reviews for: listing #23705 - Fripp Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Dolphin Watch - Beautiful & Cozy Oceanfront Villa
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Hampton
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $115 - $175 /nt
    $771 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Consistantly Wonderful

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

Every stay at Dolphin Watch has been excellent. We know when we leave home that we will find a clean, comfortable unit with relaxing decor. Because it is a corner unit, the view is amazing. We see dolphins nearly every day, as well as deer and an occasional alligator. We prefer the beach in the winter. If the weather is pleasant, we enjoy being out on the porch or walking on the beach. If it is not, the unit is so light and well-equipped, that being indoors becomes a treat! Sunrises over the water are spectacular, as are sunsets over the golf course (from the back of the unit). The owner is responsive and pleasant to work with. We enjoy Dolphin Watch so much that it makes the review sound like an exaggeration, but it is not! We feel relaxed and renewed after each trip to Dolphin Watch.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased to know that our comfort is your comfort as well. We appreciate you and your review. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Little Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

Dolphin Watch Villa has become one of our favorite places to stay. After 8 wonderful days, we were so sad to leave this beautiful and peaceful place. The condo and the amenities provided exceeded our expectations. Very quiet, clean, cozy, and comfortable. The location and views are amazing. We watched a group of Dolphins play for an hour our first afternoon! The owners were very easy to work with and provided us with great information about Fripp Island and the surrounding area. Thanks B.A. and family for a wonderful place to stay. We can't wait to return to this little piece of heaven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax and Enjoy

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

This condo is just as shown and recently repainted. If you are looking for total relaxation, nature and an ocean front vacation this is the place to stay. We stayed here for the month of October a great time of year to enjoy the island. The only way to miss seeing the dolphins play from the balcony everyday is to not to look for them. Fripp has friendly residents that make you feel welcome. Enjoy all the deer as you ride around in your golf cart (available for rent on the island-very reasonable)...our second stay and we will return...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jim and Lisa

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We have stayed at many different homes and condos on Fripp over the years. This condo was by far the cleanest and nicest place we have ever stayed. We had all the supplies such as paper towels, toilet paper, and trash bags for the whole week. The carpet and floors were very clean and the furniture was newer and not worn out. The view from the balcony is magnificent. A restaurant is just right across the street, the pool is at the bottom of the stairs, and the trash dumpster is right at the property so you don't have to accumulate trash bags all week. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone, and we plan to stay there again whenever possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

WOW! Fripp Island is a sacred vacation spot! The condo we stayed in was tastefully decorated and was spotlessly clean. This was my second time on the Island and staying at the same condo which is like a dream. It will definitely be our spot every year. The view from the living room is breaktaking, even on a rainy day; sunrise/sunset is absolutely beautiful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Unforgettable View

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

It was our first trip to Fripp Island and it was absolutely beautiful. The room was very spacious and had a perfect view as we enjoyed the daily sun rises, dolphins and deer under the balcony, The atmosphere of the island wonderful. We enjoyed being right on the beach . We are looking forward to another trip back hopefully soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Villa

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This was our second stay at Dolphin Watch. The villa is spotless and beautifully decorated. It's in a perfect location just steps from the water. From the veranda we watched a spectacular sunrise every day and watched the dolphins play. BA was very pleasant to work with. We highly recommend this villa. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Villa

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had a wonderful stay, the villa was gorgeous. The island, grounds and beaches were beautiful. We walked on the beach a lot, the whole length of the island. A wonderful view off the balcony. The villa was beautifully furnished, very comfortable. We are looking forward to going back there someday.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

30th Anniversary Stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

Fripp Island has always been a favorite beach getaway for us. This villa was perfect...the kitchen was well equipped for any kind of cooking...the dolphins were great...the weather cooperated except for one stormy day...golf was great...the bed was comfy. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves...only wished the stay could have been longer.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Getaway

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

This was one of our best getaways because of your villa...Great location & views..Clean and nicely decorated..Fripp is one of the few spots on the S. C. coast that you feel like you're on a tropical resort.
Beaufort is close and you can't beat the "shrimp shack" for lunch..We'll be back....

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to Relax

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Our stay was wonderful. The description of the unit and amenities was accurate and it was great to find out we had chose well. The owner is so courteous and nice to speak with and all communication was a pleasure. It really is a good place to watch dolphins and we saw them several times. The week was so relaxing and seemed to flow so easily but was over too quickly. Two weeks would have been great. Was fun to watch the tournament Friday. The 10th hole tee box and the 18th hole green were great to watch the action. Beautiful golf course.

