reviews for: listing #23801 - St George Island, Florida House rental

Kinja Kool, Bayfront w/Elevator, Close to Beach
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kinja Bay
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $231 - $407 /nt
    $1,615 - $2,850 /wk
    $2,980 - $3,370 /mth

sort by:

Great Place

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Memorable vacation. We rented a boat at Wefing's Marina that the owner hooked us up with in Appalachicola and kept it with us at Kinja's dock the whole week. We ran all over the bay and out on the gulf every day. Caught a bunch of fish despite the fact we are from Indiana and were pretty ignorant on salt water fishing. It was an awesome experience. Challenging and awesome. The house, the views, the pool, the beaches, the state parks.... what a cool place. Sometimes I read these reviews and see people complain about rather tedious things. Look, this house was great and we were happy with everything, but if you are out experiencing all that this area has to offer, you wouldn't care about a minor annoyance anyway. The is really an area that can best be experienced by boat. It's was challenging & it wasn't cheap, but it was worth every dime! Imagine a vacation where you can lay around the pool, walk the beach, swim in the ocean and boat & fish on the gulf or the Bay. Tough to beat....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just about perfect for what we needed!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our group loved this house! It is much larger than it appears in the pictures. There isn't a bad view no matter where you are, since there are so many balconies. The sunsets over the bay are spectacular. We had two children under 5 and not being directly on the beach ended up not being an issue. Not only is it a short walk, it's a VERY short drive if needed, and we were able to park right next to the beach entrance. As has been stated, the elevator can be a lifesaver.

I wouldn't change much. The twin beds were a little hard. And the water pressure in the showers was a little low (but we never ran out of hot water even with 8 adults). The stove top was a little tricky. But overall those were very minor.

I would/will stay here again. If you enjoy the slow life of St George, then you will love this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home for a group , or family

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

The house was great. We took our mother who is 85, and has a little trouble getting around. The house is quite , there are plenty of seats , to include the porches , both front and rear. Everything worked well. Plenty of dishes to make meals. The washer and dryer workede fine. We, the children, are allin our 50's and everything worked fine. The pool has steps for easy access. And the water was clear.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm so glad this family had a wonderful experience at our house. More importantly, they had an opportunity to make beautiful memories.
The elevator is a tremendous help when an elderly person is in the party or for people of any age with physical limitations.

Please come back and tell all your friends about Kinja Kool!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise Found!!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

This beautiful, bay-front home is spacious and well-appointed. Lovely views of both Apalachicola Bay and the Gulf from the four balconies. The dock is excellent for fishing, we caught a variety of species and had lots of fun. The house had all the comforts of home, and was well-stocked with everything we needed. Because one of our guests was disabled, the elevator was a life-saver. The location is perfect, quiet and private just the way we like it! The owner was very easy to work with, and rented to us on short notice. I would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a great Florida getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kinja Kool. Please return and enjoy a 5% discount we offer to all return renters. And please tell your friends about St. George Island and our home. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This is our third rental house on this island and while we love the location, the house needs a few updates...

Pros: nice view of bay and the ocean, nice pool area, nice gated community with room for children to play, a/c works well.

Cons: dirty carpets, not enough comfortable/plush seating for a group of 10 (only plush seating are the sofas, which hold a total of 6 people), beds are tired/worn and uncomfortable.

If the cons were corrected, this would be an outstanding place to stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Carpets get cleaned frequently. As you can imagine, with traffic, it is a necessity. Two additional comfortable chairs have been ordered for the living room. The owner and owner liaison have checked the beds and find them to be fine. Some are like new; the masters even have foam on top of a good mattress.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review