in Pahoa, and has everything you will need

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

This is a great property for the right people, but it's very important to be sure that you are those people. If your ideal vacation home involves arctic air conditioning, plush carpets, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, hardwood floors and crown moldings in a fancy resort, this house is not for you. However, if you’re looking for a comfortable, unpretentious, plantation-style house that’s perfectly situated and equipped for the active enjoyment of this beautiful part of rural Hawaii, you’ll be happy.

The house fronts on a quiet lane, on a large lot bordered by an undeveloped lava pond on one side, and thick jungle on the other, ensuring privacy and a quiet night, aside from the frogs. Fortunately, their song is pleasantly birdlike, rather than a bullfrog mega-croak or harsh ribbit concerto.

The house is surrounded by a wrap-around covered lanai, furnished to provide comfortable, sheltered outdoor relaxing spaces. The separate screened lanai and the pondside lounging areas are also well-designed for sunning or relaxing. During our stay, we found that there were very few insects even in the unscreened areas, possibly due to the very active patrols of lively geckos.

The outdoor shower and faucet arrangement is very convenient for rinsing people and gear after a dip in the warm pond or a snorkel in the Tidepools. There are lots of towels and a wide variety of toys and gear to enhance your enjoyment of the pond and ocean, and bikes to allow you to pedal around the quiet lanes. The best entry into the Tidepools is only 150 yards away, and it’s a great area to learn to snorkel, or for the advanced snorkeler to enjoy the abundant fish and beautiful coral.

The house is fan-cooled, meaning that it can get warm in the early afternoon, but opening the many screened windows and turning up the fans keeps the heat manageable, and a swim or snorkel is always a cooling option. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are adequate, and the outdoor gas BBQ is very efficient. The washer and drier are a great convenience, as is the computer system and wifi. There’s a good selection of books and DVD’s, and multichannel cable TV.

Welcome upgrades to the property might include a larger flatscreen TV, and a swim ladder to allow less agile guests to more easily access the warm pond. But as it is, for two compatible couples or an active small family, this ideally-located property will help you enjoy the delights of Kapoho in a house that quickly makes you feel at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

a great place to regroup and relax

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

we stayed at the pond house for a week and I agree with the other reviews -- the location is beautiful and relaxing I so enjoyed all the different sounds as the late afternoon approached, We did have a couple of concerns -- the microwave could use replacing, the dishwasher needs repairing as when we were there it would not drain at all and the dryer should have a note letting others know that it doesn't turn off by itself in some cycles (ie towels) We loved the outdoor shower, as it was so nice to rinse the salt water off after swam. We really enjoyed the geckos and the ability to just kick back and relax. It was nice to have reference books there it made our daily adventuring so much more fun. I would definitely recommend the pond house as a great getaway for anyone. Aloha !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: new microwave.. new washer and dryer

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Special house for the right guests

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

For the right guests, this house is perfect. It has 2 small plain bedrooms (each just large enough for a Queen bed) & 1 small bathroom. There is a good-sized kitchen, medium-size "living room", & a large & very nice screened in area with a large table, small refrigerator, some chaise lounges, & some comfortable chairs. This room overlooks the backyard pool where there are more chaise lounges.

We arrived at the house at night. There were lights on & Hawaiian music greeted us. We could hear the ocean as we parked our car & the coqui frogs were a pleasing sound to us.

This house has everything you could need -- washer, dryer, bikes, & even a computer and printer. The TV doesn't get many channels but there are lots of DVDs and CDs for guest use.

The place is clean & well maintained although the microwave could stand to be replaced & the knives need to be sharpened.

There is a very homey (not fancy) feeling to the place, maybe too homey for us. We opened the refrigerator to unload our cooler & discovered everything that had been left behind by previous guests. It was neatly placed and the refrigerator was clean but there were literally 15 bottles of salad dressing, two bottles of mustard, & scads of other sauces, mayonnaise, etc. We think it's nice when condiments are left for guests but this place went overboard.

The bathroom also had several full-size bottles of shampoos. But mainly we didn't like that the shower had one of those puffy things that people use to clean their bodies. Would you really want to use one that was used by a number of strangers before you? It made us feel almost as if we were intruding into the owner's home.

The other problem we had was that there was no way to cool the house. We own 2 vacation rentals in Kona where it generally is much warmer & we find that ceiling fans handle the heat just fine. This house had ceiling fans in every room but we're not convinced they were running in the right direction as they seemed to accomplish nothing. We spent most of our visit outside but it was uncomfortable sleeping. Towards the end of our stay, we learned that there was a floor fan available & that did help.

