reviews for: listing #24414 - Hermosa Beach, California House rental

3 Houses To The Beach!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $450 /nt
    $2,100 - $3,150 /wk
    $8,400 - $12,600 /mth

sort by:

Terrific vacation, just steps from the beach

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We had a terrific week at this charming house in Hermosa Beach. Two adults, a five year old and an almost 2-year-old. (The house is especially nice if you're traveling with younger kids and don't want a long hike to the beach.) We spent a few days in Disneyland before our week and the kids were thrilled to find the house stocked with just about every Disney movie ever made. (Bonus: they got to learn what a VHS tape was.) The house has everything you could want for a beach vacation and it was especially nice for us to not have to bring a crib, high chair, stroller, beach toys, towels, etc. This place has it all. It was warm the first few days; there's no AC in any of these beach houses, but the place was well stocked with fans which made it nice during the day and the sea breeze cooled everything down at night. Walking distance to restaurants (we loved the Mexican place around the corner) and the Hermosa Pier. We had a car, which was nice for trips to the grocery store and day trips, but if you're mainly there for the beach, you could probably do without. And Hermosa Beach itself is dreamy--white sand, warm water, lots of space. It was a great week. We'd definitely stay there again and hope to be back again.

Owners response: Such a nice family, and darling children. We are always happy to bring down strollers, high chair or crib to the house when a family needs them. I laughed when I heard how many Disney movies they watched!!! When Annie came out years ago we bought it as a holiday gift for my daughter and went on a road trip and played it and played it and played it again. I still know all the words to Annie!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation rental for the whole family

Review submitted: July 8, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We came out to visit my uncle who lives in the Los Angeles area and had such a wonderful time. My uncle is in a wheelchair so we wanted to make sure he would be able to come visit us and see the amazing views of the ocean. He said this was by far the best place we have stayed at. He loved looking at the ocean and seeing the sail boats from the kitchen table. Janine was so amazing she measured all the doors to make sure there was enough room for his chair to get through. She met us at the house even when we were delayed at the car rental place. Everything went so smoothly the whole week. Everything was provided for us and we didn't need anything but our suitcases and groceries. Everything listed in the description was right on. My parents had there own room with a tv, my husband and I had the other bedroom and the kids were in the 3rd bedroom that has a tv and DVD player it was like their own little playroom with toys.

The location was perfect my girls and I ages 6 and 4 could walk three houses down to the beach and then if we needed to use the bathroom it was a short walk back to the house. The beach was awesome almost like having your own private beach not crowded at all.

While we were there they had the junior USA sand volleyball tournament going on. The kids had a great time watching the girls play on the sand volleyball courts near the pier. We also walked down to hermosa beach pier and ate at some of the restaurants down there. We also visited the sea lab at manhattan beach pier which is just up the beach from the house. The kids can't wAit to go back next year.

While we were there the Stanley cup playoffs were going on which my husband loved being a hockey fan. We found out that many of the players from the LA kings visit a local bar down the street from the house called north end. Even though the playoffs were going on it was such a quiet neighborhood that I didn't have to worry about much noise from people walking home from watching the games.

The house has a two car garage we were able to park both cars in which was great bc the street parking can get crowded on the weekends and you need a parking pass if you want to park on the street without getting a ticket.

I would highly recommend this house anyone visiting the area. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable cottage with unobstructed ocean view

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Beautifully maintained and well-appointed cottage on an open corner with excellent ocean view. It is near good restaurants and grocery stores. We walked every evening on the Strand. We love it and hope to return again.

Owners response: We always enjoy seeing return visitors to the house. This couple came for a long visit with family and grandkids living in the area, and also attended a graduation. Our home is located just three houses away from the ocean and we're just a short walk to both Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach downtown areas. Once you fill the house with food you really don't need a car.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable cottage with ocean view

Review submitted: June 13, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

A beautifully maintained cottage on open lot with unobstructed view of the ocean. It is within walking distance of various restaurants and easy grocery stores. Every evening we We love it and will return.

