reviews for: listing #24509 - Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario House rental

Niagara on the Lake; English Country Home w pool in Old Town
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Niagara
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $375 - $695 /nt
    $1,995 - $3,850 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Family Stay in Niagara on the Lake

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We booked Avalon in Niagara on the Lake as part of a four week Canadian tour (we are Australians living in Hong Kong) - what a lovely place to spend a couple of days. Our party consisted of two families with four children total (ages 6 to 9) - Avalon was perfectly suited to our needs. The bed rooms were spacious & well appointed, the living room was large enough for all of us & the kitchen was very family friendly. The heated pool in the beautiful back garden was great, and we enjoyed BBQ with local wines each evening while the children swam happily. Avalon is very close to the main street on Niagara on the Lake & we walked & biked everywhere. Arranging our stay with Angelo was very easy & the house was well maintained & clean on arrival (we met the service staff upon arrival & they were super friendly & very helpful with area suggestions). I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely home

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

This property was great! Very charming & quaint. The decor was lovely. Property well maintained.. We had 3 couples &plenty of room. NOTL is an awesome location. We biked in the mornings, wineries for lunch. The pool at the house provided the perfect afternoon to relax in the private backyard. Hoping to make it an annual trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Relaxing Get away

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

Avalon was the perfect weekend getaway from the city -- quiet relaxing and just a block away from the main street could walk to the grocery store, the lcbo, restaurants and theatres. All the amenities were better than the pictures! It was so nice to have the home base and so much more space and convenience than a hotel. We used the pool every day -- and the bbq too. We rented bicycles from Zoom Rentals and they delivered them to us --great bike ride along the river and to a couple of vineyards --private, relaxing and the ideal way to recharge. We will be going back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfy, cozy, spacious house

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

My family's visit to the Avalon was wonderful. It was the perfect set up for three couples in that we all had our own rooms and bathrooms. (There are 4 bedrooms) The spacious kitchen and dining room were really great to have since we're a family of cooks and we wanted to eat together in a welcoming environment. Everything was clean, equipped with all the necessities, and was in a good location. We didn't need a car at all because we could walk to town and the lake. The only time we drove was to the wineries and the Falls. The fireplace also warmed things up on the cold days. Reservations were extremely simple as Angelo was easy to reach and answered all questions. We would definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Location, location, location

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

They say it's about location and this is as good as it gets. Arrive, park the car and forget about using it until you leave. Avalon is within easy walking distance of the entire central business district of the charming NOTL. Four couples from our yacht club in the US make an annual visit to Niagara on the Lake each year for a play and some serious culinary activity. It is an easy walk to many good restaurants and the galley in Avalon is perfect for group cooking. We've rented from Angelo for several years and his properties are always clean, well kept and charming. Avalon is no exception.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Internship Reunion

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We are a group of 9 friends that gather every two years for a reunion. Brought together in 1980 , we hail from 8 of the United States. New England to California, Florida to Buffalo,NY. Deciding to meet in Niagara Falls, we needed to find a place to stay that could accommodate all of us. Our on-line search brought us to the wonderful accommodiations of Angelo Molinaro. Avalion is a beautiful home with four bedrooms, three bathrooms, eat in kitchen, dining room, living room and outdoor yard that more than satisfied our needs. The home is well appointed, very comfortable, and just one block from downtown Niagara on the Lake. Most of us have never been to NOTL and we enjoyed EVERYTHING. The shopping,restaurants,specialty stores, the flowers, wineries and close proximimity to the lake. Would highly recommend Angelo's home if you are looking for comfortable, clean home that can accommodate a crowd in a quiet neighborhood just steps away from the activities of NOTL, and close enougn to Niagara Falls without all the hustle bustle. Loved our NOTL reunion! The listing photos of the home accurately reflect the appearance and amenities.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home base for exploring Niagara-on-the-Lake

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

We spent a fabulous week at the Avalon with our adult children and several of their friends, seeing plays, touring wineries, taking bike trips, exploring Niagara-on-the-Lake and the Falls - couldn't imagine a better place to stay! The house is lovely throughout, even better that it appears in the photos, with comfortable, quiet, bedrooms and generous large communal areas for all kinds of activities, from swimming and dining on the patio, to preparing meals, doing puzzles, watching movies, and catching up on emails indoors. It is equipped with everything you would have in your own home, including a full laundry, excellent internet service, and plenty of kitchen gear - lucky for us since our kids love to cook! The air conditioning was a great bonus, since it was in the 90'sF (35-40C) the whole week. The house is on a charming residential street within an easy walk of everything in NOTL - grocery store, post office, Shaw Festival theatres, Fort George, shopping, and of course many great restaurants, and you can bike to wineries, picnic areas, and the Falls along the gorgeous Niagara Parkway bike path. Best of all is the terrific owner and his staff, who provided excellent directions and intructions in advance, and responded with breath-taking speed to take care of any questions or problems that arose. This truly was one of the greatest vacations we have ever had - highest marks for the Avalon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend of memories

