reviews for: listing #23851 - Santa Barbara, California Cottage rental

Exceptional Guesthouse: classic charm great location
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown Upper East
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $140 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk
    $2,420 - $2,420 /mth

sort by:

Great property and stay!

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

This is a fantastic property in a great location in Santa Barbara. You are walking distance from tons of restaurants and attractions and have easy access to the 101 to go elsewhere. The guesthouse itself is squeaky clean and has everything you need for your stay, including a kitchen if you would like to cook. I was also provided with a nice list of places to eat, of which every one I tried was excellent. Highly recommend this property for a single or couple travelling to the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

Very nicely decorated, cozy, pretty, and quiet. Owners are very pleasant and provided lots of info about what to do in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Escape phoenix

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

We had a very relaxing stay. It was nice to be within walking distance of town but still feel removed from the hustle and bustle while hanging out at the guest house.
Barbara and Russell were very friendly but also gave us our space. They also had great recommendation for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Truly exceptional

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

For us this was a first-class property, with warm hospitality from the hosts. Not only do they provide tips on the region, events and restaurants, they shared time with us as if we were old friends. Barbara and Russell offer advice with great discretion, letting guests find their way at their own pace. This was a great place to recover from jet lag, being very quiet; kitchen and bath are fully stocked with quality amenities; it is easy to find, convenient location. Wifi is fast, easy and much better than hotel internet. An ideal choice for self-catering accommodation. We'll definitely be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

OUR STAY AT ISLAY

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 21, 2014

THIS PLACE WAS EXACTLY LIKE DESCRIBED IN THE REVIEWS AND WE LOVED IT. BARBARA AND RUSSELL ARE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AND YOUR PRIVACY IS TOTAL. THE IS BOUNTIFUL INFORMATION IN THE BINDER BARBARA HAS MADE FOR VISITORS. BY TAKING THE TROLLEY TOUR THE FIRST MORNING, WE WERE ABLE TO IDENTIFY THINGS THAT WE WANTED TO DO WHILE IN SB. DEE'S WINE TOURS ARE A BARGAIN AND SO MUCH FUN. AN AFTERNOON AT BURRO BEACH AND DINNER AT HENDRI'S, WHICH IS RIGHT THERE, WAS AWESOME AND REASONABLE. WE MADE A RESERVATION WHEN WE GOT TO THE BEACH THEN DINED IN OUR BATHING SUITS AND T SHIRTS AT 5:30. OUR TABLE WAS AS PROMISED, RIGHT ON THE WATER! tHE FRESH FISH WAS AWESOME.
WE BOTH FELT THAT THE RENTAL WAS A TREMENDOUS VALUE AND MUCH MORE COMFORTABLE THAN A HOTEL ROOM.
WE SHALL RETURN!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charming Cottage

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

I stayed in this charming cottage in an upscale, quiet neighborhood as a solo female traveller visiting relatives. You are within walking distance of the Historic Downtown district, several parks, and a 5 minute walk to the Santa Barbara Mission. Parking is at your front door, Wifi is reliable, kitchen well outfitted for cooking, if you desire, but you are within walking distance of some fine restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

No hesitationto award the Cottage five stars.

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

We found the guest house a delight and it was everything we wanted. Charming and helpful owners, easy parking right outside the front door, an extremely comfortable bed and a kitchen ideal for simple meals. It is located in the heart of SB so we often walked to the shuttle and took it but other times drove as parking all over SB seems very easy. We loved our whale trip, the Botannical Gardens, the view from the Courthouse, the Mission and the Museum of Art and the shopping and restaurants are excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tahoe guests

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Very cute,very clean,very close to downtown.Nice,quiet neighborhood.Had everything you need to cook a nice
romantic meal.Would return in a heart beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

perfect for one

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

The guesthouse was perfect for my visit. It is close to downtown but in a quiet residential upper east side setting...I'll be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

A charming and comfortable place, perfectly clean and furnished with everything you could possibly need. We were happy to find it.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

