reviews for: listing #24623 - Williamsburg, Virginia House rental

Peaceful Lake-Side Retreat
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $120 - $240 /nt
    $600 - $1,200 /wk
    $1,600 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We spent one of the most wonderful times at your lovely, comfortable, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds, along with a great view of the water while relaxing on the patio. You could never tell that any staying there had a dog with them. It is a short ride to so many places including Williamsburg and Jamestown. If you have time take the Ferry over to Smithfield, which has colonial/early american homes with some of the most friendly people you will ever find.
We can not say enough about Norma, she was very helpful with making sure we had a wonderful and relaxing time . The house was clean and made you feel like you were in your own home. One added surprise was we could park our car in the garage.
The only issue we had was the long gray sofa in the living room, which was uncomfortable. I would recommend they replace it, even though this would not stop us from coming back next year.
Thanks again Norma for helping to make our time with our daughters and granddauhter a time we shall not forget. God's Blessing to you and your family.

Terry & LaVerne
Galena, Mo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Get-A-way

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We visited the first week of Feb. and the last wk of March. Everything was so clean, well stocked and peaceful. The view of the lake was beautiful. We were very comfortable and so was our pug dog, Sissy. We would recommend this home to anyone with or without a pet. We hope to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

LOVED IT!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Absolutely the best vacation I've ever had! The house was just as described. We did not want for anything. The house had everything you could ever need. Clean, comfortable and above all, quiet. When you live in the country, it's hard to find quiet vacation spots, but this is certainly one of them. Hope to get there again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Kildays, Pine Grove, CA

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

We stayed in the Lakeview house from September 9th til September 16th. It was a very peaceful place to come back to after a full day of sightseeing. It was clean and very spacious for just the 2 of us. It was nice to have access to a computer and we were able to mapquest the sites we were planning to see each day. I was concerned about the fact that dogs are allowed and we have no animals but there was no trace of any dogs ever being there. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any one who enjoys peace and quiet.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Our stay at Lake view drive was wonderful. My husband and I spent a week there over the
Memorial day holiday. The home is clean and the surroundings are beautiful and peaceful. Our yellow
lab was able to swim and walk in the morning, he rested in the garage during the day which was very
cool(temperatures were in the 90's that week), while we went to Williamsburg. This home is a
wonderful place to enjoy the attractions and history of the USA. We were very comfortable and would
recommend this vacation spot to anyone who enjoys privacy and and all the comforts of home.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

We were here for the ACOPeds 2010 Spring Conference in Williamsburg and this place was the perfect retreat from a long day of meetings. The house is just like a real home with everything we could possibly need and more! Flat screen tv with cable, blu-ray dvd player, iphone/ipod speaker dock, wireless internet, desktop computer with printer, washer and dryer, jacuzzi...the list goes on! The best part of it all was we were able to bring our dog with us, and he loved the home too! Norma could not have been a more kind and gracious property manager. Thank you Doug and Norma! We will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

We stayed in the house for the month of March. The view was great, the walks to the park were part of our daily exercise. The neighbors were friendly but mostly saw them only on the road.We did not rent a canoe because they said the water was too cold, we live on Lake Ontario the water never really gets over 65 degrees. For a long stay we were pleased with every thingand would consider coming again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We rented this cottage for a week over Easter. A fabulous and very peaceful location, ideal for long walks with our dog and still close to Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. We would definitely stay here again next time we come to Virginia.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

Me and two other girlfriends stayed in this home for a weekend getaway and we loved it.

It snowed while we were there and the view of the woods in the back and the lake was gorgeous.

We plan to make this a weekend trip twice a year.

