reviews for: listing #24304 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

Villa Siempre Azul-oceanfront, romantic, secluded
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Truly An Amazing Experience

Review submitted: February 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

My Husband and I had celebrated our Honeymoon in Caneel Bay 20 years ago and had always wanted to come back. The villa and the surroundings were amazing, they were actually better than the reviews. We quickly got into island mode with the ocean right outside our door. This location is very secluded and just breath-taking! Chris was amazing through out the entire process. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer!!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Villa!!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 2 weeks on our Honeymoon. The place was perfect for us! Chris did an amazing job building Siempre Azul and the landscaping on the property was beautiful. The location couldn't get any better....closest neighbor is Miss Lucy's Restaurant, which is a 5 min walk down the coral beach. Try anything she offers with her "Mango Boom" sauce! A picture of Friis Bay is on the bottom of Miss Lucy's menu with Villa Siempre Azul off to the right! Shipwreck Landing is just a 5 min drive from the Villa with some of the best fish dishes and rum drinks on the Island! The beaches on the southern end of St. John are only minutes away and offer spectacular snorkeling! The famous north shore beaches are within 30 mins from the Villa which was a beautiful, relaxing drive with gorgeous views! We spent our mornings watching the sunrises on the lounge chairs or deck, our days exploring all of the wonderful beaches & our evenings enjoying meals made in the fully equipped kitchen or on the beautiful BBQ patio. We ended each night with a soak in the new hot tub under the stars! We even viewed several meteor showers from the hot tub during our stay! This was the best vacation we have ever taken due to Chris's hospitality and the beauty of his property! Villa Siempre Azul is perfect for a couple looking for privacy in Paradise!

The pictures are accurate....but they don't do justice to the beauty of this Villa! The views from the covered porch are simply amazing!!! We actually took the 1st picture "Siempre surrounded by the Caribbean sea" and the last picture "Another beautiful day in paradise" during our stay.

We would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a romantic vacation! This was the "vacation of a lifetime" for us and could be for you too! Everyday we spent here felt like a dream come true!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Unique Experience

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day stay at Siempre Azul. The location of the villa is truly one of a kind on St John. You are in a secluded location with tremendous views of the ocean. The quality of the construction of Siempre Azul is top notch and the villa is well maintained.

The photos provide an accurate representation of the villa but, pictures cannot do justice to the scenic view and tranquil setting of which the owner has used to the fullest. He was very helpful in answering our questions about the island since this was our first visit. We were greeted by his property manager who led us to the villa and then provide all of he information that you will need not only for your stay in the villa but highlights of things to do while on St John.

For those of you not familiar with St John, Siempre Azul is located on the east side of the island know as Coral Bay. It is the "quieter" side of the island that we felt was more quaint and authentic. We actually felt that some of the better restaurants were on this side of the island including, Miss Lucy's, Skinny Legs, The Donkey Dinner, The Tourist Trap (must do!) as well as several other great places.

Also located just a short drive from the villa is a small grocery store and deli. The deli is great for picking up a picnic lunch on your way to the numerous beaches on St John. One thing to keep in mind is that the only gas station on the island is in Cruz Bay which is about a 40 minute drive so do not let your gas tank get much below a 1/4 of a tank.

We will definitely return to Siempre Azul and would highly recommend it to our family and friends (keep in mind that the villa is for two people only).

In summary you will not be disappointed if you chose to rent Siempre Azul and the owner and his property manager will make sure that you have a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed for almost 2 weeks at Siempre Azul for our honeymoon. We loved every second of it. The house and the views are beyond beautiful! We loved to sit on the porch to eat breakfast in the morning and have a few drinks at night. The house is perfectly situated so that while you are there, you feel like you are on your own private island, but it is still close to so many great activities on the island. It is even within walking distance of one of the best restaurants on St. John (Ms. Lucy's). Siempre Azul is the perfect spot for a couple looking for a relaxing getaway. I wish we could go back every year!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Secluded with BEAUTIFUL views

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We absolutely loved staying at Siempre' Azul for the past week (July 5-12, 2011). Chris was very accommodating from the help he gave before our visit to picking us up at the ferry dock 8 hours after we were suppose to arrive to telling us about great snorkeling areas and hikes. He also took us back to town the next morning to get our rental jeep, which he helped secure for us.
Also, the villa was spectacular. The pictures of the view are right on. I took the same picture of the villa from across Friis Bay, and got the same color water in my picture! It is NOT doctored. One thing, the picture of his two chairs and table on the balcony needs to be updated, since he has AWESOME rockers now. We loved sitting there in the morning drinking coffee, then going on hikes or snorkeling a different bay(s), Coming home to our villa to enjoy our evening view on the loungers was a surreal experience! I highly recommend this villa to everyone! I hope to visit it again one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Honeymoon Villa

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

The charm and privacy was exactly what we were looking for in our honeymoon villa. The views were beautiful. Although a small living space it was perfect for us. It felt like playing house when we were cooking. The outdoor shower was delightful. It was a great place to just stay in for the day but also close enough to everything that day and short excursions were easy. The owner, Chris was informative and responsive to our needs, very easy to work with.