I've stayed at a number of rentals during the past several years, while visiting my SoCal sons, but not in one as well-appointed, cozy,charming and convenient as this; it will be my "Come-Back-To" rental whenever I return to the Santa Barbara area.
The owners Barbara and Russell are cordial and most accommodating.
I cannot recommend this cottage situation too highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

a perfect place to relax and unwind

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We stayed in this guesthouse for three weeks and we enjoyed every single day!
The little house is very charming, clean and has everything you need for a great vacation in southern California. The neighborhood is nice,calm and close to more or less everything.
Since we didn't have to rush through anything, we took our time, relaxed on the porch, cooked our own dinners and just enjoyed the calm atmosphere.
Nevertheless, we also explored beautiful Santa Barbara with all ist pretty sights, shops and restaurants! We also did nice day trips to the wine country or to L.A. which we really enjoyed a lot.
Barbara and Russell are GREAT hosts - always friendly and helpful but never intrusive! They are definitely one reason why we would love to come back to Santa Barbara and the house in East Islay Street!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time in St. Barbara

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We had a wonderful staying for 5 days in St. Barbara: The apartment was comfortable, very beautiful designed and absolutely quiet. We walked to the city or to the Old Mission because this part of the town is full of fine gardens, many trees and parks. We enjoyed as well the restaurants nearby, the coast with its scenic sites and the culture in town. The owners are helpful - so we will be pleased to recommend this cottage to our friends without any hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Live like a local!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

I can't say enough about how wonderful this place is, but I almost don't want to, for fear that it will be booked the next time we make a trip to SB!
If living like a local instead of a tourist is your preference, this guest house is the next best thing to putting down roots. It's clean, comfortable, and has everything you could possibly need in a home away from home. I loved the private patios, the adorable vintage Craftsman architecture, and the feeling that I was staying with a friend rather than a rental. There's plenty of space for bikes (we brought ours) and I never worried that I'd come back to them missing. (very bike friendly here!)
The neighborhood is perfect- adorable, quiet, and close to everything!
Thanks again, Barbara, for a wonderful stay in your fantastic guest house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a week in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This is a great place for two. We stayed 1 week everything we needed in the way of kitchen and bath supplies were included except food of course. Barbara and Russell were very cordial and available if needed. would recommend this property for you stay in Santa Barbara

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Farmer Guests

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 12, 2013

Everything was comfortable and enjoyable. The location was good for our one month stay, which we did without a car, walking, biking, and using busses. It was quiet and we slept well in the comfortable bed. The owners and their dog, Lulu, were good hosts.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted: March 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

Close enough to easily walk into downtown but tucked just far back enough to make it all seem a world away. This guesthouse—immaculate beyond compare—is peaceful, cozy and well appointed. We had some of the best sleep ever in that quiet room (a level of rest now referred to as "Santa Barbara sleep") and left rested and ready for the new year. Rita and Yvette, Austin, TX

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Guesthouse: A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

What could be better than entering a spotless, well laid out, attractive home? The bedroom is spacious and comfortable with interesting books on the shelves, and informational pamphlets about Santa Barbara close at hand. The kitchen is well stocked with implements and appropriate pots and pans to enable guests to prepare any type of meal. The home is located on a quiet street in a lovely neighborhood close to shopping and the downtown area. Barbara, the owner, is most welcoming, and was happy to answer any questions that we had regarding restaurants, directions, etc. Both Henry and I truly enjoyed our stay, and are looking forward to a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful holiday cottage in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

We have just spent a perfect two weeks holiday in Santa Barbara staying at this wonderful, self-containedcottage, comprising large bedroom, kitchen with breakfast bar and bathroom with bath/shower. It is very comfortable, clean and well equipped, The location is a quiet residential area within walking distance of the town and close to one of the local bus routes. The owners (Barbara & Russell) were very friendly and helpful, having supplied lots of information about local places of interest and restaurants.They could not have made us more welcome, This amazing accommodation exceeded all our expectations and we do plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful holiday cottage in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

We have just spent a perfect two weeks holiday in Santa Barbara staying at this wonderful, self-contained
cottage, comprising large bedroom, kitchen with breakfast bar and bathroom with bath/shower. it is very comfortable, clean and well equipped, The location is a quiet residential area within walking distance of
the town and cloe to one of the local bus routes. The owners (Barbara & Russell) were very friendly and
helpful, having supplied lots of information about local places of interest and restaurants.They could not have made us more welcome, This amazing accommodation exceeded all our expectations and we do plan to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place From Which to Enjoy Santa Barbara

