reviews for: listing #23887 - Waialua, Hawaii Condo rental

Breathtaking view-Ocean front Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sunset Shores
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $245 /nt
    $1,575 - $1,715 /wk
    $2,800 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Great Apartment!

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2010

My wife, two babies, and our two adult friends stayed at the apartment for five days, and we all had a wonderful time.

The beauty of the place is in its details. For example, each day we enjoyed looking out the giant, panaromaic view and looking down on turtles playing in the shallows off the private beach for the apartment building. Similarly, we found the place very comfortable to live in because of Jerry and Cynthia's thoughtfulness. This began with their welcome bag, which was such a kind, generous, and personal touch that we felt immediately like we were staying in a freind's apartment instead of a stranger's.

We also found it very helpful and easy to enjoy their kitchen, which was beautifully clean and well stocked, as were the closets of fresh linen and towels. And we likewise appreciated the convenience of the closet full of beach toys, chairs, and blankets, as well as a playpen for the babies.

Of note, our two friends never needed to close the sliding door to create the second bedroom out of the living room as the master bedroom is sufficiently encapsulted sonically when its door is shut. So having adult friends spend almost a week in relatively close quarters with two babies in the apartment didn't prove too torturous for them, thankfully!

Also, the apartment in general is very quiet, both in itself and on its street. And it's an easy drive to nearby Haleiwa, for food and fun (and to see turtles on the state beach, which our older son loved).

In other words, this apartment was equipped for all of our needs, and we therefore couldn't have been happier with it. And we would definitely stay with Jerry and Cynthia again, especially as they are so warmly invested in providing a wonderful experience to their renters.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and 18 month old for 10 days. This was my second time in Hawaii the first being at resort in Maui. This condo was definately the way to go. It was more comfortable than our own home. The neighborhood was quiet and the beach never crowded. Even on weekends. You just can't beat the ocean view. Some places offer an "ocean view" which typically ends up meaning that if you crane your head at the right angle you can see a sliver of ocean. Not here, one whole side of the condo is nothing but water! We counted 14 turtles on the beach one morning. I had to dodge turtles to get out into the water and snorkel. The condo is awesome and the location is perfect if you are looking for someplace relaxing to spend your time in Hawaii. We'll definately be coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location! Loved Jerry's Condo...

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

We stayed at Jerry's condo for about 10 days. The condo had everything we needed for cooking, doing laundry and for hitting the beach! Icluding snorkeling gear, noodles, and even a cooler to take on the roa! We loved making Kona coffee each morning and enjoying the view right out the condo. Enjoyed many sunrise walks on the beach and sunsets. Nothing like waking up and going to sleep to the sound of the ocean. Saw sea turtles swimming out front of the condo and one morning, we even spotted a whale! Loved the location as well as the North Shore has a certain charm about it. Like the country side of Oahu... We love the town Haleiwa which is only a few minutes away and also enjoyed coastal drives along the North Shore. We also love the near by Waimea Beach. Our boys took surfing lessons on the North Shore through Tropical Rush (thanks to Jerry's son for connecting us) and we discovered they have great Shaved Ice there! We did the touristy things - went to a the Sunset Cove Luau, Pearl Harbor, couple of trips to Waikiki, kids and hubby hiked up Diamond Head (the pictures looked like it was worth it!), snorkeled at Hanauma Bay, visited the nearby Wailua coffee farm, and did a lot of beach hopping! It is hard not to love Hawaii! I would recommend Jerry's condo. It is exactly like the pictures and the North Shore has plenty to do without the hustle and bustle crowdedness of the Waikiki side. Thanks Jerry! And thanks also to Debra!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome accommodations on Northwest Shore

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

The condo was fantastic. Very clean, comfortable, and the gift upon arrival of snacks and coffee were much appreciated! The beach is great - very private and great snorkeling and turtle watching right out back. I would highly recommend this condo for anyone looking for a relaxing Hawaiian vacation away from Honolulu, but also away from the heavy North Shore traffic in the winter time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

