reviews for: listing #24119 - Bahamas, Caribbean Villa rental

Palmetto Sunrise " Luxury Villa" - High Speed-"Wi Fi"
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $1,795 - $2,195 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful, well maintained home"

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

"Beautiful, well maintained home"

We just had the pleasure of staying at Palmetto Sunrise for 2 weeks. The home is spotless and pristine, we had everything we could possibly want from the kitchen, to the beach chairs and beach towels and coming home to super comfy beds each night. We had a great time on Eleuthera, the people are super nice. We rented a car from Naaman Rolle, who couldn't be nicer. We had dinners at Tippy's, our favorite restaurant and hung out at Sky Beach Club and Cococdimama's. Both great restaurants and incredible beaches. We went scuba diving with al at Ocean Fox, based in Cotton Bay and he was great. Finally, fishing with Tweedie Sands out of Spanish Wells could not have been better, epic fishing. Caught yellow and black fin tuna, mahi mahi, barracuda, needlefish, grouper and snapper, unbelievable. Spent a couple of days on Harbor Island. Could not have been a better vacation. Thanks to Ken and adele for kicking it off in their great home!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful, well maintained home"

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

"Beautiful, well maintained home"

We just had the pleasure of staying at Palmetto Sunrise for 2 weeks. The home is spotless and pristine, we had everything we could possibly want from the kitchen, to the beach chairs and beach towels and coming home to super comfy beds each night. We had a great time on Eleuthera, the people are super nice. We rented a car from Naaman Rolle, who couldn't be nicer. We had dinners at Tippy's, our favorite restaurant and hung out at Sky Beach Club and Cococdimama's. Both great restaurants and incredible beaches. We went scuba diving with al at Ocean Fox, based in Cotton Bay and he was great. Finally, fishing with Tweedie Sands out of Spanish Wells could not have been better, epic fishing. Caught yellow and black fin tuna, mahi mahi, barracuda, needlefish, grouper and snapper, unbelievable. Spent a couple of days on Harbor Island. Could not have been a better vacation. Thanks to Ken and adele for kicking it off in their great home!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Gorgeous holiday villa with ocean view"

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

This was our first time to the beautiful island of Eleuthera. The villa is top notch - very well maintained - gorgeous gardens, extremely well equipped, everything you need is here - for cooking, going on picnics - candles for a romantic diinner at home. The very best of quality furniture for a really comfortable stay. The rear of the villa had a lovely view of the lake and was very private for suntanning - nobody looking over the fence checking out to see what you were having for breakfast - which is really a treat! The location was rather lovely - down a narrow laneway with other villas spead out nicely. The sound of the ocean was always there - it was hypnotic listening to the crashing waves as we walked down the beach for 2 hours each morning - our favourite beach was Double Bay Beach - it was absolutely breathtaking. We rented a car from Naaman who was absolutely delightful and honest. The Island farm was a favourite of ours for fresh fruit - vegetables and herbs and also fresh bread twice a week.The people on the Island were so nice and friendly and helpful. There were some very nice restaurants to visit - the beach house was just beautiful and Cocodimammas was also beautiful - so scenic. The villa owners have done a wonderful job on making this villa a very desirable place to stay. We highly recommend this villa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Island Retreat

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

My husband, a friend and I spent nine nights at Palmetto Sunrise and it was the perfect place to really retreat from everthing and scope out some of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see. All of them were very close by and one was more spectacular than the last. Be sure to make the trek to the southernmost point of the island to see the lighthouse beach. The house is lovely and very open and spacious. I did not want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Fantastic! We f had our own private beeach!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We vacation on beaches around the world, most often in rentals like this one vs. hotels. We can't say enough good things about Palmetto Sunrise. This was one of the most delightful trips out of many that we've had. The Holtermann's are great to work with. The house was immaculate, with a fully equipped kitchen, tons of linens and towels, great internet access and all of the other amenities needed. The aC also works really well. There is a nice bbq grill and decks with good patio furniture surrounding three sides of the house.

The beach here is stunning. In June at least, the tides recede during the peak time of the day and the rocks create this marvelous tide pool just a few yards down the beach from Palmetto Sunrise. The pool goes from about 4" deep gradually to about 4" deep. It is perfect for all ages to paddle and play in, and you can snorkel and even catch some fish that swim in.

5 out of the 7 days we stayed, we never saw another person as far as our eye could see each way on the beach, even as far as we walked! The only footprints in the sand were ours we went fishing, beach combing and snorkeling. It truly felt like we owned our own private island when we were on the beach.

Behind the house is a marshy pond with frogs that make the most wonderful sounds at night. Not annoying at all - really fun.

The people in Eleuthera are extremely friendly, very nice and easy going. There are fabulous restaurants all over the island, and thanks to the Holtermann's, there is a ton of information in the house about where to go, what to do, eat, etc. Also, Sue, their property manager, is an angel! I left some shorts at the house and Sue went out of her way to get them and mail them to me before she had even received my check for the postage!

To sum it all up, you will absolutely love staying here and you will fall in love with Eleuthera as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet and relaxing

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Eleuthera is gorgeous and the Palmetto Sunrise Villa was perfect for the two of us. It was clean, quiet, well equipped with all essentials and more and just a restful location. We walked on the beach and sat on the decks in the morning, It was such a great place to retire at night...peaceful and lots of great TV if you wanted that. We would go back in a minute. Jan and Bruce - Colorado

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfectly Delightful Home in Palmetto Point/Eleuth

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed eight glorious nights on Eleuthera this past April. We stayed at Palmetto Sunrise in the centrally-located Palmetto Point area, and are so glad we did. This is a lovely location in a quiet setting away from any hustle and bustle. Adjacent properties are vacation homes, none too close or intrusive. The house is well-built and well-furnished with comfortable beds, sofas, and chairs. The patio terrace has a beautiful view and provides a comfortable area for lounging. It is only a short walk to the Atlantic, which has the most magnificent snorkeling and beachcombing opportunities. The greenery around the house is also incredibly beautiful.

Ken and Adele are excellent communicators when you are booking their home via email and phone. Easy going, professional and lovely people. The home is perfectly represented on this and their personal Web site.

The home is ideally situated on the Atlantic side of the island (great breeze; not too windy), and within a 15 minute drive to Governor's Harbour. I spent a lot of time at the lovely old Haynes Library when not lazing on the beach platform built specifically for Palmetto Sunrise.

The water pressure was excellent and the drinking water is provided. As you see in the photos of the home, there are ceiling fans in every room. We had them on during the day when in the house, with the windows open (screens closed) for a good cross-breeze and used the A/C in the bedroom at night. Fantastic A/C. The photos are, again, very representative of the home.

The inside of the home is gorgeous; nicely laid-out and exceptionally clean. We had every home amenity we could have needed or wanted (flashlights for night walking, laundry, etc.). An amazingly luxurious beach is right there in front of the home, across a footpath, about 40-50 yards or so to the Palmetto Sunrise beach platform - with two loungers and a table - right at the beach. Otherwise, exceptionally easy drives to a variety of glorious beaches on either the Atlantic or Caribbean sides. It was very easy access to the Queen's Highway to head north or south and the various restaurants.

In short, the owners are extremely kind with excellent taste (lovely interior design - no wacky Bahamas kitsch), and are true hosts. It was an absolute dream of a vacation at Palmetto Sunrise and we will stay again. We would absolutely recommend this lovely home on Eleuthera.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review