Owners response: We always enjoy these return visitors. This couple came for a long stay enjoying grandkids and family in the area, attending a college graduation, and just enjoying the area and our beach views. We're glad they're planning a third visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

California Dreamin'

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: March 31, 2014

This was the perfect home for our family vacation! The pictures and description were accurate, in fact, it was better in person! The house and property was very, very clean and well maintained, You can tell that the owners care about this home! Everything we needed was there and detailed instructions and information on everything you could think of were right at our fingertips. This is a great neighborhood and an excellent location! The beach was so close, just a short walk.. about 1 and a half blocks. Not a problem going back to the house if we needed anything while at the beach! We enjoyed walking and jogging the "Strand". Downtown Hermosa is an enjoyable walk and once there, we visited surf shops and restaurants and oh, yes, ate Ice Cream! We loved playing volleyball at the beach and watching the volleyball games going on at the sand volleyball nets! There is also a park a couple blocks inland where there is a playground, basketball court and open field for other sports and ball play that our kids enjoyed. The patio is a nice oasis with a cool drink and a wonderful view. We also took in the ocean views from the eating area at every meal. Don't miss the sunsets! They are the main attraction! I would recommend this property to friends and relatives looking for a comfortable, clean home away from home. We can't wait to go back! We are already California Dreamin'!
Family of 5,
Chicago, IL

Owners response: We are actually two houses from the Strand/Beach. Each block has only one house on it, and each block is about 90 feet in length.. We’re really close to the water. Here is another family who enjoyed our location plus the park which is another great place for the kids to play.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming, immaculate home in the best location

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

When we reserved this home we knew we would be in for a treat- Hermosa Beach is one of the prettiest, warmest beach areas along the California coastline. Everything about the home was even better than expected. We stayed for almost a week in this lovely, meticulously maintained home and had a wonderful time. The home is so comfortable, and has been been thoughtfully supplied with pretty much everything you could want or need for a fun stay at the beach- beach toys, beach chairs, boogie boards, etc. The proximity to the beach is incredible (just 3 houses away!) and you can enjoy the ocean view and sunsets from the kitchen and dining room windows and listen to the ocean as you fall asleep at night. We had four boys (including teenagers) along for the trip and they were never short on activities- between the beach, the park/basketball courts (just a short walk), and renting bikes to go up and down the beach strand- they were worn out at the end of everyday! Hermosa beach is also centrally located to literally any Southern California activity that you would like to do, and the home owner supplies you with a book of suggestions and directions. We checked many rental listings, and have no doubt that this is the best of them all. Wish we were heading down to the beach right now!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven in Hermosa Beach

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We spent two months in this wonderful home. We were close to our family, an easy drive to nearby shopping, daily enjoyment of the ocean, and evening enjoyment of beautiful sunsets. The owners, Bob and Janine, were so very helpful and kind, giving us many great ideas about life in Hermosa Beach. The house is three houses down the hill to the beach; a very short walk (less than 5 minutes for a slow walker). The most amazing view of the water from the dining room and the kitchen. There is a comfortable patio next to the house where you can sit, have coffee, and enjoy the view of the ocean. Janine has developed a lovely garden with many flowering bushes and plants we rarely get to see in Rhode Island. People walking by often stopped to say hello and chat; even the postal delivery person. The house was beautifully maintained, beds extremely comfortable, everything in working order. A two car garage. A gas fireplace for the few chilly evenings; and lots of windows to let in the delightful ocean breezes. Lots of sheets, towels, kitchen appliances and utensils all there for our use. Families with children will find a stroller, port-a-crib, games, and videos; beach toys, beach chairs, high chair and wagon in the garage. A wonderful collection of books for leisure reading. This is a sunny, quiet, happy home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We so enjoyed having this family. They were here two months to visit the grandkids and they thoroughly enjoyed their stay. They called about suggestions for dinner and we steered them to the best burgers and Mexican food in town. They are making plans for next year again, and we're looking forward to seeing them again in 2015 when they come to enjoy our warm weather when the east coast is snowed in!! They really enjoyed being able to enjoy the outdoors and sunshine by sitting outside on the patio and watching the waves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home in Hermosa Beach

