reviews for: listing #24071 - Oceanside, Oregon House rental

Unobstructed Oceanfront House - Open this weekend! Save 25%
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $115 - $475 /nt

sort by:

Blue Sea Cottage Paradise

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 6, 2014

A quiet oasis from the madding world. If your mind is calmed by ocean sounds, you're comforted by cool breezes and appreciate the luxury of a heated bathroom floor this is the place for you. Each time we left to explore nearby sights we couldn't wait to return to our bit of paradise. A modest cottage remodeled with obvious creative care to detail, everything you need to live comfortably and an incredible view of the ocean. We'll be back !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

Rating: 5/5
We have been to Oceanside before, and love the location and the view. This property was very nice, a better view, and just the right size for the two of us with the kids coming up on the weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased to hear that this home was a great match for your family. Thanks for this 5 star review. We hope you'll visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oceanside Getaway

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

Had a wonderful time here... amazing views, great little cottage... well equipped, and very clean... we'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate your kind feedback. We love this cute, comfortable and clean cottage too. We hope you'll visit again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Second Time Just As Great!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Rating: 5/5
Second Time Around Just as Good as the First!
My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic weekend at the Blue Cottage. The views of the sea and the waves are beyond description. We really like the cozy quiet atmosphere in Oceanside. It is our favorite on the Oregon Pacific Coast.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love that you chose to come stay in the cottage again! It was so nice of you to give your stay such high marks. We are pleased that you enjoyed the cozy home and the spectacular ocean view. We hope you come back for a 3rd stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Oceanside Retreat

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

This home was the perfect weekend retreat. The location is great, we could walk to the coffee shop, cafe and beach. It was clean, private, quiet and cozy. We had a great view of the ocean. The kitchen was well stocked and great to cook in. The dishwasher was so quiet, we couldn't hear it running. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate your great review and are even more excited that you had such a great time during your stay. Please do come visit us again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Stay

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

We had a very nice stay at this cottage, but would only recommend it for four (4) people who do not have knee, hip, or other such physical limitations as the stairway (to the 2nd floor) is quite vertical & narrow. Great location; absolutely lovely view of the beach, ocean, and rock formations off the coast from the town of Oceanside. Fireplace didn't work properly but was attended to the next day, which we appreciated. We'd return to this cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for posting your thoughts about your stay. We are glad that that you enjoyed your get away. We are also happy that we could fix the fireplace for you promptly. Issues can come up at times, but we are always ready to help our guests so that they can enjoy their time with their family or friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful January Weekend!!!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Rating: 5/5
Wonderful January Weekend!!!
My wife and I were visiting Portland in January during a special time in our lives, our anniversary and my wife's birthday. On a whim we decided to look for a site on the Pacific Coast to enjoy this special time. Our good fortune led us to the Blue Sea Cottage. It was perfect! Perfect size and coziness! Perfect condition and equipped with everything we needed! Perfect little community of Oceanside! But most of all, perfect for being front and center stage to view the Ocean, the Beach and the Rocks!
We plan to return as often as we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy belated anniversary & birthday! What a wonderful time to spend this special time together in a great state like Oregon. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Portland and the Oregon coast. Thanks for sharing your review about your stay at our home. We are glad that you enjoyed it so much. Please do come see us again when you are in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nothing but view!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

This cottage is just right for 2 couples, or a family with kids. The kitchen is stocked better than any vacation rental we have stayed in. Having a washer/dryer is a plus. Gas stove very cozy. The cottage was extremely clean, quality linens, comfy beds, heated floors in both baths (note: both on main floor) was a treat. But the best part was the view. I can't imagine finding a better view anywhere. The way the cottage is situated, when you're looking out the windows you get the illusion of perfect seclusion--as if the beach was all yours. Photos make it look like you can step outside onto the beach, but the house is maybe 50 feet above it. However, beach access isn't far away. It's a great beach-you can walk for miles. Or sit inside or on the deck and watch the surfers, seals, and gulls. Only negative is the road noise very early in the morning, if you have the bedroom windows open.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for writing a review about your stay. We really appreciate it and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities and especially the great location and view. Please come see us again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Memories

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary here. Wonderful home and so greatful the owner allowed us to share this special cottage. We relaxed, made beautiful memories...will come again. It was as if a chef supplied the kitchen with absolutley everything imaginable. Loved the heated bathroom floors...how comfortable. Thank you thank you we should have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The VIEW is to die for!