The other thing that we missed was that there was no information about the local area -- how to get to places that we knew were nearby, the owner's favorite places to eat or to swim or ??? There is a copy of BI Revealed but we ended up stopping at a store in Pahoa that provided free maps, just so we could get better oriented.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Incredible accomodations

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

My wife and kids ages 12 and 10 stayed at this house and simply loved it! The house itself is a cute and charming two-bedroom that is spacious enough for 4 and certainly doable for as many as 6 people. The satellite TV and internet access provided just enough of a dose of reality to keep us in touch with the outside world.

The key feature for us was the lava heated pond in the backyard. The depth reaches 6 feet at high tide and is a perfect temperature no matter the time of day. Our kids would start and end the day in it and had a very difficult time leaving it! Even at high tide, the pond is very user-friendly for kids of all swimming ability.

We dined in the enclosed lanai which was a perfect counterpoint to the house on hot evenings. The ceiling fans in every room certainly helped with the heat and humidity and having an "outdoor" dining area was key. The kitchen is complete with all the appliances and utensils you need, making it convenient to grocery shop and then prepare full, delicious meals.

Bugs were not a factor due to the geckos that live in and around the house. These little bug-eaters come-and-go but do not disturb you as you enjoy the house. They simply move about gobbling the unwanted insects and provide a living science display for the kids. Along with the small fish in the pond, the geckos are an example of the native life in this most-beautiful part of the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: the Punana is your vacation spot on the east side of our paradise, we will make sure it is a trip to remember.. I am here to answer any questions and assist in anyway i can ... Terry (manager)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

This place was fantastic. Just as expected. The location is great, just a very short walk to the tide pools. It is quiet, with the exception of the ocean and sounds of the forest. The only thing I would recommend is doing some grocery shopping prior to arriving. The closest restaurants and shops are in Pahoa about 15 miles away.

Getting back to the property, it has everything you could need. It is very clean and well maintained. All equipment you need for snorkeling is there as well bikes and coolers for your day out. The lava pool is fantastic and an especially great way to test out the snorkeling equipment and enjoy the lovely water and fish.

You will definitely enjoy this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks so much.. we try and make our rentals the perfect spot for your big island stay :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location, accommodation, amenities, weather...

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

...snorkeling, the night sky - all wow!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent location to explore...

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

...this side of the island. The tide pools were great and we had excellent weather to enjoy all of the outdoor activities! We loved the Volcano, drive down Hwy. 137, Kaleo's food, and of course, the Pond House.
Thanks again,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd stay and even better than the last...

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

The amenities here at Punana Kiowai were all we needed. LOVED the outdoor shower!
Blessings,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Free places to visit!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

Local recommendations: snorkeled every day in the local pools, very nice coral and beautiful fish; Hilo market, zoo, and Mac Nut factory; Green sand and Black sand beaches.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for all the tips!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Hilo - Saturday market is a must to do...
Hate to leave our evening entertainment of having dinner on deck while watching the geckos.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This has been the best week!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

Thank you so much to Tom & Peg for letting us use their beautiful pond house for our honeymoon!
Highlights: snorkeling in the tide pools, driving through the Volcano park, swimming with the dolphins in Kona

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for all the commodities!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

You really thought of everything. Thanks to Steve for all the great tips, especially the food fair on Wednesday night at the end of the 137. That place and atmosphere was amazing. Great place and great people.
Hope to be back one day.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Piece of Paradise!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

The tide pool out back was a delight!! The drive to the end of Highway 137 and eating at the funky hippy place...will be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly love this side of the island best!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy this side of the island! The house was very clean and supplied with staples that all moms appreciate (dish soap, shampoo, laundry soap, music CD's, DVD's.)
Perfect. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful place...Close to everything!

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We fell in love in Hawaii and your cozy home. The house is just perfect...we visited Hilo, Volcanoes National Park, Black sand beach, the warm pool just 5 minutes from here and much more...and the natural pond full of life as well. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Short showers followed by sun & blue skies

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Absolutely perfect! Loved the tide pools, changing every day and with the tides. We didn't want to leave at all...next time we'll stay longer, at least a week. Thank you for sharing this precious place with us.
Mahalo,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful home and attention to detail

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

What a beautiful experience our family had, we couldn't have even imagined a place this beautiful. Your home was so peaceful & your attention to detail is impeccable...the backyard tide pool...the frogs serenading...the birds waking up...no words to describe the sunrise. Especially liked the outdoor shower and a nice touch to have a Bible in my nightstand!
God Bless You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved this place..

