reviews for: listing #23958 - Savannah, Georgia House rental

1876 Charming Victorian Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Victorian District
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $2,000 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Spacious, Comfortable, Clean

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

I reserved this home for a "girls getaway" for six ladies and we were all very pleased with our accommodations. Upon arrival we found the home to be very clean and spacious. Linens are provided and were plentiful. The kitchen both upstairs and downstairs were full size and had ice makers. We all took showers/baths and had plenty of hot water. There are five fireplaces, however, none of them are currently operational. As stated by other reviewers previously, the two bedrooms facing the front of the home are not very dark at night due to the bay windows, street lights and thinner blinds. There were televisions in all the bedrooms as well as in the living room downstairs and all were functional. Although there is parking off-street in the back of the home, it is a bit narrow and flanked by a brick wall located on a very narrow street/alley. If you have an oversized vehicle like a Suburban or extended cab/bed truck, you will most likely need to park on the street in front of the home where there is sufficient space. Christine was EXTREMELY professional and helpful. When I arrived home (we live about 4 hours from Savannah), I had a message on my telephone from Christine stating a cell phone and charger had been found. After speaking with her, she graciously volunteered to mail these items to me. Thank you Christine for your "Southern Hospitality".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for choosing our Victorian for your "girls getaway". We are so glad you all enjoyed the home!

Please allow us to address your concerns...
In the 1800's the homes were built very close to each other as is the case with most properties in downtown Savannah. I can assure you that even though tight, oversized vehicles are still utilizing the off street parking available as they have for many years.

In an effort to protect the home and the fact that most historic homes were not constructed in a way to prevent fire, as a precaution, the fireplaces are now only for aesthetic value as we discussed. We have, with guidance from our local fire fighters, insured early detection and prevention from such.

The two bedrooms on the front of the home are the largest because of the floor to ceiling bay windows which invite the sunlight into the home.

We hope you all will be our guests when you come this way again. It was a delight serving you all. God bless!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great house! Perfect for Statesboro grad trip

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

My sister rented this house for her family who was coming to Stateboro for our nephews college graduation. It was about an hour to Stateboro but we really enjoyed our Savannah stay before and after. The house is perfectly located and absolutely gorgeous inside. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the back brick patio for a great BBQ after the event.

I think renting a house such as this is a perfect alternative to a hotel in Savannah. There are so many things to see and do within a couple of miles, we will come back when we have more time and investigate.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Great house for a family get-together

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We rented this house from Christine to celebrate a graduation from Georgia Southern! We had family coming in from all over and needed something that could provide room for us as well as a gathering place! This was just what we needed! The place was huge, and had a great old feel. There are two large bedrooms downstairs and two large bedrooms upstairs as well as two kitchens which we put to good use. The back patio is perfect for a large group and cooking out. We really had fun! Great family times! The pictures do not do it justice! It has a great location near Forsyth Park and we walked down to the river in about 20 minutes (about 1 mile). There is a great charcoal fireplace on the patio and the patio is brick with lots of cool statues. Parking was on the back patio or in front of the house. Beds are comfortable but rooms in the front of the house never get very dark at night due to huge windows and lot of light. Bathrooms have big claw tubs and showers. The pull out couch was not overly comfortable but would be fine for kids! Overall, it was a great house and I would recommend Christine put more pictures onthe website to do it better justice. Just a great place for families or friends trying to get together. We were fairly close to the I16 so that we could easily get back and forth to Statesboro for the graduation and festivities! Enjoyed our stay thoroughly, thanks Christine!

Owners response: Thank You! We are so glad you all decided to stay in Savannah as our guests for the graduation. We are pleased you enjoyed our home and hope to see you again soon. The sofa bed has been replaced since this rental.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Beautiful Rental Home

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We just returned home from a 3-night stay here for a friend's wedding. Even after seeing the pictures and speaking to Christine, we were pleasantly surprised at the accessability and appearance of this property. It was even more beautiful than advertised and within easy driving distance (and, at times, reasonable walking distance) of anything that we needed.

The only drawback was the lack of a door on the back bedroom on the 2nd floor (this room was obviously used as another common living area in previous incarnations of the house and attached to the upstairs kitchen and dining room), but a bed sheet and push pins quickly solved that problem.

Christine was wonderful to deal with and much more helpful and accomodating than owners or agents of several other properties that I researched.

We didn't get to take full advantage of the location so close to Forsyth Park, the Historic District, and River Street due to requirements of the event we were attending, but hope to return soon on a true vacation. This property is absolutely number 1 on our list for any return trip to Savannah.

Thank you again Christine for all your help.

Owners response: A door has now been added for full privacy of the bedroom which also has an outside deck.

Thank You Terry,
We are so glad you enjoyed the home. We hope you all will be our guests on your next trip to Savannah.
Best,
Christine

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Girl Scouts Stay!

