reviews for: listing #23849 - Myrtle Beach, South Carolina House rental

Ocean Lakes,MB 5 bedrm 3.5 bath 200 yds to water, Huge decks
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean Lakes
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $300 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

Beach house and family camping

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My family and friends rented this home for our summer beach trip. This was the first time for our family in Myrtle Beach. Although the description states that the home sleeps 14, I feel that might be a little tight. We had five adults and three children and a baby and it was comfortable. Any more would have been overcrowded as there is limited kitchen/living room space.

Future renters should note that this home is located in a family campground property, thus the pool is shared by the entire camping/beach house community (slightly more crowded than I thought). The kiddie pool/splash zone was great for our three year old and nine month old! The location of the house was not what I expected as Ocean Lakes Family Campground (the facility where this beach house is located) was extremely crowded - houses are very close together. However, I felt very safe when I would run in the early morning as there is security 24hrs.

Rent the golfcart! It is money well spent! The homeowners were wonderful to work with.
Although it was not what I expected, we had a great time and now understand the layout of the different communities in Myrtle Beach.

Owners response: The history of Ocean Lakes and how it is still part campground has significance to what it has evolved into today. 45 years ago the Jackson Family bought the property and established it as a campground. Throughout the years and some major hurricanes later, for safety sake, they decided to do something different with the grounds. They allowed houses to be built above flood stage on the spots where the campsites used to be. Mr. Jackson, an avid camper asked that a small part of the grounds remain as actual campsites- a family tradition he loved for over 60 years. Both he and his wife have recently passed away, both in their 90’s and within a year of each other. We cherish the campground side of the resort- we take cart rides every night while we are there just to smell the campfires! We hope that the Jackson Family will always honor their wish and keep a small part of Ocean Lakes a camping area so that like them, families can enjoy camping and the beach, and all within steps of one another. (This is not tent camping- you should see the deluxe motor homes!)

If you have read the signs upon entering Ocean Lakes you will see the banners hanging for years of winning “Best of the Beach”- this is why in MB, Ocean Lakes is the # 1 vacation destination year after year. The resort itself and all it offers is what helps us rent our house year after year! To just own a beach house is great- to have a beach house located within Ocean Lakes is even greater and we wouldn't change a thing about it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We have been home from our vacation just a few days. It was by far the best vacation ever!!! This house is worth every penny we spent. This house is ideal for several families to get together at. We rented the house for a family reunion with our daughters and their families. After two days everyone was planning on coming back next year. Thanks Jim and Lori for such a wonderful house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: I am so happy that you and your family chose our beach house to vacation in and that you found it ideal for all. I hope you can make it your official reunion spot year after year. When we had spoken earlier you added that Ocean Lakes was more than you ever thought it would be- especially all of the fun that you had with your grandchildren. Thanks again and visit us soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Myrtle Beach Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Our family of 9 adults and 3 children stayed this home over Memorial Day weekend and absolutely loved it. The house was clean, roomy and very comfortable. You truly feel at home while on vacation. The wrap around deck was great it allowed a safe play area for the children and a great place for the adults to relax as well. The location was perfect, a couple minutes walking and you are the beach. It is also located about 10 minutes to Murrells Inlet which has great food. We were pleasantly surprised with Dagwood's bar & grill, the food was excellent and almost walking distance to the grounds. A great place to visit for a great meal and a cocktail without breaking the bank. My husband and I own a home in Murrells Inlet but could not accomodate our large vacationing family. Staying in this house was nothing short of our own. Our family had a wonderful full time and this home was part of that, allowing us to enjoy a home away from home. I hope to have vacation here again and would definetely select this house again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the highest compliment- coming from a family who owns a nearby beach house. We love our location also. Within Ocean Lakes it is off the busy main path to the beach and amenities, but close to everything. Within Myrtle Beach it is in South MB, away from the congestion of the local attractions, yet close to it all.
Thank you for the compliments on the cleanliness of the house-something we strive for with its upkeep.
Please come back with your family and visit again!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

3 Family Dance Competition Vacation

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The house was in a great location in Ocean Lakes! We had 6 adults and 7 kids under the age of 12 in the house and had a great vacation that we will always remember. The kids all loved the golf cart cruising at night!! I think that we bought out all of the glow in the dark necklaces and bracelets and anything else we could wear or decorate the golf cart in the MB area for the week. The owners were great and actually called twice during the week when they were alerted that some things from the previous week were damaged. I would highly recommend this beach house to anyone!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks so much 'family of four'!
I am so happy that you joined in the family fun of 'cruising at night'. I know my own kids look forward to the nights as much as the beautiful days on the beach. Where else can families and kids of all ages enjoy 'cruising' in a safe and secure resort without even leaving the grounds?
We love our location within Ocean Lakes. It is the reason why we bought the second house in the same location- close to everything, yet off of the main 'cruise' areas and walkable to the beach and back!
We are so happy to be a part of your memories!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our Vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Our stay at the beach was wonderful. The house was great. There was plenty of room for all the guys upstairs and the girls downstairs. The parking was the best that I have ever had in Ocean Lakes. There was a lot of food cooked on the grill, now my teenagers was me to do away with our gas grill and just use charcoal. The house is in a quiet location away from most of the golf cart cruising. It was very clean inside and out. I would recommend this property to my friends not just because of the house itself, but also because the owner is a very good person to work with.

Had a blast!
Susan

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Susan,

It was my pleasure to work with you, also. I'm so happy that you could get away with your children and enjoy all that our house and Ocean Lakes offers for families.
Thanks for the nice compliments and we hope that when you want to feel 'the sand between your toes', you come back and visit us!

Sincerely,
Lori & Jim Schutte

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Gathering at Myrtle Beach

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Review Submitted: 02/12/11

Great location, away from heavy traffic,but close enough to the beach. Deck was a great place for late afternoon happy hour or early morning quiet. Outside shower a plus. Our family had a wonderful week and will do it again. Owners are very personable and attentive

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

We all had the best time. We will make this our family vacation spot every year. The house is beautiful and when we arrived, it was very clean. The location is perfect and we could all walk to and from the beach with no problem.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home away from Home!!

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We have stayed at this home twice and both times have exceeded our expectations! It is walking distance to the beach and to the strip but far enough removed from the hustle and bustle that it is also very peaceful and private. Plenty of room for two families to stay and in and it easily fits all of our cars (one being an Ford Expedition). Another great part to this house is the house beside it is owned by the same family so we were able to rent both houses the same week which accomodated our large extended group one of the years we stayed. Very clean, beautifully decorated and was truly like staying in our second home. I would highly recommend! The owners are great to work with as well!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review