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

Came expecting to explore all of Puna & Hilo, but loved the place soooo much we explored the back yard. Everything we needed. We will be back!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spent a fantastic 12 days...

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

Snorkelled everday in the tidepools. Weather was mostly sunny with ideal temps of around 80 degrees F. Fantastic accommodation- very well equipped.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing retreat...

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

We had a hard time getting the kids out of the pond, it was awesome! Saw a turtle at the tide pools--one of the highlights of our trip. House had everything we could possibly need and then some. We hope to return for a longer stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, well maintained & equipped

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

Every time I come back, I know where I will be staying!
This house is AMAZING. The pool was simply fabulous & the tide pools are awesome, loved every minute of our stay, wish we could be here longer. Will recommend to many.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house with perfect access to Kapoho tide pools.

Review submitted: November 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this home and wish we had stayed a few more! You will want to plan at least 2 full days to just hang out close to the house and snorkel in the tide pools. The snokeling there was to amazing for words. The home is well furnished for those who plan to cook and very well maintained. Our son learned the ropes for snorkeling in the on property tide pool before we went out to the coastal pools. We could not have had a better experience in this home and plan to stay there again on our return trip to the Big Island. The communication with Terry was great and the pre-trip planning was very smooth. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Wow, what a great property. The grounds are immaculate and surrounded by "jungle" on three sides. Great for privacy. Really feels like old Hawaii and forces you to slow down and relax. None of the trappings of the big resort areas of the west part of the island.

Reasons to stay here;

- heated lava rock pond, can't say enough about how neat this is. Three teen age boys loved it, great for early morning and evening swims.
- 2 minute walk to tide pools, best snorkeling on the island.
- close proximity to volcano national park, short drive in the evening to view the glow of lava on the mountain, unfortunately a couple of miles up the mountain when we were there, but still fun to go out to the recent flow area.
- Pahoa, great for people watching, some of the folks here put the hippies in Santa Cruz and Berkeley to shame, fun town to visit.
- outdoor shower, dont think we used the indoor shower more than once.
- well stocked home for the traveller, stop in town to pick up your essentials and you'll likely find things you may have forgotten in the cupboards (coffee filters, spices, sugar, etc.)
- between the table on the wraparound porch and the screened in patio, there's no reason to eat a meal inside. In fact the only reason to be inside the home is to prep meals and sleep.
- the geckos around the home provide great entertainment value, watching them hunt bugs is great. Of course you may wind up with one or two in the house, but that only adds to the charm of the home ( and helps keep any bugs that may get in the house to a minimum)

The next time we need a vacation where we need to really get away from it all we'll strongly consider coming back to rent this property. Thanks for the great rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

From the Guest Book

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

What a wonderful experience. This feels like true Hawaii. Changing weather with nightime showers and perfect sunny afternoons - the diversity is heaven. Breakfasts on the lovely balcony overlooking the pond, a dip or two in the refreshing pond and then afternoons in the tidal pools across the street. Convenience, you bet! The tide pools are awesome, even saw fish not on the fish "charts."

We feel "at home" here. So very, very comfortable. Thank you for sharing this special place.

P.S. The night sky without the moon, stars fill the sky. Fantastic!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

First Time Hawaii Vacation

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Punana Kiowai! It was comfortable and roomy. Felt like home..all the attention to detail was a surprize! Having a washer and dryer was a plus. Also to have the water shoes and snorkel equipment right there was perfect. we snorkeled just a few blocks away which we decided was much nicer then Champagne Pond. We stopped counting all the beautiful birds and flowers everwhere! We would recommend this property to all our family and friends...don't miss it! On Sunday we went to the "Sure foundation church" in Pohoa (nearby) a wonderful group of people welcomed us.
harrison family from california

