reviews for: listing #24224 - Sandy Creek, New York House rental

Waterfront Chalet on Autumn Lake and snowmobile trails
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Peaceful Family Retreat

Review submitted: July 12, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We just returned from a week at this Autumn Lake chalet. We had never been there before, and it was everything we expected. The pictures and information on the website are very accurate. The owner, Dave, was extremely helpful from our first inquiry on HomeAway until the day we left his chalet. He clearly loves meeting people and helping them to enjoy the beauty of his vacation home. They really thought of EVERYTHING! We did not venture out much because we were having too much fun kayaking, fishing, playing cards, reading, and spending some quality family time. We did visit Salmon River Falls, and that was very close by and a beautiful spot. We especially liked that our dog was welcome to join us. I would recommend this property to others and will probably rent it again sometime in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place to rent

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Dave and Roz were gracious hosts and clearly communicated all details about the house. They were very easy to work with throughout the process and genuinely nice people. The house itself was clean and well stocked (included a mountain of board games which we really enjoyed) and very cozy. We enjoyed the electric fireplace in the living room and the real firepit outside. The lake is beautiful and very relaxing to take a boat out on and go fishing. We stayed here with 4 adult couples (and our 7 month old baby) and felt quite comfortable. We already want to rent next year! I would highly recommend this property. Thanks again Dave!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, peaceful and private.

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

The Chalet was all Dave and Roz advertise. The home is well kept, clean and just down right gorgeous. Very quiet and private spot. My family (wife, 2 daughters, 2 son-in-laws, 3 grandsons) had a extremely relaxing week. My 5 and 7 year old grandsons swam, kayaked and caught fish when ever they felt like it. They both have told me they that they want to live there! The satellite TV came in handy to quiet them down before bed time. Dave does a great job of communicating facts about the house and area. We enjoyed the fish hatchery, Salmon River falls and Sandy Island Beach State park just minutes away. If you're looking for some tranquility THIS IS the place for you. Many thanks to Dave and Roz. Peace.

Owners response: Thanks you Chuck and Deloris for the pleasurable experience of renting our home to your fabulous family! It really means a lot to be part of your vacation memories. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again.
Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME WEEK IN PARADISE!!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

Dave and Roz,
Bill, Justine and myself can't thank you enough for providing such a great place for us to stay and enjoy our annual fall fishing trip to Altmar. The house was immaculate and everything we needed was there, we couldn't have asked for more. We would highly recommend your chalet for anyone looking for a great place to stay and enjoy a week or more of R&R. We're already booked again for 2013 and looking forward to another great week in Altmar. The fishing can be hit or miss but we know the accommodations are always first class, which makes it easier to relax after a long day fishing. Thanks again, see you this fall.
Regards,
Chris

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fishing trip to Pulaski NY (Chalet)

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

I’m a little behind on writing this review for our fishing trip to Pulaski NY in October 2012. However, I wanted to make sure that everyone that is planning a vacation has an opportunity to check with Dave & Roz before staying anywhere else. My son and I stayed at the Chalet in October of 2012 and 2011. This is truly a beautiful place. In addition to the fishing, we always enjoy the peaceful Private Lake. Trust me; you cannot beat the comfort of staying here. All the privacy you need and very clean. Dave and Roz are hardworking people that go the extra mile to make certain that everyone is happy here. Go, stay and relax. You will not regret one moment. Thanks again Dave & Roz you’re the best of the best. Larry Sr. & Larry Jr.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guys Fishing Trip

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

The house is beautiful and the fishing was amazing!!!! Myself and six of my high school friends got together for a guy’s fishing trip at the chalet. There was plenty of room for all of us and we did not need to leave the house once because it had everything we needed. We had a fishing tournament on the final Saturday and I lost even though I caught 28 fish in just 3 hours!! We had a great time sitting by the fire or on the deck just reminiscing about old times. The week was everything we hoped it would be and more and will definitely be back. Thanks for everything!!!!!

Jason

Owners response: Nothing more I like to here about Autumn Lake is the fishing is awesome! Our private lake is respected by all and catch and release makes it one of the most productive lakes in upstate NY. Too bad you missed the 8 pounder that our neighbor John caught (and released) back into the lake in September. Thanks for the Review!
Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic Vacation Rental

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

I was looking for a relaxing place to say that would allow me to stay off the grid and away from any stress. This chalet offered everything I was looking for and much more. I also wanted to enjoy some quality time with my wife and grown children. We all enjoyed every aspect of the stay.

