reviews for: listing #240 - Frankfort, Michigan House rental

**Open All Year**Sandy Beach**PontoonBoat**Newer Home**
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper Herring Lake
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $260 - $260 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,400 /wk

sort by:

My Herring Lake Vacation

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

I spent the first week of August 2007 with my two married daughters and son-in-laws along with one grandson and had a fabulous time. All the amenities were it great working order and so was the AC. The beach access was terrific and the water warm to swim.
The pontoon boat that was free of charge could be replaced, but again it was free of charge. I just wish the fishing was much better than we had experienced. Also, the retreat cottage is pet friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We had a wonderful family retreat at this BEAUTIFUL home on lovely Upper Herring Lake. The rooms were spacious, clean, and well-appointed. Everything was as advertised – we even enjoyed a trip around the lake in the pontoon boat. The view was spectacular, and we wouldn’t hesitate to come back another time. So happy to have found this vacation rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Little Slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

The Beach House near Frankfort was absolutely perfect in every way. My husband and I have a very busy, stressful lifestyle and our get-a-way at The Beach House was a little slice of heaven. The photos on the website don't even do it justice. They have given much attention to every little detail to make sure the home, setting, property, etc. are immaculate, inviting and phenominally well decorated and maintained. There is a pleasing blend of sleek and modern meets french country lake house in the decor. The surroundings (even though there are neighbors near-by) are so peaceful and serene. The views of the lake, from the sunrise to sunset were unforgettable. (We were even treated to a double rainbow over the lake right in front of the house!) The beach was beautiful and very well maintained. It was really a "beach", unlike some of the dirty, muddy, lake edges of some northern Michigan vacation spots - it was "clean" and sandy and perfect for little ones as well. I loved that the house sat right at the lake's edge and you didn't have to climb down or up flights of stairs to get to the water. I loved the spacious, well-equipted kitchen and the living room was beautiful! But my favorite, by far, was the master bedroom upstairs. I could begin the morning sitting in one of the two little wicker chaise lounges sipping my coffee and reading a book. And at night the beauty of the stars were mesmerizing with an incredible panoramic view through the huge windows that faced the lake. I highly reccommend The Beach House in every way. Perfect for a couple's romantic get-a-way or for a family vacation - very spacious. It surpassed our expectations!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, Clean and Peaceful

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We stayed at The Beach House last summer. The home was immaculate!! I just loved it. We spent the days on the beach and the evenings watching the sun set, then even later enjoying a bon fire in the provided pit. It seemed like the owners thought of everything. We brought 3 kids with us and they loved it too. The kids swam, played on the beach and on the swing set. It's so nice when the whole family can enjoy something together. It was very bonding for us all - really a little life changing. It rained one night and that night we watched the sun set from our little sitting area in the master bedroom. That sitting area had windows on three sides and the breeze that would come off the lake was so wonderful. We took the pontoon boat out twice. We're not really into fishing, but instead used the boat to see the other parts of the lake and to have a picnic from it. The lake is uncrowded and unspoiled. We saw a bald eagle and many large birds (loons?). Anyway, it was a very special, bonding time for our family and we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

What a great place for a great family vacation. We enjoyed the house, the boats, the lake and the fishing. We had beautiful weather the first five days and the fish were hiding on the bright sunny days. We caught a total of 20-25 fish throughout the week. Our dog loved the boat and loved fishing - a new experience for a city house dog! We also enjoyed the scenic drive through the dunes and a trip shopping in Traverse City.
Thanks for a GREAT WEEK!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review