reviews for: listing #24388 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii Condo rental

Gorgeous Kiahuna Condo, End Unit with Private Lanai
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kiahuna Plantation
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $170 /nt

sort by:

Great condo and we can't wait to return.

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

Thank you Bruce and Cathy for sharing your special place with us. We found everything we needed for a relaxing stay on this most gorgeous island. We were very pleased with the location in the complex and loved the privacy of your end unit. Your kitchen was well stocked, we had everything we needed. Our favorite meals were made at home and enjoyed on your lanai while bird watching. The clouds and sunsets were amazing. And the stars at night - WOW!

We took some fabulous tours, spent a lot of time at the beach at the Kiahuna, had a great meal at the Plantation Gardens, and we were out and about every day. It was always so nice to come home to your beautiful place and unwind with a Mai Tai while listening to your Hawaiian CD collection. You have thought of everything! We are hoping to return very soon. Mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bruce and I love to provide all the comforts of home for our guests in the true spirit of aloha. We always wanted to be innkeepers, so decorating our condo with our guests in mind gives us great enjoyment.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Many Thanks

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Hi Cathy,

We really enjoyed staying at your place in Kiahuna - it is very well kept (and equipped) which we really appreciated. In addition it is sparkling clean.

Many thanks & kind regards,

Ulrich and Andi - Germany

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed your condo!

Review submitted: December 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

Good Morning Cathy,

I meant to send this earlier, but just wanted to say how much we really enjoyed your condo! everything was perfect. We enjoyed having our coffee and breakfast out on the deck and we absolutely loved sipping away on a glass of wine listening to the Hawaiian music you had. We took your advice and checked out the Cassablanca restaurant! Wow what a hidden gem, and great happy hour. We enjoyed the little extra's as well, the chairs for the beach and the cooler in the closet.

The staff at Kiahuna were great and friendly. We had people move in above us during our stay, they became very loud, I made a phone call and they dealt with the situation right away. We didn't have anymore trouble with them afterwards.

I thank you for your honesty, it was very nice to deal with you. We will recommend your condo to friends and we will definitely be back when we get to Poipu again.

Mahalo!

Kim and Dave

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Kaua'i trip

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

Just wanted to let you know we had a fabulous time in Poipu at your place in Kiahana Plantation. We loved your unit, especially the cleanliness, the wonderful decorating and furniture and the music collection. Other favorite things included the birds singing in the morning and the proximity to the BBQ. I already knew about the chickens and actually found the roosters crowing in the middle of the night kind of funny. Gayle and I were so tired at the end of each day that falling back to sleep in the night was not a problem for either of us. We loved the beach and the snorkeling. We snorkeled at every place recommended in the guide books, but didn't really find anything better than right off the Kiahuna beach. We lucked out with the weather too. The week before we went, there was severe rain and flash floods, especially on the north shore around Hanalei. We kayaked on the Hanalei river and were amazed at the damage to the river banks and the trees knocked down on the banks. Also on the north shore we hiked from Ke'e Beach up the Napili trail to the next beach (can't remember name) and it was very difficult because of the mud. But we made it and it was worth it!

From Port Allen we took a sunset dinner cruise up the Napili coast on the night of our anniversary and really lucked out! The water was very calm with no wind or swells. The captain said he had never seen the sea so calm that late in November. We ran into a group of spinner dolphins, which were fantastic. The sunset was also incredible. We took the luxury cruise on the biggest boat and actually had the entire front of the starboard hull all to ourselves for dinner, like a picnic. An added attraction on the cruise were several naval vessels doing war games farther up the coast.

There is no doubt in our minds we will return next year to Kaua'i. Our son is deploying to Afghanistan next year and we plan to take him there when he returns, along with our daughter. We want to stay for at least two weeks and in all likelihood will spend at least a week in Poipu, so we will be in touch.

Once again thanks for the opportunity to stay at your wonderful place. We enjoyed it immensely.

Have a good Thanksgiving and holiday season.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you, we had everything we needed.

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

Aloha Cathy and Bruce,

I’ve been meaning to contact you ever since returning from my stay in your condo in Kauai. We enjoyed it so much! It had everything we needed and more. It was comfortable and cool at all times with the fans and all the cross ventilation. the furnishings and decorations were more than I had expected as was the proximity to the beach. I especially enjoyed sitting on the deck in the early morning and listening to the birds while absorbing the wonderful foliage and flowers. I thought I was in the garden of Eden!
We loved walking down to the beach and watching the surfers. The proximity to the stores and restaurants across the street were a real plus. My 18 yr old granddaughter was thrilled with the stores and the Starbucks!

You have a wonderful place there and I will return for sure. Poipu Beach is a great place to enjoy Kauai and to use as a base.