The cottage has every possible amenity you could imagine. We literally only needed to bring our clothes and some food. The kitchen has everything needed. There were games, TV, wireless network and extremely comfortable furniture. Dave also provided all the boats and water craft we needed. I had asked about bringing my own kayaks and he stated that they had everything I would need. That saved me the work of packing all my gear. He even provided all the fishing gear we needed. I lost count at 25 large and small mouth bass we caught. We spent all day on and in the water. The beach area was great for floating, swimming and relaxing. Nothing better than having the entire cove to yourself. I saw one other boat the entire week. We took advantage of the great fire pit, gas grill and deck. We were outside almost the entire week. The one day we had some rain we enjoyed the games, reading and the very comfortable home.
Dave has to be the nicest guy I have ever rented from. He was very easy to work with and took care of any needs. Dave and Roz keep the place extremely clean and in great shape.

I would highly recommend the cottage for anyone that wanted a relaxing vacation and didn’t want to worry about packing a lot of extra gear. The location is beautiful and quiet. If you are interested in some day trips you are not far from the Salmon River falls, 1000 Islands and wine country. We did take one day trip to the 1000 Islands. We toured the boat museum and castles both of which were well worth the trip.

Thank you Dave and Roz for one of the best vacations we’ve had in years!

Owners response: Thanks for the thoughtful review Doug, Don't be a stranger and feel free to come back and pack-up more memories.

Dave and Roz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place, great owners.

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

This cottage is an ideal place to spend if you’re looking for a quiet, relaxing, place to vacation. The cottage is on a small cove and there are no motors allowed on the lake. You won’t see jetski’s flying by or the roar of outboard motors. The cottage itself is very well equipped with most everything you’ll need including a propane BBQ which is a new addition to the place and it works great. There are dozens of games inside for rainy days and outdoor games for the nice weather. Boats, rods, and life jackets are all provided.
The owner – Dave goes out of his way to make sure that your stay is a great experience. He’s there to greet you, and to see you on your way. He checks in by phone just to make sure there’s no issues (the smile never leaves his face either).

I’d recommend this place to people who are looking to relax and enjoy nature, to get away from the noise. The stars at night are amazing, we saw whitetail deer, wild turkey, grouse. We caught frogs, bugs, and many largemouth bass on the lake. The forest is great as well, a nice trail where the kids can run and play without getting eaten alive by bugs.

The falls nearby is a “must see” and be sure to bring a large container to put water into as there’s a spring on the way to the falls on the side of the road where you can get ice cold spring water. This saves you time and money by not having to buy water in town. We also spent a day at a state park – Sandy Island Beach State Park, it’s about a 30 min drive and it’s a nice beach with life guards and a small cost to enter.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, vacation, next to wilderness, but still with wi-fi, satellite tv, and a microwave oven, I’d recommend this place. It’s great for any age.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roz and I so appreciate your thoughtful review. It is always our hope that your stay will bring back fond family memories and hopefully future family memories for years to come. Come back soon!

Our Best,

Dave and Roz Fernandes

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comforting & Beyond Beautiful

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

I’ve been visiting New York for the excellent fishing on and off over the last 20+ years. I’ve enjoyed the places that I have stayed. Usually, once I get comfortable, I normally don’t change places. However, this was the first year that my son was going to join me on the fishing trip. We decided to start fresh with a new place. We found the Chalet while looking at vacation homes. Sometimes, you just know when you hit a winner. I contacted Dave and found him to be super friendly and welcoming. My son and I decided to give it a try. WOW!!!! What great people. Dave and his wife Roz should win some type of award for friendliness. They even called us on our cell phone while we were driving to New York from Maryland just to check on us and to make sure everything was okay. Once we arrived, they gave us the grand tour of the Chalet, offered to share fishing equipment and the secrets of the lake. I can’t even begin to tell you how relaxed and comfortable we felt staying there. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when we return for our next trip. Thank you again Dave and Roz. You’re the best of the best. Larry Sr. & Larry Jr.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous Fun and Relaxation had by ALL!

