reviews for: listing #24373 - Key Largo, Florida Cabin rental

Key Largo Cabin: 2 Story Oceanfront Secluded, Private, Quiet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $2,000 /wk
    $6,700 - $7,500 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Place to go at your own Pace.

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

THE BEST way to enjoy the Keys with kids. From the ultra comfy beds to the beautiful ocean views, this place is is top notch. Want to snorkel, fish, kayak, go crabbin' or get a few lobster(when in season)? Just walk out the back gate! Want to be a tourist? Just drive a few miles to Pennekamp and rent a boat, snorkel, scuba dive, and more! Excellent restaurants are minutes away, and if you really want to cook for yourself, Winn Dixie and Publix are close by too! Peter was a wonderful host, and had great tips on Key Largo's best everything. I have 3 kids ages 6, 8, and 10 and I can honestly say they were all happy! And never bored! We are going to make this an annual event. Enjoy and watch out for land crabs! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 27 / 28

 

Simply perfect!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

The cabin is perfect. Very very confortable; clean, nice view.
Inside you can find everything you need and more (canoas, fishing, snorkeling). The location is really strategic, very quiet place and very close to food places, supermarkets and everything else. Mary Ann, the owner, is very careful to all details and texts you very often just to know if everything is ok.
Bed rooms, living and bathrooms are very confortable.
Everything like the description and more.
The place is quite windy, so Ac in not often so necessary.
When whin goes down be carfull to mosquitos..
Thank you very much Mary Ann. Hope to see you soon.

Owners response: Dear Simona, Luca and Family, It was my pleasure to accommodate you at Key Largo Cabin. We were very glad you were able to enjoy the new wonderful resort chairs that we just equipped the Cabin with. It was so nice to get to know you. I enjoyed our great conversations and our text messages. I sincerely appreciate your rental of Key Largo Cabin, you are most welcome back any time. So glad to have met you! I wish you and your family the very best! Enjoy your beautiful Italy.
Ciao. Grazie mille!! Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Great location, and many outdoor activities, fishing, kayaking, swimming, walking, enjoying the blue ocean views. A variety of restaurants close by and supermarket.
MaryAnn the owner is very helpful and the property is well maintained. You will enjoy the privacely while relaxing on the deck. It is a very relaxing vacation or great for a long weekend in Key Largo. Enjoy and be sure to tell your friends and family about your vacation in the Florida Keys.
Enjoy JB from New Jersey

Owners response: Thank you JB for your recent stay at Key Largo Cabin. It was my pleasure to be able to meet with you and assist you during your time as our guest. The FULL wrap around deck with its FULL OCEAN FRONT View is such a great feature. We are glad you were able to enjoy the deck, kayak, and fishing gear that we offer at Key Largo Cabin. We are always improving our amenities, services and options that we offer. You are very welcome back at any time to kick back, relax and ENJOY Key Largo Cabin. Sincerely, Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Place For A Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 25, 2013

This place is as good as it gets. Stayed here between Christmas and New Years when everyone and their uncle wants to go to south Florida. You sure wouldn't know it by staying here. It is so secluded and so quiet yet still minutes away from everything the Keys has to offer. It has a fantastic view of the ocean during the day and a fantastic view of the stars at night. There are so many activities to do like kayaking or fishing or you just spend a day on the awesome deck soaking in the sun and basking in the ocean breeze. Mary Ann is a fantastic host and was extremely responsive to our slightest inquiry. If you are looking for a place to stay in the Keys, this is it. You can't go wrong.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway Home in the Florida Keys

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

BEST IN THE FLORIDA KEYS!! This truly is a million dollar view!! It's breath taking. From the sunrise in the morning to kayaking and canoeing to napping in the hammock in the sea breeze. This place is perfect. This is my third time staying at this cabin with just me and my husband and we will be back again. I have stayed other places in the Keys and they just do not compare. It is the perfect quiet romantic getaway home for young couples where you have so much at your finger tips with ocean just out your door. We went scuba diving at John Pennekamp. It was amazing! We got to see sea turtles, tons of colorful fish and even a shark! But you don't have to go on an organized tour or pay for snorkel trips because it's all right off the cabin! We went snorkeling off the kayak and paddled through mangrove tunnels that are within minutes from the cabin. It was the perfect place for a perfect escape! We also drove down to Key West for lunch and to bike around the island. We even got to stop in South Beach on our way back to Miami Airport! This cabin is in the perfect location between Key West and Miami to get the full South Florida experience. There is so much more to see!! We will be back soon!