Mahalo,

Louise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

I've been meaning to write these past few weeks and time's just slipped away.
We wanted to thank you! What a fabulous condo- you are so lucky! It had everything we needed and we loved cooking and eating dinner on the lanai. It was extremely quiet too. Thank you!!! We will be back in the future and send recommendations your way.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

Aloha Cathy and Bruce

Sad to say, we’re back home in Walnut Creek enduring a rainy, gloomy day. However, we’re very happy to report that we’ll have only positive memories forever of our three week stay in your condo!! We had the best vacation ever – even though we spent one night sleeping in our rental car at the Kiahuna Golf course parking lot (due to the tsunami warning)!! It was a small price to pay given everything going on in Japan. We want you to know we really enjoyed staying in your tastefully decorated condo. The location was great, everything we needed was there, and the staff at the Kiahuna were really pleasant – we couldn’t have asked for anything more!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Hi Cathy

So now that we're back in the real world, just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful vacation in your condo at Kiahuna. We loved the property which is so well looked after - such a pleasure just to stroll through the gardens and down to the beach - we enjoyed some beautiful sunsets, not to mention the whale shows.

We thought your condo had the best equipped kitchen of any that we have stayed in so we did a fair amount of cooking but we were also grateful for your restaurant suggestions - we were disappointed that we didn't make it to the one in Kapa'a but there's always next time!

All the best
Jane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Hi Cathy

So now that we're back in the real world, just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful vacation in your condo at Kiahuna. We loved the property which is so well looked after - such a pleasure just to stroll through the gardens and down to the beach - we enjoyed some beautiful sunsets, not to mention the whale shows.

We thought your condo had the best equipped kitchen of any that we have stayed in so we did a fair amount of cooking but we were also grateful for your restaurant suggestions - we were disappointed that we didn't make it to the one in Kapa'a but there's always next time!

All the best
Jane Oglesby

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

Hi Cathy

So now that we're back in the real world, just wanted to let you know that we had a wonderful vacation in your condo at Kiahuna. We loved the property which is so well looked after - such a pleasure just to stroll through the gardens and down to the beach - we enjoyed some beautiful sunsets, not to mention the whale shows.

We thought your condo had the best equipped kitchen of any that we have stayed in so we did a fair amount of cooking but we were also grateful for your restaurant suggestions - we were disappointed that we didn't make it to the one in Kapa'a but there's always next time!

All the best
Jane Oglesby

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great condo

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

My husband & I stayed in this condo mid-May 2010. It was very neat & clean. I really liked that it was an end unit. The property was gorgeous. Loved that there beach chairs available. Used several of the books the owners leave in the condo to guide us on amazing hikes. We highly recommend this condo to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed the hiking books and your hikes. Kauai has so many places to discover and we are thrilled you had a great time. Come back and visit soon. Mahalo, Cathy and Bruce

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

Hi Cathy and Bruce,

This is a belated ‘thank you’ for making your lovely condo available for my March vacation. I came home and immediately dove into income tax preparation; only now beginning to resurface.
I particularly enjoyed your tropical décor, complete with Hawaiian- themed watercolors, prints, and photos. The ambience increased as I played your extensive selection of Hawaiian CD’s. Everything in the unit was well-maintained and working, with kitchenware adequate for all my needs.
There was only 1 day of frequent showers, but I thoroughly enjoyed every day on the Garden Isle, and the amenities at K.P. #412.

Many thanks,

Evelyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Aloha Cathy & Bruce,

We absolutely loved your condo on Kauai! We just felt so at home, and enjoyed our time very much. Kauai is a beautiful place. When we come back we would love to stay there again.

Mahalo
Vern & Genece

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Aloha Cathy

Well, I am back from Kauai as of yesterday & man oh man am I depressed to be back. No, ocean, beach, palm trees & awesome scenery. You have an awesome condo, & thank you so much for renting it to us.
I am hoping to go back there one day. It was my first trip to Kauai . I am familiar with Maui & a little with Oahu , but, it is a tossup which I like better. The main reason that I go to Maui is for the drive to Hana. It is so beautiful. But, having said that, there are many many awesome sights on Kauai . I do like the fact that there is no Kihei or Lahaina on Kauai . I much prefer the old Hawaiian towns around the island instead.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Thank you Bruce and Cathy for sharing your special place with us. We found everything we needed for a relaxing stay on this most gorgeous island. We were very pleased with the location in the complex and loved the privacy of your end unit. Your kitchen was well stocked, we had everything we needed. Our favorite meals were made at home and enjoyed on your lanai while bird watching. The clouds and sunsets were amazing. And the stars at night - WOW!

We took some fabulous tours, spent a lot of time at the beach at the Kiahuna, had a great meal at the Plantation Gardens, and we were out and about every day. It was always so nice to come home to your beautiful place and unwind with a Mai Tai while listening to your Hawaiian CD collection. You have thought of everything! We are hoping to return very soon. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Aloha Cathy

Well, I am back from Kauai as of yesterday & man oh man am I depressed to be back. No, ocean, beach, palm trees & awesome scenery. You have an awesome condo, a warm home away from home. Thank you so much for renting it to us. I am hoping to go back there one day.