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

I was in Santa Barbara in October for a 'do-nothing' vacation and this guesthouse was the perfect place to stay! Barbara greeted me upon arrival and ensured I knew where things were (including the heat as it was chilly the first couple nights!) in the spotless house. I slept so well on the wonderful bed (only one hotel bed beats this one in all my travels!) and woke up to sunshine and birds; a nice contrast to the gray, chilly fall weather I came from.

The main downtown area was a short walk away that I explored the next day. Santa Barbara is small enough to easily do a good deal of exploring by foot. Barbara's recommendation list is the best! A valuable list especially if you're new to Santa Barbara. Two that I'd add to the list: Crush Cakes for the cupcakes (on the way to State Street) and The Daily Grind for coffee/breakfast/lunch with a local fee (Mission + De La Vina).

Between the quiet neighborhood that made lounging at any time of the day possible and the proximity to things to do, it is the perfect location. This will be my first thought of where to stay when I'm able to visit again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Get Away

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

My husband and I needed what I call a "minimoon" before we get to take our actual honeymoon in January. A nice, long weekend of cozy, peaceful relaxation is what we wanted and that is exactly what we got. We were greeted by the owners, whom were so kind and thoughtful - they left us a bottle of wine with a congratulatory note attached in the kitchen and fresh flowers in the bedroom. The guesthouse had more than enough room, was well appointed and exceptionally clean, in fact, that might have been the cleanest bathtub I have ever seen. Ooh and great cozy, plush towels too... Location was great, close to the Mission and just about a 10 to 15 min. walk down to State Street. We walked everywhere we needed and wanted to go. I would definitely recommend this property as we would easily stay there again! Thanks again, Barbara and Russell!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A perfect place to unwind and relax

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

After an exciting and loud week in Las Vegas we were looking forward to having a week of unwinding and relaxing. We found the perfect place with this cottage. Just the right size for two people and absolutely charming. We felt at home right away and Barbara and Russell did theirs to add to this. Set in a quiet street you cannot tell you are in the middle of Santa Barbara. Nevertheless it only takes you a short drive and you are right were it all happens. The gorgeous beaches and surrounding mountains are perfect for day trips. Yet we always looked forward to going back in the evening to enjoy a meal in the cozy kitchen or a read on the porch. We can very much recommend this charming cottage and would love to return in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Delightful cottage, more than met our expectations

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We spent a month in this cottage. All fixtures and furnishings were first class. Cottage was immaculate. My wife especially like the covered porch and sofa, water feature and wind chimes. Location was ideal, quiet residential area but close to the beach and shops. The hosts, Russell and Barbara were most accommodating. We are highly recommending this cottage to our daughter and husband who are planning a future trip to Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely cottage in a good location

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

If you are looking for a peaceful, cozy, well priced place to stay in Santa Barbara, this cottage is for you. Located in an interesting residential area 4 blocks from the mission, you'll also be less than a 10 minute drive from many restaurants and shops. Hosts Barbara and Russell are friendly and have clearly given thought as to how the cottage is set up in terms of kitchen items, towels, area tourist literature and other necessities. We highly recommend this property!

Karen and Dennis

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quintessential Santa Barbara Cottage!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights in this LOVELY cottage. It really is a gem. Light, airy, and charming, on a quiet street, but near the hub of the city. The top notch amenities -- from super comfortable bed, complete kitchen items, absorbent bath towels, to fast wifi - made it easy to make ourselves at home. Extra bonus for us was a secure, gated area where we locked our bikes. The hosts are fantastic, too: great recommendations for things to do, places to eat, and were very helpful in getting our tickets printed. We will return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We found a GEM

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Loved this little cottage! It is absolutely immaculate! So much better than a motel. Very well equipped and close to everything. The only thing I would reccomend is a small fan. We purchased a small fan and it was perfect. The owners are so sweet and accomidating. There if you need them, otherwise, we never saw them.
We would definitely stay again. The only regret is i didnt book it for a longer stay!! Thank you for such a great experience!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We found a GEM