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

We stayed in Hermosa for a week and really enjoyed this wonderful house. It has everything you could need including a well stocked kitchen with condiments and cooking supplies which saved having to buy these things. If you use something up, just replace it. The bedrooms were a good size and comfortable and if coming with children there are all the baby supples you would need. The house was very clean and well maintained with a nice outside sitting area.
The beach was a very short walk which was great since we traveled with an 82 and 87 year old who were able to walk there on their own. The slope of the road is quite gentle here compared to some other streets so this was a great benefit. The garage has all kinds of beach gear, chairs, umbrellas, toys, so we didn't lack for anything in that area.
The owner, Janine, was wonderful to communicate with and we did everything through email. She was very prompt in replying to any questions and concerns and greeted us at the house when we arrived letting us know if we had any problems to give her a call. The free internet acces was great as well.
All in all, I would highly recommend this rental if visiting the Hermosa area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Destination - Look no more!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We recently stayed at this wonderful beach house for a family vacation with our 1.5 and 3 year old children. It is a single family home with a garage in a quiet residential area. The proximity to the beach is perfect. It is 3 HOUSES from the beach, which is a short 3 minute walk. You can see the ocean from the dining room, which is a perfect way to start or end the day. Everything that you could need for children comes with the rental: movies, toys, cribs, bed rail, highchair, washer/dryer, beach toys, wagon, beach chairs, and so on. It is very thought well thought out and clearly well taken care of. You do not have to go on vacation and bring everything with you! There is also a great patio on the side of the house where you can relax or enjoy meals. We loved how close we were to beach. It made it very easy to get the kids back and forth. We didn't feel like we had to go to the beach and stay all day. Some days we went twice! Even if traveling without children, the rental is perfect. The house is between Hermosa's downtown and Manhattan Beach's downtown area. Janine is very prompt in returning emails and phone calls. Our security deposit was returned to us within a week. I can't wait to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location, great for the kids, exceeded expectation.

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

I'll start by saying I do a lot of work in LA so when my wife suggested we try a vacation there (from Seattle) I thought the idea was suspect. The fact is, we'll probably now compare every other trip to it. The bar is high.
The house is just blocks from the Strand, and as soon as you are comfortable and embrace the fact it must be some people's JOBS to look beautiful and exercise, you'll be down there every day. The beach is deep and every few lifeguard towers there are little parks with swing sets where the kids will kill an hour or two while you can sit comfortably reading or wandering the area with a metal detector or watching old dudes learn to surf. My favorite part about the location is you're just a 10 minute walk from the piers and a 20 minute drive to Venice. City and beach. Doesn't get much better.
The house itself is pretty fantastic. Off street/garage parking, a great little kitchen where we cooked breakfast every day and a lunch or two (restaurants in the touristy areas are sorta unnecessarily pricey) and we stocked the fridge with goodies from the Man Beach Farmers Market. We loaded up the wagon with the kiddos and a picnic and took it down to the beach a few times. As I always forget something, sometimes a child, the two block walk home is easy as well. The bedrooms are nicely quiet and you can put the young ones to bed and still have a life without fear of keeping them awake just by talking in the family room.
It's such a fantastic area you may not spend much time in the house, but there is great comfort in knowing every minute you spend there is a calm and relaxing one. You'll be in want of nothing.
The owners are exceptional and attentive as needed. We didn't have any problems with anything, but they were there for us when I couldn't figure out how to turn on the TV. They compiled a solid book of local recommendations and things to do- it's clear they want you to enjoy their place as much as they have over the years.
Reflecting on it I can honestly report I wouldn't have done anything differently. We'll be back, and probably often. For our little family of four (2 and 5, both girls), it truly was fantastic.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: THE cutest family and darling daughters. I am so glad they enjoyed everything Hermosa has to offer. We are just 3 houses away from the beach, but the alleyway between the houses causes people to think we are two blocks away!! Not so, we are VERY close……………see our pictures from the front of the house to the beach, that’s how close we are. It’s great to set up your spot on the beach and then be close enough to go back and bring a sandwich or a cold soda back, take another swim or just sit under the umbrella and try to spot the dolphins. We’re glad this family will return, we so enjoyed meeting them. We’re also very close to a multi acre park where the kids loved to go play.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nice clean home close to beach