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

You have an oceanfront view from your sofa & bed !!! It doesn't get better than this. This little cottage is sweet. It has been recently renovated/renewed in the kitchen and bath areas, which is always nice. It even has heated tile bath floors. A nice touch. Again a sweet little cottage.!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing experience

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

The house has great views from both bedrooms and living room. Beach access is not very far. Going through the tunnel on the other side is a lot of fun.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun at Blue Sea Cottage

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

This was a very wonderful trip. The state was great. The views were great. The cottage was the best part of our trip. The cottage was wonderful. It was comfortable, well stocked and the views were great. The cottage was cozy and very laid back. We enjoyed it very much and enjoyed all the trips we took but coming back at night was great. Watching the ocean come in and the people on the beach was great. I would recommend this cottage to everyone. It has everything you can need. Parking was great and everything was clean and welcoming. Hope you get to try this cottage on your vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Priceless View and comfortable accomadations!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

We were a group of 4 adults and two well traveled dogs (Greyhounds). The cottage was just the right size for our ensemble. It was well furnished with a fully stocked kitchen, very comfortable beds, and even briquettes and lighter fluid ready for the grill on the deck! And the place was very clean throughout.

But the view! Oh man, a Million Dollar view from the living area, the deck, the master and guest rooms!
Our last morning there we watched seals (sea lions?) body surfing in the waves directly in front of the house! Even though two of our days there were cold, wet and windy, the view made every minute time well spent! We all hope to return again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to watch the seals or sea lions body surfing in the waves directly in front of the house. That sounds like an amazing view!!!
We look forward to having you all back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome location

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

My sister and I stayed for a long weekend in August for my class reunion in Tillamook. Oceanside has always been one of my favorite places in the world. I have known it since 1956. Blue Sea Cottage is spectacular for the view. There were a couple of things that I would put on the negative side of the ledger: I got the master, and agree with evals below that the bed was very comfortable. My sister got the upstairs bedroom and she too complained about the lack of privacy because of the curtains. I see that this was mentioned last year and was going to be brought to the owner's attention. Apparently not given any attention to fix. We would have liked to use the patio door screen which needs to be fixed. Also one of the blinds in the main room has no cord, so if you pull down as we did because the sun was out and as it went down to a beautiful sunset, it was very bright in your face. Light bulbs on the deck need to be replaced. Those spiral stairs are a bit tricky for someone other than a nimble younger (than 65+) crowd.
I would not like to have a larger bunch in the house. The two of us were very comfortable. Wandered to the "village", down to the beach, through the tunnel, took many pictures, reunion was good, too.
I did not appreciate not having access until 4:00 in the afternoon and check-out at 11:00. Day rate was pretty expensive for that as I paid for Thursday thru Sunday. Seems like we missed most of two of those days. Big construction sewer project going on, but we tuned that out and enjoyed the view. And last but not least, the directions say that the cottage is on the right side of the road coming into town...actually on the left. Had me worried at first. Just needs to be corrected.
In spite of my issues, we did enjoy our stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Stunning view

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The house location was great, amenities nice, the view was outstanding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommend this property!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

The house was very clean and well-stocked with all the dishes and cooking utensils we needed to cook and bake all of our foods for the week. The beds were so comfortable and the fluffy duvet comforters were luxurious! The design and lay-out of the house was perfect for our family reunion. We will definitely stay here again. The beach is clean and you can view the star fish at low tide. We highly recommend this vacation home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great weekend at the Beach!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Two couples, a brithday weekend. Wonderful small home with outstanding beach views. Oceanside is a great little town, well off the beaten track, with fewer tourists making the extensive beach your own. Great exploring of tidal pools at low tide. Roseanna's restaurant in town (very short walk) was a treat for lunch; chowder, sandwiches, desserts. The house was clean and ready to go. Owners made the whole process simple and easy. Sleeps 4 well in two nice bedrooms, room for two more but on a loft w/ no privacy. No issue for us, but the upstairs (loft and 1 bed room) was up a spiral staircase, that would not work well for elderly or handicapped. Well equipped kitchen for cooking also. Great beach and ocean views in the living room and on the deck.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FANTASTIC LOCATION