Owners response: We are always happy to welcome back our guests again and again! Thank you very much for your review! Great to hear that you enjoy ALL the things there are to do around the Cabin and that you ventured out and experienced all of the Keys!! You are Most Welcome Back Anytime!
Thank You Very Much for always remembering us and rebooking with us! Many Thanks again for your rental!
Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Blissfully Relaxing Cabin on the Ocean

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay immensely! Winn Dixie is conveniently located nearby and we enjoyed grilling out, watching the sunrises and just simply relaxing. As I work 24/7, I just really needed the down "quiet" time this place provides. We loved that the property was fenced as our 2 dogs were able to run free and play Frisbee. The cabin is beautiful! We are ready to go back NOW!! Thank you so much Mary Ann! We hope to visit again soon! We've had numerous requests about the place after posting pictures of our stay on FB!! ;)

Sincerely,

C & J Poitinger, TVLE, FL.

Owners response: Hello C & J, Thank you for your review. It was my pleasure to meet you and be able to accommodate you at Key Largo Cabin! We are so happy that you enjoyed the Cabin and it was a real vacation for you. We Welcome you back at any time!
Many Thanks again for your rental!
Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Perfect Destination for Family

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This was the perfect getaway for our family of five. The fish in the canal will eat almost anything and my girls loved watching the fish devour everything! My husband was able to take the kayak out quite a few times with the girls and the loved it. They were able to see the bottom of the ocean and all of the animals who live there. We loved the bedrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable. The bathrooms had great showers, so bathing was never an argument! It was a short drive all the way down to Key West and a very convenient location overall. Mary Ann was wonderful and gave us a list of the best restaurants to eat at! Hopefully we'll be back soon! Thank you for a wonderful vacation - and a new outlook at Florida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Natalie and Family,
It was my sincere pleasure to assist you with your family vacation. So glad your girls LOVED Key Largo Cabin and The Florida Keys! So nice of your daughters' to send me their special note. Many Thanks again for your rental! Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

There are just too many wonderful things to say about this house and the owner MaryAnn. Our family had an amazing time! The house is clean and well maintained. The beds are comfy and the view of the ocean is incredible. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything you would need to prepare meals for your family. I have two boys ages 12 and 7, and they NEVER wanted to leave the house. They spent their mornings wading the coastline during low tide and climbing on the coral rocks. Afternoons were filled with snorkeling, kayaking and feeding the fish in the canal. You see all sorts of wild life here; iguanas, nurse sharks, barracuda, lobsters, crabs, pelicans, Egrets and a wide array of tropical fish - just to name a few! MaryAnn and Lucy made our stay so wonderful...we really felt at home. If you are wanting a quiet get-away that is both beautiful and peaceful - then this is the place to go. We will be visiting again - and hopefully soon! :)PS..A special thank you to MaryAnn and Lucy who saved our vacation and turned it into a wonderful family memory! We will always be grateful to both of you. Also, MaryAnn the boys said they LOVED the Wild Bird Sanctuary and Bahia Honda Beach!! :) We want to recommend those two places to other families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Jerri and Family,
It was my pleasure to meet with you and your family personally and I was very happy to be able to assist you. You are a great family! Soo glad the boys thoroughly enjoyed THE Fabulous Florida Keys and Key Largo Cabin. Thank you for your review and your rental. Best Regards,Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Key Largo Cabin

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

This is a wonderful cabin in an idyllic setting. The sun shone brightly every day - a stark contrast from our gray winter skies at home. As the sun moves across the sky, you can continue to feel its warmth by working your way around the wrap-around deck. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed. Make sure to partake of the local seafood at some of the many venues, and Richard highly recommends Dolphins Plus for an once-in-a-lifetime adventure swimming with the dolphins.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: To My Guests from Vermont,
Thank you for your review! Such a difference in the weather from the extreme South to the North! So glad you visited us at Key Largo Cabin and we were very happy to assist you. Nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Cabin.
Many Thanks again for your Rental!
Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Capital cabin

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Not only is the house lovely with everything you could want, but the full moon filled the quiet bay in a magical way. How great was it to watch the sun and the moon both rise while standing in such solitude on the deck.