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Loved this little cottage! It is absolutely immaculate! So much better than a motel. Very well equipped and close to everything. The only thing I would reccomend is a small fan. We purchased a small fan and it was perfect. The owners are so sweet and accomidating. There if you need them, otherwise, we never saw them.
We would definitely stay again. The only regret is i didnt book it for a longer stay!! Thank you for such a great experience!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great guesthouse in a perfect location

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

A fantastic place in a great location in walking distance from downtown Santa Barbara.
I rented the place for my parents who came here for my fathers 60th birthday and they could not have chosen a better place to stay.
The street is very quiet and hardly any cars pass through it on regular basis so that leaves a very nice environment to sit outside and enjoy the sun.
The whole place was very clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Terrific place to stay

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We loved staying in this guesthouse. It’s well-furnished, super clean and in a beautiful neighborhood that’s close to everything. It’s nice being able to walk to so many places in town rather than having to get in the car every time you want to go somewhere. We especially enjoyed walking through Alice Keck Gardens and going for croissants at Reynaud’s in the morning. The hosts were extremely helpful in making suggestions about restaurants and providing information about things to do. We rented bikes for a couple of days and had fun riding along the beach, harbor and bird refuge. We will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Delightful Holiday Oasis

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

This well maintained property in a quiet residential area is comfortable and spacious. The large kitchen makes it a perfect choice for longer stays. The additional use of TWO decks adds to the spaciousness, perfect for morning coffee or afternoon wine, book reading, etc. Owner is exceptionally helpful and welcoming, making an effort to see that your interests are met. It is a wonderful "Home-Away", and we highly recommend it. Santa Barbara is one of the best choices for a winter getaway - lots to do, beautiful scenery and architecture.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

We recently spent a week here, and it was exactly what we were looking for... quiet, intimate, reasonably priced, but very accessible to the main points of interest in Santa Barbara. The bed in particular is fantastic; I slept like a log. The private deck is great for reading/relaxing. Proprietor very friendly. Just a lovely place to come home to after a day or night seeing the town... you really do feel like you're "away from it all," even though you can walk to lots of local spots. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Susy & Peter H.

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

My husband and I just spent five nights at this lovely rental over the Christmas holiday. The place was immaculate, beautifully furnished, quiet and in a fabulous neighborhood for morning walks. I would highly recommend this spot for a short or longer term stay. The owner was delightful and offered to answer any questions we might have. We look forward to returning sometime in the near future if it is available!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned home from a five night stay at this rental and it was so nice I felt compelled to write a review. We were in town for a wedding in Montecito but wanted to find a hotel that was more centrally located. Everything downtown was either too crummy or too posh and then we found this little gem. It feels like a small Craftsman with nice built-in cabinetry, French doors, lots of natural light and a perfect little kitchen. The space was immaculate. We had our own private patio which was great for our morning coffee. In my opinion, this place is in the perfect location. We were close enough to walk to the shops downtown but removed enough to feel at home on a quiet street in a real neighborhood. The unit is attached to a main house which is the proprietors' home but the two spaces feel totally separate. The couple who run the rental are very sweet and helpful. I am so glad we found this amazing spot and I'm sure we will be returning!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Elegant retreat

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

I loved the decor of this small craftsman-style cottage in a quiet residential neighborhood. It has elegant fabrics and artwork and every detail was thought through. The kitchen had all the necessities for a vacation stay. All was neat and clean and there's plenty of storage space. There is no living room as such but a covered outdoor sitting room with fountain and plants on one side of the cottage and narrow deck with cafe chair and table and more plants on the adjoining side. If you are a walker you can walk to the downtown area (which also has a trolly that makes a loop). The owners are great and I would recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL GUESTHOUSE & GREAT VALUE

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

We’ve been to Santa Barbara many times to visit family for the past 5 years and have always stayed in rentals rather than hotels. This charming guesthouse was the best. Comfortable bed. Well-equipped kitchen. Lovely deck. Spotlessly clean. Reasonably priced. All the little touches from the art on the walls to the plush towels and fresh flowers made us feel right at home. This was the second time we’ve been here and now that we’ve found the best, we wouldn’t stay anywhere else. Highly recommended! RDW, New York

