reviews for: listing #23675 - Hermosa Beach, California House rental

Lovely and Private- 1 block to the beach
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Great summer place!!!

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We went last july with my husband and our 3 boys and stayed for a week at the house.
We hadn´t been before in Hermosa beach and didn´t know how it would be the beach life, fortunately we chosed this house that helped us spend a terrific week with sun, beach and some surf!
The location is perfect, 1 block away from the beach entrance, this is really important as finding a parking spot can get quite difficult.
The house is very nice, it´s just like the pictures ( sometimes they make look things nicer than they are, but this was not the ocation) it has everything you might need for a vacation. We found it clean and well equipped and though the kitchen is totally open to the living space ( were the children slept) it is very confortable and we could cook with no problem( but if you are not in the mood for cooking, there´s a very helpful folder with lots of delivery options and good tips of hermosa at the house) We used the table that the patio has for lunch and many dinners as the weather couldn´t have been better.

Jackie, the owner was very generous and helpful, she let us use the bikes, beach towells and beach toys she has in the garage, and we rented 2 more bikes for the little ones on a shop very near and enjoyed a lot ridding on the path that´s beside the beach all the way to Manhattan Beach.

Hermosa and manhattan have many places to eat, shops and markets( big supermarket very near), we found Hermosa very suitable for families. We went to eat to "the rockefeller" and a of course to Matha´s 22nd st Grill. IN manhattan beach we also had lunch a couple of times at " Le pain cotidien" and a sushi place wich was excellent.
We also visited the typically LA spots ( santa monica, beverly hills, hollywood, etc) but we were happy about not living in any of those places with kids. We had a car and the freeway is easy to get from the house we din´t have much traffic problems.
We spent such a great vacation there that I would totally recomend the house!! and if we are lucky so as to go again I would rent it for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful cottage near the beach

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 27, 2013

We are a family of three (with a 3-year-old) who travel a lot and rent often on HomeAway and VRBO. We're picky about our hotels and vacation rentals, and this is one of the best places we've stayed, and for an extraordinarily fair rate to boot. We loved staying here. The place is clean, quaint and well-fitted with everything from towels and beach chairs to tea and coffee and cooking necessities.

Its decoration is lovely. Don't let the photos fool you - the place is much larger than the pictures suggest. There's even a walk-in closet in the bedroom and the living room is very comfortable. We had three other families with young children over for dinner one night, and there was plenty of room. I actually grew up in Palos Verdes, which is near Hermosa Beach, and instead of going out, all of my childhood friends hung out with us at the cottage since it was so nice.

Best of all, it's two short blocks from the beach. We went there nearly every day, enjoyed the beautiful weather, walked on the strand, and played in the sand. (Since it was early March, it was still too cold to go in the water.) Nearby Martha's is also famous for delicious breakfasts. Try the corn and gouda scramble - delicious!

Jackie, the owner, was incredibly accommodating and went out of her way to make our stay easy. You can tell she thinks of all the details in making the cottage traveller-friendly and really went above and beyond in helping us while we were there. We and our friends couldn't stop commenting on what a great place it was, in such a perfect location and for such a great rate. We look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy, Charming and Close

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Don't look any farther if you want a close to the beach, spotless, charming and utterly perfect cottage in Hermosa Beach. We came for my husband's 50th college reunion and after the events were over we stayed a week soaking in the sun, walking on the Strand (one block away), sunning on the beach, or sitting on our private deck surrounded by the glorious bougainvillea. The kitchen was very complete, but if you weren't into cooking,look up the great restaurants in the little black book. Martha's for breakfast was a must and just across the street - ate there every morning. The best piece for us was being able to open the bedroom window at night and hear the waves crashing on the beach a block away. Awesome! We'll be back when we're coming to Hermosa Beach again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Growing Up!

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We are back again! We stayed here over a month when our son was first born in 2009. We came back in 2011 for his 2nd birthday, and now we are back again for his 3rd birthday. This apartment has become our second home! The owner is wonderful. The 1-bedroom apartment is spacious, close to beach, Martha's and short walk to both Hermosa and Manhattan piers where there are lots of restaurants and coffees. Having our own off-street parking space is a big plus, no parking tickets! Just love this place. We will be back, again, and again! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

I stayed here for a week in March and absolutely loved it. The moment I walked through the gate and the private patio and into the cottage I was happy and right at home. Well furnished and extremely clean and comfortable, its an oasis inside an already great beach town. Easy walk to the beach and restaurants. This cottage is a great find and I look forward to getting back there!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Very close to shops, restaurants, and the PCH. Very smooth rental process and timely deposit return. Dog friendly. Really enjoyed our stay. Would rent again if in the area. Great patio and very comfortable house. Everything you need in the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Long overdue review!