North Shore Oahu

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2013

This place is a really amazing find. After searching countless condos on VRBO, I came down to 2 choices and I went with this one. The photos are exactly what the place looks like, but of course even better to see it in person. The first thing you notice is it very well kept and clean, then you walk into the kitchen and living room and you'll see the ocean. It's a surreal feeling once you've opened the window and step out on the small ledge. (there is no "lanai" here, at least not a large one where you can sit outside, what they have is a sliding door window that opens up to a small ledge where you can stand and look outside. But we didn't miss anything because the owner has a dining table where you can sit and eat, drink and look out the window to the ocean. The trade winds and the sound of the waves hitting against the beach head was enough to put me in another state of mind. It's really relaxing and being from the City in the mainland, I rarely get to experience this.

We saw turtles on the beach a few houses down, we took many strolls at all hours and felt safe at all times. There's a BBQ downstairs and a pool too. I would recommend snorkeling at a different location however because the reef is pretty sharp and there are too many rocks and seaweed to slip on. About 1/4 mile down there's an open space with plenty of room for good snorkeling.

On Oahu, we got food from all the local shops and stores. I would say that we shopped at perhaps every single store in the North Shore and some. We also ate at several restaurants and of course tried the shaved ice at Matsumoto's..twice..and I bought a shirt there! There's 2 Whole Foods on the island, we went to both, both quite expensive, but you know that. We saw plenty of rainbows and it rained on occasion, the island has its own micro climate.

We did the touristy thing, laid out on the beach in Waikiki on the other side of the island one day, then hiked up Diamond Head, then hiked up Koko Crater which was utterly insane!!! but we made it to the top! it was quite the accomplishment and the views up there are second to none.

We experienced a lot of wonderful sights and this place was always nice to come back to when we explored the island. It's well kept, clean, non-smoking, non-partying, quiet and safe. There's also lots of good utensils and cooking stuff to get your meals on.

I left a new bottle of Tabasco in the fridge so you hot sauce lovers can thank me for that.

Aloha! Until next time...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking View

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

When you walk into this condo the first thing to catch your attention is the breathtaking view of the ocean! The condo features were great, from the large open kitchen with granite counters, to the spacious bedroom with sliding door and private bath, to the Murphy bed in living area and couch bed. The complex features BBQ'S and tables down by the beach. There is a pool and spa by the beach as well. The only feature the condo doesn't have is air conditioning and we were there during a very hot spell however there is a fantastic breeze that blows through once you open the sliding doors and front door. They also have fans in every room as well as ceiling fans so it was bearable. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you might need. We ate most meals at the condo and found a great market several miles past Dole Plantation called Tamara's (great prices and worth the drive). We stopped at Costco in Honolulu when we arrived picking up our meat for the week. And on Saturdays there is a farmer's market in Waialua where there is a guy selling fresh fish. We picked up some great Mahi and Opah but he also has Ahi and Ono. Large pieces for $10.
Every afternoon turtles could be seen from the condo swimming directly below. Take a walk down the beach to the left and you might stumble upon turtles basking on the beach.
There are beach supplies such as chairs, coolers, snorkel gear, boogie boards, umbrella, sand toys, etc.
We had a family of 3 adults and 1 17 year old staying here and the space worked out well.
All in all this was a fantastic place to stay.
Favorite beaches nearby were Waimea Bay and Sunset beach. Waimea Bay and Sharks Cove for snorkeling were great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and relaxing.

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

The Condo was beautiful, clean and spacious. Everything we needed for the week was included in the Condo and there was even a lovely Gift Basket left for us when we arrived. The Condo is in an ideal location right on the Beach and the views are wonderful. It was the perfect holiday and our son proposed to his girlfriend on the moonlight beach right outside of the Condo, so it made it an extra special time and a great memory for all of us. We all had a fantastic time and would definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sunset Shores is a great place for a romantic get away. I'm sure Anne's son and future daughter-in-law will not forget there stay. Congratulation to both.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wialua Condo

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

Beautiful, well stocked condo. Great area! Enjoyed our stay. Only one thing, got very warm and sticky when trade winds weren't blowing. Would definitely return!!