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This house is right on the beach and has access within 100 yards to get down there. We had 4 adults and 1 child and were very comfortable. The view is unbeatable. Loved that there were 2 full baths. It made it very handy with 2 couples when getting ready and for privacy. We will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Cottage with spectacular view

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We have stayed at many vacation rentals up and down the Oregon coast and this is one of the nicest homes we've found for our style and our size family. My son loved the cozy loft room and the games. I loved how the rooms and spaces are proportioned, squarish rather than rectangular, and not too big so that you feel all spread out, but not too small so as to be cramped. It is cozy and comfortable. The windows are big and were very clean! The view cannot be beat. The beach is wide and long in both directions. Great for long walks. The only oddities were a surprising lack of wooden spoons for cooking, and uncomfortable pillows. Also the nearest beach access was steep, so not good for people who are unsteady on their feet. But I would definitely go back there again and I highly recommend it to people looking for a family place that is comfortable and not overly fancy.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blissful Days at the Blue Sea Cottage

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a getaway after 32 years of marriage, 25 years of child rearing and having recently sent our youngest child off to college. It was a perfect place to relax, reflect and be grateful for our many blessings. The cottage was warm, inviting and cozy. The view indescribable. And we were treated to an unbelievable variety of weather! Beautiful sunny days, torrential downpours, gorgeous rainbows, hailstorms and finally, the day we left, there were 2 inches of snow on the beach! A truly unforgettable experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Breathtaking View!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

I thought the house was good value. It is quite simple, and smaller than it looks in the photos, but the view is absolutely spectacular and you will not find better for this price. The house is at the very end of a long row so you not only have views out the front but from the side as well. We never got tired of looking out the wide picture windows. The house was comfortable, especially the beds. The living room has a comfy sofa and some older chairs that probably could use an upgrade. The kitchen equipment and dishwasher were on the old side but adequate. One thing to know if sharing the house is that one of the bedrooms is much nicer than the others – spectacular view, private bath –the others are fine but darker, less roomy and clearly the lesser choice. If sharing the house with another couple, this could be a bit awkward. However, with kids it worked fine. We loved being able to walk to the beach in five minutes or into Oceanside village (such as it is) for dinner at the café. Oceanside is a very special spot, off the beaten path and truly unspoiled. The house is cozy and while not fancy, feels just right for the place it is in. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pefect Beach House!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We have stayed at Blue Sea Cottage twice now and plan to return. When the weather is too windy at the beach, sitting on the couch in the living room really feels like you are still at the beach but in more comfortable style. You can see every person and dog walk by but far enough away to maintain privacy. The cottage is cozy and perfectly comfortable for a family. However, we would really have appreciated curtains on the upstairs bedroom. Other than that, we were very much satisfied with our beach vacation. Oceanside is stunning. Take long walks up and down the beach and you will be drenched in beauty. Low tide at the north end of the beach reveals rocks covered with mussels and starfish, pools with sea urchins and anemones. So much for kids and adults and dogs to explore! Try Schooners restaurant in Netarts, it is excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back! We will pass the suggestion on the curtains on to the owner as well. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Walk for miles

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

What a great place to get away from the city and everyday chores of life. We work up to the ocean in our front room, just a window away from getting wet. BEAUTIFUL!
We walked on the endless beach every day, some days twice. Crabbing was in season so my husband fell in love with this new sport of shore crabbing. Two restaurants within walking distance for lunch and dinner and the BBQ was on the deck and ready to grill steaks for a quite night at home.
We drove to all three capes and toured the light house octopus tree and hiked the trails.
We loved it! We will come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Oceanside Getaway

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

A wonderful cottage perfect for our family of five (kids ages 10, 7 and 5). The house was cozy, comfortable and had everything we needed. Wake and fall asleep to the sound of the waves and enjoy views of the ocean from every room. Walk a few yards down the road for beach access (down a small hill. For a less steep approach, beach access via town is only a five minute walk away.) Visit tide pools, play in the waves, drive to nearby lighthouse and Tillamook dairy. Hike Cape Lookout. Eat one meal at Roseanna's and have cinnamon rolls at Brewin' in the Wind. Sit on the deck and drink your coffee in the morning, or watch the sun set over the ocean at night. You will love every minute. June 2010.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review