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

I had a Girl Scout Troop who were visiting The Birthplace and choose to stay at this house. What an upgrade from 4 hotel rooms!!! The price might not have been much different but being able to cook our own food instead of eating out was a great plus. This house is close to both Forsyth Park and Kroger's. Wonderful experience all the way around.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Donna,
We are so please you and your Troop enjoyed your stay with us. We loved having you all as our guests. Thank You.
God Bless,
Christine

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

We were in Savannah for our daughter's wedding. Our stay was for an extended week. This house was fantastic. Our family rented a total of 5 homes in the Savannah area. We believe we had the best. The floor plan was great for the girls to have their hair and makeup done and for family gatherings before and after dinner. We had all the comforts of being in our own home. The outdoor grill was great. We made a nice steak dinner one night. Christine was very helpful with all my questions.

The location was wonderful. We were a couple of blocks from Krogers, the park was only steps away. There was also a shuttle close by. The wedding was held at the Mansion, and we were just around the corner. I will look forward to making a trip back and would try to rent this property again.

Carol & Al
New York

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Carol and Al,
You both are so gracious. We enjoyed having you all as our guests. We would be honored to have you stay with us when you find your way back to Savannah. Take good care of yourselves. May God bless and keep you.
Christine

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Convenient location

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

The house is very convenient, located just one block off Forsyth Park. River Street is also within walking distance, only about 20 minutes away on foot. There is also a Kroger grocery store within walking distance, just a couple blocks from the house (about a 5-minute walk). We walked all over the historic district while staying here. Great location!

The first level of the house has a foyer, two bedrooms, two full baths, a laundry room, a living room, a kitchen, and a dining area. The upper level has two bedrooms, one full bath, a laundry room, a kitchen, and a dining area. (The upstairs kitchen, dining area, and laundry room are off one of the bedrooms, like an in-law suite.) All bedrooms are large and very roomy. The bathrooms are adequate, but the fixtures need updating. The toilets look fairly new, but the sinks and showers are rather old. The house has plenty of furniture but the two sofas downstairs need to be covered or replaced. Also the rugs scattered throughout the house need to be professionally cleaned.

Off-street parking is available behind the house in a courtyard, easily accommodating three vehicles.

We rented the house for a long weekend family getaway. It was a good choice for our extended family, ranging in age from infant to grandparents.

Christine was also very helpful and always available when I called with a question.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: New sofa and sofa bed, bathroom fixtures all renovated and rugs cleaned or replaced.

Thank You so much. We hope to see you all again soon.
Take Care,
Christine

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Cleaning and Upgrades Complete

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

We have just completed our spring cleaning top to bottom. New pillows. Updated bathrooms. Upgraded linens. New sofa. Wonderful new housekeeping personel. And a few extras. Please don't hesitate to call if we can help y'all in any way. We look forward to having y'all as our guests.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

My Girl Scout troop really loved this house. I can't wait to plan another trip back to Savannah and hopefully stay in this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you and the girls enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Weekend in Savannah!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Three couples shared this amazing home for a fantastic weekend getaway to Savannah. Beautifully decorated and so close to everything. If you are there on the weekend, Saturday they have a fresh market in Forsyth park which is literally across the street! It was a cheap $11 cab ride to River Street for those enjoying the night life! And be sure to check out Paula Deen's Ya'll!! Definitely worth it :)

Savannah is definitely HOT in the Summer, but once we got the A/C cranking in the house we slept great because the rooms cooled down wonderfully! And Christine was just so wonderful to book our travel with, she knows her city and wants everyone who visits to feel right at home! THANK YOU CHRISTINE for making our weekend happen....we will definitely visit Savannah again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Charming with Privacy for 3 couples

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

The property is old -- that's the beauty of his charming Victorian home -- you feel like you are living at the turn-of-the century. The location is terrific - half a block from the beautiful Forsythe Park. We were 3 couples, had lots of privacy and slept like babies on the new matresses. Each of us had the privacy of our own bathroom. The washing machines were a nice touch. Towels were provided in each restroom, however, they were paper thin, old and discolored. Tiny bars of soap were in each bathroom. There were no tissues or paper towels in the house. The toilet paper was very thin and rough and all products were Walmart. All of the garbage cans did not have liners in them and were filthy inside. The appliances in the kitchen (i.e., coffee pot and toaster) were plastic and the insides to the sofa in the parlor was hanging on the floor -- we thought there were cobwebs but it was actually the insides of the sofa. The upstairs toilet was not clean when we arrived so I cleaned it for my guests. The house is classy but the lack of quality in the accessories (appliances, papergoods, poor quality soaps, etc.) did not add to the grandness of this wonderful Victorian home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank You for the review. Glad you all enjoyed the home. We are in the process of replacing all linens and trash cans. Seems housekeeping had an oversight which I have addressed with them. We also are buying a thin piece of lining and will staple this to the antique sofa ( it is not the inside of sofa just the lining). In closing, we do try and keep rental costs to an affordable rate, this is why we only supply guests with a complimentary starter package for their convenience which most find is enough for their stay. We hope to see you all again and wish to thank you for taking time to let us know.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful Historic Home for less than a Hotel!!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

