reviews for: listing #2412 - Tahoe Donner, California House rental

Beautiful Lake Tahoe Vacation Retreat w/Hot Tub and Wireless
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $350 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,300 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Great time

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

What a great experience at the VRBO home. The house was just as described and the price was very fair. I hope to use the same house again soon to enjoy a few days of peace and quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent amenities in a tranquil setting

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

The property is located on a very quiet street, backing onto steep wooded hills. At night, in the hot tub, the silence was remarkable and the stars very clear. The property was easy to find, even at night, and the procedures for warming the house up, turning the water on etc. very straightforward. The living room is vast and well-lit, and the whole place was in spotless condition when we arrived. Travelling with a 3-year old our ability to explore was limited, but the house is an excellent place to just hang out. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

We stayed at Jill's mountain cabin a few times, during the winter and summer. We love skiing, golfing, hiking, and are foodies, so the location is perfect for all of our interests. Everything is close by. There are even hiking/walking trails behind the house, which are perfect for morning or early evening exercise or leisurely strolls. What I enjoy about the cabin is that it feels like home--you don't feel like a visiter in someone else's home. The decor is tasteful and the furniture well made. The hot tub is in a private area, so lots of privacy. It is a great place to stay and have friends over for dinner or have them stay with you. The two downstairs bedrooms have queen beds, and one of them has a twin bed in it as well. So nice when you have both couples and singles staying with you. It is a great home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfort and style in a mountain home

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Jill's Mountain Home very much. The decor and furnishings are fitting a mountain retreat with all the comforts. You will feel at home with the nice flat screen tv and comfy sofa. The back deck is very private and the hot tub spa a nice way to end the day or evening. The kitchen, dining room, and living area is open so it is easy to remain a part of the conversation no matter where you are. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and provide lots of sleeping accommadations.
The home is in a good location for hiking the TD trails . In August it can get very warm during the day and most of the homes do not have air conditioning. Turn on the fans and put the portable screens on the windows to help cool it down. The driveway is quite steep, not a problem during the summer but in the winter it would present a challenge.
The amenities you have access to in Tahoe Donner are fabulous. The Donner lake beach is terrific as is the rec center with lap pool and driving range. Jill's home provides a wonderful headquarters to take it all in. We will be back.
Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful quiet setting

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and twin 2 1/2 year olds along with my brother and his wife and their 15 year old twin girls. I loved the fact that the master bedroom was large enough to have two cribs set up (rented using Babyaways) and that there was a loft area with a super comfy couch for reading or taking an afternoon nap. The owner had just put in some beautiful dark hardwood in the main living area making it feel like a luxury property. The dining room table was perfect; sturdy comfortable chairs and perfect to hold the entire family. The kitchen was well stocked (there was even Peets and Starbucks coffee in the freezer) with the only suggestion would be to provide more drinking glasses. The two downstairs rooms were beautifully appointed and the beds were very comfortable. What isn't shown in the photos is that there is a twin bed in one of the bedrooms in addition to the queen bed. This was a pleasant surprise as I assumed from the photo there were just the two downstairs bedrooms with queen beds. The lot itself isn't level but the owner has the back terraced making it completely safe for our 21/2 year olds. Perhaps the best feature of this property is that it's one of the last houses on the Tahoe Donner community where the trailhead for the Tahoe Donner trail system begins. No need to drive your car to a hiking path- you merely walk 35 feet and you are on a trail that you can mountain bike or walk on for miles. Compared other homes in Tahoe Donner this home has zero street noise as it's the last home on the cul de sac on a very quiet road. If you've rented on Northwoods before there is no comparison.There are two issues that you need to be aware of. First, the deck has Southern exposure and there is no shade until about 430pm. This would be great during the winter, but in August, don't plan on eating your lunch out on the deck or reading a book without 50+ sunblock. If you're planning on being out during the day and coming back for cocktails then this would be a non issue. Second is the steep driveway and stairs entering the property. Plan on losing 5 pounds just taking the garbage and recycling out to the road twice a day. Winter would be mandatory 4 wheel drive, but in the summer with two cars in the driveway, just make sure your driving backwards skills are polished. WIFI connection was fast and the only suggestion would be to put a DVD and not a VHS in the master bedroom. We brought DVDs for the toddlers and couldn't play them in the room.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review