It was my first trip to Kauai . I am familiar with Maui & a little with Oahu , but, it is a toss up which I like better. The main reason that I go to Maui is for the drive to Hana. It is so beautiful. But, having said that, there are many many awesome sights on Kauai. I do like the fact that there is no Kihei or Lahaina on Kauai . I much prefer the old Hawaiian towns around the island instead.
Thanks again, Gladys

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

Cathy & Bruce:
I want to share with you how much Mike
and I enjoyed your condo. The condo is
comfortable and the entire plantation is
beautiful. The location of your
property to the "water" is great, and
the proximity to shops, restaurants and
the airport is very desirable.
Thank you for allowing Mike and myself
to spend 21 wonderfully restful days in
your property on the incredibly
beautiful island of Kauai.
Aloha.
Ann and Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

Hi Cathy,

Just wanted to let you know that we arrived last night and have enjoyed our first full day in Kauai. Everything is lovely in the condo and the location is great, along with the weather. We were at the beach at 9 AM this morning, still being on east coast time, so we had the whole place to ourselves! I'm sure that we will enjoy the rest of our stay.

Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

Dear Cathy & Bruce,

Thank you for letting us use your home. Your home is lovely and we
were very comfortable. I'm glad that we selected a place on the second
floor - the cross breeze was wonderful. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

Aloha, we have spent a wonderful week here at Poipu Beach. The condo has been great and has met all of our needs. We made a stop at Costco on our first day and found all of our favorites. That said, we have eaten the majority of our meals in and enjoyed our time eating out on the lanai. Very relaxing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 24, 2008   Date of arrival: June 24, 2008

Dear Cathy and Bruce,
We had such a great time in Kaua'i! The condo met our needs quite well. Thank you for the well-equipped kitchen, the lawn chair, and the soft-side cooler. We loved the cross-breeze through the windows; we were never in need of A/C. The CD's added to the island mood, and we have since purchased a slack key guitar CD of our own. We loved the island and spent each day investigating another location. We did so many things on the island: Napali Catamaran, horseback at Silver Falls Ranch, snorkeling with turtles at Tunnels, Waimea Canyon to the amazing top lookout, Hanalei, shopping on the east side, Hula Pie at Duke's, Hula Lesson, Hula Show at Poipu Center, Boogie Boarding, etc... We'd love to return in the future, and will keep your place in mind. Thank you for letting us stay.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 6, 2008   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

Thank you, we are really glad we found this unit on the internet. The apartment has everything needed and we were able to get a crib from housekeeping for our little one. Also, Babysitters of Kauai cared for our 2 year old so we could go on a boat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2008   Date of arrival: March 6, 2008

We love Hawaiian traditions and history, hula and music and now have to go home after our two month stay. This very nice condo was our cozy place to relax. The birdsongs, evening and mornings will be soooo missed. We even enjoy the roosters crowing. Everyday we swam to the Sheraton and back. Hundreds of humpback whales went by. How can it be so awesome in one place????

We will be back often... Thanks so much for letting us stay here. Aloha and Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Hi Cathy.

Just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful stay in your condo at the plantation. It was so clean and comfy there. Your decor was so nice too.
We had stayed at a condo in Maui and it was a dive. The view was great but the condo was old, outdated and dirty. So, when we got to your place we were very pleased.
Kauai is a gorgeous island. We enjoyed it more that Maui. The lush green there was so refreshing to us because we live here in the Arizona desert.
We went on two tours there that were so enjoyable. We took a helicopter tour with the doors off and we took a catamaran tour of the NaPali Coast.
It was thrilling to see the island by land, sea and air.

We will stay in Kauai longer when we go next time. Hopefully we can take another trip there in a couple years or so. We enjoyed Maui too but the beauty and peacefulness of Kauai was so much more wonderful.

Thank you for letting us use your beautiful condo.

Melanie and Tim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2007   Date of arrival: February 16, 2007

Hi Cathy,

We had a fantastic time on Kauai and enjoyed staying in your condo. We especially loved all the beautiful wood inside. The Kiahuna grounds are so beautiful and perfectly maintained and the grounds/beach staff were so friendly. Of all the resorts we saw we decided the Kiahuna was THE only place to stay if we ever come back. Plantation Gardens was excellent, we ate there 4 times!!!!

So, we had a great time, miss the warm weather and the pounding surf and long to be back there!! Thank you for sharing your condo with us.

All the best ... Clare and Jack

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2007   Date of arrival: February 16, 2007

We just got back and wanted to let you know that everything was perfect. We loved your place. We came back to 20 degree temps so I wish we were still there.

Aloha,
Jonathan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2005   Date of arrival: May 23, 2005

We were here 15 years ago celebrating our 25th anniversary - now celebrating our 40th.

Enjoyed this condo unit very much. Glad to have a nice view of the ocean while eating breakfast on the lanai.

Very relaxing pleasant time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2005   Date of arrival: May 6, 2005

After our stay in Kona, this place was like heaven. There was nothing lacking. We stayed here at the Kiahuna about 30 years ago and it remains as lovely and accomadating as it was then. We are hoping to return to Kauai next year with friends and this time we will spend the entire time here at the Kiahuna Plantation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

We love your special place in PARADISE! So many thoughtful touches...we felt so comfortable and pampered here. The layout of the place is ingenious, allowing so much openness and yet so private.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review