Owners response: We are grateful to have such warm and caring people enjoy our home and to share their experiences with others. Each time we hear that our goal to provide a comfortable, clean and relaxing environment has been met we are encouraged. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

first time frippers

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We stayed in Dolphin Watch for two weeks and enjoyed our first trip to Fripp Island. The description of the property was accurate and we saw dolphins most days, whether standing on the balcony or at the kitchen sink. The photos were accurate as well. The unit was clean when we arrived and well equipped, including a nice gift in the fridge and we had no issues during our stay. The owner sent us a package of instructions, explaining the steps to take on arrival and during our stay.
A highlight of the stay was taking a sunset cruise through the salt marsh on a party boat from the marina where the captain provided lots of interesting information about the island, the history of the area, the tides and the dolphins.
We wanted a ocean view and Dolphin Watch provided us with morning sunsets every day except the day we were leaving. We would certainly recommend the unit to friends or relatives. Our one issue was having to go to the business office to access the free wi-fi network.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review is so descriptive and detailed that it is like reading a journal. We ae delighted that our guests enjoy the total experience of our home and the wonderful Fripp Island. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent view- location- villa

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We rented Dolphin Watch Villa the end of August 2011 and have been to Fripp Island before, but this villa by far was the best place we stayed to date! The villa was spotless- location was breathtaking and the hosts were more than accomodating! We hope to get back there soon and hopefully be able to rent the same villa! Definitley would recommend to everyone looking for a quiet, peaceful vacation spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are gratified to know that those that share our home enjoy the experience. We also appreciate that you would take time to share your experience with others. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Fripp and our 1st in the Dolphin Watch Villa. We spent a week during the July 4th weekend. Although the island was busy, we had no problem accessing the beach, pools etc with the rental of our golf cart. The villa was perfect for our family of four, which included our children ages 2 and 4. It was very clean and had everything we needed for the week. The view of the ocean from the deck was spectacular as we saw dolphins, turtles, otters, birds etc. We took sightseeing trips on the golf cart everyday to see the deer and alligators. Gaye's Seafood right off the island is a great place to buy fresh seafood. We will definitely keep this villa in mind the next time we visit Fripp. Thanks for allowing us stay in your beautiful condo. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Villa

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

We found the description was very accurate with the villa being very clean and perfectly equipped for a very relaxing holiday. BA made us feel very welcome with a welcoming gift and a follow up phone call whilst we were there. The villa's amenities (ie books, DVDs, games, candles etc) all helped to make our holiday all the more enjoyable. The complex itself provided numerous activities as well as easy access to a wonderful uncrowded sandy beach where the beach chairs and umbrella provided in the villa really proved their worth.
We would certainly recommend this property and location to those wanting a "get away from it all" break.
Dave & Gill Morris
Kent, United Kingdom

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful location- just as described in listing

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had a wonderful week at the end of July and actually escaped the heat in the NE with moderate temps in SC! Dolphin Watch provided a fully stocked villa with plenty of room for the 3 adults and our 3 yr. old grandchild. Beautiful views of the inlet complete with dolphins swimming, pelicans, and shore birds flying close by, enhanced our visit. Very convenient location, especially if you golf with the Ocean Pt. course right across the street. Golf carts are definitely the way to travel all over the island and highly recommended, especially for closeups of all the roaming deer and gators by the ponds. Very quiet location on the water but guests must take a golf cart or car to ocean beaches. Owners were very easy to contact and pleasant through the renting process. All was as described; very clean and neat and well stocked-wish we lived closer to come more often!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is our pleasure to share our home with such wonderful people. It is helpful to know the opinions of our guests. We will continue to do our best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

sandy

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My college room mate and I go to the beach every year - this place is delightful - everything we ecpected and more! The island is secluded and the deer are delightful - I would recommend this condo to anyone! It is in a great location between other areas to visit - it was a great week.
sandy

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

40th Anniversary

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

We spent our 40th anniversary here (3 nights, June 1 thu June 4). This property was very,very clean. It is supplied with everything you will need. We did see deers just outside our room and dolphins one morning. A very peaceful stay. I would rent this villa again. The owner is very thoughtful, (with the relaxing gift left in the fridge) and is easy to rent from.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Place Ever

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2011

This is hands down the best place. The home was very relaxing, the view is outstanding, and dolphins you WILL see everyday. I took my honeymoon there and I will be back for family vacations. I promise you will not go wrong choosing this beautiful home. I can't wait to go back:)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

We saw dolphins every day during our stay. We were extremely satisfied with every aspect of this property. It was spotless, well appointed, and exceptionally comfortable. We have rented all our vacation properties through vacationrentals.com, and while they have all been just what we expected, this one seriously exceeded our expectations. My wife and I celebrated our 30 year anniversary, and Dolphin Watch condo and the beauty of Fripp Island combined to make it the second honeymoon of our dreams.