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

we contacted the owner when first interested in the property and she was extremely helpful. when we arrived, she showed us around and let us know of anything we needed to be aware of during our stay. the house was nice and roomy, very clean, kid-friendly, had comfortable beds, and had plenty of beach gear to use. we came with our 2 kids (6 & 3) and my mother-in-law. the layout was perfect for us because there were 2 bedrooms and a bathroom on one side of the house which we used with the kids; the other side of the house had a nice big room with a sitting area and a bathroom which my mother-in-law used. the only suggestion i would have is that the bbq be closer to the outdoor seating area. although my kids loved running around in the front grassy area, the patio to eat at was a little far back behind the garage (not that big of a deal) and the bbq was in another separate section behind the house. it would be great if the grill was up by the eating area. also, you couldn't see what you were grilling once the sun went down because there was no light. other than that, we really enjoyed the home and all that it offered. it was super close to the beach and walking distance to a nice park, shops, and restaurants. we would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A nice get away...

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We had a very enjoyable time here. It is one of the very few units that have a limited number of steps, which was great for one in our party. It was clean and well maintained. The location to the beach was great. Although the weather was not too warm, there were lots of beach toys and chairs available to use…which we would like to take advantage of on our next trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We're always pleased to see families come with more than one generation. We always traveled with grandma and grandpa too! February weather can be 'iffy' but we're glad to hear that our travelers are planning a return visit. We have many travelers who come back year after year because of the great location so close to the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

just steps away from the ocean

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We loved our stay here. The beds were very comfortable, Janine was friendly and quick to respond, the location perfect. Tea&coffee was complimentary, the kitchen very well stacked. I cooked a 3 course dinner and had all I needed to do it with ease.
As mentioned before,the location is lovely, great ocean views from the dining room. The rooms are spacious, you get the feeling you are in someones home where you are welcome but given your privacy. There is a nice garden that you can sit in with your family. You don't need a car, we had one and so did our son, we parked them in the 2 car garage and hardly used them as restaurants and grocery stores are just steps away as well as the famous Strand. Was nice to have the washing machine and do the laundry. They were plenty of towels in the spotlessly clean bathrooms. Would definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Beach House!

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

My husband, children and I just finished a 2 week stay at this beautiful beach home and it was amazing! Everything was so CLEAN and sparkled- from the kitchen to the bathrooms. The beds were super comfortable and the sheets were so soft that it felt like we were staying at a 5 star resort.
The location is fantastic - right between Hermosa Beach and Manhattan Beach. We loved riding bikes to Hermosa for lunch or dinner where there was always lots of fun things going on, but then it was so nice to get back to our quite retreat. The location also made it easy to bring the little ones back for a nap and let the older kids stay and play In Hermosa. The whole area felt very safe and our older kids enjoyed being able to ride bikes or walk to the Pier for lunch on their own. A bike ride to Hermosa was about 5 - 10 minutes.
There is a beautiful garden around the house and it was so nice to pass gorgeous flowers every time we walked in.
The kitchen was one of my favorite places to be. It is stocked with everything you could possible need. While you are doing dishes, you can watch a kitchen TV (Loved It!) and you have a great view of the the ocean out the Kitchen window. The beautiful houses across the street also have gorgeous gardens, so your kitchen views are really amazing! Dining room views are the same as the kitchen - amazing.
The house was great for our kids. There is a small fenced in back area where they loved playing. We just left the back doors open and the kids could run in and out.
The play room had toys, games and a TV with plenty of movies to entertain the younger ones.
Even doing the laundry here was a joy. The washer and dryer are like new and you can open a side door and just enjoy the ocean breeze while you work.
Janine, the owner is so friendly and helpful and made the whole rental experience easy.
This house totally deserves all the excellent reviews it gets and we can't wait to go back.