The villa is close to beaches that that are less traveled. Salt Pond Bay is just down the road where we have found to be the best snorkeling. Hiking is also available nearby. We were also very close to one of our favorite restaurants on the Island, Shipwreck Landing. The people in Coral Bay are so friendly. We enjoyed meeting many people who live in the area. Our stay was one of the best vacations we've ever had.

The only draw back was the rocky beach has not swim friendly.

We will definately go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Wow! Love this special place.

I am not one to jump online and provide a review, but in this case I think Chris Boyd and Siempre Azul deserve the kudos. Chris built Siempre Azul and the detail, workmanship and pride are evident at every turn. That coupled with the stunning location and secluded privacy make this a perfect location for any couple looking for special time together.The property is located between Coral Bay and Salt Pond. They call Coral Bay the "laid back" side of the island. Put that in 'island time' perspective and you are sure to get your zen on here. There is no downtown buzz, but just enough restaurants, bars and characters to keep the nightlife interesting. You will need a car to get to those amazing St. John beaches.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

"Rent this villa now!"

Siempre Azul is absolutely perfect for a couple interested in morning coffee on the balcony watching the sailboats and evenings soaking in the jacuzzi gazing at an unencumbered sky filled with the moon and stars. Add the outdoor shower to clean off the salt water and sand from the many beaches within 10 minutes drive, the full service kitchen, and peace found in dropping off to sleep every night to the sounds of the ocean...it does not get much better than spending your vacation at Siempre Azul. Chris Boyd's introduction to the villa and to island highlights was invaluable. He was right on describing the local restaurants and snorkeling sites. He set the tone for our vacation as host, as tourguide, and as builder of Siempre Azul. Do not hesitate...you will not regret a single moment spent in paradise. We did not want to return home. What we know is that upon return to St. John we will want to stay at Siempre Azul.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Rent this villa now!"

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 21, 2011

"Rent this villa now!"

Siempre Azul is absolutely perfect for a couple interested in morning coffee on the balcony watching the sailboats and evenings soaking in the jacuzzi gazing at an unencumbered sky filled with the moon and stars. Add the outdoor shower to clean off the salt water and sand from the many beaches within 10 minutes drive, the full service kitchen, and peace found in dropping off to sleep every night to the sounds of the ocean...it does not get much better than spending your vacation at Siempre Azul. Chris's introduction to the villa and to island highlights was invaluable. He was right on describing the local restaurants and snorkeling sites. He set the tone for our vacation as host, as tourguide, and as builder of Siempre Azul. Do not hesitate...you will not regret a single moment spent in paradise. We did not want to return home. What we know is that upon return to St. John we will want to stay at Siempre Azul.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! Love this special place.

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

I am not one to jump online and provide a review, but in this case I think Chris Boyd and Siempre Azul deserve the kudos. Chris built Siempre Azul and the detail, workmanship and pride are evident at every turn. That coupled with the stunning location and secluded privacy make this a perfect location for any couple looking for special time together.The property is located between Coral Bay and Salt Pond. They call Coral Bay the "laid back" side of the island. Put that in 'island time' perspective and you are sure to get your zen on here. There is no downtown buzz, but just enough restaurants, bars and characters to keep the nightlife interesting. You will need a car to get to those amazing St. John beaches.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Rent this villa now!"

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Siempre Azul is absolutely perfect for a couple interested in morning coffee on the balcony watching the sailboats and evenings soaking in the jacuzzi gazing at an unencumbered sky filled with the moon and stars. Add the outdoor shower to clean off the salt water and sand from the many beaches within 10 minutes drive, the full service kitchen, and peace found in dropping off to sleep every night to the sounds of the ocean...it does not get much better than spending your vacation at Siempre Azul. Chris Boyd's introduction to the villa and to island highlights was invaluable. He was right on describing the local restaurants and snorkeling sites. He set the tone for our vacation as host, as tourguide, and as builder of Siempre Azul. Do not hesitate...you will not regret a single moment spent in paradise. We did not want to return home. What we know is that upon return to St. John we will want to stay at Siempre Azul.

_______________________

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! Love this special place.