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We've been reluctant to write a review for selfish reasons. Our warped thinking was that the more people know about this hidden gem located in Hermosa Beach, the less our chances are to book it when I want to vacation there. But in fairness to the owner, please note that this unit and its companion 1-bedroom unit are great! Nicely located between Hermosa and Manhattan Beach, they are situated 1 block off the "the Strand"/beach near Martha's restaurant (best breakfast in town!), with private parking and quiet seclusion. This unit is nicely decorated in a tropical motif with king bed, fireplace, efficiency kitchen, and a huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We have boarded here so many times that it feels like home and the owner, Jackie, is like family! Needless to say, we will be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Coming back again and again

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

We stayed 6 weeks in this lovely cottage in 2009. We came back in 2011 for 10 days and we are planning to come back again in 2012. Great location, well furnished, cozy and homey, wonderful owner. Walk to restaurants, take long walks on the strand or if you are feeling lazy order food from many nearby restaurants. Luxurious for two and comfortable enough with a kid or two. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

This cottage is perfect! It is so private with a lovely terrace and balcony. Despite its privacy it is only ONE block from The Strand and Hermosa Beach. This property is well furnished, a great size and so homely. We have just returned from a lovely holiday here and I would recommend it to others. I look forward to using it again in the future! Thank you for a great stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

My husband and I love coming to Hermosa Beach for sand volleyball.The cottage was clean and perfect in everyway,the location was so close to the beach and restaurants we never had to take a car anywhere.We enjoyed early morning walks and just sitting on our private deck,surrounded by all the beautiful flowers was relaxing in itself.Can't wait to come back next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful beach home getaway.

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My 6 year old daughter and I stayed in the beach house for 3 weeks during the month of July. We had a wonderful time. The house is comfortable and has all of the conveniences of home. The kitchen is well stocked and other amenities were provided (shampoo, soap, etc.) There are many great restaurants within walking distance. Including Martha's (amazing breakfast and lunch food) and many restaurants on Pier Ave. My daughter and I ate many meals at the back table under the stars. This house offers a lot of privacy. There is a fenced in yard and a patio with table and chairs.

We rented a bike and enjoyed daily bike rides along the Strand and around Hermosa Beach. It was amazing to be staying this close to the beach. Jackie had everything we needed for beach fun (towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, etc), it made it easy to have a great time.
If you want to be in a great location in Hermosa beach, this is the place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly clean, charming, location can't be beat

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June and it could not have been a better experience. We were hesitant to try a vacation rental for the first time but are now advocates of vacation rentals!

There are plenty of charming shops, restaurants and bars nearby. We ate at some amazing restaurants (Rock N Fish, Martha's, etc), but also saved money by cooking in the full kitchen. We rented bikes at the Hermosa Pier (walking distance away) and spent a lot of our time riding to the other nearby beach towns along the beach path. The beaches are pristine and aren't too crowded due to the low frequency of hotels in the area (big plus!).

Highly recommended - I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable and convenient.

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: June 3, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this cozy cottage. Quiet, cute, with off street parking and a short block to the beach. We could walk easily to Hermosa beach, places to eat, shop, and bike rental. We enjoyed bike riding on the strand. Was also easy to access highways to get to other places we went to, such as Disneyland, Venice Beach, the Getty Museum, and to visit our daughter in North Hollywood. Great place for a couple to stay but with room enough for a child or two.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hermosa Beach Gem is Fantastic

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

Hermosa Beach Gem is Fantastic

This was a fantastic place. It was private and had a sun deck, BBQ and lots of
flowers. You can practically throw a stone and hit the lovely beach. The
immediate area is quiet and lively. The walk to "town" is 10 minutes or so.
There are all the kitchen appliances available. The bedroom is very comfortable and roomy
as is the living room. Can park a car right in front without a problem. The
owner is a lovely person and insures that your stay is comfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

We were in So Cal to visit our son at USC. With the HOV lane all the way from Hermosa Beach to USC it was perfect. So much better than trying to stay near the campus. We loved walking into town for breakfast, lunch, etc. Long walks on the boardwalk were great and easy due to the superb location. The owner takes great pride in her property and that makes it all the better. I highly recommend it!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Faheys

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We had a wonderful time in this beach house. We have stayed in several places in Hermosa and Manhattan Beach and this is by far the best.
The house is nicely furnished, it has a nice open floor plan with lots of windows so it is sunny and airy, and it is very clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped. We really enjoyed the deck and being able to eat outdoors.
Even though the house is close to the beach and in a densely populated area, it was quiet and private.
We felt very at home there and very relaxed and, of course, loved being so close to the beach.
We would highly recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful, and CLOSE to the beach!