Owners response: Great family. Their review says it all, The location just can't be beat, and once you are here you don't need a car. Many restaurants just a short walk from the house. We're looking forward to their return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This is our third visit and the house is always clean and well appointed. Two adults, two teenagers and one sister - plenty of room. We do one big shopping excursion on arrival at the grocery store and after that the car never leaves the garage. Hermosa downtown and Manhattan Beach are just a short walk away. We rented bikes and rode to Venice Beach for lunch - a wonderful ride. Janine is very helpful and has left a wonderful binder full of local places to visit and eat. Walk down Manhattan Avenue to Java Hut in Hermosa for coffee in the morning - a great local hang out. A little slice of old Hermosa. We will be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of our favorite families...hurry back for summer #4!! And they're right, we are so conveniently located you can walk anywhere and never get in your car. Four boogie boards are at the house for that added fun at the beach which is just 3 homes in front of us

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family vacation house

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with our two young children this summer and I can't say enough good things about this house! Kid friendly houses near the beach are a rare find and this one was perfect - hard wood floors, comfortable furniture, and even a sweet little fenced-in front yard. The house was clean and all of the instructions the owner left were so helpful. This would be a great getaway without kids too- just a few seconds from the beach with a great view of the ocean. Also a short walk to town and a nice longer walk to Manhattan Beach. We can't wait to go back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our location is perfect for families with or without children and a great romantic getaway too. We can provide, upon request, all that you would need for little ones but the house is not full of child stuff for other visitors. The beach is just 3 doors ahead of us, so it's a short walk for little ones. We're glad you had a good stay and look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection in Every Way!

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We were looking for a place to stay in southern California for four weeks to combine attending graduations of two grandsons and a vacation with family. Our daughter, who lives in Manhattan Beach, found this well-located and beautifully appointed beach house. The house sits on the crest of a hill with a fantastic view to the ocean. From the dining room table, we watched the waves roll into shore. It is spotlessly clean, well maintained, and equipped with everything a visitor could need and more. The owner provided clear instructions for all equipment and was available for any questions. In fact, we became so comfortable that we began to feel it was home! We enjoyed walks to restaurants, shops and along the strand to the center of Manhattan Beach, as well as, to beach towns to the south. By car the 405 was easily accessible for visits with our family in Costa Mesa. We would certainly recommend this house to friends and we hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our perfect family vacation home

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

What can we say. This home was one of the best vrbo experiences we have had the pleasure of enjoying. The home was exactly as described...very clean. Our two four year old twins had everything they needed for the beach including a seperate play room for the them. The communication prior and until the day of departure was top notch. This one Is a no brainer.

Thanks again,

Squaglia fam

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Such a happy family with smiling, friendly children. They enjoyed their stay walking everywhere, or biking. They never even rented a car. You can walk to markets, the beach is just 3 houses ahead of us, and dining is a very short stroll along the waterfront. We hope you guys will come back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here with our two kids (ages 4 and 8) and my parents. The house was perfect for us and very kid-friendly. Lots of space, comfy beds, and had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation! Kids had their own room with their own TV.
The location is the best part, you walk out the front door and see/hear the ocean. A quick walk down to the beach and The Strand where you can walk to restaurants, shops, etc. Janine provides everything you need for the beach including beach towels, chairs, and a wagon with toys for the kids to play in the sand.
Another great part of the location is the fantastic park for kids around the corner from the house. Perfect for burning all that extra energy kids have!
2 different grocery stores are very close by and there is a little market within walking distance of the house.
We had a great vacation and highly recommend this house! We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house! Great location!