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming and Comfortable

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

This was our 3rd stay and as before we enjoyed it very much. The location is perfect in a quiet street yet close to downtown. The guesthouse is nicely decorated, charming, very clean and comfortable. The kitchen is small but adequate to our needs. Barbara and Russell have always made us feel welcome and they respond promptly to anything that needs attention.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

The little guesthouse was very cute and very clean. very cosy and easy to feel at home. barbara and russel were very friendly and helpful. they made us feel welcome and provided a list of good restaurants and were happy to provide any other information when needed.

there is nothin negative to say and i would recommend it for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Saved the Best till Last

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

We spent the whole month of August in the US but my wife who organised it save the best till last! Very nice accommodation, adequate cooking facilities, excellent shower and comfortable bed. A lovely sitting area through the French doors. Barbara & Russell were most helpful and accommodating and we enjoyed our stay tremendously.
Santa Barbara is our favourite place in the US and Barbara & Russell the most lovely hosts.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Easy-breezy

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

Barbara and Russell made everything so effortless from the communication up-front (including directions) to dinner recommendations and having a lovely place to stay that was close to downtown and all main thoroughfares.The cottage was immaculate and very well maintained and we really enjoyed the outside patios to sit and read.

Easy-breezy is how I would describe our stay on East Islay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

enough home away from home

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

This 1926 Cottage was enough of home away from home that you want for nothing. We had everything we needed: The right amount of kitchen supplies, good drinking water, a coffee pot for two, a reliable toaster and a small refrigerator. It was well lit and provided a wonderful shower and roomy bathroom to store all the things you brought from home. The bedroom has a very comfortable queen bed and we woke with no back pain, which is sometimes my issue when away from our Select Comfort. A large TV was just the right size to lie in bed or sit from the kitchen to watch. The outside ice cream table and chairs were such a delight for a sunny morning's breakfast and the fountain outside our bedroom door made life calm and peaceful all during the night. We delighted in being so close to downtown too, as we walked many a day. Love to come back! The price made it not a stinger and in today's world, especially SB world, that is rare!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Staying for two weeks has been......

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

You will find the accommodations for two to be excellent. Meticulous attention is given to the comfort and
requirements of renters. There is a delightful sitting area, surrounded by greenery, quite private and nicely
maintained by the owners. We recommend this rental very highly. Especially appreciated was the well
appointed independent kitchen.

This accommodation is located in a quiet neighborhood, well maintained, with older victorian homes on
adjacent streets, lovely to look at. it was a lovely experience and we plan to return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent value, location.

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Perfect location: for hilly, morning walks up to the Riviera, easy strolls into town for cafes, museums, theatre, and the Mission is very close by. Charming area of old bungalow style homes. The guest quarters is cozy, extremely clean and well kept, and Barbara and Russell, are wonderful. The street has virtually no traffic. The place is quiet and private, but owners are available, friendly, and helpful if needed for any reason. The kitchen is good size for cooking if you love the famous Santa Barbara famer's markets. We really enjoyed our stay and will surely stay here again.
David and Mary, Pupukea, Hawaii

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect In Every Way!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This is an ideal way to visit Santa Barbara. The cottage is serene and beautiful. Everything is well provided for by Barbara and Russell. They are so cordial and helpful. The fountain on the deck outside the bedroom door will lull you to sleep each evening.
The location is ideal as you can walk or bike to almost everything. The neighborhood is a delight of gardens and parks. Definitely come and enjoy your stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Very Special Place!

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

We've stayed in a number of places in Santa Barbara. The next time we come this will be at the top of our list of desired rentals/

The location is perfect, beautiful and quiet. We usually walked to the downtown area, winding our way through the magnificent Alice Keck Memorial Gardens on the way.

The cottage itself is lovely. It is comfortable, attractive, and has all the amenities we needed. The bedroom was perfect and having access from the bedroom to a lovely little outdoor porch was great.