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

This was our second stay at the Chalet. Roz and Dave are make you feel so welcome, and comfortable - like your part of the family. They are there to greet you, show you what is new, how to work things, etc. There is nothing that you could possibly want, that is not there at the Chalet. Outside - boats and rods for fishing in the lake (which my son did non-stop). Fire pit, with benches to spend the evening sitting and chatting by the fire. Large deck with table and enough seating for everyone to have morning coffee, afternoon tea, or evening hot chocolate, taking in the beautiful scenery. A Charcoal, and red heat grill. And a dog kennel for your furry kids! Inside the chalet - its inviting, and cozy. Plenty room for everyone to have their own space. Satellite tv, wireless internet, numerous board games, well stocked kitchen with appliances / utencils, anything you could possibly need on vacation. We have stayed at numerous vacation rentals, but none that compare to the Chalet and its owners. We know that when we arrive, everything is clean, and working. No need to worry what it may be like. The Chalet is close to town and salmon river, yet far enough out that your not bothered by all the salmon fisherman and traffic. We knew from the first stay at the Chalet we would not have to look any further, and we would be going back year after year. Thank you Roz and Dave for sharing with us your Chalet.

Owners response: Looking over my reviews I realized that I never submitted a response to last years review. So Sorry, but for all you readers...Tammy is back with her family this year and is fishing the lake with son Dalton,and clan, catching bass. Truly one of my Favorite fab families, that I look forward to seeing, year after year. Go hook a lunker for me and take a pic, Dalton.

Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wow

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Our family stumbled upon this rental while looking for a vacation that everyone could enjoy without the usual tourist traps. Dave and Roz are wonderful-they greet you on your arrival and help get you situated. The home is amazing and very comfortable-everything you could ever need is provided. We fished everyday and even our 2yr old grandson couldn't wait for the next fish to be caught-you could tell he thought that was pretty exciting and would pet each one before they went back into the lake. We also enjoyed the kayaks-they were also used everyday. We also played horseshoes and bocce ball and went on a few trails to find some geocaches. The lake is beautiful and private-usually we were the only ones on it. We called the one end of the cove Turtle Log Bay-always saw several turtles sunning themselves on a log as well as seeing a beaver-very serene. And for some reason we were very intrigued with the old water tower built in 1914-very interesting as well as the Salmon river fallls. Thanks Dave and Roz for thr experience-it was a pleasure to meet you!!!-you really made us feel right at home and at ease. chip & donna

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Chalet on Autumn Lake

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

just came back from the greatest vacation ever at Dave and Roz's Chalet. They are the best hosts ever. They think of everything you could possibly need. The men caught fish every time they cast into the water. There are kayaks and boats which are great fun. The house is beautiful and so comfortable. The place is so peaceful you think you are in heaven and don,t want to leave. But when you do there is shopping close by and waterfalls, the Salmon river and a fish hatchery. Of course, there is alot more things around, but we never wanted to leave to go to them! We can't wait to go back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our family vacation!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

My extended family stayed at the chalet for a week and completely enjoyed every minute. The property is situated on a beautiful private lake that we pretty much had to ourselves. The house provided all the amenities that we needed including a washer & dryer, a completely amenable kitchen, fishing poles & supplies, a charcoal grill and large deck. The house was neat, clean, and very comfortable. We roasted marshmallow over the fire at night and relaxed during the day. I have to admit that all of us (4 adults, 3 children and, 2 puppies) found the vacation we were all wishing for.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rest & Relaxation!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Our family (7 adults) had a great time at the Chalet! It was so peaceful and inviting. One of my favorite things was sipping tea on the deck with my husband as we listened to the birds chirping...so peaceful & relaxing.
Salmon River Falls were awesome! Fishing was great! Enjoyed kayaking, boating, watching an osprey feed on fish from the lake....the list goes on!
The home was well prepared, and all interactions with Dave were very prompt, friendly, and courteous. Thanks for a great family vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Roz and I really appreciate the time you took to write such a complementary review. Please do come back another time. It was a pleasure to have met you and we thank you for your patronage.

My Best,

Dave Fernandes

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fishing paradise

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

By luck i found this property on line and what a find it was ! After 23 years of various accomodations that we put up with ,we can now say we look forward to the house as well as the fishing.David greated us on our day of arrival ,shared his house as well as all of the boats and equipment he has on site. The property is well equiped for any vacation you may be on ,and the setting is perfect.. I would highly recommend the place for any vacation . We will see you again on October 2nd ,2011 Larry Williams

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your group will always have a home away from home at the Chalet. It is our hope that we continue to strive to improve your experience when you visit our great fishery.