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

We had a fantastic holiday staying in this great home. Perfect location for us, 3 houses from the beach -a very short walk.
The property is much bigger than it looks in the photo's and has everything that you need for your stay. Amazing views from the dining room and kitchen, were perfect to wake up to, very comfy beds and always plenty of hot water for showers. Lots of beach chairs, towels, umbrella's etc for the beach.
Janine was there to meet us after our long flight and having mentioned before I arrived that I was an English tea drinker even provided me with a teapot!
We shall definitely return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: A wonderful family who enjoyed many many days at the beach. They enjoyed our fantastic location and we are looking forward to their return visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Home for a Family!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This house was all we hoped for and more. The location was EXCELLENT - a very short, pleasant walk right down to an uncrowded beach or to Hermosa Valley Park. The house itself was SPARKLING CLEAN when we arrived, and it had all the amenities you could ask for when traveling in southern California with a young family: Pack N' Play, indoor toys, strollers, beach pails, enclosed yard area, friendly neighborhood cat... We absolutely loved our stay at this house, and we're hoping to rent it again for our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Everyone raves about our location, just 3 houses to the beach. Hermosa has beautifully clean beaches, plus we have the great park that's just two short blocks from the house too. This was a darling family with cute kids. We hope they will return too.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This beach home was perfect for our annual family vacation! The home is much larger than portrayed in the pictures and was complete with everything we needed for our stay, including plenty of towels and linens, dishes (including several cooking pans and serving bowls and platters), fans, movies, sand toys, and wagons. The home even has strollers, a pack n' play, and highchair for little ones. The home is very clean and the yard is beautiful. The location is fantastic - directly between the Manhattan and Hermosa piers and far enough away from the Strand to be away from the noise but close enough to reach the beach in a few minutes. We hope to stay at this rental again in the future! Thanks Tom and Janine!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Excellent rental. Clean, great view, close to the beach. Everything was as advertised. We were very grateful for the wonderful assortment of beach toys, chairs, umbrellas, and even a wagon in the garage to haul them to the beach! We'd go back to this house in a heartbeat. Owner refunded our security deposit in TWO days!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Another wonderful visit to Hermosa Beach!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This is our second stay at this home (see prior review). My children are now 5 & 6 and really enjoyed being so close (four houses) to the beach and being able to walk down several times per day. We have stayed at other rental properties and this home is still the cleanest that I have stayed in. It is fully stocked with all of the things that my family needed including kitchen supplies, linens, movies, games, fans, and much more. Thank you, Janine!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Super House and Great Location

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

If you are debating on which property to rent - pick this one! We arrived into LAX from Indiana, rented a car and in 15 minutes we were at the house. We were met by the owner on our arrival at the house. She was very engaging and helpful. The house was ideal with excellent accomodations. We felt so fortunate to have such a nice clean house so close to the beach. Eating breakfast in the dining room was a favorite as the five of us loved the view of the beach and ocean. The strand is super and great for riding a bike. Our favorite place to eat lunch and breakfast was Martha's just a couple of blocks away. Hermosa Beach is ideally located with plenty in the town and yet close to everywhere we wanted to go. We easily went up to other beaches but decided we like Hermosa the best! We also went to Hollywood, Knotts Berry Farm and Long Beach! We would return without hesitation to a great town, a super view and an excellent house. The lifeguards on the beach were very nice and attentive to safety while being great hosts at the same time! I would recommend renting a bike and riding the strand up to Santa Monica. It was a pleasant ride and very enjoyable. The family had a great vacation that was restful and peaceful! Good thing there was a nice garage because the police in Hermosa enforce the parking rules. We saw many examples of that and so we were very happy to have a garage to keep our rental car!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We really enjoyed the house - it was spacious, well kept, and a great location!!
We have already referred the house to several of our son's parents who visit LA. Hopefully they will be in contact with you as they make future plans. I will also be in touch next time we visit the boys

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a Gem!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 12, 2011

What an amazing time we had in Hermosa Beach! We have traveled through much of California, but this was our first time in this lovely little beach town.

The first communication with Janine, the property owner made me feel as though we had made a good choice. She was extremely helpful and returned all of my emails quickly.

We arrived to a sparkling clean, well stocked, AMAZINGLY located beach home. Our two young girls were thrilled to find a closet of toys waiting for them. The bedrooms are large, and have plenty of closet space and drawers. The linens seemed new and the beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked - and has a terrific view of the ocean. I think that the home is much bigger than it appears in the photos (the opposite of what you usually find!)

We especially enjoyed the large garage that we could pull right into with our large van. It made loading and unloading kids much easier. The kids were looking forward to the beach wagon for their trips to the beach. When we arrived, it had a broken wheel. I sent a quick note to Janine - and would you believe that there was a brand new one at the house within an hour - Now, that is service!

We loved the Strand. We put in many miles, walking from pier to pier. The views are spectacular, the locals are very engaging and friendly and the beach is world-class. Walking this everyday was really one of the highlights of our visit.

We would enthusiastically recommend Martha's (just a few blocks away) for breakfast or lunch. The menu is huge (and delicious) and you truly feel like a local when you are sitting on their patio. We ate at the Tin Roof Bistro a few miles away for dinner. It worked well as a place that you could take kids but was still upscale with a great menu.