Owners response: Thanks for your review. It does get a little humid when the trade winds stop, but this is usually for a short period and time of year. We do have ceiling fans in each bedroom as well as tower fans for each room.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

My family fell in live with North Shore and the condo was just as described! Thank you for allowing us to make memories and for sharing your piece of heaven with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

awesome view

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Jerry, my Wife and I wanted to thank you for the use of your beautiful condo in Hawaii. I trust that We left everything in acceptable order. We had a wonderful time. The Condo was great, and the view was a wonderful thing to wake up to each Morning. We made use of the cooler,beach chairs and umbrella. It is a great benefit having them on hand for gursts to use. You and your Wife have done a great job, decorating and providing very useful items that make the stay there effortless.

I cannot say enough how wonderful our time there was.


We thank you very much.

Chuck

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation getaway!

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this ocean view condo! We found it to be just as described and very comfortable. The view was beautiful and relaxing and with the windows open there was a comfortable breeze that cooled the whole condo rapidly. We felt like we were right on the beach. The property was clean and well maintained and we were provided with most everything we could need to cook and to enjoy the beach. The manager was very pleasant and quick to help, or to answer any questions. I would happily stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from the busy beaches.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

This place is so beautiful and was perfect for our family vacation. There is nothing like being right on the ocean to listen to the waves and see the turtles swim, we even saw a huge stingray swimming right below us. The master bedroom was nice for my husband and I while our girls shared the murphy bed and pullout couch, both were very comfortable and easy to get out and put back. It was nice to have the two bathrooms and washer and dryer. The kitchen was well stocked with plenty of cooking utensils and dishes as well as pantry basics, we stocked up on groceries and cooked everyday, saving a lot of money, not eating out all the time. We also used the bbq grills often. The pool was really nice and we used it on the days we didn't go to the beach. Also the closet full of beach supplies was very useful. My kids really enjoyed the boogie boards and sand toys. I would highly recommend going to the Polynesian Cultural Center, and my husband enjoyed the fishing charter out of Haliewa only 3 miles away, where he caught a nice sized Mahi Mahi. Thanks so much Jerry and Cynthia for sharing your beautiful home, and the gift basket and Deb for being so helpful while we were there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great North Shore Condo

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Our family of four just returned from a great week's vacation on Oahu. We really enjoyed staying at this condo as it served our needs perfectly. The size is just right for two adults and two teenagers and is so well-stocked. Jerry, the owner, told me to "just bring your clothes" and he was right! Kitchen has everything you could need, the laundry area is top-notch and there is a ton of snorkeling and other beach gear.

The location is nice if you're looking to stay on this part of the island. We were a 5 minute drive from Hale'iwa, which has grocery stores, drug stores, shops, restaurants, etc. It's about 30 minutes to the Polynesian Cultural Center, and about 15 minutes to our favorite beach, Wailea Bay Beach.

The beach just outside the condo's front door is great for turtle watching, but not so great for swimming (lots of large rocks.) Just walk about 5 minutes down the beach to the left for a really nice swimming location. Jerry suggested bringing water shoes, which we did, and that was a smart idea. Pool and hot tub area are clean and well-maintained. Friendly folks in the building.

The view from the large living room window and sliding screen door off the 2nd bedroom is gorgeous. Great cross-breezes throughout the day--absolutely no need for a/c.