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Didn't Want To Leave

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

This house was terrific!!! The house is exactly as in the pictures. The pond, on the other hand, looks better. Alot of the greenery has been cut away. The house has everything you need to cook, eat, and store away leftovers. The house isn't very big, but the three of us found it very cozy and comfortable. Dish Network TV made it feel just like home. This rental is all about the pond. The water is crystal clear, about 80 degrees, and full of small fish, crayfish, and a frog. The water level varies from about 3 feet to 5 feet(at its deepest point), depending on low/high tide. This is a naturally made pond, so there are lots of sharp/rough rock edges. Its okay because sand shoes of various adult sizes are there to use. I didn't notice any kids sizes. Tons of snorkel gear and noodles are available. A stairway takes you down to the warm water. My 9 year old son and I would be in the pond at 6:30 in the morning. Outdoor lights made is possible for us to be in the pond well into the night. The pond is below street level so passer-bys cannot see the water. The trees/bushes at the fence should offer more privacy in a couple of years after they've grown a little more. Bring flashlights because the whole area has no street lights and is pitch black at night. LED headlights made night walks much more enjoyable. Bring a laser pointer. The fish and the geckos will try to eat the red dot. It rained everyday, but ONLY for a few minutes. Its always t-shirt and shorts weather, but the nights could get alittle chilly. Also, the nights got noisey with all the different bird and frog sounds.. The tide pools are a 3 minute walk away. You will be blown away by its beauty!!! A naturally heated PUBLIC pond is about 3 miles south. It has no signs, but is right next to the school. The house gets no Verizon cellphone signal, but the house provides a cordless phone/answering machine. We used a calling card to make calls to home. You'll get a signal as you drive towards Pahoa. I strongly suggest bringing a GPS, because you WILL get lost, even WITH the GPS. Kehena Beach is a clothing-optional black sand beach about 15 miles south. It, too, is beautiful. You WILL see naked people there. We stayed a week and it wasn't long enough. The house/pond was just so inviting, it kept us home more than we anticipated. I would recommend this house to anyone. I can't begin to describe how magnificent it is. I strongly recommend staying at least a week. You'll regret anything less!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

Punana Kiowai was a quaint and comfortable property. The house was well stocked and had great amenities to use such as bikes and beach equipment. The neighborhood is really quiet and beautiful to take walks around. Snorkling was fantastic, a great place to introduce children as it is so protected. Terry the property manager was always available to answer any questions. Would love to return some day. The Puna are is great to explore, a must see.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hidden Gem!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Thanks for introducing us to this beautiful location on the Big Island! Our kids loved swimming with the fish in the pond and were happy that the water was so warm. The lagoon across the street had some of the best snorkeling I've done and we pretty much had the place to ourselves to explore. Our highlight was watching an amazing lava flow at night on New Year's Eve. Your house was so cozy & quaint that no one wanted to leave to go to our hotel in Kona! We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Just returned from five nights at the house. We loved it. Swimming in the tidepool in the yard was terrific - warm and clean and quite large enough tio swim around. The tide pools were a block away and the snorkeling was top notch. The property is very secluded from the neighbors and we enjoyed the outdoor lanai and shower. The hosts provided snorkel and beach gear and the house was very well equiped with everything you could need. We will return for another stay for sure. Thanks for a great vacation experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

comfortable house

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

House was clean and comfortable but a little warm could use additional fans. Loved wrap around lanai (porch) and screened patio. The info that was left was a bit outdated but none the less it was helpful. Nice quite neighborhood and alot of privacy. We would have liked to have known that when the tide went out the pool level dropped too, we would have planned accordingly. It was nice having the washer and dryer out in its own laundry room helping to reduce the humidity as the area was humid. We did have a difficult time finding restaurants as there wasn't any info left for them and it was a distance to get to them. We liked the Black Rock Cafe, watched football and had a sandwich. We found some really "neat" places to walk and thought the tide pools were cool! We would and already have recommended this place to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolute Paradise!