This is a fantastic rental. It is great value for money, perfectly located and has very accommodating
owner. We look forward to another visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in a fantastic location - especially for families!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here with our 3 small children - twins age 3.5 and another age 5.5. My wife grew up in Redondo Beach and the two of us lived in west Torrance for 3 years (pre-kids), so we knew what we were looking for in a house and in location. This house had everything we were looking for!

It had all the amenities and space we needed, including toys for inside the house, sand toys for the beach and a great wagon to cart the kids & toys to and from the beach in. We even used the wagon on several other occasions, including a walk to the Hermosa Pier.

As for location in regards to food, this house is literally right around the corner from our favorite Mexican restaurant: El Gringo! Yum! It's also just a few blocks from Martha's (GREAT breakfast) and there's a convenience store just 2 blocks away, for when you gotta have that half-gallon of milk in the morning for cereal & coffee. :-) If you venture a little further (about 3/4 of a mile - very walkable), you'll hit all the restaurants on Pier Ave, including our favorite coffee shop: Java Man.

For those that haven't ever visited this area before, you might also be so lucky as to witness squadrons of pelicans flying along the beach and possibly even a pod of dolphins playing with the surfers. We saw both of these during our stay. Very cool...and the kids thought so too!

Having a garage sure was nice. We are acutely aware of the potential lack of parking in the beach cities and just being able to click the garage door opener from inside our car and pull in was a true blessing - especially with kids!

The view out the dining room window sure was nice in the morning. It was very relaxing to sit down with your morning coffee and enjoy the sight of the waves.

Overall, the house was very clean & well taken care of. You can tell that Janine (the owner) takes true pride in this house and doesn't treat it as just another rental property. You really feel like you are guests in her own personal home.

In closing, we would definitely stay here again. It was a great home, in a great location and it made our vacation that much more relaxing & enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Always happy to hear our renters had fun and enjoyed our view of the ocean. The location is perfect, (you know what they say "Location, Location, Location") and that wonderful walk alongside the ocean either North or South to two downtown pier locations is always so beautiful. You don't even need a car--lots of great restaurants close by but Not Too Close. And, Yes, parking can be a problem this close to the beach so everyone likes the two car garage with auto openers. This family was a delight, we'd love to have them back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation home in hermosa beach

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

five of my family members stayed at this home, aged 79, 50, 43, 19, and 11. what a great home for all of us. the home is extremely clean, well equipped with anything you could possibly want. located very close to the beach and strand. we walked to restaurants and the small grocery store. we appreciated the list of local attractions and restaurants that the owner put together for her guests. there were plenty of beach toys, beach chairs, beach towels,extra pillows and blankets, toys and baby gear (if needed), dishes, pots, etc. the view from the dining room and the kitchen was spectacular. the garage fit 2 vehicles (mod sized). the patio was a quiet and serene place to read and relax. the owner was available by phone if needed. we could not of been happier with this home. we had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad we have another happy family. The home is SO CLOSE to both the beach and a large park is just a 5 minute walk. We can provide everything for babies, but the house is not full of baby stuff....just upon request. It is great to have morning coffee and watch the boats sail by.... Then walk to several great restaurants for breakfast.Hope you and your family come again Kim.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely House!

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful stay in Hermosa Beach. This is the fourth home that we have rented in the Hermosa/Manhattan Beach area and this one was by far the best.

There are a few things that made it perfect for us (myself, my husband and two small children):

Location-- This home is just four houses from the beach. I prefer this home to those we've stayed in that are north of it because there is no steep hill to get down to the beach. (by day 3, lugging children, sand toys, coolers, chairs up and down the steep hills of MB gets old!)

Noise-- Easy access to the Strand and the beach yet not so close that the noise of the Strand can be heard. Also, there was much less street/car noise than what I expected in this location. We're light sleepers and noise was never an issue.

Cleanliness-- This house is extremely clean and well-maintained.

