reviews for: listing #240752ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

Home sweet Home while on vacation: Incredibly equipped tropical vacation rental
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 125 - $ 242 / night
    $ 875 - $ 1,699 / week
    $ 1,899 - $ 2,499 / month
  • sleeps  7
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

great condo, great location!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

This was a great condo equipped with everything you need for a perfect vacation.
Upon entering is the living room and combined kitchen area (a bit small for 4 people but very adequate). It is very well layed out with a bathroom on the main floor and a private bathroom with every bedroom. The location is absolutely the best in Tamarindo! 2 blocks to grocery store, beach, restaurants, shopping and an amazing coffee shop-The Princesa Cafe!!
Shannon has provided you with every appliance you will need, books,movies, beach towels, iron and board etc. There is nothing negative I can say about this condo. It was very clean and Shannon was amazing to deal with-very accomodating!! We did not have any issues with the power going out or the airconditioner, everything worked perfectly! When we come back to Tamarindo,
I would definately stay at this condo again. It's a quiet condo, but walk up the street and that is where all the noise and action is, so you get the best of both worlds! I highly recommend this condo!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Value, Excellent Location, Incredible Owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

Agree with the previous review that the property is well represented and that both Shannon and the property management company are very responsive and easy to work with. The condo is three floors: the ground-level floor is where the kitchen and living room are, two bedrooms are up one flight of stairs, and the top floor contains the master bedroom. Everything is air conditioned, and the air conditioners cool well. Many Costa Rican vacation rentals have AC that is at best a room decoration – so we were relieved to find out that we wouldn’t suffer. No need to run these full-time though, because the town is generally breezy.

The condo property’s garden has a pair of iguanas, named Pete and Tina (you’ll almost certainly see them), and we discovered that what we thought were neighborhood dogs were in fact Howler monkeys. That’s a sound you’ll need to hear for yourself.

That condo property garden is a major feature, with good reason. It’s cared for by a full-time gardener during the day, and has a great pool and patio. We spent most evenings chatting with neighbors out there. Some of them were also visitors (short term and snowbirds alike), and some were full-time residents. All were friendly.

A car is not required in Tamarindo, unless you want to rent one just for the day to see the area. We did just that to pick up friends at the airport in Liberia.

A block from the condo is a great bar/restaurant, with excellent food including a tuna salad that features seared Ahi Tuna. My daughter scarfed it down in no time flat.

Then there is fresh fish. On three occasions we walked one more block to purchase mahi-mahi from a local beachfront fish vendor. $12 per kilo for fresh fish that at least on one day was only two hours old. Made killer fish tacos using Shannon’s well-equipped kitchen and stuffed six people for a total of $20. You owe it to yourself to try some.

We also enjoyed having Internet access via wi-fi (in fact, in my line of work no Net access means I am unable to stay). Shannon literally switched Internet providers when we reported an issue with the original one. Wow!

Which is in the end the ultimate recommendation: Shannon is easily the most proactive owner that I have ever dealt with, and I do a LOT of travel. You will love the communication before the rental, and in the unlikely event that you need her assistance during the rental she will be all over things!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great condo, location in Tamarindo

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed in this Villa Verde condo and we loved it. It is very clean, very nicely appointed, and comfortable. There are plenty of towels and sheets and all are great quality. If you want to cook, the kitchen is well supplied which is not always true in a rental.

One of the best things about the condo is the location, It is a short (5 min with our three kids) walk to the beach. We walked everywhere. There are several really good restaurants nearby (La Esquina, Kahiki, Las Baulas) and all are in easy walking distance. There is a market (Super Mercaso 2001) about three blocks away that is a little pricey but it is good if you need to pick up one or two things. Another market is Supercompro. It is less expensive and I also walked to that one.
There are several really great beaches around Tamarindo (Playa Avellanas, Playa Conchal, Playa Langosta) but the beach right by the condo is very nice, too. Walks on the beach in the morning and evening are not to be missed. Neither are the sunsets. So beautiful. The condo has a nice pool and ALejandro who works there 6 days a week keeps it clean. We enjoyed getting to know him. He practiced Spanish with the kids which was fun for them and they taught him some English words.

We felt like the condo's owner (Shannon) and the property management company were very good about answering our questions and helping us if we needed it. Shannon always got right back to us and offered good tips and advice.

Tamarindo is a very laid back beach town and we really liked it. It is a relaxing place and welcoming place. We felt very safe with our kids there. They loved seeing the monkeys and iguanas. There are a few that hang out right by the pool. There is a balcony off the master so we could sit up there and watch the kids swim and enjoy the view.
I would recommend this condo for sure. We did not rent a car for the majority of our stay. You do not need to really. We did rent one for one weekend which made it easy to explore the other beaches but if you plan to stay in Tamarindo a car is not needed. We did a sailing tour with Blue Dolphin that met right on the beach by the condo. Again, we just walked over there. It was a fabulous day and very well done trip. I highly recommend getting out on the water for something like this tour. We were able to eat, snorkel, enjoy the views and sunset. Just amazing.
This stay will always be a great memory for our family. Thank you, Shannon

Owners response: Thank you, Julie, for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You and Ryan were a pleasure to work with during your stay. I'm am glad you were able to have a wonderful time and enjoy Tamarindo and the area. Thanks again and come back again!

Pura Vida,
Shannon

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic 3 week stay at this property

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We have never used home away before and we found this property and contacted Shannon. She has been a pleasure to rent from the time we first spoke with her to even during our stay. We are a family of 2 adults and 1 infant ( 7 months old) and we found the location to be superb, near the beach yet extremely quiet location. The pool area is wonderful for kids and kids at heart. The grounds are kept nicely, the security and available parking is excellent. The actual condo is more than we expected. The rooms are nicely decorated, there are plenty of towels, kitchen supplies etc. There is plenty of space to store clothes in the closets as well as drawer space. We used the washer and dryer and clothes line. The condo does look exactly like the pictures show it. Shannon even went to great lengths to put together a welcome scrap book with lots of great information about Tamarindo and tours and surrounding area. Checking in was easy and we would definitely recommend this to anyone of any age. Our elderly parents even came to visit for 1 week and felt very comfortable and at home. This is a real gem and we will be definitely back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Condo in Tamarindo!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

5 of us stayed in this condo for 2 weeks. It is clean, well stocked, and the condo facility grounds and pool are well looked after. The owner was a pleasure to deal with as were the property managers. Highly recommend staying here if you're in Tamarindo.

Owners response: I'm happy our place met your needs. You were a pleasure to work with as well. Thank you for choosing our little slice of heaven for your vacation. Pura Vida!
Shannon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

I can only write of high praise and acolytes for Shannon’s condominium in Tamarindo, Costa Rica. I rented the condo for a weeks stay in January 2011. I shared my stay with 2 of my male friends and what a perfect way for the 3 of us to spend time together. The condo was big enough to accommodate us but was also close enough to down town that it was just so very convenient. No reason even to have a car.

We all took advantage of the fully stocked kitchen for many of our meals, had restful nights sleep in the master bedroom’s huge comfortable bed and enjoyed time lounging buy the pool. A great value in a beautiful town.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review