Thank you Larry for your kind and very much appreciated feedback.

Dave Fernandes
owner

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Lake front home

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

In our many years of vacationing on lakes, this home is truly one- of -a -kind! Beautifully decorated and fully furnished; making you feel right at home from the minute you step foot in the front door. The lake is beautiful and great fun kayaking around the lake and spending countless fishing. Two of my sons truly enjoyed plotting out their fishing strategies in quest for "the big one!" Driving just a few miles down the road, a visit to see the Salmon River Falls is a nice midday outing. Whether you enjoy reading a book, hiking and biking,fishing or just relaxing on the deck overlooking the lake- this is the place for you to vacation! We cannot thank you both enough for opening up your home and sharing it with us. Truly a gem of a vacation home
The Reed Family ( Karl, Nancy, Kyle, Andrew & Ryan)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your kind words mean the world to both Rosalind and Myself.
It was truly a pleasure to have your family stay at our home. It is our hope that you will make it a tradition and plan on revisiting us again in the future.

Dave and Roz

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

the best ever

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

My family and I have been vacationing in the Adirondaks and thousand Islands for over 10 years and the Chalet is by far the best place we have stayed. Dave and Roz are amazing hosts, they really care that their guests have what they need and have fun. Thank you Dave and Roz for all that you do to make our vacation wonderful.
Jan, Bruce, Bob, Beth.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The pleasure of meeting your wonderful family was all ours and we look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you for such a nice complement.

God Bless,

Dave, Roz, Bear and Dexter.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT PROPERTY AND GREAT SERVICE

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

Just came back from a great week at Daves Cottage. He made sure to be there to greet us and to see us off a week later. The property was impeccable and had everything we needed. We even had a 5 day heat wave but the lake and the new air conditioning in the bedrooms made sure we were comfortable. Thanks for the great time and memories

Cheers

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome vacation!

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

My family and I, 5 adults and 1 child, rented this house the week of 5/30-6/06 and we were extremely pleased! Dave was a pleasure to deal with and was very accommodating. He made sure that my 4 year old daughter had a fishing pole ready to go when we got there and she was thrilled! Being able to use the boats & kayaks that were on the property was a HUGE bonus! Fishing on Autumn lake was so much fun because we caught tons of fish each time we went out.

The house had pretty much everything that we needed for our stay. It was clean and well maintained, beautiful! You can see that Dave and his wife take pride in their home which is something that is hard to come by with some rental properties. They want to you have a great time and they make you feel like you're good friends.

This was definitely a vacation to remember. My family had an amazing time (my grandmother even shed some tears because she was so happy that she was able to enjoy it with us).

Dave~ Thank you so much! We are hoping to come back again sometime! Thank you to you and your wife for everything, we thoroughly enjoyed your beautiful home...thanks so much for allowing it to be our 'home' for a week. We will cherish the memories we shared there.

~Vanessa & Family (Barb, Jon, Evelyn, Carole, and Shaylin)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Snowmobiling week

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

Our family of 4(adults) enjoyed staying at the Chalet rental. We rented 2/13-2/20. It was nice snowmobiling right down the driveway and onto the trails. The house was big enough for us. Kitchen was equipped with all needed. Dave was very pleasant to deal with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Diamond in the Rough

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

What a wonderful peaceful place. We had an awesome time. Dave and Ros are the best. We felt right at home from the moment we arrived. Fishing, grilling, swimming, nature, romance...I could go on forvever. We will definetly be back again. One week does not do it justice. The Salmon River falls was gorgeous, and you will bot leave without catching fish on Autumn lake.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Having guests like Bill, Nicky and his wonderful family is truly a blessing. It is our hope that we continue to attract families such as yourselves to our home for years to come. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!

