reviews for: listing #24696 - Norris Lake, Tennessee House rental

Gaskell's Norris Lake Home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $360 /nt
    $1,650 - $2,350 /wk

sort by:

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

This was our family's first visit to Norris Lake. We explored much of the lake and came to the conclusion this house is in an ideal location. A cove so quiet and secluded, jumping off the dock to swim poses no problems of safety. Also just a short drive for groceries when needed.

Close to many nice marinas including Sequoyah where the people are super friendly. And the food is delicious!

It's 100 steps (yes we counted!) to the dock but from what we saw, not bad in comparison to some other properties. A big sigh if you forget something but no tears, lol!

The house is exceptionally clean and designed so everyone can feel like they have their own space to escape. I would say if you're particular, to bring your own pillows. Otherwise, everything is very comfortable. Plenty of paper goods and trash bags are on hand as well as a fully stocked kitchen.

Some other reviewers mentioned the jumping rock which I will tell you is close enough to kayak to. We did it twice. Easy breezy!

And for those who don't like too much sun, the dock is nicely shaded by mid-afternoon but when you jump into the water, you're back in the sun. We didn't do any fishing but my boys did lots of exploring with goggles on and claimed there are tons of fish all around the dock if you go down far enough.

Lastly, the homeowners are very easy to work with and happily answer all your questions. Great hosts, I would most certainly rent this house again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

The home was even better than we imagined it would be. We were a group of late 20 somethings looking for a place to get away. The location and setting were ideal. The views are incredible, and lake access was great. The home itself was extremely nice, with enough space for everyone. The decks accommodated us, and we basically spent the whole time either renting a speedboat or lounging around and grilling out. Incredible weekend. I would definitely recommend this lake house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Long weekend

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Some friends of mine and I just spent a long weekend here and loved it. Everything you need to have some fun and relax at the same time. Plenty of room to spread out and the double decks are perfect to sit out and watch the stars. Will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week on Norris Lake

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My family loved the house and the lake. We are planning a return trip. We have vacationed at several other lake,stayed on house boats, cottages,motels, but this is the way to go. Jim is a great host and took care of all our questions. I would recommend this house for your next lake vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Repeat Renter For Gaskell Norris Lake Home

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

We are repeat renters for this beautiful home at Norris Lake, and we would definitely recommend this home to anyone who appreciates a comfortable vacation home, where families can gather for swimming and boating, or be entertained with all the great amenities provided by the owners. This waterfront home is set in a quiet cove, where you can swim or float in the water without being interrupted by passing boats. The owners have always been prompt to follow up on any questions that we posed to them, and have been just as pleasant to work with. Thank you Jim and Marge, for giving us comfortable surroundings while we pursued our wonderful memories! Kim and Eric

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Norris Lake Vacation

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We stayed at this Norris Lake vacation home in August 2011. Every summer we get together with our daughters, son-in-laws, and grandchildren and rent a vacation property for a week somewhere. This was our first time going to Tennessee. The location was perfect, the house was beautiful, and provided plenty of room for all three families to enteract. The house was in excellent condition with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. It is located in a quiet peaceful cove which allowed us to swim and kayak, as well as get out on the lake for boating and tubing. The kids really enjoyed the jumping rock and are still talking about it. The owners were very friendly and easy to work with and they even sent our security deposit back within three days after we returned home. We highly recommend this home to anyone looking for an awesome vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

One of the best on Norris Lake!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

I have stayed in many houses on Norrris Lake, this location and property is one of the best. I have rented multiple times. If you want a place to relax and have a blast, this is the place. The house is located in about the middle of the dam and twin coves resort, around the corner from Jumping Rock. Great location for skiing and wake boarding because its not so crowded, ie smooth water. We also like how close it is to Sequoyah and Twin Coves for dinner and nightlife. Owner was very easy to work with and returned our deposit much quicker than most do. My wife loved the long walks in the neighborhood this vacation home is located in, beautiful area. Do it, you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Jacksboro Gaskell lake house

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We arrived on Sunday to a clean, well maintained and great location property. House layout was excellent for adults and children to be together and apart when needed. Short drive from I-75 was nice and close proximity to Jacksboro. Two level deck facing lake was enjoyed daily. Two bedrooms with dual bunk beds was great for the kids.
Recommend to anyone who can make it up and down the typical Norris lake steps.
We would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Lake Norris vacation house

Review submitted: September 15, 2009   Date of arrival: September 5, 2009

Property was clean and well maintained. Owner was easy to work with, lake location was great, private, beautiful and peaceful. A great place to relax with family or friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review