Norma and her husband were very friendly and responsive. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

We spent a few days for New Year's Eve, and absolutely loved the home. Not only was it everything that was advertised, it felt like our home away from home. Our dogs loved it, and enjoyed the nature walks. The house is very spacious, equipped with everything you could possibly need, and most of all...very clean !! We are looking forward to our next family trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 7, 2009   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

We stayed at this beautiful house over the Thanksgiving holiday. We could not have picked a more perfect place. I think our dog (Emma) had the best time of all enjoying all of the great walks. A very comfortable and cozy place that gets you away from it all. We plan to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

The house was excellent--very spacious and in a secluded setting (despite what the 1 negative comment said). We never heard or saw any neighbors and our dogs had a great time playing in the yard. About 20-25 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens, which made for a very easy drive. The property manager Norma could not be any nicer--she went well out of her way to make sure we were comfortable after the heater broke (and was immediately fixed) the day before we arrived. Extra space heaters, blankets, the works. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks again for the wonderful visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2009   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

Thank you for the wonderful stay we had at your home. The setting was beautiful and relaxing. Our dogs loved coming with us and having such nice places to walk. Only a 20minute drive to Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping made it convenient. We would definately stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 23, 2009   Date of arrival: June 23, 2009

Wonderful warm house for a getaway. It was perfect for my wife and I and our son. Highly recommend for anyone visiting Williamsburg area. Very quiet and peaceful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: June 2, 2009

We had a wonderful time staying in your home and enjoyed the beautiful setting so very much. Thank you for letting our 4-legged children join us. They had a great time walking at the state park,and we all enjoyed seeing the local wildlife and birds. It was a perfect vacation and thanks for sharing your home with us. We just wish we could buy the adjoining property one day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

This is a WONDERFUL place to stay! My family has stayed in this lovely house three times and we look forward to returning. Next door is one very kind and quiet neighbor, and other than that the house is essentially secluded, surrounded by woods and an adjoining lake. The property inside and out is very well cared for. Visitors can explore Williamsburg and all the historical sites, shop at the outlets, visit Yorktown, bike around the Virginia east coast fishing villages, play at Busch Gardens, there is plenty to do when you stay here! The rental price is very reasonable and Norma Wyatt is undoudtedly the most pleasant and agreeable manager anyone could hope to work with. Norma, thank you, thank you for all the kindnesses you extended to my family. We love the artwork! We look forward to coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed the house. Everything was as portrayed; nice, clean and a wonderful relaxing setting. All the comforts of home. Norma is a gem! We will definitely come back to stay again when in the Virginia area. Thank you Doug and Norma.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2008   Date of arrival: November 9, 2008

We decided last minute to get away and visit Williamsburg for a few days. I'm SOOOO glad we found this beautiful home. It was very convenient to all attractions. It was certainly much better than any hotel I could have found. There really was nothing we needed. The home is completely stocked and one of the best features is that it was immaculate. We had a very nice 3 day vacation. Thank you for making it so easy also.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

Our family of four stayed here for two weeks in summer 2008 and judged this one of the best vacations we have had. What makes the location of this residence exceptional is that it feels so remote whilst, in fact, it is only 20 minutes from first class shops and more restaurants than we could ever imagine.The property is secluded and the wooded lot to the rear with its path to the lakeside is totally private. The only sounds we heard were those of nature and the occasional very distant melancholic horn of a passing train. Close sightings included a deer, beavers and a racoon whilst humming birds hovering at the feeder over the patio were a delight to see. The house is extremely well equipped but most importantly feels like a home rather than an impersonal rental property.We had contacted Norma, the property manager, several times before our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble for her and we commend her for making some specific arrangements on our behalf which enhanced our enjoyment of the holiday. Nothing at all went wrong during our stay – but it was good to believe that she would be very helpful if we had needed her.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 10, 2008

We spent six delightful days and nights in this beautiful house. The setting on the lake and among the trees brought sights of wildlife and it was wonderfully peaceful. The rooms easily accommodated our family of six (grandparents, parents, and grandchildren) and the large dining room table was not only a place to eat but a place to play cards. The patio provided a pleasant respite from all the sightseeing we did. We found the house to be well-equipped with just about everything. The house was close to all the venues we wanted to see – Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and Busch Gardens (for the younger set). I do not know where we could find better accommodations in the peninsula. Thanks to Norma and Doug.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 22, 2008