Dave and Roz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

JULY 2008 ONE OF OUR BEST VACATIONS

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2008

This was an absolute wonderful vacation. We did not leave the house for about 4 days. We could of stayed there forever. The kids are still talking about this vacation, we all want to go back. The fishing was so much fun. Dave and Roz have thought of everything to make your stay a delight and they are the nicest people. I would recommend this vacation house to everyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

NH family who loves this house

Review submitted: November 29, 2008   Date of arrival: November 23, 2008

We contacted Dave at the last minute when our plans for a nordic ski vacation fell thru in Canada. I never hesitated, even from the outset. Dave was friendly, helpful, sincere and went out of his way to help us out. He dropped everything on the weekend before Thanksgiving and met us at this ridiculously early hour as we passed through his town on the Mass Pike. In his arms were envelopes of information and on his face, a true love for his property. We were NOT disappointed. Jim met us at the house and everything was much more than we imagined. We made our traditional Thanksgiving feast in the well-equipped kitchen and loved the audio-visuals that made the Macy's Parade a true treat. AND best of all, there is fantastic nordic skiing just a short drive away. We hope to return again and again. The house leaves nothing to chance and every need is met, anticipated and exceeded. Thanks, Dave and Roz for making our Thanksgiving a memory to treasure forever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

For the Snow Deprived

Review submitted: March 5, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Living in South Carolina can be a bit frustrating if white is your favorite color, and after a decade of not enjoying an appreciable snowfall, we decided to find a place that could almost guarantee the beauty of winter. The chalet on Autumn Lake rescued us! We were blessed with a 30” lake-effect snowfall two days after arriving, and were absolutely delighted with the wintry setting for our too-short stay. The house was warm and clean, with a great vista onto the cove. The garage is a huge plus when the snow is piling up outside (four-wheel drive a must in winter!) It was the ideal place for a romantic stay – doing puzzles, reading books, just being cozy together – with the beauty of multiple snowfalls gracing the woods & lake outdoors. You’ll find the owners very caring and helpful, desiring to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Thank you, Dave, for going out of your way to make sure our experience would be all as advertised.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Snowy getaway

Review submitted: February 24, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

As we approached Orwell after 9 hours of driving, Dave contacted me with a personal escort to the chalet. It was late at night and had snowed 40" the past 2 days. That was the start of a great week. The accomodations could not have been better. It was just like being at home minus having to work. Dave checked in on us a couple times during the visit. His and Roz's hospitality was worth more than anything else. I felt like I had known them forever even before our trip as Dave and I had spoken several times on the phone. We had a great time sleigh riding, relaxing, eating (we did lots of that), and watching T.V. This trip was all about relaxation, and we were able to truly succeed because of the comforts the chalet had to offer. I would recommend this chalet to anyone during any season. For those snowlovers, we saw from the chalet lots of snowmobiling every day. Thanks Dave and Roz for allowing us to enjoy your house and all of its amenties.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Chalet

Review submitted: August 9, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

What an amazing week my sister, our girls and I had!! Greeted upon arrival by owners Dave and Roz with their warmth and hospitality we were given an infomative tour. Their attention to detail was astounding, decorated and furnished like a four star hotel. Want to fish, poles in the basement. Want to travel the water, kayaks and row boat at the dock. Like your am Java, fresh roasted beans and grinder in the kitchen.

Whether your are a "Type A" vactioner who must be always on the go or in our case "give me a book and show me the lake" you will not be disappointed. We enjoyed countless hours of reading as we listened to our daughters laughter as they raced kayaks and sailed off the nearby rope swing.

Evenings spent grilling, building fires and playing scrabble. Mornings with a mug of hot coffee and the quiet sounds of nature. Afternoons of hikes in the woods and capturing tree frogs.

OUR NEW FAMILY TRADITION!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

A property with something extra

Review submitted: July 31, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We were having a hard time finding everything we wanted in one rental property until we came across this one. It's in a great setting right on a quiet and private lake, and the house is new and well equipped, but what really makes it stand out from the rest is all the boats and fishing rods that Dave and Roz provide for your use. It meant that our children (then 12 and 18) always had something to keep them occupied and enjoying themselves. The town of Pulaski is also not too far away and had enough restaurants to keep us going, as well as a good supermarket. Our most memorable day trip was to a beach on Lake Erie where we had a great time jumping in the waves! If it weren't for the fact that it is fully booked, we'd be going back to this house again this year. The owners of this property will go to great lengths to make your visit the best it could be.