Would highly recommend this unit for any group of 2-6 people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your review,Karen. the bay Karen is refering to is Waimea bay Beach. I agree with her,that it is also our favorite beach

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathtaking view

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

AWESOME, is the best way to describe this condo with the breathtaking view. We rented the condo for a month and words cannot explain how wonderful it was to wake up every morning and enjoy the views of the ocean. The sea turtles were fun to watch as were the whales (we did take our own binoculars as the whales were out further). Jerry and Cindy, as stated, provided a lot of items which we took advantage of, such as: coolers, sand chairs, beach towels, boogie boards along with free wi-fi and free calls back to the mainland. Their welcome basket added a special touch and the condo was as described. We did have to buy a sound machine when we returned home after falling asleep every night to the sound of the waves. We would recommend this condo to anyone and we sincerely thank Jerry and Cindy for letting us experience their little piece of paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

February 2012 at Sunset Shores

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Fabulous alternative to busy Honolulu. Right on the beach
of the North Shore area and just five minutes to restaurants
and shops in nearby historic Haleiwa. We saw a half dozen
sea turtles feeding off the coral just 10 feet from the
waterline and were able to snorkel in front of the condominium.
The condo itself comfortably fit the four of us. Boogie boards,
snorkel gear and more are made available too. One night we bbq'd
steaks on one of the propane grills next to the pool and shore
and enjoyed the ocean breeze and waves pounding the sand.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Ocean View

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay. Quiet, right on the beach. Lots of ammenites like tea's and sugar left from other tennants. Usually the cleaning ladies take this stuff it was nice not to have to spend money to stock up on the little stuff. We are now staying on Maui. Boy did Jerry's condo spoil us. Pleanty of towls. Loved the washer and dryer right in the appartment. Loved watching the whales and turtles right off the balcony. Liked the free internet. (you need your own computer) We would definatly stay there again Thanks Jerry.
Val Miller

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Highly recommend. Fantastic ocean front location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic location

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Highly recommend this rental. Views are the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking view ...

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

This property lived up to its description. It easily accomodated five adults for the short term and two of us for an extended stay. It was well located above the beach making it perfect for turtle watching. The beach was easily accessable as was the town. The condo was well supplied for our every need and the manager did a good job of solving each problem as it arose. Some minor repair work needs to be done and it is time for a deep cleaning but otherwise comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to family or friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful vacation in North shore

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 23, 2011

Thanks Jerry for your wonderful beach house where every day I watched the turtles swim!the house and 'fantastic furnished
the house 'in good location near the center and the beaches of North Shore
the house 'and is equipped with everything' very comfortable, we're well into six people and each evening we enjoyed the sunset .. if he will return 'definitely want to come back here in Kona.
Mahalo Jerry Aloha North shore!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Guido for your review. However you mean to come back to our condo in Waialua on the North Shore of Oahu, not in Kona..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Dream Vacation on the North Shore of Oahu

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We spent the entire month of July, 2011 in this condo, and I am so glad we did! The description is exactly right! From the moment we checked in with Debbie the property manager until the day we checked out we felt like we were in a home away from home. Jerry has thought of everything. He has provided everything, from a welcome basket, to beach towels, sand toys, snorkeling equipment, and the list goes on. We didn't need to bring anything except our clothes!
The location was great, it is 5 minutes from Hale'iwa, a great little surfing town with everything you need and minutes from all of the beautiful North Shore beaches. We were so glad we stayed away from all the craziness of Waikiki, when ever we drove down, (about a 40 minute drive), we would be so happy to return to our little piece of paradise. We would walk into the condo, open the doors and enjoy the incredible view of Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles swimming in the water in front of the condo. Many nights were spent at the pool and bar-b-que area right on the ocean watching the amazing sunsets. Words can't describe how beautiful it was!
I highly recommend this condo for anyone who wants the true Hawaiian experience away from it all, but convenient enough to everything Oahu has to offer. I hope to return in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT!!!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

My husband and I spent the month of March at this condo while my husband was doing a rotation for school at a clinic in Haliewa. The view was amazing! Seeing the turtles and whales was so much fun! Everything was perfect! We really enjoyed being on the north shore for the month.Thank you Jerry and Cynthia for allowing us to rent your condo! We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A View to die for

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

The condo is decorated in Oahu style. We thought it was very attractive. Sitting and watching the sea turtles, whales, surfers and sunsets was magnificent. The location was perfect for us since our son and his family live across the street.
The condo's kitchen and pantry are way too cluttered. I don't think most renters need that many pots and pans. We did not know how long some of the food stuff had been there and hesitated to use it.
We had roaches and the condo manager provided some traps. It solved the small roach problems but not the large ones. We bought more traps but did not succeed in getting rid of all of them.
Despite the roaches I would recomend this beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: the pots and pans are stored in the oven or cupboard and not on the counter tops in the kitchen.

all food stuff has a expiration date and they are checked periodically and thrown out if on or near the expiration date.having items like mustard,kitchen and mayo in the fridge saves a guest from buying these items.