We absolutely loved this vacation property. Beautiful scenery, peaceful lake setting. House accomodations were luxury and clean. Very close to outlets. Lots of things to do. We will definitely come back. It was easy to find. Great price for this great vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 29, 2008   Date of arrival: February 29, 2008

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! My husband and I enjoyed the quiet, relaxing atmosphere of your well-kept, well-furnished lakeside home. Everything was pristine yet comfortable. The fireplace, large comfy sofa, and large jacuzzi tub were just what we needed. Lovely detail in the decor, and great to have access to the internet for direx to Williamsburg. Great view of the lake in the back; a pleasant little walk to the water's edge.
THANK YOU! We'll be back! =)
God bless, D&C

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 30, 2007   Date of arrival: December 30, 2007

The house was just what my family and I needed. The layout is wonderful, we really enjoyed the living room/dinning room space. It's great for a large party like ours. We had plenty of room for the 6 adults. The house is fully stocked with all the necessary amenities and the location is perfect. Our favorite part was your Jacuzzi and sauna. It was hard to leave those behind. We can't wait to be guests in your home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 2, 2007   Date of arrival: November 2, 2007

What a wonderful house. The property is beautiful and the house has everything you would need for a great vacation. It is just the right distance from Williamsburg to be quiet yet close enough to do everything you would like. Our little dog enjoyed the walks along the road and her visits to the lake to see the turtles. We hope to visit again soon!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 11, 2007   Date of arrival: September 11, 2007

My family of 5 stayed here the last week in August 2007. The house was fully stocked, totally clean and very luxurious for us! The master bathroom with Jacuzzi was enjoyed by all (including the kids who, for the first
time, asked to take a bath).

From here, we traveled all over -- to Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown,
Jamestown, Busch Gardens, Virginia Beach and Cape Charles.

The home is very quiet. It's on a street with only 3 houses. It's the last house on the little street so there is no one to the right and only a gorgeous creek in the back. None of the windows really face the neighbor on the left b/c the house really opens up (with windows and all) onto the backyard and creek.

Norma, who manages the home, was so kind to us, even after we were gone. We
left a tube filled with relatively expensive posters that my husband had
purchased in Colonial Williamsburg. We didn't know where we lost that tube.
Norma contacted us immediately and by the next week, it was back on its way to
us. She even found a dark blue earring I had lost and included that as well.

Thank you so much for letting us stay at your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2007   Date of arrival: July 11, 2007

We stayed at this wonderful home the week of June 11th. Everything was just as advertised, comfortable, quiet, beautiful setting and well appointed. It was a wonderful location for all the sights we wanted to see. Close to Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Busch Gardens. This is the perfect place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2007   Date of arrival: June 9, 2007

What a wonderful house! It is almost just as described on the website, only better! It was a real pleasure to stay there for a week. All the furniture and furnishings are as new, and the new laminate floors are impressive. We were very favorably surprised by all the shade provided by the many trees, because it made the house and yard much cooler (at least ten degrees) than just outside the driveway. In Virginia in the summer, that’s important. There is a small park within easy walking distance, which is very well-kept and is on the same lake/reservoir that this house is. The water is very clean and very suitable for fishing. One day near sundown we saw a beaver swimming in the lake. This is also horse country, there being many horse farms, and at least one is easy to walk to and make friends with the horses. There are only a few houses on this house’s road, and all the lots are quite large. We brought our dog with us, and he had a great time, also. We wish that we had had more free time to explore the lake/reservoir in more detail. The house is convenient to many attractions (historic areas, outlet shopping, recreation) but “away” from them, still being very private.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 7, 2007

We have just returned from spending a week at Doug's beautiful home. This is the sixth house we've rented in various parts of America and Mexico. It was our most favourite. Everything from the house, the furnishings, the surrounding woods and property was simply magnificent. We would recommend this location to anyone who wants a peaceful, beautiful rural setting from which to explore the Williamsburg area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 18, 2007   Date of arrival: April 18, 2007