Having a host and hostess living next door can sometimes be tricky. Not here. Barbara and Russell were wonderful. They are warm, accessible, and helpful, without ever being the least bit intrusive.

I could be even more effusive, but we want to make sure the place isn't totally rented when we try to schedule our next visit! :-)

Mark

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great guesthouse

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

The property was even nicer than it looked online. It was very cute, cozy and clean, and located in a very nice neighborhood, away from the business of downtown SB, but close enough to be there and beaches within 5 minutes by car. There was a great little organic market close by where we bought our breakfast and snacks. We had a great time and will definitely rent from them again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

East Islay guest cottage

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

An exceptional find, this cottage has abundant amenities, including lovely kitchen area, sunroom, separate bedroom, and ample bathroom. Walkable to shopping, great parks, SB Mission, and lovely neighborhoods. Quiet and restful. The owners, Barbara and Russell, are accommodating, warm and helpful. They respect privacy and encourage questions around needs and tips for exploring the area. This is one of the best bargains of all VRBO rentals! Wonderful!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My favorite vacation rental

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This is my second time to stay here. I've been staying in vacation rentals for six years and this is my favorite. The pictures simply don't do it justice. It is perfect for 1 or 2 people in a great Santa Barbara location.
Thanks again for a lovely stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

home away from home

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

Mark and I loved our visit to Santa Barbara and the Islay guest house was indeed our home away from home. I would recommend this over any hotel stay in Santa Barbara. Having your own kitchen, private entry and outdoor area beats any hotel lobby and coffee maker. We loved walking over to State St. and heading down to the beach or to the Mission or to some great restaurant we had read about. There is a wonderful grocery store a few blocks away that has everything you need. In the past I've stayed nearer the beach but have now found that I prefer being in more of a residential neighborhood so I could feel like one of the "townies". Barbara's beautifully decorated guest house provided the perfect home away from home at a fantastic price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two Excellent Santa Barbara Months

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

The guesthouse was perfect for two people wanting to live a normal existence in a beautiful, quiet setting where we had everything we needed to cook everyday, sleep comfortably, walk to parks, coffee shops, museums (the old Santa Barbara Mission was 15 minutes away and had Mass every day), art galleries, bookstores, movies, and shopping of every kind. Some might not want to walk the 40 minutes to the beach or the 30 minutes to the weekly farmers' market but we did. Our hosts were friendly, made sure we had whatever we needed and respected our privacy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two Excellent Months in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

The guesthouse was perfect for two people wanting to live a normal existence in a beautiful, quiet setting where we had everything we needed to cook everyday, sleep comfortably, walk to parks, coffee shops, museums (the old Santa Barbara Mission was 15 minutes away and had Mass every day), art galleries, bookstores, movies, and shopping of every kind. Some might not want to walk the 40 minutes to the beach or the 30 minutes to the weekly farmers' market but we did. Our hosts were friendly, made sure we had whatever we needed and respected our privacy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent choice for Santa Barbara stay

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

We stayed here for just over three weeks this winter, and found the cottage very comfortable, attractive and extremely well maintained. It is well appointed, with an excellent, comfortable bed, good cooking facilities, nice shower, and very pleasant porch. The owners were consistently helpful and friendly. The place was extremely clean. And it is a lovely location in Santa Barbara - easy walk to State street, the mission - quiet, residential, and loads of trees.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful comfortable cottage

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful cottage for 6 nites. We loved the proximity to downtown (4 blocks to State St.). It is so well located for all the interesting parks, and historic sites. We were able to park our car and mostly walk. Inside, we enjoyed the beautiful kitchen, bedroom with flat screen and very comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. Very clean. Barbara had a fact sheet for us of places to see in the area. We also lounged outside on the private patio. I felt like I was staying at a good friends guest house. Very private. I plan to visit and stay here once a year! Loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara cottage

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

A great place to stay in Santa Barbara. We spent 6 nights. The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed. It came with everything we needed including a very reliable wireless connection. We enjoyed being in a normal neighborhood that was convenient to everything. Our hosts were attentive and friendly but not intrusive. If/when we get back to Santa Barbara we would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