The building is treated around the thrash dumpster and the thrash chutes on each floor.We also keep roach traps through out the unit as well as spray periodically.However this is Hawaii, a tropical island and no mater how clean the unit is,you may see a roach or two in the unit.to help avoid having a problem, make sure you dont leave food stuff out and clean up all spills.keep the thrash can covered and empty as much as possibley

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean Vista

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

From the minute my husband and I walked in and throughout out stay we were awed by the panoramic ocean vista. We loved this clean, well-appointed unit from the Hawaiiana decor to the hd tvs. Formulaks have thought of everything!

Deb, the local manager, was very friendly, helpful and much appreciated. She is full of the Hawaiian spirit!

We are happy to recommend this lovely unit to everyone, especially to our friends and relatives.

We liked the quiet neighborhood yet found it convenient to restaurants (Haleiwa Joe's is our favorite!) and beach activities. There is a child-friendly park and swimming area just down the beach. We saw numerous honu (sea turtles) and whales in the distance.

The Saturday morning Farmer's Market at the old Waialua Sugar Plantation is a great place for local fruits and vegetables, etc. You can see the smoke stack from the lanai!

We hope to make this our home base everytime we return to the Islands.

Jack and Sandy
Ada, MI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

We travel to Hawaii often & this is the best condo we have stayed in. The view cannot be beat. We stayed in a condo across the street previously and I found it extrememly warm & stuffy with no breeze. Just moving across the street and being on the ocean makes a world of difference in comfort for me. The breezes are wonderful. You don't need AC. This place is beautiful and has everything you need down to beach towels & beach chairs etc. It's a quieter part of the island, but there is still lots to do and Honolulu is only about 40 minutes away.

Great place, won't stay anywhere else in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Retreat

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

I had the best time at this place. The view is awesome! I stayed there with my wife, our 15 year old son, and my father for a week in August. This was the first time I had done anything like this so I was nervous about the process. When we got there it was all worth it. The space was clean and had everything you needed even a DVD player with a redbox conveniently just down the road at the local grocery store( there were also a pretty good selection of videos in the condo as well). The travel guides also helped us plan our days out as well.

I received my entire damage deposit back within 48 hours of checking out. I would recommend this to anyone looking to get away and really enjoy having the ocean right out the door. I stayed in Waikiki in Jan 2010 with my wife. Our hotel room was almost twice as expensive and the view was less than desirable(by comparison), and the people were everywhere. We had such a good time staying at Jerry's condo my wife and I are planning another trip to Oahu in January 2011 and would love to come back for a little peace, quiet, and the type of solitude you just cant get on the other side of the island.

My son want me to be sure to mention the pool and hot tub. It was almost impossible to get him out of there.

Thanks again to Jerry for letting me and my family make memories that will last us a life time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

July in Waialua

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

My family and I rented this condo for the month of July, 2010 and were extremely happy with the entire experience. The condo was move-in ready, clean, and even better than shown in the pictures, primarily because of the wonderful ocean breezes and all the little extras provided to encourage a comfortable stay.

This location is perfect if you do not want to be in the middle of tourists and crowds. There is easy access to the wonderful beaches on the North Shore and the great little towns. We spent a lot of time just relaxing--and loved it. We did make trips out to the Polynesian Cultural Center to see the villages during the day, to Pearl Harbor, to the Dole Plantation, and to the Flea Market at Aloha Stadium. I would recommend all those. We spent most of our time at the different beaches. Waimee Bay was our favorite. My son and his family also had a surfing lesson which was a real highlight for them.