When my boyfriend and I found this charming historic house for our group traveling to Savannah, we couldn't believe we could rent the entire house for less than any of the hotels in the Savannah area (except by the airport)! The owner was more than gracious and went way out of her way to ensure that we had any info needed on locations, dining, etc. The house itself is just awesome. Beautiful inside and out, very rustic and pure history. Plenty of room for everyone with the four bedrooms--the beds slept wonderfully--I wanted to take one home. There were plenty of linens and the house was clean. We especially enjoyed the living area downstairs where we ate breakfast on the couple of mornings we cooked in the house. The decor will make you feel as though you've stepped back in time with all the antique furniture, chandeliers, and beautiful appointments. We also enjoyed the bricked in patio with private parking (since finding parking can sometimes be tricky). Could not have had a better experience. Would highly recommend this location to anyone looking to stay in Savannah. Plenty to see in walking distance, but the stop for free city transport is just a block or so away, so getting to River Street without any fuss is quite easy.

While the house is amazing and truly deserves the highest rating possible, the owner is the real jewel here. Christine we thank you so much for your kind help. You are definitely the kind of person that needs to be in this business.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cycling Weekend

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

All Brand New Mattresses. Painted and floors redone and basic up keep finished. Court Yard total brick. Redecorated.
Thank You

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cycling Weekend

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

All Brand New Mattresses. Painted and floors redone and basic up keep finished. Court Yard total brick.
Thank You

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place to stay.

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

I enjoyed the home atmosphere of the home. We each had our own space and could relax when we wanted. It was close to everything. Just a reminder to those who might stay next. Make sure to bring TP with you because it was in short supply. Also there is a grocery store: Kroger within walking distance of the house, but it is kind of in the middle of the historical district and hard to find. Look it up in the yellow pages. Beds were comfortable and a/c worked well. Neighborhood very friendly and park very close by. I would have stayed longer in the house if mother would have agreed, but I would stay in the home again in the future. It was old and kind of fun to explore. We had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad they enjoyed their stay with us. Very nice people, we would love to have stay again. Spoke to housekeeping and yes the toilet paper was not stocked. I wish we had known. There is a supply closet in the home and we could have saved them this inconvenience. Typically it is restocked after every stay, it was an oversight by housekeeping. They have assured us it will not happen again. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cycling weekend

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

The house worked out great for a reunion of eight. The owners were very accomodating. The rooms were spacious with a perfect bedroom layout for those that could not climb stairs. But, the bathroom sinks were rust stained and could use updating . All the mattresses were uncomfortable and definitely needed to be replaced. The enclosed courtyard in the back worked out great for parking two cars which carried bicycles. Because the wood gate closed (with no latch), they were out of view . The privacy of the courtyard was very relaxing though it could use some major weed and TLC. I would also suggest they install some type of hand rails for the back steps for safety.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

We had a lovely time in this house for a girls-away-only trip. (Two sisters with their three daughters.) It was quirky and mismatched and beautifully old-we couldn't have asked for more! There was room for everyone and had everything we needed, even fans. It was close to the park and if you enjoy a brisk walk as we did, everything is in reach.The owners were also very nice. We highly recommend this Savannah treat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice get-away

Review submitted: May 6, 2008   Date of arrival: April 25, 2008

We had a great visit staying in this beautiful home! It is quite a walk to River Street but found that a short taxi ride home (at night) was no big deal to find! At less than $5 it was worth it. It is right on the part and with all the activities always at the park it is a nice place to be!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Comfortable and spacious

Review submitted: May 4, 2008   Date of arrival: April 11, 2008

Lovely house within walking distance of Forsyth Park and Mansion which was great - many trolly tours stop at the Mansion so it was easy to begin and end our tour without the added cost of a cab. Everything that we needed was provided in the house which was very comfortable and spacious for 4 teens and 2 adults for 4 days. We rented both the upstairs as well as the downstairs. The kids felt like they had their own apartment upstairs which was great. Very clean. Very quiet neighborhood even with its close proximity to the park.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Old Southern Charm

Review submitted: February 20, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Honestly, you won't be dissapointed. I got back today from 5 glorious days in Savannah. The house is old and quirky but so is Savannah and everything about it! I loved talking to Betty and Debbie and generally it was a great experience. The location was perfect and the chram of the house was not overshadowed by the plastic flowers(!) Slight musty smell but so not worth avoiding the place. Amenities were great and it added to the whole idea of being Southern if only for five days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review