reviews for: listing #24660 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Villa rental

Luxury Modern Villa Great Location. Views.Wi-Fi
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Playamar
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $171 - $357 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Hands down, the best family vacation!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We just got back a few days ago from a two week vacation from Playa. Casa Selva and all it's wonderful amenities was key to making our vacation a relaxing one. It's tucked away in this wonderful spot that is very close to shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful beaches, but is also secured and very private. The grounds and pool were constantly being cared for and maintained so there was never a moment that we couldn't use the pool. Ulla, the property manager, was available if we ever needed her, but honestly, the property is so well maintained and lovely that we never needed to call her. We left Casa Selva with wonderful memories and will return again to make more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Villa, Great Location

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

We had a great holiday based in Cass Selva Caribe, the villa is spacious, well equipped and is only a few minutes walk from Playa del Carmen.

The pool is quiet and a great place to come back after a day sightseeing.

Ulla the property manager is helpful and knowledgeable and the owners provided excellent help and advice before the holiday. The villa is well maintained and very clean

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excelente vacaciĆ³n en Playa del Carmen!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

Casa de la Selva fue una excelente opción para nuestras vacaciones, fuimos un grupo de 8 amigos y estuvimos perfectos. La casa es bastante amplia, muy bien decorada y amueblada!!! Los cuartos y baños tienen mucho espacio! Tiene una excelente ubicación pues a tan sólo 5 minutos caminando estábamos en la 5a Avenida!! Asimismo, tambien pudimos ir caminando a la playa. Nosotros sí rentamos coche para poder ir a lugares más lejos (Tulum, Chichen Itzá), pero para estar en Playa es una excelente elección. Super limpio y para los días de descanso la alberca de la casa es lo mejor!!! Ampliamente recomendable! Gracias por todo!! Cynthia

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great place for active people

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

We were staying in Playa a week and rented this property through Vacation Rentals. The unit was VERY clean and tidy. The property manager was most helpful with directions and suggestions. The good: large spaces, well equipped kitchen and laundry, great pool, lots of storage space and good size bathrooms and again, very clean and tidy with excellent maid service. The not so good (depending on your needs): if you are on foot, it is a bit far from the main road (which can be a positive or not) so if you order out or call a taxi, you have to give full directions, it is beside the Aviary (you will have a natural alarm clock of hundreds of birds at around 4-5 AM), there are children and pets in some of the other units (either rental or not), you are beside a golf course (parties, lawn movers). The information book in the unit needs serious updating. Check everything (distances, prices, etc.) before going out. Prices and conditions of the different activities or services are different than the list. That said, I would rent again but this time, I would also rent a car.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Place to Relax and Unwind

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

This is a fantastic place to come back and relax after a nice stroll in downtown playa del carmen (also not far to walk, if you want to go to the restaurants / shops on 5th avenue), or after a day on the beach or a longer excursion into Yucatan! We especially liked the the tasteful furnishings and the equipment in the kitchen. There is even a blender to make smoothies or cocktails and in the garden there's a large BBQ, where you can prepare a meal while spotting exotic birds in the adjacent trees. There really is everything you need! Comfortable sunbeds, an extra balcony, a very nice
bathroom with a whirlpool and lots and lots of space. And if you want to go for a quick swim but not in the sea, there is a shared pool just outside the front door.
All together there is really nothing to complain about! We had a fantastic stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Home away from home.

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

Should have written this review sooner, still on mexican time. My husband and I stayed at Casa Selva Caribe for one week in November. The only mistake we made was not staying for 2 weeks. Leaving behind work and worries for a week in paradise is something I recommend to everyone.

Our days started with coffee on the back deck feeding the birds. The next big decision we had to make was pool or beach. Most days it was the beach!

Playacar is a community seperate from Playa del Carmen, it is a man made piece of heaven. The streets are all lined with beautiful trees and flowers and very quiet and we always felt very safe.

