reviews for: listing #245755ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

'Villa Lucky Monkey' 4/9 BR -Perfect for Guests of 6 to 24!
  • bedrooms  9
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  10
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  24
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Excellent Vacation Home

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

I vacationed in quite a beautiful country at a very beautiful villa called the Lucky Monkey in Costa Rica. Costa Rica borders both the Pacific Ocean and Caribbean Sea. The Lucky Monkey is located in Tamarindo, a town of beautiful nature, amazing beaches, restaurants and cafés. All of these gave me the possibility to have fine dining and vacationing. There were different types of cuisine from Mexican to Asian. There were places for golfing and tennis. I was impressed with organized local tourisms and very educated tour guides. We enjoyed a special tour on a river where I could see huge alligators, iguanas, and birds, but the best part of the trip was staying at the Lucky Monkey Villa. Two beautiful 3 story buildings with a swimming pool in between them with spectacular views of the beach and ocean. The villa is located next to the attractive park zone. I could hear singing of the birds and hollering monkeys. I can see them and holler with them from a balcony. I can see the panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean and the town. My room was spacey and comfortable, tastefully decorated with all necessities. Thank you Lucky Monkey owner for a beautiful place to stay during our well-organized vacation.
Igor

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome houses! Had a great time.

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

This was our very first visit to Costa Rica and much to my surprise, the experience could not have been better. The suites were clean, the beds comfy, the property and pool well maintained. The management took very good care of our group with lots of options and ideas for our entertainment. Our days were blissful starting with waking up to the sounds of birds, having our first cup of coffee on the terrace with a view of the ocean. In the evenings the sunset, the breeze and then all those stars were remarkable. We even took a day trip to Liberia with the bus trip being almost the highlight. We had the fortune of hearing the monkeys in the woods behind the houses. Seeing them in their natural environment was way better than seeing them on a tour. As you can tell, we would highly recommend the Lucky Monkey. It was beautiful, peaceful, restful and allowed us to be still, to truly enjoy the moment. But amazing how fast the time went.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place I've ever stayed in Costa Rica

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We had an absolutely amazing time at the Lucky Monkey! The location was beautiful and very conveniently located to the downtown area. The management team was extremely helpful, and really contributed to our great time. We would highly recommend this house to any group looking to hangout poolside and have a good time. Will definetly be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wedding stay at the Lucky Monkey- stay away

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

Pros: The size of the house allows for large groups.

Cons: When we arrived, we were given what seemed like 100 keys which weren't labeled. It took us quite a long time to figure out which keys went where. Some went to nothing and some places we never did get keys too. We never were able to access the rooftop terrace despite many requests to obtain keys. When we first got to the houses, one of them REEKED of pesticide and there were dead bugs throughout the house. We lost power a few times and on two occasions guests tried to re-set the circuit breaker and got shocked bad enough to cause pain throughout the day.

The worst part about our stay, however, was that on our last night, both houses were broken into. We collectively had about 14,000 dollars worth of cell phones, ipods, laptops, gps's, jewelry, etc. stolen. We spent the last night of our wedding celebration week filling out police reports. Its central america and these things happen, unfortunately. However, I do place responsibility largely on the owners of the LM houses because the sliding glass doors did not have locks- they had bolts on the inside. On our first night, we got to the house and NONE of the keys worked to the 2nd house and the management company couldn't find them at the time so they sent someone to get into the house for us. As the man demonstrated, it was possible to break into the house without a key. It took him about 15 minutes to pop the bolt out from the outside. This is how both houses were broken into on the last night. When I returned the keys the next day and told the property manager what had happened, his response was "Yeah, those sliding glass doors are pretty cheap- they always get targeted." Hmm.... wish I would've known that before booking. Furthermore, there was only 1 small safe in each house- definitely not enough to store everyone's valuables. There needs to be a safe in every room and the security of the house absolutely needs updating. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND staying here unless these changes have been made. The location is also poor- it takes about 30 minutes to walk to the downtown area- and its not a pretty walk- which forced us to drive most of the time. With so many options on VRBO, I would look elsewhere.

Note: the owner did refund 25% of our stay due to the robbery, which we split between our guests.

Owners response: This was truly an unfortunate incident at the Lucky Monkey. We have now taken all precautions and have remedied all issues in this review. First, in August we installed a top of the line professional alarm system with a private response team which should alleviate any security issues like the one’s experienced in this incident. We have also installed two more safes, one in in each house to total four, which are large enough to accommodate any type of large laptops and electrical instruments of equal size. We have gone through the houses completely and remedied any other of the issues brought to our attention in this review. The key issue was a mistake as the clients were given all of the keys instead of the normal set designated for the guests. This set is much smaller and much easier to manage. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused our guests. Thank you and we are more confident now than ever that you will thoroughly enjoy your stay at the Lucky Monkey.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

Couldn't have been happier with this place

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Our party of 20 stayed here early this year February and we're planning to go back next year. The place is ENORMOUS and couldn't have been better suited for a large party. Our vacation was a family reunion. The two houses are connected by the backyard which has a pool. This was the favorite place to congregate for everyone. There was plenty of privacy which was an initial concern for my wife. As soon as we arrived she was instantly relieved at the set-up. Everything was clean and modern, which was exactly what we wanted. Management team perfect, walk to town 10 minutes max.

We'll be here again no doubt about it. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place. Loved it!!

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

This place was fantastic! We had a large party and the Lucky Monkey was perfect. The houses are connected by the backyard which has a pool. We had the option of getting both houses or just one. We took both and had the best reunion. The houses were very clean and had views of the ocean from many of the rooms. The management was very helpful and the house had everything we needed.