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Firstly,compliments must go to the owners Angelo and Kerri who have put great effort in the decoration and furnishing of this 1820's home....the little touches seen all over make you feel instantly welcome as you arrive. We felt good energy in that home ...( A piece of Ontario history that has been thankfully kept). Angelo was so helpful and accommodating ...very hospitality- oriented and efficient in all correspondence . Thank you kindly.
Despite the heavy rain upon arrival, the home was so cosy and ever so spacious for a family of five adults and one quite active pre-teen that no one felt hemmed in. The location was perfect for the occasion of my mom's 80th birthday and it was a joy not to need the cars for all outings. Walking into town armed with umbrellas on a drizzly evening was quite relaxing , stopping for a delicious ice cream after dinner at the Olde Angel Inn and coming back to a family evening of games and chat.
The pool was not to be ignored since the sun came out in glory the next day and a BBQ was planned. Shopping was so handy at the Hendricks supermarket...the wine store and gourmet cheese shop provided all that was needed. The kitchen is quite spacious and has every amenity required ... Far better than mini fridges or room service from overrated hotels. The charm of the dining room made for a great family dinner. We loved the old beams,the creaky uneven floorboards , the angel sculpture from the ship , the cute little brass mice hidden in the nooks of the kitchen post.......
We met the very helpful David who got the pool ready after the rains from the previous days. We wished there was more time to enjoy the quiet atmosphere of the backyard, the roses were in full bloom!
For first time visitors to the area Avalon is well situated to seeing Niagara Falls , only about 20 minutes away and being back in NOTL for dinner at any of the many restaurants.
Avalon was perfect for our family especially since we were able to spend the time together ....highly recommended for families or reunions. The surrounding area is perfect to appreciate Ontario 's wine growing region, and there are bike routes along the river , and parks to picnic.
I am so happy to have found these homes in NOTL that I may never book a hotel here again ... And that goes as a recommendation to all the visitors we get from Europe. Well done to the owners for achieving the perfect balance between an historical dwelling and modern facilities.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls getaway

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Our stay in Avalon this past April was beyond our expectations. The house exuded charm in every room and allowed us to feel instantly comfortable and "at home". From sitting and sipping wine on the stone patio to enjoying our meals in the lovely dining room, the weekend was all we had hoped for and more. Each bedroom was beautifully decorated with attention to detail and the large comfortable beds made for restful nights. We especially loved the location on the quiet tree-lined street just minutes from the business section and the Shaw. Being able to walk everywhere was a real treat. Being responsible for the booking was a little stressful, but within minutes of arrival, my fellow travellers had given the thumbs up. We are already planning next year's visit.
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Delightful!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

This home is by far, the most enjoyable, beautiful, quaint and comfortable place my husband and I - regular home renters - have ever experienced.

The beautiful, historic house is a tasteful blend of the old and new. The owners have maintained the home's history (one bedroom, for example, features a large sleigh bed, and antiques in a soft, peaceful setting) while carefully tending to the needs of modern life. We enjoyed lovely candlelit dinners in the charming, historic diningroom, slept in the kind of comfort and peace that only older buildings deliver, and still had access to modern necessities, including updated, beautifully-designed bathrooms and a kitchen with plenty of dishware, cooking untensils and modern appliances. The generous family room is a marvelous place in which to relax, with a gas fireplace and large, flat-screen television. And the wireless connection was superb, so we were able to keep in touch with our families in a matter of seconds.

Because we rented in the winter, we were not able to take advantage if the beautiful pool and expansive outdoor dining area.But that's merely an excuse to return in summer!

One of the house's greatest assets is its proximity to town. It is located in a quiet, historic neighborhood only a block-and-a-half from the main thoroughfare in Niagara-on-the-Lake. After-theater dining in summer, enjoying one of the pubs or doing evening shopping are true options since the house is within walking distance to virtually everything. We thoroughly enjoyed this feature; going "to town" in a matter of a minute or so.

Summary? Charming. Beautifully tended. Historic. Elegant. Comfortable. User-friendly. Convenient to everything. And the owners are simply wonderful to deal with. They are friendly and very helpful.

I simply can't say enough about this house, except - Don't Miss It!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Girls' Getaway

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Our group of 5 women loved every minute of our stay at this beautiful house. This was the 2nd or 3rd trip to NOTL for most of our group, so we know what we are looking for and everything about the house was perfect. It was an easy one block walk to the heart of town, so we could run over for a gelato or a quick shopping trip any time we wanted. The pool was heated, so even though it was only in the low 70's, we were able to use the pool both morning and evening before and after our winery excusions. We used the outside seating every evening for wine and cheese and we even used the gas fireplace in the living room one night, just to see what it was like. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beatifully appointed. There is a great deal of privacy, even though the house is so close to the heart of town. We would recommend the house without reservation and look forward to another visit next year.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Niagara on the Lake experience

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We stayed at Avalon with our grown kids and their 2 children in January for a
long weekend. The home is a gorgeous heritage home with wooden beams
throughout.
We loved the over sized country kitchen! Great for gathering around and
cooking together.
We want to return in the summer when the pool is open.
The home is located one block from Queen street which added to our stay as
we could walk to everything and never take the car out.
We didn't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy weekend at Avalon!

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

My friends and I were hoping to catch a beautiful spring weekend in Notl but unfortunately we were treated to a very cold and rainy get away. In the end, we decided the weather didn't really matter as we had a such a wonderful time at avalon.

We had decided in advance to cook most of our meals at avalon. We were treated to a large, clean kitchen stocked with everything we needed. We sat for hours in the cozy dining room. The comfortable living room was the perfect spot for a our group to sit and chat. The bedrooms are all beautiful and the beds are very comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay so much we plan to return this fall. We are hoping for better weather as avalon is just steps from the shops, theaters and restaurants but we wouldn't mind getting "stuck" inside avalon for a weekend again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review