The layout of this condo was well-suited to our family group and we all felt comfortable. We only called the local agent once when a drier knob quit working and a new knob was mailed to us within days.

We have stayed in many rental vacation homes, but this was by far our best experience. This was my first trip to Hawaii, but I hope not my last. I would definitely recommend this condo and this area to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

This condo was so beautiful and was full of extras! Boogie boards, snorkel gear, beach towels & chairs, movies to watch (The Big Bounce was filmed on North Shore!), books to read, cards and games. The view is spectacular and I'm still dreaming of it. We were there with two teen boys and with the sofa bed and wall bed we had plenty of sleep space. We used the pool and bbq's many times too. The "lanai" is really a whole wall opening up to the ocean and the wonderful breezes....paradise! The resident family of turtles appeared every day right out front. Everything was comfortable and beautiful and we would rent this condo again in a heartbeat. Oh - and our boys were thrilled to have wifi so they could go on Facebook with their ipods!!
The location was perfect for exploring so many beaches and it's really not too long of a drive back to "the south shore". Hale'iwa (Ha lay eva) is a laid back little place where the famous Matsumotos Shave Ice is found. We found it six times! (save and reuse your holder) We loved Teds Bakery - just head east round the shore - for lunch and pie. Sharks Cove Grill is operated out of a bus but it was really good! Even though someone in Waikiki said Cholo's Mexican wasn't that great - we got great food there. If we had known how HUGE the chimichanga was we would have split one!
DO - the maze at the Dole pineapple plantation (but take water!), Waimea falls - totally worth the $13 fee. Amazing!! We swam in the pool like fools! , Waimea beach - went there three times ( go way early if you want to park in the lot). We went in the summer, so the water was pretty calm. My guys loved jump rock and hubby and I came close to a huge turtle while snorkeling there.

Another tip: if your car rental place is going to charge you extra for "excessive sand"..go to the Tesoro in Hale'iwa and use the car vac on it. :-)

We can't say enough great things about this property and the North Shore. Mahalo!! Heidi, Randy, Rory and Casey

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fabulous Family Get Away!

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Mahalo Jerry and Cynthia for the rental of your amazing condo! My wife and daughters had an amazing and quiet vacation get away! Your condo had everything and was a great place to come home to after a day at the beach! We enjoyed the beautiful sunrises and sunsets from the indoor lanai. The breezes, turtles and location make the condo a fabulolus destination. We have found our place for future vacations in North Shore!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Northshore vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

Jerry -

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The location was outstanding. Everything was clean and comfortable. We especially liked the decor throughout. It was wonderful of you to let us use your beach gear - beach towels, chairs, snorkeling gear and boogie boards. Your attention to detail is impressive.

Thank you for letting us stay at your condo.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation of a lifetime

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

Words cannot express the Vacation of a lifetime We have experienced while here.This was a much needed family vacation that our 3 teenagers say they will never forget.They are trying to figure out a way to move here.!! Thank you so very much for allowing us to stay here-We will be back God willing!!Deb was awesome!The only thing We would change is We would stay longer. Thank you,Mahalo & God Bless

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

awesome condo

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2009

Jerry,We had a wonderful time in your Condo and in this area.Mahalo for the well equipped condo.We loved the peacefulness and the acess to the beach.My 5 year old as well as my 81 year old Mother-in-law loved watching the ocean anf the turtles.This was ther first time on Oahu nand they truly enjoyed themselves.We also enjoyed watching the surfers'''Amazing!

Mahalo! we will be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

great view and enjoyable condo

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2008

What a treat to enjoy your delightful Condo with its beautiful view.Not only is it well equiped,but all of your brochures,magazines,tour cd and big notebook were invaluable in providing information about Oahu.Lots of pro-surfersable to perform incredible manuevers were great to see.We also had time to visit almost nevery part of the island.We'll remember these warm balmy days in the coming months when our driveway ices over.
Many thanks -Mahalo & Aloha

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review