John Pennekamp Park is a must. We took the glass bottom boat before snorkeling the next day. Felt like we had a condensed college course on the boat that really enhanced the snorkeling.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sheila,
Thank you for your review. So glad you got out to see the sights and all the Key Largo has to offer. Nice to hear you thoroughly enjoyed Key Largo Cabin.
Many Thanks again for your Rental,
Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Key Largo Cabin

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

The cabin view of the ocean was just as stated - absolutely breath-taking. The cabin itself was clean and comfortable. There were some maintenance issues that could have been done before our stay. The lights in the laundry room area did not come right away so going down there in the dark was a real problem. We also had to replace a couple batteries in the smoke detectors as they were beeping when we got there. Other than those minor issues we enjoyed our stay and would recommmend this property to anyone who is looking for complete peace and quiet!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Lesley,
Thank you for your review. The 2 minor issues have been repaired. It seemed that the sensor light on the downstairs lights to the laundry was off and did not respond immediately to any entry. The smoke detector alarms just happened to start chirping when you were there. Both items were repaired and are functioning properly. So glad you enjoyed Key Largo Cabin and the Florida Keys!
We sincerely Thank You for your rental.
Mary Ann

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Ocean Front 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath Cabin

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

This home was everything that the owner described. It was not lacking in any supplies and was spotless. The view of the ocean was awesome and it was fun to see the barracuda in the canal. This home is on stilts so it is important that you be able to handle stairs. This is a very quiet, secluded area with very few people around. In the area we thoroughly enjoyed meals at Senior Frejoles and the Conch House and would recommend both to all who visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Perfect Bliss

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

The view was spectacular... the deck faces east, and the sunrise comes right up out of the ocean, big as life. And at night, if you catch it on a full moon - spectacular. This kind of quiet you just can't find anywhere! The house sits at the VERY end of a long, mangrove-lined road... and although there was a neighbor next door, we heard NOTHING. Lots of fun kayaking in the canal... and a perfect location, right next door to Pennycamp and the Everglades, and within striking distance of Key West. Sure... the house has seen younger days... but it was extremely comfortable, well furnished and just what we needed. Bathrooms were nice - good showers. Beds were very, very comfortable. We would come again, absolutely.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

First off, Mary was the best! Easy to talk to, and very accommodating. The sunrises were fabulous. The view was
beautiful, lots of birds and looking for shells in the rocks was a blast.
I would definitly recommend this property to anyone. But there is a lot of stairs. Well worth it!
Beds are comphy, all amenities are furnished. We had a great time! Thanks Mary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Treasure in Paradise

Review submitted: January 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

What a treat! We wanted this cabin for our vacation the moment we first saw it online. We were certainly not disappointed when we saw it in person. The location is excellent with breathtaking views of the sea and sunrise. The house itself is well appointed with great comfortable furnishings and dozens of artistic personal touches. The beds are luxuriously comfortable. Out on the deck is everything you could need; grill, table, chairs etc. The owner takes great care of the place and it is obviously well loved. She takes great care of guests too. We were supplied with a detailed list of all the local establishments and attractions. We even found a welcome basket in the bedroom. We really felt like royalty. We love this cabin and will return again and again. We've found our home away from home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

Breathtaking views of the ocean from 3 large picture windows. Two-sided deck is very comfortable. Especially the Pawley's Island hammock...what a find. A nice touch is the Welcome basket filled with goodies.
Kitchen supplies need to be reexamined and possibly updated. Bathrooms are nice sized and the linen closets nicely stocked. The comfortable beds were a nice supprise... firm and linens sooo soft.
We will definitly consider this cabin in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The house is amazing. You can find whatever you are looking for.
The beds are so comfortable, just a pity to have to wake up.
The place is very quiet, and so relaxing. We were just happy sometimes to stay at home and relaxing.
The kitchen is very well equipped. You can find some good store very close, and also nice restaurants.
I would really reccomand this house. And they helped us in any way to try to make our stay the best possible.
thank you so much

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most relaxing vacation - ever!