East Islay Guest House

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Thank you so much for making our holiday special. Your cottage was very charming and we enjoyed our stay here. You're very lucky to be living in such a beautiful place! When we were walking, we really enjoyed the homes and their yards. Everything from the weather to the trees and plants were wonderful. Thanks for the fresh flowers. You made this place feel like home. We would definitely recommend your place to our friends. Sylvia & Derek from Alberta, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

We spent there 3 weeks and really enjoyed our stay.
The apartment is cosy, clean and well-located. Barbara and Russel, our hosts, were very friendly and helpful, we thank them again for their kindness.
If you choose their guest house, you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara Beautiful

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I rented this guest house for five weeks and absolutely loved it. The cottage is located on a quiet street in a great neighborhood and is in a perfect place to explore the city. It is well furnished with a large bathroom, a nice kitchen, and a very comfortable bedroom. There is a private porch outside with a couch and a cafe table that was perfect for meals and morning coffee. My girlfriend and I were both very comfortable for our entire stay and highly recommend the place to anyone visiting Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our home away from home

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

We have rented this apartment for the past five years and consider it our home in Santa Barbara, aka paradise for folks like us from the central valley of CA. The location is perfect for exploring the mission, nearby parks, and downtown. The walk to town is lovely, passing along shaded streets with gorgeous homes and plantings.
The apartment is extremely well-thought out and although cozy, we have never felt cramped due to access to two deck areas. One has a French cafe table and chairs (the perfect spot for morning coffee) and the other more shaded porch has a very comfy couch where we love to spend the afternoons reading. Also a great spot for drinks and hors d'oeuvres.
The linens and bedding are high quality (bed is very comfortable) and the artwork and fresh flowers delight us. We do not feel like we are in a cookie cutter rental due to these personal touches.
A highlight of our annual visits is our time spent chatting with Russell and Barbara. They are the perfect hosts, extremely thoughtful and helpful, but never intrusive. The short handout they provide with restaurant recommendations is very helpful because they direct their guests to places where locals prefer to eat. We have become quite territorial now about "our" town. This is what happens when one stays in this quiet neighborhood, rather than in a rented condo or hotel room.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A fantastic week in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

This is a fantastic vacation rental! Our plan was to have a restful and quiet week in Santa Barbara to rejuvenate and this was the place to do it. It was beautiful, quiet, restful, and comfortable. Barbara and Russell were wonderful hosts. We had everything we needed and felt like we were a million miles away from everything.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquility and Value

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

I stayed here for ten weeks (Apr - June 10) and loved it. First of all, the neighborhood is by far the BEST in SB. (I lived in SB for 15 years and moved around a ton - so I know the town well...). The upper East side is the quietest, safest area in town. Only a few blocks from the Mission and Mission Rose garden Park, as well as maybe 8 blocks from downtown...

I am a real freak for quiet and my expectations were surpassed here. At night the only sounds I heard were the fountain outside the door and the breeze. Barbara and Russell were very helpful and friendly, but definitely not intrusive. They respected my privacy and were very considerate.

The unit itself is very nice. The bed is very comfortable (also something I am picky about). Large (like 37") LCD TV with cable (of course, who comes to SB to watch TV?!). The patio with couch and fountain are comfy and perfect for enjoying the beautiful SB evenings.

I will definitely be returning whenever I come back to SB. In fact, I wanted to stay longer, but she was booked through the summer... As far as value goes, you will not find anything comparable. I looked extensively, even while I was staying there, and found nothing even close. The other corporate-run rentals are far more money and are located on the West side of downtown - which means listening to the freeway at night instead of the fountain...

You will be pleased you chose this unit...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect spot to stay in Santa Barbara!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

As a traveling professional, I could not have ask for better lodging than this quaint guest cottage in Santa Barbara. It is withing walking distance of most everything on State St. and just 2 miles from the beach.

The quarters are nicely appointed and the bed is extremly comfortable. With a private enterance, separate bath and kitchen area, it had all the amentities of home. Complete with linens, cookware and comfortable furnishings, I did not lack for anything during my stay.