So packing a beach bag and strolling to the beach will take you about 5 minutes, longer if you stop to take photos or admire the flowers. the beach itself is amazing. I have been to Cuba serveral times and the beach here is way better. Soft sand,and clear warm water. No one bothers you to buy stuff,it is just peace and quiet.

The house was easliy big enough for 6, and with just the two of us we felt we were lord of the manor.

Plenty of hot water, tons of closet space, very light and bright. Such a nice change from staying in hotel rooms, this is a proper house.

Again I really wish we had booked for 2 weeks instead of one, next time we will know better.

Stephen and Halina
Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Not as well located as advertised

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

We are currently at this property in Playa del Carmen with our three year old son and aging parents. We were attracted to this property because of the multiple references on vacationrentals.com to it being only "5 minutes walk" from the beach and the 5th Avenue area. It is a nice property, relatively well taken care of (the bed linens are quite old and full of stains) and has all the amenities we need; however the "5 minute" approximation is quite an understatement. It is an approximately 15 minutes walk for an adult to reach the beach and more than 20 minutes to the southern edge of 5th Avenue. Not a big deal for a young couple, but too far for our small child and my 63 year old mother, who has a bad knee, to walk without assistance or taking taxis. We would strongly suggest that the property owners use a more accurate approximation of the location, so that others do not share our surprise at arriving here to find that we would need a rental car or taxis in order to enjoy the surroundings that we had expected to find within a "5 minute" walk.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Sorry to read your review. It appears from your description that you have not found the directions to the closest beach, which is an easy 5 minute walk. The directions are included in our 'Welcome book' and describe a footpath to cut through to the beach from the road opposite. It is a beautiful beach! We regularly replace the bed linen and will ask our property manager to check through and replace any stained linen - thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had such an incredible time in your villa

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2009

We had such an incredible time in your villa. First, the reservation process was a breeze and we received really helpful instructions before we left. The villa is gorgeous - light and spacious and very well equipped. The pictures don't do it justice. It is in a perfect location: 5 minutes walk to the beach (past very cool Mayan ruins) and 5 minutes to town. We were celebrating our birthdays with some dear friends and cooked many lovely meals on the grill, just relaxing by the pool -which was 3 steps from our door! The concierge, Juan, was super helpful; every need was cared for immediately and he even sorted out skydiving and deep-sea fishing for us. We couldn't have picked a better home for the long weekend and we will have beautiful memories forever. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent, clean accomodation

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2009

Excellent, clean accommodation with all the facilities you need. The owners and management company were very helpful and flexible. I would recommend this to anyone.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had 14 Perfect Days

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We had 14 perfect days in this great, clean,spacy villa (family of 4 with two grown up kids). Very nice that the house was equipped with purified water and the most common spices for cooking. Lots of towels and cleaning every second day was perfect. At first we had troubles finding our way to the beach, but with a little help from the nice and helpfull nabo we found it. Only the birds in the nearby 'jungle' was a little desturbing in the morning. All in all a great accommodation, very well equipped and good location.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Vacation Property

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

We have just returned from a great week's vacation at Casa Selva Caribe (2 adults, 3 teenage boys). The villa is in an excellent location just 5 minutes walk to 5th Ave and 5 minutes walk from the caribbean sea. The standard of furnishings was excellent and the property was presented to a very high standard and kept cleaned throughout the week with maid service every other day. We used the management company to stock the fridge for our arrival which was great. The location of the villa beside the aviary and golf course was great, waking up in the morning to the sound of tropical birds was magical. Playa del Carmen is an excellent vacation location, safe and very friendly. The restaurants are first class and the scuba diving is great. Make sure you go on a trip to the Mayan ruins at Coba. All in all this property is the ideal place to stay to enjoy Playa del Carmen and the surrounding are. We have no hesitation is recommending Casa Selva Caribe to others.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing, families with teenagers, families with young children.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review