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

Please don't be fooled by the pictures. This place is more cozy and authentic than it looks, less polished, which made it perfect in my eyes. The lovely table on the balcony isn't even shown. That is where we had most of our meals overlooking the unbelievable pond. The property has thick jungle on 3 sides. You can just see bits of roofs through the palms on one side. While it isn't as private in the front there were maybe 5 cars and 2 dog walkers who passed by in a day. There are neighbors but everyone has thick vegetation-private but not isolated. Kapoho Tide Pools and the Wai'Ope Marine Sanctuary are just a few yards from the house.
I was concerned that the pond might be murky but it was crystal clear, warm, larger and deeper than I expected. We even snorkled in it to check out the little crabs and crayfish. It was like being in an aquarium. This place is truly amazing.
We fly stand by so we were unable to book in advance. I E-mailed Terry, the property manager, prior to leaving home and we left it at if the house is still available when we get there we'll take it. We called from Kona Airport made arrangement from our hotel and we were in the house the next day! Mitzi the care taker and neighbor came to our rescue at 7:00am (in her bathrobe) when we had a problem with a lock. I can not say enough about this exceptional property and the people who take care of it.
We had thought about staying 2nights here and there around the Island so we could see the sites but this was sooo much better. On Wednsday we went to the farmers market in Hilo. The flower stands were so beautiful. I purchased an armful of anthuriums for what a few stems would cost here. Another day we left around 10:00am and drove all the way up to the cliffs on the north coast. We followed the directions and suggestions in the book the owners had put together and had a great day trip. We were back by 7:00pm. We also did a day trip to Volcano National Park. The road down to Kalapana where the lava flow cut off access to the area is south of Kapoho and there are several parks along the way. At the end of the road is a Kava Bar, grocery store, cafe and several people selling hand made jewelry and some incredible photographs of the active lava flow just over the hill.
My only regrets are that I purchased too much food in Keaau so we didn't get to eat at the restaurants in Pahoa and that there were other renter arriving so we could only stay 1 wk.
Perfect Vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Hawaii House

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

The house and the location was beautiful. The house had everything we needed for an amazing stay. The heated pool was great to relax in and with your feet on the bottom you could actually feel the heat rising up out of the ground. The cheerful little lizards that are abundant in the area are always a treat to see and are fun to spot around the property. Also could not be closer to the best tide pools I have ever snorkeled in, only a 30sec drive or a 2min walk at the most.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July stay 2010

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

My parents, husband and daughter stayed at the house July 7-10. Wished we could have stayed there longer. Very relaxing and we all loved the song of the frogs at night. We even BBQ'd and ate in the sun room one night so we could be seranaded by them while we ate dinner. The house had everything to make the stay convenient and the lava pool made it extra special. We would love to rent it again on our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful and welcoming tropical retreat

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

Our stay at the Punana House came after a week at Puako Beach near Waikoloa. We enjoyed our first lodging there on the west side, but it was small, low-stocked on essential items for renters, and not very private. So when we arrived at Punana House, our jaws dropped. The four days we planned on staying here were quickly extended to six (thanks to both the airlines and the property rental agent being flexible), and we are SO glad it worked out that way.

The privacy was incredible -- we loved the pool, the screen room, and the airiness of the living room and lanais. I have been using vrbo for years and have never stayed at a place so well-stocked for a traveler -- unbelievable how thoughtful this place has been set up with kitchen and cooking supplies, beach stuff, entertainment (books, cd's, dvd's), and ample comfortable seating throughout the inside and outside of the house. BARGAIN ALERT!!!

This is NOT for everyone: this is a comfortable, clean, spacious, private vacation home, not a pristine resort. The geckos and birds entertained us endlessly; the singing of the coqui frogs at night bordered on annoying, but we enjoyed it nonetheless!!; you can hear the ocean but can't see it from the property, but it is only a 2-minute walk away; the Tidepools provide great snorkeling as long as you are very cautious with navigating the lava rock; the entire neighborhood is lush, gorgeous tropical rain forest, seen from every angle from the house, and the area provides a great opportunity for recreation (I ran 5 miles most mornings).

We cooked some of our meals at the home but enjoyed the restaurants in Pahoa, including Black Rock Grill, Loquin's, and the first restaurant on the right in town (name escapes me!). People watching in Pahoa is very interesting, by the way. There is a grocery store in town as well, and we found everything we needed there.

I highly recommend this property if you need a breather from stress and want quiet time in an extraordinarily beautiful setting. It does get stuffy for a small part of the day right before the sun goes down, but otherwise the breeze keeps it comfortably cool, especially at night. And this was an awesome base for exploring the volcano!! We hope to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Relaxing, peaceful getaway

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

The house had everything we needed and then some. Loved the pond and the location. The tide pools were so close we went there almost every day. The house was a little stuffy when we arrived but it cooled off soon after we opened up the doors and turned on the fans. Lots of outdoor areas to relax in in the meantime. We ate out on the lanai whenever we weren't eating out, and fed leftover crumbs to the fish. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to feel they are living in Hawaii instead of vacationing there; wish we could have stayed forever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Our stay at Punana Kiowai

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Description was accurate, place was clean and homey. Lots of extras not listed in the description (boogie boards, snorkel equipment, beach towels, etc.). It was private and very close to the tide pools. We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the tide pond out the back door. The only suggestion I would have would be to add a couple of window air conditioners. A couple of the nights got a little warm.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review