David and Miriam, Ann Arbor, MI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Rhonda and Tev's excellent adventure!

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

Our entire Fripp Island experience was everything we had hoped for and more!! The accommodations were absolutely wonderful. B. A goes above the call of duty to ensure the guest have everything they need! A well stocked kitchen, beach towels, fresh linens, candles, and music. The rental was clean, and smelled so nice! Each day we experienced something different, an amazing view, relaxing beaches, clean pools, a trip to Beaufort, and of course the Dolphins and deer. It was fun to just enjoy the view, and listen to music while we prepared a wonderful meal of fresh shrimp (bought at a local seafood shop), collard greens (have to experience the south) corn on the cob, and wine! I cant wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a place to RELAX!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

May 2010
Arriving in the evening after 16 hours on the road we walked in exhausted and much to our delight this condo was perfect. We could not believe how close to the ocean. You could throw a rock from the balcony and hit it. The condo was clean, large, kitchen was equipped with all the cooking gear, towels, etc. I cannot say enough nice things about this condo. We watched the sunrise from the balcony, dolphins at happy hour and deer at dusk. The golf courses are great and we truly relaxed for the first time in years. We rented a golf cart to get around the island. The owners of this condo are easy to work with and always get back to you in a matter of hours with any questions you might have. We will be back and of course stay here. A++++++++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Rare and Exceptional Vacation Spot

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

My wife and I were thrilled with the time we spent at this beautiful property. The views from this corner unit are spectacular as are the sunrises and the sounds of crashing waves. The property was immaculate and the beds comfortable. We loved walking on the beaches and exploring the beautiful State Park which is very close to this site.The very historical city of Beaufort is nearby and is one of the oldest European settlements on the Atlantic Coast. In addition, Charleston is about 2 hours away and Savannah is about a one hour drive. The owner was a joy to deal with and we look forward to spending many future vacations here.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate the feedback, it is good to know that our guests enjoy our home and the surrounding area as well. Thank you for being such gracious guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A slice of paradise!

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

This vacation destination was exactly what we were looking for...the mornings and evenings at the villa were amazing! You just can't get any closer to the water than this! We so enjoyed the private pool for us and our children, the golf cart rental made it a lot of fun, too! My husband's favorite spot was what we affectionately called the "back yard" - he'd grab a chair, sit on the grass next to the sea wall by the 18th green and drink his coffee in the AM and watch the ocean and golfers come in...The deer would come to our back yard and the kids could litterally feed them out of their hands. The villa was very clean and well-appointed. We would definitely come back in the future! Thank you for a "fripptastic" and memorable week and sharing your get away with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything and More!

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 30, 2009

Our family was in great need of a get away such as this. Dolphin Watch Villa was everything we had hoped and more. Of course we were skeptical that our accommodations could be as lovely as described but we were so blessed with a spotless villa with a view like none other. The island had something to offer for everyone in way of activities but we opted to just utilize the pool(s) or ocean accesses. Golf carts were available but not a must.
We were so thrilled with our daily dolphin visits, our 8 year and even our 16 year old was most impressed!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellence

Review submitted: December 24, 2008   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

We have stayed at Dolphin Watch three years in a row. Each year as we make travel plans we know that your place will be included. You have consistently provided a spotless environment, a tasteful decor and all the amenities one could ask for. As for Fripp Island, it is beautiful with so much to do. We do find it difficult to pull ourselves away from your great view, and the sunrises just awesome. Looking forward to the next time.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: We share our home and hope that others will enjoy it as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Get away

Review submitted: December 22, 2008   Date of arrival: December 5, 2008

Went for a walk along the beach, listened to the waves lapping against the shore and watched deer as close as fifteen feet interact with each other.

I found a book in the condos library among the many books and movies available, curled up on the sofa under a sunbeam and read.

Fripp Island is one of those resorts that you can be as busy as you like or as laid back as you like. Although there are water sports, tennis, fishing and golfing.I spent my weekend relaxing and was estatic!

The condo was spotless. Everything we needed was available from coffeepots, to stove top grills. It was like being in a bed and breakfast end minus a host.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location!

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

The Dolphin watch villa is a nice and well-maintained property with sea-view. There is a small shared swimming pool and a larger pool available just a few minutes walk away. We went beginning of September and loved the peace and quiet of the island.

Nearby Hunter Island is beautiful and its not too far away from Savannah or Charleston to take a daytrip to those beautiful cities.

If you're looking for a quiet place for two, away from city business with wildlife surrounding you (saw dolphins, pelican flights, deer, herons, crabs, etc...), and be close to the golf course, then this is the place for you.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. It is great to receive such positive feedback, it confirms that we are meeting our goals.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review