reviews for: listing #24118 - Bahamas, Caribbean Cottage rental

Pink Sand Cottage- "On the Water" Beach Cottage -fr $1195
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Palmetto Point
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,195 - $1,395 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal Vacation rental

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

The cottage suited us perfectly! The ocean right outside the door, easy access to conveniences in N. Palmetto Point, and not being too far from Governor's Harbour and great Caribbean beaches, made the location ideal, too. The list of amenities for a small home was impressive, but how well the home was appointed exceeded our expectations. We are already planning to return next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Pink Sand Cottage. It was a wonderful cottage with everything you could ever ask for; privacy and a beautiful beach view. The cottage is well stocked with snorkeling equipment, beach chairs, outdoor table and barbecue. It is also very clean. It is more like visiting someones home than it is like renting a place to stay. Ken and Adele are wonderful people who make you feel very welcomed. I have to say it was the most relaxing vacation I have ever taken.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just wonderful and more

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

I can’t say enough about Pink Sands Cottage, it was everything we had hoped for and more which was great since Mother Nature decided not to provide nice weather for a planned snorkeling vacation. We certainly made the best of it and I must say we have never relaxed, read and napped so much. Sue, the housekeeper, called the night we arrived to make sure we had everything we needed and since the cottage is so well equipped, we had no issues. We were able to go to Lighthouse Beach and made stops on the way back before the cloudy/windy/rainy weather set in. We went for rides each afternoon and chatted with a lot of the locals at stops we made. This was our first Bahamas vacation and the cottage made it extra special. Awesome place that I would highly recommend to anyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved our stay

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We spent a week in beautiful Eleuthera and wish we would have stayed longer! The cottage was very well equipped, we had everything we needed. The cottage is perfect for a couple. We bought groceries at the local grocery store, visited the famous beaches, and snorkeled right outside of our cottage. You are right on the water. We enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the waves. We had a very romantic trip and even got engaged during our stay! We would not hesitate to come back! In fact, we are already planning to return to Eleuthera next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Highly Recommended"

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Martin&Ann!
> Georgia USA!
> Jul 12, 2011
>
> Not only would we highly recommend The Pink Sand Cottage to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful, romantic getaway; we took the time to read through all the guest books and with the exception of a couple of "bug" complaints, everyone who has ever stayed here agrees! This was not only the best vacation we've ever had; it was the best customer service we've ever gotten. The owners were very nice, quick to respond to emails and even rearranged schedules so that we could have our anniversary week! They gave us invaluable information on air travel, grocery shopping, car rental, restaurants, snorkeling, etc. The caretaker, Sue, was wonderful. She got the cottage ready for us early, and she came to our rescue on short notice. Finally, our security deposit was returned to us before we even got our suitcases unpacked! The cottage was very well appointed with great attention to detail. The photos of the cottage do not do it justice. It is what a beach house is supposed to look like; with shells and sea fans carefully arranged on top of the cabinets, tropical furniture, and beautiful coastal bedding atop a very comfortable pillow topped bed. From the bed, you will awaken to a wonderful view of the turquoise waters of your (mostly) private beach. We loved the backpack beach chairs and the beach umbrella. There are also coolers, floats and snorkeling equipment for your use. The beach, while a bit rocky right in front of the cottage,(bring water shoes) has a good entry point just to the left and a large stretch of gorgeous white sandy beach just around the bend to the right. We snorkeled every day, and the best snorkeling we found on the island was right out in front of the cottage. The pristine reef was beautiful with lots of coral, sea fans and colorful fishes. We even watched a pair of large sting rays feeding and playing on the sandy bottom. Wow! In closing, if you pick The Pink Sand Cottage you won't be disappointed, just please don't pick "Our Week". :~) God Bless!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

If you want a place to relax, this is it. It is very quiet; no one bothers you; peaceful.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful!!"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Just spent seven wonderful days in paradise!! The Pink Sand Cottage has stunning beauty, unparalleled privacy, cleanliness and attentive and caring owners all rolled into one awesome place!! We took long walks along the beach to admire the beauty of the island and the snorkeling out front was really good with parrot fish, grouper, sergeant majors and a sea turtle among the residents. For an ocean, the water was remarkably calm which we both enjoyed. Be aware though, that paradise and privacy have its price and you will not find an array of dining and car rental choices in Eleuthera. However, we did very well with Naaman on the car rental and Tippy's restaurant featured great food and friendly service. Our best meals were actually spent right at the Pink Sand Cottage itself dining on the porch with an ocean view to die for!! The residents of the island are reserved but friendly and we felt safe at all times. It was great meeting Ken and adele. They are hard-working, hands-on owners who gave us seven of the best days we have ever experienced on this planet!! God willing, we will definitely return for an encore!!
Dick & Mares Long Island NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Two weeks of relaxation"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We had a wonderful two weeks at Pink Sand cottage in North Palmetto Point. The cottage was just as it was described on the internet and, having been to a different cottage last year, we had a good idea of the cottage's location, based on our basic knowledge of the island. The cottage was right on the beach, with access just down a few steps. The beach was wonderful for walking, swimming, snorkeling, and beach-combing. Everything you could want was there, especially for those looking for a quiet, relaxing, make your own fun type of holiday. We loved discovering other beaches, having great meals at local restaurants, and just hanging out reading good books, cooking, and relishing in having absolutely no responsibilities. We would definitely return to this cottage!
John & Jane..... Maine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Tropical paradise"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Wow !!! Sums it up!
After tooo many over-crowded, bland food, cheap liquor, fight to get a beach chair, All-Inclusive giant mega resorts... We said, "Where's the relaxing beach vacation??