We spent our honeymoon, February 10, 2007 at this beautiful, georgeous,and magnificent home... The owners provided flowers for us being newly-weds and place a beautiful flag at the entrance of the driveway...
The view of the lake from the dinning room, kitchen, and study was marvelous...
The living room sofa, loveseat, chairs were so comfortable, my wife bought new furniture similar when returned home... Also, she bought pillows, comforter and sheets similar to the home that gave us such a warm and loving feeling on our honeymoon...
I was surprised to find that I was able to park our car in the garage... This home is complete with everything, such as: Fireplace, Music System, Popular DVD's, Sauna, Spa, even baby items needed for a family, including silverware, and stroller...
We are returning for our One Year Anniversary in 2008, hopefully the dates will be available...
I'm a world traveler, and this home is number one on my list...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 22, 2006   Date of arrival: October 22, 2006

Lakeview is the most peacefull place we have ever stayed. We would recomend it to anyone. We have stayed in luxery homes and condos many times and this is one of the best because of it's homely feel. We just loved everything about it location, amenities, view, birds everything. Do yourselves a favour just book it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 13, 2006   Date of arrival: September 13, 2006

My family of six stayed at this beautiful guest home
for three nights from August 17 - 20, 2006. We
were in town for a small family wedding and
reunion. Our extended family who visited us for
dinner at this home were equally impressed with
the beautiful surroundings, the private setting, the
lovely decor of the home and the amentities that it
offered.

For the past 16 years, we have routinely rented
guest homes where ever we have traveled. This
home far exceeded our expectations. We've never
stayed in a guest home so well stocked and with
such nice little touches that made us feel right at
home.

We feel that we now have a home-away-from-home
in Williamsburg and would not hesitate to stay here
again. In fact, it will forever be our first choice! I've
already passed the website for this home on to a
number of families! Norma went above and beyond
to make sure that we had everything that we
needed. :o)

The one thing that we regret is that we didn't have
time to take a leisurely stroll along the quiet
country road where the house is located. The
surroundings are truly beautiful and the location is
so quiet. (We didn't see another soul the entire
time we were there.)

Thank you for opening up this home to us!
Be blessed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 22, 2006   Date of arrival: August 22, 2006

My family and I had the pleasure of staying in this beautiful lakeside home for our vacation in July. We absolutely LOVED it! We will definately come back on our next trip to Williamsburg. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2006   Date of arrival: August 19, 2006

My husband and I, along with his brother and sister-in-law, stayed here in July, 2006. What a wonderful house! We walked in and breathed a sigh of relief to find it as beautiful and immaculate as the pictures showed. It was also such a nice surprise to find so many supplies in the kitchen. Unfortunately, we were so busy visiting the nearby tourist areas that we didn't get to actually enjoy this lovely and comfortable house as much as any of us would have liked. We would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Williamsburg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 2, 2006   Date of arrival: May 2, 2006

We were very happy in the this lovely lakeside
home. The setting is beautiful - our children did an
Easter egg hunt in the garden, and we had a great
barbeque on the patio at sunset. The house is very
thoughtfully stocked, full of useful things just
where you might need them! We really enjoyed the
peace and quiet after our busy days in Colonial
Williamsburg, and we look forward to coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2006   Date of arrival: March 28, 2006

Our family absolutely loved staying in this wonderfully kept home. It is in a beautiful wooded setting and a hop skip and jump to Williamsburg. We will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2006   Date of arrival: March 16, 2006

This is a very relaxing and peaceful retreat. I will definitely stay again upon my next visit to Williamsburg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2006   Date of arrival: March 9, 2006

My wife and I (+ 2 doggies) stayed at this wonderful property. Everything about the house was top-notch, and we really enjoyed the secluded setting by the lake! I will recommend this property to all my friends and look forward to returning later this year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 17, 2005   Date of arrival: December 17, 2005

I stayed at this place before your renovations - and it was quiet, serene, and relaxing. Can't wait to return during my next visit to Virginia!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review