While the cottage was great, the hosts, Barbara and Russell are even better. They treated me like royalty as I was greeted by fresh flowers, a fantastic dessert and a hand of friendship.

I would recommend anyone needed a place to stay in Santa Barbara to seriously take a look a this diamond in the sparkling City. I hated to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Santa Barbara Cottage

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

We were very happy to find this cottage centrally located and tucked away on a quiet Santa Barbara Street. The small cottage was clean, easy to access, and included fresh flowers. The kitchen was well equipped. The only thing we missed was not having an oven. It is a great area to take walks, close to the Mission and just six blocks from downtown. We would stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional Guest House

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

Thank you for providing us with such comfort for our stay here in Santa Barbara. It was great!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Guest House in Fantastic Location

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

My husband and I first stayed in this guest house 3 years ago. It is so inviting, well-appointed and well-maintained, clean, comfortable and convenient that we keep returning. Barbara and Russell couldn't be better hosts.

Fresh flowers awaited us, as did the soothing sound of rippling water in the fish pond. There is a covered porch with a comfortable, plant-filled seating area off the bedroom. The bathroom, bedroom, kitchen and eating area are beautifully finished, and have everything anyone might want or need during their visit - there's a hairdryer and even an iron and ironing board!

All the comforts of home are provided, along with a sincere gracious welcome by the hosts! We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Santa Barbara!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Gem!

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2009

The suite is a true gem!! Loved it. Look forward to coming again. PS Thanks for the flowers.
Jan & Roy, Edmonton, Alberta Canada

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It Was a Pleasure to Stay Here

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed staying in your apartment. From the lovely sound of the fountain on the porch to the comfortable bed (thank you for reading lights that one can actually read by!) and a kitchen and bath that were well designed and a delight. Every aspect of the apartment showed care and thought. I enjoyed my stay immensely. Thank you.
Claudia, Brooklyn New York

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved Your Guest House

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

Thank you so much for making your guest house so comfortable. We felt right at home. We look forward to coming back soon. It was wonderful.
Courtney, Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Cottage

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2009

Everything was great. Our only regret is not being able to stay longer! Thank you.
Kim & Larry, Tennessee

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

Thanks for providing us such a lovely place to stay during our visit. We truly enjoyed our stay in your apartment. The original art works throughout were a pleasure to view and I appreciated your tasteful eye in decorating with such unique pieces (loved the yellow lamps). All in all the place was perfect and we hope to visit again very soon.
CJ and Philip, Bellevue WA

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

My parents really enjoyed staying in your rental. It's so close to us and walking distance to downtown that they didn't feel the need to rent a car. My mom really likes your decorative touches and all the beautiful plants. Thank you!

Natasha, Santa Barbara CA

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved It!

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

I absolutely loved your place!! Relaxing…., quiet….peaceful. Thank you!
Sue, Denver CO

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

Just a short note to say thank you for everything. We have enjoyed our stay here very, very much.

Here's a list of our personal highlights:
- The flat has been absolutely, entirely and completely clean.
- The area around here is very very nice and absolutely quiet. We've also enjoyed being woken up by the birds singing. How romantic!
- The bed is also very comfortable.
- It was equipped with EVERYTHING we needed, be it also small things like a corkscrew, soap etc.
- The front porch with its inviting and comfortable sofa is also something we've been looking forward to use everyday.
- The highspeed wireless was by far the fastest we had on our whole trip.

And of course we'd also like to thank you for your friendliness. We felt comfortable and welcome right from the start. Though we have rented a vacation home before, never were there flowers waiting for us. Our week here has flown...
Jean and Regula, Winterthur Switzerland

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional Guest House

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

Thanks so much for the very comfortable stay here. We really enjoyed the space and the feel and the location. Everything worked well. We’ll definitely be back!
Barrie, Sonoma CA

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional Rental

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

"The Cottage" in Santa Barbara, hosted by the very likable and pleasantly attentive but not intrusive owner, was ideal for our six-week stay. It is pleasing to the eye, efficiently laid out, well-equipped, and just plain charming. The setting is a lovely SB neighborhood that is peaceful and quiet. Your pace has been perfect for us. What could be better?
Jim & Sally, East Lansing MI

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review