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for several nights in early March and the cottage was great! It was VERY private and super close to everything. Just a few short steps to the beach (you could actually hear the waves from the cottage) and the strand was wonderful. We walked for miles. We LOVED eating at Martha's, which is only about 1 block away. The cottage is actually bigger than the pictures let on and was very clean. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, Private, Great Location

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in Early April. The apartment is actually 1 block from where I grew up and from where my mother still lives! (My teenage daughters stayed with her and filled it up)......

Jackie has a great rental here and knows what she is doing to get repeat customers and good reviews. The place is convenient to everything, steps from the beach and Martha's and The Bottle Inn (great local restaurants), clean, well equipped, comfortable, private and has parking. You will get some of the usual late night party crowd noise on weekends but not as bothersome or constant like some other HB locations will be. And the windows are good so you can shut them and have it quiet. Otherwise leave them open and let the fresh sea breeze flow through this lovely little place.

Highly recommended and we will stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

Communication with the owner was easy and informative. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and perfect for us and our 2 young children. It was close to everything, yet tucked away in a quiet area. We had everything we needed including a washer, dryer, beach toys, boogie boards, etc... 'Martha's' was a wonderful place to eat on the Strand and a 2 minute walk from the cottage. We got our security deposit back quickly and would return again if we are in the area. Thanks for the stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

A little slice of heaven in Hermosa Beach. My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to "the cottage" and we've already booked for next year. Just one short block up from Hermosa Beach...far enough away from the noise of the beach but just a 2 minute walk to the Strand (a 22 mile paved path along the Pacific Ocean). Nothing like that sunset. Nice size bedroom and walk in closet. Good size bath with a huge shower. There's a combined living/dining/kitchen area that's a more than adequate size so that we didn't get in each other's way. It's very close to some absolutely wonderful restaurants but we like to eat in for breakfast and lunch. There's a great little fenced off sitting area to have your meals outside if you choose. If you decide to have a cookout, there's a Weber grill. Basically I wanted to enjoy the laid back life style of Hermosa Beach. I was looking for someplace clean, comfortable, close to the beach, and reasonably priced. It far surpassed our expectations. We were so thrilled with the place we referred our best friends and they fell in love with it as as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love it! Clean and Cozy

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Beautiful apartment with small patio surrounded by gorgeous flowers! Decorated very tastefully and equipped with everything you would need. A block from the beach and shops. We feel right at home here. Nice quiet neighborhood, with our own parking spot :) Great location for so many California attractions. Would definitely recommend for a memorable vacation. Norene Taylor

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely Charming!

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Beautiful apartment with small patio surrounded by gorgeous flowers! Decorated very tastefully and equipped with everything you would need. A block from the beach and shops. We feel right at home here. Nice quiet neighborhood, with our own parking spot :) Great location for so many California attractions. Would definitely recommend for a memorable vacation. Norene Taylor

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

A little slice of heaven in Hermosa Beach. My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to "the cottage" and we've already booked for next year. Just one block up from Hermosa Beach...far enough away from the noise of the beach but just a 2 minute walk to the Strand (a 22 mile paved path along the Pacific Ocean). Nothing like that sunset. Nice size bedroom and walk in closet. Good size bath with a huge shower. There's a combined living/dining/kitchen area that's a more than adequate size so that we didn't get in each other's way. It's very close to some absolutely wonderful restaurants but we like to eat in for breakfast and lunch. There's a great little fenced off sitting area to have your meals outside if you choose. If you decide to have a cookout, there's a Weber grill. Basically I wanted to enjoy the laid back life style of Hermosa Beach. I was looking for someplace clean, comfortable, close to the beach, and reasonably priced. It far surpassed our expectations. We were so thrilled with the place we referred our best friends and they fell in love with it as as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

A little slice of heaven in Hermosa Beach. My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to "the cottage" and we've already booked for next year. Just two short blocks up from Hermosa Beach...far enough away from the noise of the beach but just a 2 minute walk to the Strand (a 22 mile paved path along the Pacific Ocean). Nothing like that sunset. Nice size bedroom and walk in closet. Good size bath with a huge shower. There's a combined living/dining/kitchen area that's a more than adequate size so that we didn't get in each other's way. It's very close to some absolutely wonderful restaurants but we like to eat in for breakfast and lunch. There's a great little fenced off sitting area to have your meals outside if you choose. If you decide to have a cookout, there's a Weber grill. Basically I wanted to enjoy the laid back life style of Hermosa Beach. I was looking for someplace clean, comfortable, close to the beach, and reasonably priced. It far surpassed our expectations. We were so thrilled with the place we referred our best friends and they fell in love with it as as well.
Jack and Joanne Hastings

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review