We'll be back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

A group of 11 in our mid to late 20's stayed at the Lucky Monkey from 8/6/11 to 8/14/11. The houses were perfect for us and I had very few issues. Rather than going through all of the good things, I just want to list a few things people should expect that I wasn't aware of.

The first thought when we arrived at the house was that the pictures were taken when the house was new and it is not as ‘up-kept’ as I was expecting. The houses were fairly clean with the exception of the floors. Most importantly, the linens were clean. The houses are huge and if you rent both of the houses and the master suite, you will get about 12 keys that work for different doors and gates. The process of ‘locking-up’ when we were leaving to go to town was quite the hassel with so many different keys and the fact that none of the sliding glass doors locked (rather a bolt is placed in the track and a piece of wood).

The pool was nice to have but the side walk around the pool was pretty beat up and has some sharp edges. Also, the plumbing in the house is obviously not done as well as we have in America, but the smell of sewage around the pool was unbearable at times. This was the case in the downstairs of Lucky Monkey #2 as well. Some days, the sewage smell was so bad down stairs that we didn’t even go in the house. Not sure what the deal was but it was interesting nonetheless. We also had a bathroom that wasn't being used randomly flood a couple of times.

The last thing I wanted to highlight is location. It appears on google maps that the house is relatively close to town and the beach but in fact it is about a 10-15 minute walk to get to the main road. There is no shortcut that takes you into the middle of town so you end up at the far north end of town. So if you want to walk from the loop at the southern end of town back to the house, it takes about 30 minutes. And be warned, the house is located up a steep road, uphill. This isn't bad if you are planning on going to town once a day, but we were planning on going to and from the house 4-5 times a day and the walking really ate up a lot of our time. We started using a cab ($1 per person each way) when we could manage to get one to take us from town to the house.

Again, the house was great for our age group. If I were to bring my family here, I would opt for something a little cleaner and more up kept and something closer to town (Playa Longosta probable).

RPM, the property management company, was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

The Monkeys are Friendly and always around .Had a great Time best and most secure place in CR.
Clean, Convenient Location..for everything.Affordable as well
Would go back every year for the next 10 years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation Stay!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

These houses are enormous! The views were great from all over the house. A few mornings we had some monkeys visit us in the trees. We very much enjoyed the pool right outside the kitchen doors. Peaceful, relaxing but extremely close to town and beaches. Loved this place. Will be booking here again very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lucky Monkey, Lucky Me

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 19, 2010

I stayed in the 5 BR house. Three generations vacationed together. The young adults (that's me!) stayed on the top floor. We could stay up late & play cards & music without bothering the others. And, the top level has a fully equipped kitchen for those late-night snacks! The parents stayed on the middle level (with a private balcony) and the grandparents stayed on the main floor, with a full bath, kitchen, living room & patio all on that level. There are full bathrooms on all levels. The layout of the house is perfect for multiple families and/or large groups. The pool was my favorite. It was kept very clean & since the house is located in an out of the way area, it was very private. The house location felt far away from others, but it was a short walk into town where you can shop or enjoy the beach. We went to the local tour company ,,,a very quiet area but easy to walk anywhere in town [Tamarindo]. We signed up for a skuba diving trip at a nearby surfing/diving shop. What a blast...and the zip lining is something not to be missed (a short ride from the house). I highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sensational Place with Sensational Sunsets and Ocean Views

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

We stayed in the 5BR house for two of the best weeks of our lives. We also toured the 4BR home, because we intend to rent both homes for an upcoming family reunion...and perhaps a destination wedding! The homes are new, clean, nicely decorated and nestled in a quiet area with breathtaking sunsets and ocean views. Both houses have bedrooms on the main floor for guests that don't like stairs, a nice feature. Howler monkeys hang out in the wooded lot, providing hours of pool-side entertainment. Birdwatching on the patio with our morning coffee was our favorite way to wake up. We did not have a car for most of our stay. The home is a conveniently located - a short walk to everything...the beach, shops, restaurants, bakeries (yum!), surfing, fishing, boat trips through a natural wildlife preserve, car rental agencies & tour companies offering trips of all interests throughout Costa Rica. We zip lined at a fantastic place 20 minutes away, took a 2-day trip to the active Arenol volcano, relaxed in the nearby hot springs, toured a coffee plantation and hiked the Monteverde rain forest [super zip lining there] and we saw the Quetzal!! (an exotic bird that is a rare sighting). This house was the perfect place to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

Great value, lots of space.
Reynaldo P from Key West, Florida recommends this property
Stayed 6 days in February, 2010
Website pictures don't do any justice to the house it was very spacious. Walking to town is a short 10 min. walk. A cab ride back will cost about $4-$5 but renting a vehicle is the way to go, it makes it a lot easier to get to the supermarket and such.
The town is being develop very quickly, and you can experience monkeys hanging out on the trees outside the house, at the same time a couple of small field mice made their way inside the house, this being a huge no no in the States but taking our surroundings into consideration is to be expected.
Great place!! I highly recommend it!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

Tamarindo's Luck Monkey House
James J recommends this property
Stayed 6 days in February, 2010
Great stay at a great house near the beach in Tamarindo. Lot's of space, clean and comfortable. House staff were great and attentive and were good at solving any minor problems and answering questions. Good base to explore national parks in Palo Verde and Rincon de la Vieja and beach towns down the Nicoya coast. Not bad drive from San Jose, but better if you come down from Liberia. Great seafood and fishing and the surfing was the best for older people trying to get it up on the water ! Thanks for a great stay. We will be back ! p.s. and now we know why it is called the lucky monkey house. There was a big family of howler monkeys that would visit us in trees near the house in the late afternoon and sometimes in the mornings ! They were our closest neighbors for the week ! Also saw sea turtles and manta rays, plus lot's of cool birds. What a wonderful country and people. Pura Vida ! All the best, James

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review