Review submitted: January 24, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2009

The house is lovely -- well maintained with lots of equipment for water-based activities. From the welcoming basket of goodies to the Pauley's Island hammock - everything was beyond our expectation. The kitchen is well equipped; the bedrooms have extremely comfortable beds and the bathrooms were very clean and well maintained.

We loved the totally unobstructed view of the water - with the Bougainvillea in bloom providing a colorful frame. We took the kayak out and explored the shoreline (life jackets are there, as are paddles, among lots of sporting equipment). It was too windy for snokeling, though we did take one of the boat tours out to Pennecamp - even there is was pretty rough, but we did snorkel and it was fascinating.

We read the guest diary in the house -- took the advice of one of the previous guests, and bought hot dogs to feed the barracuda in the canal. Totally awesome! That guy (or gal) is huge!!

We drove to Key West, explored some of the other keys, and all in all, had the best, most relaxing vacation we have ever experienced. We are keeping this on our list of places to revisit -- and I'm sure we'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Pleased

Review submitted: August 2, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We enjoyed our stay - the description was very accurate, view of the sunrise was wonderful. The living area is on the second floor, so the views are incredible. Kitchen was pretty well equipped, view while grilling on the deck is magical. There is an almost constant breeze off the water and we had the pleasure of watching storms rolling across the water.

The owner is friendly and easy to work with. Lots of little details were thought of and addressed in the cabin.

We booked some fishing trips and snorkeled at Pennekamp. Our teenaged daughters enjoyed kayaking in the channel. We explored the tidal pools and watched little crabs eat off the rocks. There are a number of good restaurants and grocery stores within minutes.

The only downside I could see would be with small children - the yard is fenced on three sides, but not the water side. That was not a problem for us with grown kids, and allowed water access for the canoe / kayak, but would not allow for unsupervised young children in the yard.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Nice enough ..but we won't return!

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 8, 2009

Nice view, well appointed cabin. Not for fishing or boating, cabin is on a polluted and landlocked canal. Did not feel safe or secure in the neighborhood. There are few homes in the neighborhood , the docks are in disrepair and falling into the canals. Roads are not paved. I would not repeat, as there are so many other properties to choose from, in more desirable locations and with better ownership.

Owners response: This beautiful cabin, with a million dollar view, is adjacent to John Pennekamp State Park grounds with a State ranger's private residence 20 feet from the cabin! The State Ranger's office building is located at the entrance of the cabin's street. Having owned this cabin for more than 20 years we have not had 1 complaint nor 1 incident of robbery, vandalism or disturbance of any kind. The cabin does not have a dock. We advertise private and secluded because there are only 5 homes in the surrounding area. As one may be able to determine by the numerous fabrications, the review of 3/5 "Nice enough..." was deliberately left with the intent to undermined future rentals. The guestbook found in the cabin has over 100 positive reviews and comments commending the decor, the pride displayed in maintaining the cabin, and the professionalism of the owner. We have had many repeat guests. We invite you to enjoy the cabin for yourself and will be very happy to accommodate you and your stay.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great oceanfront home in Key Largo

Review submitted: May 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

We spent a wonderful week at this lovely ocean front cabin in Key Largo. The attention to detail in the cabin was impeccable, including the dining room table and breakfast bar set for our first meals. The ocean view from the living room, dining room, and kitchen is spectacular where you are always reminded of being on the water. Three large sliding glass doors allow for taking advantage of the cool ocean breeze and for the one night when it got warm we simply turned on the central air conditioning for a most restful sleep. Additional amenities like two canoes, a kayak, snorkel gear, floatation devices, a hammock, large laundry machines, and a great gas grill were perfect where all we needed to bring was food and beverages. Key Largo is a perfect home base for exploring the Keys and has many shops, markets, and great restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Spring Break with Family

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Spectacular view with lovely ocean breezes, lots to explore and close to everything we needed. Each morning at 10:30, a flock of pelicans flew overhead towards the Mangroves on the Atlantic side. We were delighted to find a very shy iguana sunning on the lagoon banks until he realized we were staying for the week, at which time he disappeared. We enjoyed watching my son fish to his heart's content on the last full day at the cabin.
We swam, snorkled and explored at John Pennecamp for a few days and also took a trip to Key West on one cloudy day, had lunch, walked around and drove back before night fall. It was a great time for the whole family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review