reviews for: listing #24111 - Alexandria Bay, New York House rental

Rustic Adirondack style camp
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Our favorite vacation spot!!!!

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Our 7th straight year to Pine Point and as always we had an awesome time! Had the whole family (dogs too) and even brought the boat up this time to see the area by water. Loved the cottage and site as it brings unbelievable views and seclusion. The kids (and dogs) can swim, canoe, and explore while the adults can relax and enjoy the views of the lake, especially the colors at sunset. I personally enjoy sleeping on the screen-in porch and hearing the Loon’s at night! Dave (the owner) is very friendly, accommodating, and helpful (he even help with fixing our boat!)

We look forward 7 more years!!!
-John

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

Pine point is a wonderfully secluded peninsula with the cabin right on the water, yet not far the 1000 Island attractions. This was our first time staying here and it was very relaxing, peaceful and enjoyable! We have been camping in the 1000 Island Region over 40 years. Now we have found another wonder place to vacation and we can take our two Border Collies (huge plus)!

Dave, the owner is very laid back and super nice. Truly enjoyable time!
Thanks Dave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation Ruined

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

The description of this place was accurate to a certain extent. Rustic - yes , Clean - NO. There was heavy dust on some of the furniture , kitchen appliances and overhead fans. Some of the silverware appeared greasy. The main problem was that the place was infested with mice. We found droppings everywhere. On the beds, counter tops and in the cabinets. The first night they chewed thru a sealed bag of bagels on the kitchen counter. We also found droppings in the packing boxes we transported our dry food in. There appeared to be a rodent nest in one of the bedroom dresser drawers. It was unsanitary for the adults and especially for my son's 10 mo. old baby. The owner claimed he knew nothing about this and that he had accompanied a cleaning crew in the place a few hours before we got there. We left on 6/16 after receiving half of our money back. Also one of the gas grills worked after I cleaned it. I was afraid to mess with the other grill which appeared to be nonfunctional. The kitchen stove didn't work supposedly because the breaker was turned off. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Owners response: This is a rustic cabin in the woods on the waters edge. When nature abounds sometimes nature prevails...which includes a thick coat of pollen this year which descends within an hour of cleaning. I am proud of my long list of repeat renters and their reviews (many who have already booked for 2015) Should you come and find a mouse dropping simply clean it up...don't take a picture of it to email me as I already know what it looks like.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Kids had a BLAST!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The cottage was perfect for us. We stay in Pennsylvania state park rustic cabins every Fall and this year instead of going to the beach in the Summer we opted for the cottage by the water in the 1000 Islands and we weren't disappointed. Our view was outstanding! Fishing was GREAT! Our kids (ages- 10, 14, 14 & 16)had a BLAST! From fishing to using the row boat and canoe, to swimming, to looking for penny toads a good time was had by all. It was a privilege to rent "the perfect spot" in the 1000 Islands (I have stayed in T.I.P. three times over the years) and would choose Pine Point for every visit in the future. Dave is a good host and had the answers to all our questions.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pine Point Paradise

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We Stayed on Pine Point the 2nd to last week in August of this year and the kids and the dog and family had a fantastic time ! The weather was great, the fishing was awesome and the views from the point were phenomenal. There was plenty to do within a short driving distance away to keep the kids busy.
The owner Dave is a great host and we look forward to visiting again in the near future.

Thanks Dave for let us enjoy your paradise on Pine Point !

Matt

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pine Point is Awsome!!!!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We have been coming to Pine Point every August for the past 5 years and love every minute of it! The location is spectacular being right on the lake with unbelievable views and seclusion. It has to be one of the best locations in all of the Thousand Islands!!! The cottage great with more than enough room for a family (we typically have 4-5 of us). Our kids (and dogs) love it here too. They love to play around the camp and the older one likes to explore and boat. Dave (the owner) is a great person. He’s very friendly and helpful. We also love his dog!

We always look forward to the next year and have made this trip our annual family vacation and plan to for years to come!!!
-John

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our favorite summer getaway

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

This was our 5th year staying at Pine Point and once again had a great week there. Our teenage boys enjoy the fishing, boating and water sports in front of the island.The cottage is comfortable inside with plenty of room,we especially enjoy the screened porch. It is a great location and easy to get to. Dave the owner is a wonderful man and is always accomodating to us. He always makes us feel Pine Point is "our place" for our week's stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

little piece of paridise

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

if you are looking for a getaway this is it!look no further.you have found it.the cottage is beautiful,the fishing is awesomeand the sunsets are amazing.there is a great swimming area.if you bring your boat you can go tubbing and see all the attractions in alex bay.boldt castle is something you shouldn't miss.we brought our two teenage sons and their cousins also teens.they loved it.the dogs loved it too.we travel alot and this is by far the best place we have been to.it is fun for all ages.the water is crystal clear,you would think you were in the caribbean.so give it a try,you won't be disappointed.the owner dave is a really great guy.asti,bob and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review