We sought out a place that would be peaceful, secluded and somewhere to forget about the busy everyday life. This is it!!

Pink Sand Cottage is exactly what the website portrays. What you see, is what you get. The descriptions and pictures are what you will experience. The cottage is clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The linens were plentiful and the kitchen has every utensil you'll ever need. Scott particularly likes the green plastic bowl. :)

The landscaping around the cottage is a well manicured variety of tropical foliage, including a cozy shaded hammock and private sundeck. The porch is a great spot for morning coffee at sunrise as well as cocktails and amazing star gazing at night.

The beach is one of the best we've ever seen. Daily we walked miles and miles on beautiful pink sand watching the turquoise water and only encountering 2-3 people per day.

We met the owners, Ken & Adele, who are the most genuine people, they became instant friends. We've rented 20+ homes over the years and have never received the sincere care they express.

If you're looking for a private tropical paradise, this is it!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Two Weeks of Splendor & Solitude"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

What a difference a week makes. Last week we were on the sunny beaches of Eleuthra and now it's back to work and the Colorado cold. The Pink Sand Cottage was the perfect romantic get away. The cottage was neat, clean, comfortable and most importantly right on the ocean. There is a TV with satellite available. I don't know why you would watch it, because the reason you're there is to get away from it all and have that special time being alone with your spouse. The grounds and gardens were kept immaculate. The sunrises were spectacular as you sit on the porch with you morning coffee. As other people have stated, the view of the ocean was not obstructed, however your privacy was totally kept intact. For those of you who do not like tan lines or just want to lounge around in the all natural with your loved one, the porch, sundeck and hammock are secluded away from the view of others, however your view of the ocean is still there. Every day we went for a walk on the beach and maybe met one or two other people. The same goes for the other beaches on the island. Do rent a car from Naaman Rolle, because there is a lot to see and there are some great bars and restaurants in the area. Ken & Adele are a great resource of information, so don't be afraid to ask them questions. All my e-mails were answered immediately and were very helpful. We met Ken & Adele while we were there and they are the nicest, friendliest and most helpful people you'd meet. Ken and adele thank you very much for allowing use to use the cottage so we could enjoy two weeks of sun, water, peace, quite and especially togetherness. We will definitely be back. PS: No tan lines here. :)
Ron & Lynda Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Exceeded expectations of outer Bahamas"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

The two person only cottage is near the end of a dead end one lane sandy road after many other beach front properties so is relatively off the grid. off the grid. Shorter flight of sturdy wooden stairs than many other properties to empty soft pink sand beach. easy water entry (including kayak) to calm clear water and excellent snorkeling and kayaking (ocean going 2 person kayak provided by local vendor can go to outer reefs). Very intimate, nice porch and sundeck. Bring 99.98.11% Deet if you want to sit outside at sunset. No bathtub but has nice shower inside & outdoors too. TV refrigerator are very good. Outstanding stargazing. It is near Governors Harbor with groceries and restaurants. In the middle of the long island so trips to either end are a day trip. Comfortable and clean. The landlords are very responsive. Good value if you want to get away from it all. Especially in January!
Geoff & Mares San Diego

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A beautiful paradise"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

Been home for a week and already wish to be back in paradise. The cottage was very clean & comfortable and a perfect location for getting away from it all. It is very private and not overlooked so clothes aren't necessary on the patio, sundeck or even swinging in the hammock!
We only saw 4 people all week on 'our' beach, so if you want to pretend to be like Robinson Crusoe this is the place. You can walk miles along the beach whilst looking for shells and even saw large fish swimming within 4ft of the surf and the full moon shining on the sea at night whilst sitting on the patio with a local rum, was a wonder to behold.
We ate in most nights barbecuing fish & steaks accompanied with the local fresh produce and fresh bread from the bakery in Govenors Harbour, yummy!
Recommend hiring a jeep as the roads can be a bit rough leading to some of the other beaches, use Naaman, a real gentleman, the jeep was a little beaten up but good fun and we were thankful for it.
If there is a downside, it's the no-see-ums, take antihistamine and rub fresh lime juice on the bites, very small price to pay for being in heaven for 10 days.
Thanks Ken & Adele for the unforgetable experience, hope to be back in 2011.
Jane & Nigel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Romance on the Beach"

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

What a beautiful cottage!! So clean and decorated so beautifully. Great kitchen to cook all of the seafood we caught. I would recommend this cottage to every couple. Directly on the beach...you coudln't ask anything more!!
B&K Melbane N.C

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review