reviews for: listing #23601 - Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica Villa rental

Casa Bella Vista
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sunset Hills
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $500 /nt
    $2,200 - $5,200 /wk

sort by:

Amazing Place!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

I'm from Costa Rica, but I have been living in Austin, TX for more than 20
years. I love to visit Costa Rica with my husband and family at least
three times a year. Honestly, our experience at this beautiful house was
awesome. The VRBO/Homeaway pictures simply don't do it justice. The
caretakers of the house were really kind and friendly. There were four
little markets (pulperias) closeby to get any supplies we needed. We
highly recommend this house, as it is really nice inside and outside and
the view is second to none. We enjoyed this house a lot, especially our
kids, and we didn't want to leave since we were having a blast!

I can't wait to visit this house again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you and your family loved your stay at Casa Bella Vista. It is our goal to make your stay a pleasant one and for those memories to last a lifetime. We look forward to your next visit soon! Thank you

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Listing description accurate, but incomplete

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We are 3 adults in their mid 60s, two of us in very good shape (just came back from a Mayan expedition off the beaten paths).We rented the house for 3 weeks in Feb 2013. This house was not for us.The house is beautiful, high quality furnishings, good taste, efficient air conditioning, but :walls in dining room and service wash room need a new paint, kitchen utensil need an update (sharper knives, citrus squeezer,placemates, or a table cloth - we bought one,etc).The house also lacks the good hostess manners. From our prior experience with vacation rentals, we expected a minimum courtesy welcome, with some coffee/ tea and sugar to fix our first coffee.We found none of these. Fortunately, we arrived early enough to go shopping.We were unpleasantly surprised that the house did not offer any complimentary beach stuff (ex. chairs), particularly because the beaches around us did not provide these. Saoia, the contact person that helped us rent the place, and greeted us on arrival was splendid; she went out of her way to assist us.Unfortunately,next day she disappeared with no trace.From the very first days we asked the manager(?) to find for us another house (his company manages probably a dozen of other rentals), we also asked him to arrange for an airport transportation. He was very slow in answering, so we gave up expecting any help from him.The view is breathtaking, and the dozens of birds made our day every morning.Pool was great, but it takes all the backyard. The house is on top of a hill, with very unfriendly surroundings, hard to walk or jog.The access to the house is difficult (about 6 km of upward winding ,very dusty, dirt road).We had a 4WD ,absolutely a must for those roads.With the exception of Playa Flamingo, all the other beaches were unkept, with no amenities.The only grocery store at North American standards was AutoMarket, at about 20 Km.Restaurants in the area were mediocre, and they tried to garnish our bills by about 20%.(One very good exception : the restaurant at Sugar Beach Hotel).To conclude :the description of the listing is accurate by what it says, but it does not say a lot of very important things : difficult access, far from everything, etc. I am surprised that none of the other renters were not bothered by any of the negatives.This vacation was our worst in a long time..

Owners response: This luxury ocean view villa is exactly what the VRBO web page says it is according to this and all other reviews. The clients were thrilled with the house for a week then they wanted to move to a beach front house. I did not have any homes near the beach to move them to. We do not supply beach towels, chairs, etc. As they all disappear in a short period of time. We do supply Lounges, chairs and towels for the pool.
The utensils in the house are in very good condition and do not need to be changed. The clients were advised in advance that the house does not come with coffee or tea...
Hello Mia,
No, you will have to buy the tea, coffee, salt etc..
The house has paper towels.
Best regards,
Saioa

The house comes with a maid and caretaker. The maid will cook breakfast and lunch at no cost.
According to this review the clients enjoyed the house but did not like the location. I have never had this problem with other clients as they love the house and the spectacular views.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful house with spectacular views.

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

I stayed at Casa Bella Vista from Aug.13-19 2012. It was a group of three couples. It accommodated us very well. Saioa was very helpful with directions to beaches and restaurants. The house itself is very beautiul. I loved waking up to see a beautiful sunrise every morning. It is well maintained and updated.Sylvia and Antonio were great. They were so helpful and friendly. Antonio even taught us how to make ceviche our last night Antonio also helped us find beaches and markets to buy food.I definitely would recommend this house. The location is great and surrounding beaches are beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make your vacation one that will be remembered for years to come. Hope to see you back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home and Excellent Service

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

This was our first time visiting Costa Rica and we decided to rent a house with another family instead of going to a resort. Dealing with the property manager of Casa Bella Vista made planning our trip very easy. She was very helpful answering questions before we got to Costa Rica and then very friendly once we arrived. She gave us recommendations for places to visit, such as beaches, restaurants and sights to see. She helped put us in contact with a great tour company when we headed to Arenal. The house itself is beautiful, spacious and has the most incredible view from the balconies and there are several beautiful and secluded beaches within a 10-15 minute drive. We had 5 children of various ages with us and they loved the infinity pool and jacuzzi. The housekeepers, Antonio and Sylvia, were accessible, friendly and helpful to all of us. Antonio developed a great rapport with the children and made their trip very memorable. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make your vacation one that you will remember for years to come. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our vacation

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I can't say enough wonderful things about the beautiful house, wonderful location and staff. Antonio was amazing, we felt very safe with him next door, very helpful and sweet. My mother, son and I took a hike with Antonio. We were excited to see monkeys, he would let us know every time he saw one. Sylvia was great too! Thank
- you saioa for everything! We have been to several countries, and I can not wait to visit Costa Rica again! The people make all the difference. We hope to visit again soon.

Please thank Antonio again! We all loved him.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to make your vacation one that you will remember for years to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

I definitely recommend staying at Casa Bella Vista. The house is well appointed and, if we had a need for anything, we just had to ask the staff and, voila!, there it was! Not only were the house and view wonderful, the staff and property manager went out of their way to accomodate any request for activities and information about the area. The groundskeeper took us on hikes to find monkeys and see spectacular views and our housekeeper was fantastic...everything stayed so clean! Eight of us stayed 2 weeks and we had an absolutely marvelous and relaxing time. While one can view Flamingo Beach from the villa, you will have to drive to get there. We would stay at Casa Bella Vista again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our home and our great staff. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very nice place to spend good vacations!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

The Villa is very well equiped and maintained. The staff is kind and nice. They are always available and willing to help. The ocean view is awesome. Rooms are really nice and location is perfect not only for the view, but also it calm. I would recommend it to my friends and rent it again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Casa Bella Vista in Flamingo. We would love for you to make a return visit. Hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House, Very clean and well maintained, Friendly Service

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

I am from Costa Rica but have been living in Canada for the last 10 years (and in Miami the 5 years prior). From experience and stories from friends and family in Costa Rica I know there are many houses out there for rent. Perhaps all with breath taking views and a few minutes away from the beach. But what makes made the difference in this Villa was the maintenance. It is very well equipped and everything is working well (TVs, Fans, AC units, kitchen appliances etc) and the service offered is outstanding! the people taking care of the house (maid service and maintenance guy), live on a separate house steps away. Which is awesome because if anything happens you know where to go look for help! Also the person in charge of the rental is very amicable and a great person to work with. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Bella Vista. We hope to see you again next year! Thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Bella Vista

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2003

I feel compelled to write a review of Casa Bella Vista. I suppose the best way to discribe our visit was we felt very much at home. The house was great, the caretaker and maid worked well and inconspicously, the management, Larry Albright and his staff were terrific. The view of the coastline has got to be one of the best in all of Costa Rica. I have stayed in several places during my 18 visits to Costa Rica, this was one of the best. Thanks So Much Larry

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our goal is to make you feel at home as much as possible. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review