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The Chalet provided our family with everything we expected and more. Along with total peace and quiet, we also found lots and lots of fish. The lake is ideal for both day and night fishing, swimming and boating with the kayaks and boats provided. The house and property are nestled in the trees with a fire pit and tree swing. You can cook on the grill or go to Pulaski to find restaurants. A trip to the Thousand Islands gave us a break from fishing. We also did a day trip to the Finger Lakes. A beautiful home that makes you feel right at home. Just a great place to relax!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Perfection in a beautiful setting

Review submitted: March 6, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We rented this home in February, with the intent of visiting my home town of Pulaski during the snowy season. We certainly got all the snow we could ask for...there were several feet on the ground and it snowed several days while we were there. The privacy, the scenery, and this gorgeous home were more than we ever could have imagined. As a bonus, it sits on a hill which is amazing for sliding in the snow. The house has a great security system, the furnishings are beautiful, and there was everything you would ever need to prepare meals in the kitchen. Our 4 year old and 1 year old had a great time, and I didn't have to worry about them being too noisy like I would if we had stayed in a hotel. They had room to play and we could cook nutritious meals for them in the evening. I'll never stay in a hotel on vacation again...rental homes are the way to go, and this one was worth every cent. The absolute best part was dealing with the owners. They wanted us to be comfortable and went the extra mile to make sure everything was exactly perfect. They really care about the families who stay in their home, and it shows.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 31, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Our entire family (12) grandparents, children, Moms and Dads spent a great week at the Chalet. Right from meeting the owners when we arrived to the coffee beans left as a gift to the personal tour. David and Roz have thought of it all. The pictures don't do this place justice. Sitting on the deck facing the lake in the morning with a good cup of coffee, roasting those marshmallows at the firepit, the older grandchildren learning to kayak, the beautiful clear lake, and the list go on and on, are all memories of a great vacation we will take with us for a long time.

David has put alot of thought into this property. The kitchen is comfortable to use, the security system makes you at ease to leave the house to not only do much fishing (and there sure are plenty of fish)but to take in a few other things. We toured Boldt Castle, the sand dunes at Sandy Creek (which just happen to be the only sand dunes in the Northeast United States),the Fish Hachery, the Salmon River Falls, all within 50 min. with all the directions and details provided in a book at the chalet.

The Chalet was a great vacation and look forward to another visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

little slice of heaven

Review submitted: August 11, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

My family had the best vacation of our life this summer. We were lucky to find this amazing property on Autumn lake, 50 min from Thousands Islands. We travel a lot and always stay in the most fine accomodations, but this one is out of this world. The location is unbelievable, right on the lake with crystal clear water and a lot of fish, very private, but close to a lot of attractions. We visited Alexandria Bay, Sylvan beach area, Sodus Bay and Lake Ontario and looked at a lot of beautiful properties there, but not one was even close to David's Chalet on the lake. His attention to details is amazing. The chalet is new and beautiful, but it also very, very comfortable and has every little things that you can imaging to make your life comfortable and easier (even bug zappers and little fan near the stove to cool you when you are cooking). House has 3 bedrooms very beautiful and tastefully decorated, with the softest blankets, which I now would like to buy for my house and amazing view from each window. KItchen has everything you can only think of: refrigerator, microwave, toster, coffee maker, all cooking supplies, spices and many many other things. Everything is new and sparkle clean. Family room has the most comfortable and beautiful couch and a loveseat where we spent many evenings in front of the entertainment center with TV, DVD and Video player, SAtterlite TV and even an internet connection. David left a program guide, some DVDs and Videos for you to watch, a lot of cool games, books, and even a book with maps and directions of closest attractions which helped us a lot. WE spent many days fishing on a beautifulthe lake ( you have a 3 boats to use) and a lot of evenings near the fireplace cooking and roasting mashmellows. David and his wife Rose treat this property as their own home and you will be treated as their best frinds and family members . My family never wanted to leave their warm and welcoming home. We will be back many many times and will highly recommend this place to all of our friends.
Lana, Walter, Alisa- Russian family from NYC.

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

The Chalet

Review submitted: August 3, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Our week at the lakehouse was an absolutely wonderful experience. Having 5 children ranging in ages from 3 yrs-15yrs presents a challenge to keep everyone safe, entertained, and satisfied. The chalet offers an all-encompassing atmosphere. The family enjoyed fishing, horseshoes, gathering wildflowers, catching fireflies, boating, badminton, and swimming in the crystal clear spring fed water. As a mother of 5, the meticulously clean, well-stocked chalet amazed me. We had everything imaginable at our fingertips to give it that home away from home atmosphere. In addition, the nearby towns offer a vast array of entertainment. The Salmon River falls ? spectacular state park- offers natures finest surroundings and should not be missed! I am so thankful to have found this little slice of heaven ? and plan to make this an annual event for my children to make life long memories year after year!

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review