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

I am not one to jump online and provide a review, but in this case I think Chris Boyd and Siempre Azul deserve the kudos. Chris built Siempre Azul and the detail, workmanship and pride are evident at every turn. That coupled with the stunning location and secluded privacy make this a perfect location for any couple looking for special time together.The property is located between Coral Bay and Salt Pond. They call Coral Bay the "laid back" side of the island. Put that in 'island time' perspective and you are sure to get your zen on here. There is no downtown buzz, but just enough restaurants, bars and characters to keep the nightlife interesting. You will need a car to get to those amazing St. John beaches.
·

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Staying at Siempre Azul was like a dream come true. The description and photos are very accurate. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. The owner was a great host and met us at the ferry. My husband and I will never forget the view we woke up to everyday. We loved the seclusion and the location on St John. You will not be disappointed if you decide to rent this villa.

***** stars

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Review Submitted: April 7, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2010
My husband and I just returned from this amazing villa. It was so private and the views were spectacular. Many beaches close by, snorkeling was great at many beaches,we enjoyed Hawksnest and Salt pond the most. The restaurants in Coral Bay and Cruz bay were all fabulous. It was one of the best vacation places we have ever been, also this villa has a jacuzzi outside which we enjoyed every night under the stars. Truly romantic!
Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
*****

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

---------------
Title: Two Thumbs Up!
Rating: Excellent!
Content: We just celebrated our wedding anniversary at the charming Villa Siempre Azul. I wish we could have spent out honeymoon there forty years ago! Chris met us at the ferry and escorted us to the villa. He is very pleasant and gave us a wealth of information about the island. The villa is exactly as stated, a bit small on the living space but enough room for two and everything inside and out was immaculate and in good taste. The pictures do not do justice to the outside landscaping. It was like having your own little gated paradise! This villa is definitely a two thumbs up!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

My husband and I just returned from this amazing villa. It was so private and the views were spectacular. Many beaches close by, snorkeling was great at many beaches,we enjoyed Hawksnest and Salt Pond the most. The restaurants in Coral Bay and Cruz Bay were all fabulous. It was one of the best vacation places we have ever been, also this villa has a jacuzzi outside which we enjoyed every night under the stars. Truly romantic!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Staying at Siempre Azul was like a dream come true. The description and photos are very accurate. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. The owner was a great host and met us at the ferry. My husband and I will never forget the view we woke up to everyday. We loved the seclusion and the location on St John. You will not be disappointed if you decide to rent this villa.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing vacation

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

My husband and I just returned from this amazing villa. It was so private and the views were spectacular. Many beaches close by, snorkeling was great at many beaches,we enjoyed hawksnest and salt pond the most. The resturants in coral bay and cruz bay were all fabulous. It was one of the best vacation places we have ever been, also this villa has a jacuzzi outside which we enjoyed every night under the stars. Truly romantic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Staying at Siempre Azul was like a dream come true. The description and photos are very accurate. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. The owner was a great host and met us at the ferry. My husband and I will never forget the view we woke up to everyday. We loved the seclusion and the location on St John. You will not be disappointed if you decide to rent this villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

AMAZING View!!!!!

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: November 16, 2008

You have NEVER seen the view like this one! I cannot find the words to describe it- it is all I've ever dreamed of! Wonderful villa- very stylish and very beautiful. Great architecture and the best location on St. John. We had an amazing time there last week and will definitely recommend to ALL my friends and family! and will hope to come back again. I have to tell you that the owner of this villa is very hospitable - he meets you at the dock and tells you ALL you need to know about villa and the island! THANK YOU so much for having our stay the best vacation we've ever had!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

27th anniversary

Review submitted: November 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 26, 2008

Great and very private villa for romantic getaway. It is small but very nicely decorated and comfortable for two people. The kitchen has everything you'll need. The owner is very helpful and responsive. The view is fantastic. Unlike other St. John villas, you are not right on top of neighbors and the gated driveway makes you feel like you're on your own mini-estate (though the gate is manually operated). The only negative is that the owner indicates there is a "shell beach". There is a rocky path to the water, but the beach is rocky not "shell" and a bit rough for beginner snorkelers. This is not a major problem since there are fantastic easier beaches and snorkeling spots on this side of the island. Best book to get is "St. John's off the beaten track" by Gerald Singer. It will make you knowledgeable like a local. Our book came with a very detailed map. Would not hessitate to go again!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Villa !!!

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: April 25, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at this villa in April 2008. It was extremely nice and had a great secluded feeling (perfect place to relax). We were very pleased with the accomodations and it feels like you have your own private beach to enjoy. We would recommend this villa to anyone!!! (P.S. A rental car is necessary to reach the villa and enjoy all of the beaches/sites of the island. The villa owner was extremely helpful and met us right off the ferry to show us how to get to the villa...very very convenient and time saving)

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review