Safety-- While it may not be "childproofed" it is very child-friendly. The owner has stocked it with everything you need for children under the age of 5-- bed rails, high chairs, sand toys, indoor toys, etc. Also, extra precautions have been taken to address other aspects of safety. (there are locks that can be used at night that no renter has ever been given a key to... I really appreciate that)

Final note. When I first walked in I was struck by the fact that it seemed more spacious in person than in the photos. I find that with rentals professional photos sometimes give the illusion of having more space. It was the opposite in this case. That was a nice surprise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Kim and her family were delightful renters. Like she said, we are a superior location--near everything but without the crowds and noise. We do like to keep everything you'd need for the beach, for cooking a special meal, Thanksgiving Turkey, etc. Just like home, right down to the shampoo and hair dryers. We're looking forward to Kim and her family on their return stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 1/2 year old daughter for nearly a month in March, and we really enjoyed our stay. We found the house very comfortable, and it suited all of our needs. We liked that the park/playground was so close, and that there were grocery stores and coffee shops all nearby. We enjoyed walking to restaurants, jogging along the Strand, and just loved living so close to the beach - what a treat! The walk to the beach is literally about 1 minute, and they have everything you could need to enjoy it! Buckets/shovels, chairs, umbrella, beach towels and a wagon to haul it all in...just great! Hermosa Beach is lovely, one of the most beautiful beaches that we've seen. The owners were very accomodating and considerate as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: What a wonderful family from Canada. The few times we talked to them over the month they told us about their favorite restaurants in the area, and how the weather was so good even in March that they were spending many of their days at the beach. I know their little one also enjoyed the park that is so close. Being the fourth house off the water is a real plus for families.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable place to stay!

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

We decided to rent outside of LA while spending a week there, as there a few things to do in LA and many around the area. This location was perfect - easy access to major highways, yet a quiet, enjoyable location to stay in. We actually spent alot of time in Hermosa - a very pleasant, friendly place.

This house is short 2 block walk to the strand, and such an enjoyable walk to the center of Hermosa Beach or up to Manhattan beach. There are a lot of families in the area, and alot of folks out running or playing volleyball. There is a great park nearby as well. We spent alot more time than we planned around Hermosa Beach, walking the strand, going to the center of town for a bite to eat.

The house is very comfortable, and is true to the pictures and description on the site. We were a party of 5, but the house is perfectly suitable for 6 people. The owner is very helpful and efficient.

I'd highly recommend this rental if you are considering staying at in one of the beach areas around LA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We love the comments our past renters have posted on our site. There is so much to do in Hermosa Beach. We are the fourth house from the water: There is the house on the beach, then only 2 houses on the first short block, and then us. We have everything you'd need at the beach as well; chairs, towels, umbrellas and a wagon to carry them all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hermosa Beach house

Review submitted: April 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

Wonderful home, great location and quiet neighborhood. Extreemly clean, very nicely furnished and has a well equipped kitchen. Great large third bedroom for the kids. Cute little side patio with view of the ocean. Owners are delightful! We will stay here for many years to come!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location! Location! And Cute as a Button!

Review submitted: March 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2008

I was having family come to visit from NY for my daughter's graduation and needed to find them the perfect place for their stay. I looked at over 50 rental houses in Hermosa & Manhattan Beach (no exaggeration). I really did my homework. I almost didn't even look at this property because it wasn't pet friendly but decided to look anyway and am glad that I did. I decided that this Hermosa Beach rental would be the perfect spot for my family's vacation...and it was.

Dollar for dollar this beach house was ideal. Adorable 3 br, 2 bath, VERY clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price. Ocean view, hardwood floors, TV in every room, patio area for a sunset bar-b-que, very kid friendly (everything you need for home & beach)...not to mention the location.

1 block to the beach & strand, 2 blocks away you will find a convenient store, Martha's Cafe for burgers, sandwiches, salads & great breakfasts, El Gringo for the best mexican food, The Bottle Inn for italian cuisine and Hermosa Valley Park & Playground. Less than half a mile to downtown Hermosa Beach & Pier and 1 mile to downtown Manhattan Beach and Pier for many additional shops, coffee houses, ice cream & restaurants. You can walk to EVERYTHING via the strand.

A vehicle wasn't even necessary for this trip but if you have a car parking is a breeze. There is a large 2 car garage plus a parking permit for street parking.

What was also great about this location is that there was no steep hill leading down to the beach that I found with most of the rental properties I had previewed. This was perfect and my family is looking forward to coming back this summer.

Lisa

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review